Originally posted by seraphx@Feb 22 2006, 03:55 AM

And anyways, I just bought myself a pair of Ducati Juliets from Oakleys.. They cost me $675 in Singapore and $480 (including tax and all) here in US.. Saved me a couple hundred dollars so I bought em anyways. Real cool. Comes in black carbon and grey. You guys would have to transfer the cash to me before I am able to buy it for you though. Coz I sure don't have that much spare cash at the moment to pay first. Hahahahahaha.

Hey seraphx,

How much does a Pro MFrame cost over there?? Can help me get one if it's is cheap?? :cheeky:

what goes around, comes around......

http://www.lancermotoringclub.com/picture.php?albumid=109&pictureid=769

• Replies 24.2k

Originally posted by visual@Feb 21 2006, 08:53 PM

i just changed my collent to castrol coolent and changed my engine oil to also castrol...semi syn...

anyone got a clue..???

Keanan, Visual > Tks for reply..Screw it is....btw also had to downgrade my Stebel 80 horns to a $5 meek n whimsy beep beep horn

Visual > IMO.. I would check

a. that my coolant level (leftside of fairing) does not drop this few days. Check it when cold n after ride. What color your coolant ? Check also the radiator cap is OK n has the allen screw locked on. its pressured to 1.1 bar

b. that the temp bars is steady at 4 bars under normal cruising on Xpressways.

c. that e oil level is just a hair above the top mark (bike is cold n upright postn n not on sidestand when checking).. I use Mobil full syn bytheway. Was yr oil change from one type to another n of different brand and viscosity ?

Daniyal.. haha actually i've been reading this forum for quite sometime way before i even have my license.. i was surprised to see your "Post-It!" on my bike.. because i parked my bike at 5.45am and went out at 7.30am.. haha.. at that point of time u must be there.. =)

i'm currently studying so touring not yet for me.. but i would love to get to know more about vara125.. as i know very little of bikes.. i've only been on the road for less than a month.. cheers bro.. :smile:

Kage Bunshin No Jutsu!!!

Sharingan!!!

Byakugan!!!

I JUST F@#K THE MODERATORS LAST NITE!!! AHAHAHA

Hi…all Vara bros, Peace…

Originally posted by stargate@Feb 22 2006, 08:59 AM

Keanan, Visual > Tks for reply..Screw it is....btw also had to downgrade my Stebel 80 horns to a $5 meek n whimsy beep beep horn

stargate >> towkey...... if distance aint an issue can try out vicom @ sin ming for inspection. must 'experiecnce' it to believe... o_O

visual >>..... beside engine oil viscosity, perhaps can look into coolant circulation or radiator fins. is it clogging somewhere? btw, you DIY-ed or sent to bikeshop.

Beb >> .. two batteries. link to one rectifier? interesting. care to share how much the set up? thanks

RIDE SAFELY

Ride is passion.Safety is decision.

Adios amigo

you know if you go

Originally posted by Al-Simmons@Feb 21 2006, 10:34 AM

hansallica >>> sorry bro...anyway welcome to the club...

For the fraser hill riders, i think it will be more fun if we bring our own food. Actually we have our own 'Chef Wan' aka butcher to cook for us.

If anyone have BBQ grill maybe can bring along. That means need to bring along solid fuel, charcoal and the other necessary BBQ equipments. (yem_paul >>> can tumpang the car?) if it's allowed. If not need to bring home cook food.

Al-Simmons & Daniyal >> no worries bros, it's only a wrong spelling, no harm done. Sorry no input for this trip from me, cos i've no experience at all, so i leave it all to you guys and thanks for arranging the trip!

Aikon>>My extra batt was placed under the seat and was separated from the main batt..The function of the battery is just for the hella lights only.I will tried to fixed up the hella first before giving any comments whether it is workable or not.Bro one more thing to add do not use the maxima ultra engine oil on our bike cause it not compatable with our bike due to the thinner oil.The result had to changed the spark plugs a few times due to the engine heat.

But not complaining about the maxima chain wax.Still good enough for me.

Bro the cost of the slip on ???

Originally posted by Beb@Feb 22 2006, 11:18 AM

Aikon>>My extra batt was placed under the seat and was separated from the main batt..The function of the battery is just for the hella lights only.I will tried to fixed up the hella first before giving any comments whether it is workable or not.Bro one more thing to add do not use the maxima ultra engine oil on our bike cause it not compatable with our bike due to the thinner oil.The result had to changed the spark plugs a few times due to the engine heat.

But not complaining about the maxima chain wax.Still good enough for me.

Bro the cost of the slip on ???

Just curious, what engine oil are you guys using.

For the past 2 oil change I have been using Royal Purple Max-Cycle.

I found the performance not consistent.

At time bike feel silky smooth, really love it.

Sometime feel its to thin, can feel like engine very 'loose'.

And time engine feel very rough.

What is really really good for our bike?

Whats Up DaWgZ!!

stargate>>> for the license plate...i juz stick the metal number plate on my windshied....no issue...it will be an issue...if...the number plate is a sticker...:smile:

happy125>>> i would recommend fully synthectic engine oil...also...check out the viscosity level....10 / 40W would be ideal....but the older the bike gets...got to switch to 15 / 50W...usually after 5 years...so far...been using SAE20, Fuchs, Shell Ultra and Unil Opal....i would prefer FUCHS and UNIL OPAL...:thumb:

nejihyuuga >>> no worries bro...i was surprised to see a varadero within my area...there are couple of varadero in toa payoh but not within my walking distance...oh by chance...my dad's car the tyre punctured in the wee hours...so got to go over and change it for him...:smile:

beb>>> the chain lube or wax....for me...as long as it doenst splash all over my tyres...good enuff...used plutoline before...not really satisfying...so far...Castrol and PJ1 is much better....juz to add into your list...but people say once you used wax...got to used wax all the way...wax and lube is off difference lubricating purposes....:smile:

visual>>> the heating problem lies with the spark plug...another thing...when you flush the coolant...did the mechanic bleed your cooling system...as in get rid of air bubbles....once air trap inside...they wont be able to be diffuse..and air expands greater than water....and also could check the fan...is it werking...the last time i face...it was the spark plug...:smile:..another thing...fully syn is a better heat retention property compared to semi syn..theortically...but it is up to individuals preferance...

Hansallica>>> no werries bro!...

www.nazrinsalim.wordpress.com

DaNiYaL>>plutoline wax leaved your chain stained with white or blue residue..Try castrol too but maxima could rival it due to it clear coating and non flinging type.Happy with both products..

happy125>>Bro totally agreed with what Daniyal said..The engine oil I used maxima ultra had viscosity level sae 5/50W...The result my bike engine getting way too hot thus affecting the spark plugs(burnts)..Try Rockoil engine oil.:thumb:

HAIL BROS.....

Wasssuppppzzzz ............. long time never post in here .... wah ...there's a lot of new riders in here .......Welcum to the vara world .

Ghost Riders Of Apocalypse ....

Originally posted by pingster@Feb 21 2006, 10:49 PM

speedo meter reader is which one??? :confused:

u change already?? confirm is tt one causing the problem?

tt will be cheap as compared wif the whole speedo which costs abt $800plus :sian:

i too wonder what is a meter reader? is it a seperate meter for speed?

stargate, aikon, daniyal

thanks for the replies and info...

so i guess

1. coolent resevior got to feel bit warm after a ride (will check that)

2. my coolent (color is like greenish blue)

3. my temp bars is at 4 most of the time.. but when i ride extra long (like more then 30 min) it will definately hit 5 bars! OUCH HOT!!

4. my engine oil (just changed its) castrol *something* semi syn... i was using motul fully sync but i feel the engine feel under power when i used the full syn... so i tried to revert back to semi...

5. coolent change (was not DIY) did it as mah motor sports at dunlop street.

6. my spark plug has always been the NGK (but now its not the 'offical honda NGK' that they sell there its a different type coudl a spark plug be the idiot that cause such heatyness... hmmmm i can try to swop...

7. when the flush out my coolent.. they did use the air compressor to flush out all the coolent and the he wash with water then again air blow ...looks pretty ok.

8.fan? is there a fan at the coolent? can it be easily seen?

9. i was usings emi for some time (cos its cheaper) then sometimes i use fully syn.. so far i didint face heat problem.. but courld be...

braders! thanks a million for the replies.. appreciate it...

been too long since we meet up... *sigh*

donno when i can join u guys again... *sigh*

take care braders ride safe

Hey pingster,

The ProM Frame is actually customed. They don't have any that you buy off the shelf from over here.

So, I won't be able to help you there this time. Unless of course you know what you want. You can send me the specifications and I'll ask them to make one and then I'll send it back.

Seraph

Vi Veri Veniversum Vivus Vici - By the power of truth, I, while living, have conquered the universe.. - Faust

Beneath this mask, there is more than flesh. Beneath this mask, there is an idea, and ideas, are bulletproof - V

Safe? Definately. Not necessarily slow, but safe.. - Seraph Tan

Visual > The coolant type is OK...judging from the 4 bars normal operating temp. Just keep an eye on the reservoir level. It should stay constant and check this when the bike is cold.

IMO...yr bike age and engine oil...

a. should be using full sync 10/50W or one thicker grade up. more cushioning and it should meet the jas standard (check yr manual) Never use those meant for car.

For thosee with new bike out there, during run in, use cheaper mineral and change frequently. Then upgrade to semi then finally to full syn and stay there

b. U change from full to semi ..sure to smell some burning residual due to mixture of residual leftover and thinner semi. and yr bike adjusting to change .recommend next change go full syn n stay there with one grade and type until yr bike clock really high mileage then upgrade to one grade thicker

Question for all Vara125 rider. the temperature reading on your meter..is it measuring the cooolant or engine oil temp ?..no prize

Some interesting websites that you all might be interested in

Waterfalls in Malaysia

The available waterfalls in Malaysia (Johore State)

- Kota Tinggi (done in 2005)

- Puteri Fall (done in 05 n 06, this is the one in Bekok)

- Sg Pulai (been there. Site closed to public. Not much of a waterfall left)

- Sg Yong (Gunung Belumut. Recced the place. Might be going soon)

- Takah Tinggi (Endau Rompin. We'll see how. Maybe need some offroad riding)

- Buaya Sangkut (Endau Rompin. Hmmm...sounds very scary with all the buayas. Will be looking on it also)

Hopefully can explore this places by this year. So next year can look further to Pahang. U guys got any suggestion or wants to go to this places, please bring up to us. We will try to bring the group there.

Cheers. :thumb:

"The road less travelled"

380430_10150542159155027_725570026_11064521_1701187442_n.jpg

stargate appreciate the advise man... i too suspect its the engine oil...*sigh* hate to change it (just change aghhh more $$$ again)

stargate, any full syn to recommend

Whats Up DaWgZ!!

Yo brothers...check out Caltex Techron...juz launched by my company....will be out soon in Caltex Pump Stations island wide...but some already have it...juz doing my part as an employee of Chevron...:smile:

al_simmons>>> "Stuck Crocodile" / Buaya Sangkut...hhhmmm...interesting name...off road ?....no way no jalan...for me...you know i know...:cheeky:

www.nazrinsalim.wordpress.com

I am seeing more more ladies on S4 on the road and they are zooming passed me man!

Feel like upgrading man but must tahan for class 2 in June.

4 months to go!! Aiyo....

Originally posted by Beb@Feb 21 2006, 07:09 PM

Pro Dero>>Wow Bro..Last time had to change the whole meter but now need to changed just the speedo meter reader..Respect to u bro for finding the solution to most of our bike's problem..

Wanna asked the brudders here where can find a hella spot lights besides at Mustaffa..Near Bt Batok Vicom has any shops selling hella lights??Preferably near west area.Already installed one more battery on my bike just for the spot lights purposes.

beb

bro fyi i nvr replace my whole speedo but juz open up to see wats da prob den fixin it back, but now its juz a wear & tear so gotta replace da speedo meter gear/reader quite ex for a honda compared to my ducati same part....hehehe!

anyways Hella i was the 1st vara125 to fix it up from autobahn shop at lavender $70/pair....but veri awesomely bright! hahaha!

btw make sure ya secondary batt is grounded to prevent malfuntion to da fuse....juz my 2 cents....cheers!

stargate/keanan

da sticker no. plate can pass for front but my rear one is boon siew plate & i juz did mine vara inspection at viacom yishun, minus da side boxes & air horn of course, den again my ducati air horn pass when i totally 4got abt remove it & oso da HID white lite bulb surprisingly.....hehehehe!

pingster

is $120 w/o gst stocks i oredi order 3 pcs 4u & visual look for ah peng FJT 63925927, he got my no :p :goodluck:

visual

da heat lies in ya engine oil viscosity level rg. 15w/50 or 20w/40.....its suppose to follow ya area climate rather den wat ppl say its gd cuz long run u have try almost all engine oil den u can feel da difference there..... :thumb:

speedo cable, speedo reader, speedo hub teeth, etc alot more den i tot hehehe!

btw its best to use semi syn for v-twin & fully syn 4inline engines, mineral for boxer ones......

happy125

get a juz a suggestion get a spare bike like me hor.....hehehe!

enjoy!

any1 wanna join me tis sunday for lunch at danga bay & short day trip beep me...... :hungry:

WELCOME TO THE DARK SIDE...

2004 Honda Varadero XL125 ride to tour

2005 Ducati Monster 400 for track use :p

2006 white r3 spec gen2 manual gear for pimping hehehe!

2008 THE new silver subaru impreza hatch NOT road legal & manual gear for drifting!

2010 white fd2 honda civic 2.0 si & still manual gear for family use so whats next baby?

i am looking for a pair of small hella spot light with bracket to be fix on the suspension fork..... anyone knows where to get them?

:angel:...Smart Ageing Thru Motorcycling....
Originally posted by Pro Dero@Feb 24 2006, 01:46 PM

pingster

is $120 w/o gst stocks i oredi order 3 pcs 4u & visual look for ah peng FJT 63925927, he got my no :p :goodluck:

but bro, confirm is that one problem??? dun wanna waste money if skali not tt one faulty....... :sian: :sweat:

what goes around, comes around......

http://www.lancermotoringclub.com/picture.php?albumid=109&pictureid=769

Originally posted by pingster@Feb 24 2006, 04:41 PM

but bro, confirm is that one problem??? dun wanna waste money if skali not tt one faulty....... :sian: :sweat:

I reckon you let him try it out first before taking the plunge. At the moment it is too early to call it.

I'm too sceptical about this, especially for some whose speedos work intermittently ie. the digital clock/mileage part.

Born to be Wild : Steppenwolf (1968)