Hello Braders...wah..me so busy with the Hari Raya visiting and my shift..no time to logged on.....

Welcome onboard...Chow---ez_s_abc-----darby.......good to see the thread getting bigger....

Daniyal brother...better you give me the $200...heheheheh....joking ya....few question u should ask urself before making the below decisions..... :)

1. Change Air filter---------------------Is your Air Filter Blocked????????????

2. Change sprockets and chain--------Wash ur chain with deisel & adjust ur chain again...still got lots more room for adjustment...likewise Simones one is already at the end....but urs not....still can adjust....Are ur front & back original ones...give me the actual size....is it 14front & 44rear?????? iF it is "tak seimbang" maybe thats why u have that change of RPM....either lower or higher...

3. Wash and tune up carb--------------Does ur bike dies off and on while travelling or when u pull in ur clutch..?????

I'm changing engine oil---spark plugs----oil filter---adjust chain---tune carbeurator all at Paul.....either on 29/11/04 or 30/11/04.....

Regarding the meet up session....

Date: 24/11/04..Wednesday

Time: 2000hrs....

Venue: East Coast Food Centre

Contact person:

Dakar @ 91874340 (east side) or Simone 90993067 (west side)

• Replies 24.2k

to identify a VARA 125 from the front is by our head light...looks like a LOVE shape ya......

hhahahah....waste ka--reennn jeee.....:cheeky: :cheeky: :cheeky: :cheeky:

Originally posted by DaNiYaL@Nov 21 2004, 11:04 AM

WhatS Up DaWgZ!

I got something to share....yesterday, i went to Kent Ridge Park with my gf around 8pm...sit there talk and sing song...my gf wants to learn how to ride bike...so i taught her how to lah...then, there was this revving sound juz like our bike going up the steep slope...the first thought that came to our mind is..." Muz be varadero 125 "....came into the parking lot...a maroon bike...first glance we thought it is varadero 125...and i was telling my gf...nice maroon bike...with half fairing...the tyres are same..the exhaust pipe looks the same...the maroon colour also look like varadero 125...so we decided to approach the guy and his gf..to invite him join our group lah...we rode on our bike and approach him...THEN there was an enlightenment...something like nirvana...PEGASO was his bike !

We are so paisey...we are so confident about approaching the guy and asked him to join our group lah...luckily i wore full face helmet...i think my gf is a bit unlucky...normal helmet...eheheheh...PAiSey! BallS!

izzit something like tt in the pics??

really look like a vara125 fr far.....

but not bad :cheeky:

what goes around, comes around......

http://www.lancermotoringclub.com/picture.php?albumid=109&pictureid=769

Originally posted by dakar@Nov 21 2004, 11:21 AM

to identify a VARA 125 from the front is by our head light...looks like a LOVE shape ya......

hhahahah....waste ka--reennn jeee.....:cheeky: :cheeky: :cheeky: :cheeky:

Alamak bro...the bike totally look the same...the only difference..was his half fairing...his revving sound, placing of the exhaust pipe, tyres, maroon colours looks like varadero125...

Waste My ElecTricity!

pingster>>> not like in the picture...juz imagine ur own bike...the bottom fairing is gone...

www.nazrinsalim.wordpress.com

but this bike looks real good :lovestruck:

never seen on road, wonder izzit available in singapore

here are some technical info:

ENGINE

Engine type

Single-cylinder four-stroke, with anti-vibration countershaft, light alloy cylinder, barrel with Gilnisil coating, catalysed exhaust.

Fuel

95 RON lead-free

Cooling

Liquid cooling with separate radiator and expansion tank and three-way thermostatic valve with electric fan.

Bore and stroke

100 x 83 mm

Total displacement

651.8 cc

Compression ratio

9.1 : 1

Valve Timing

Double overhead cam with chain timing drive, five radial valves (3 inlet and 2 exhaust)

Max. power at crankshaft

47 HP (35 kW) at 6500 r.p.m.

Max. torque at crankshaft

5.90 kgm ( 58 Nm) at 4500 r.p.m.

Fuel injection

Integrated electronic engine management system. Indirect multi-point electronic injection. 34 mm throttle bodies.

Ignition

Electronic, controlled by injection control unit.

Dynamic Ignition Advance Control (DIAC) system for electronic control of variable ignition timing

Starting

Electric starter

Lubrication

Dry sump with two trochoidal pumps

Gear box

5 speed, transmission ratios:

1st 12/33

2nd 16/28

3rd 16/21

4th 22/23

5th 24/21

Primary drive

Straight toothed gears, ratio: 37/72.

Final drive

Chain; transmission ratio: 16/47

Clutch

Multiple disk in oil bath

Frame

Sloping aluminium twin-spar frame, with steel box section oil tank at the front

Front suspension

Marzocchi Æ 45 mm telescopic fork, wheel travel 170 mm.

Rear suspension

Variable section high strength steel swing-arm; Aprilia Progressive System (APS) linkage.Sachs hydraulic monoshock with adjustable rebound and preload.Wheel travel 165 mm.

Brakes

Front: Brembo stainless steel disk, Æ 300 mm. Floating calliper with two 32 mm pistons.

Rear: stainless steel disk, Æ 240 mm.

Wheels

Spoked wheels with aluminium rims

Front: 2.15 X 19"

Rear: 3.00 X 17"

Tyres

Front: 100/90-19

Rear: 130/80-17 alternative 140/70-17

Battery/Electrical system

12V - 14 AH/280 W

Dimensions

Maximum length: 2,180 mm

Maximum width: 880 mm (at handlebars)

Maximum height: 1,260 mm (at windshield)

Seat height: 817 mm

Wheelbase: 1,480 mm

Trail: 111 mm

Steering angle: 28.4°m

Tank

Capacity 21 litres, 4.5 litre reserve

Colours

Lime Yellow

Flamingo Red

Pearly Grey

Originally posted by DaNiYaL@Nov 21 2004, 11:04 AM

WhatS Up DaWgZ!

I got something to share....yesterday, i went to Kent Ridge Park with my gf around 8pm...sit there talk and sing song...my gf wants to learn how to ride bike...so i taught her how to lah...then, there was this revving sound juz like our bike going up the steep slope...the first thought that came to our mind is..." Muz be varadero 125 "....came into the parking lot...a maroon bike...first glance we thought it is varadero 125...and i was telling my gf...nice maroon bike...with half fairing...the tyres are same..the exhaust pipe looks the same...the maroon colour also look like varadero 125...so we decided to approach the guy and his gf..to invite him join our group lah...we rode on our bike and approach him...THEN there was an enlightenment...something like nirvana...PEGASO was his bike !

We are so paisey...we are so confident about approaching the guy and asked him to join our group lah...luckily i wore full face helmet...i think my gf is a bit unlucky...normal helmet...eheheheh...PAiSey! BallS!

ahahah yeah under the dim lights the aprilla looks like the vara

http://predator.bikepics.com/pics/aprilia-pegaso650ie-03-bikepics-076014.jpg

transalp 650

http://www.bikez.com/bike/20258/index.jpg

suzuki freewind 650

http://predator.bikepics.com/pics/suzuki-freewind-99-bikepics-141620.jpg

BMW F650

http://www.motorcycle.com/mo/mcbmw/mcphotos/f6507.jpg

kawasaki KLE

http://kle.wz.cz/velke/sraz/sraz024.jpg

yamaha tdm

http://www.motorcycle.com/mo/mcyam/mcphotos/tdm850-7.jpg

so there are a few bike that looks like the varadero 125 or the other way around (which ever way u look at it)

Originally posted by byteblock@Nov 21 2004, 10:23 AM

as you guys might have read from the tabloids,i'll be getting my varadero on december 17th/18th..the previous owner put a f!@#kin high tinted windscreen.just wondering,anyone of you guys want to exchange the original sized tinted windscreen with me plus top up $70?i dun think the high kind of windscreen suits my 'pattern' hehehe

thanks.....

Since i'll be doing u a favour of getting rid of ur high tinted windscreeen maybe we should just exhange the windscreens w/o any topup. :bouncefire: :smile:

Originally posted by dakar@Nov 21 2004, 11:17 AM

Hello Braders...wah..me so busy with the Hari Raya visiting and my shift..no time to logged on.....

1. Change Air filter---------------------Is your Air Filter Blocked????????????

3. Wash and tune up carb--------------Does ur bike dies off and on while travelling or when u pull in ur clutch..?????

Brudder Dakar,

How do you tell that the air filter is blocked???

Think point 3 is my real problem..

But the last time l did that was last april.., the same time l replaced

my air filter.

Any clue???

Tried wat brudder simone suggested that is increase the idling speed.

It works!! But still happens evry now and then.

Any permanent solution guys???

Quite a number of bike from far looks like vara125, as al these bikes are what the call the "enduro" bikes..

but some 'scram-bikers' dont like me calling vara125 enduro, cos they say...enduro means must have endurance.. bla bla.. what ever lah...

so i guess they all fall under the "adventure" cat.

pegusus.. ya.. not bad lah... but i remember older one front side of th fering abit to rounded... dont quite like that...

and well if you look at these bike.. main diff.. is the bike.. looks abit fierce lah.. huh.. ;) as more power..

anyways anyone heard of Baja?

(a scram with insanely huge headlight)! looks liek a scram wearing specticles.. ;)

http://world.honda.com/news/1998/image/2980304_2.gif

http://www.honda.co.jp/motor-lineup/xr_baja/image/xr_baja_index_main.jpg

anyways this bike exhaust same as vara 125 lah only got one..

but i recently saw this bike.. and i saw its exhaust.. seems its not connected to the engine!

so i was thinking.. wooh what kind of technology is this...

and noticed.. ITS A FAKE exhaust!

the real exhaust is on the other side.. the fake on the right side...

but from far.. it looks like a real exhaust.. thus the bike looks like for 2 exhaust...

looks nice.. im sure its a MOD that the owner did

suddenly.. and idea sparked!

wouldnt it bee cool if we can also add a ; fake exhaust; on to the bike..

woulod look cool huh...and fierce..

Originally posted by DaNiYaL@Nov 20 2004, 11:15 PM

Whats Up DaWGz!

My bike the problem is quite similar with newtsuit...engine always died when changing gear..i did send my bike for full servicing at boon siew...they take out my tank...OH mY GoD! u should see the workmanship of the *&^%$&*( mechanic fixing the K&N filter...the mechanic at boon siew told me that, the previous owner shouldnt change the air filter...should stick to the original...i wanted to change at that time...but not enuff money...original air filter is $180...i might need to buy the housing for the air filter...the workmanship is terrible...i brought up my problem to my uncles and paul, they all said it is becoz the air filter...

Btw i got a problem...if you haf only about $200, what would u do before going to KL...

1. Change Air filter

2. Change sprockets and chain

3. Wash and tune up carb

I juz want to know your opinion...which is one would u do

wa bro ur in a predicament bro. i remembered u telling me the fellow changed the entire air intake so would a stock air filter fit ur bike? have u tried reinstalling ur KNN air filter because wat the mech in sanfu is going to do is his just going to cut our the exisiting filter the (replaceble piece) and fix the KNN air filter and slot it into the bike. Also you need to get your bike retuned cos using the KNN filter ur air intake u need to match in increase in air flow with increase in fuel.

Just get your bike retuned man but i dunno which shop will do it for free if u haven't wash the carb from them. I got it done once at BS Honda free and at Sanfu but at Sanfu after i got my carb washed. Maybe Paul can retune your bike. Do if after u change your oil filter and oil and plugs.

For the chain you are recommended to change your sprockets too. so it will cost i belive 160 - 180. wat you could do if u really wanna safe the money is clean the chain cos your chain dirty lah bro. if m not working i will help u man.

Bro dont worry too much bout the bike as long it doesnt break down u can safely arrive at kl. U can safe money by ensuring the other parts are working well.

like that time i went to nilai with azman we covered almost 660km in around 8hrs. the only issue with the bike was i had put in too much engine oil around 1.5 and it greatly affected the bike. cos it had trouble revving up and felt heavy. after i emptied some of the oil the bike was back to normal. Also the other issue is the azman's headlight got blown. We rested only for about and hour and the half and returned to singapore. on the return leg. we only stop once and we were on full throttle all the way back. The point that m getting at is that we rode the bike hard almost redlining it for 1.5 hrs with only 10mins break and continue again. there were not major issues with the bike and my bike has almost 90,000km plus that's almost 4 times more then yours. Nazrin have faith in your bike bro and safe the money and enjoy it at KL. :D

For that trip the only things i did was :

clean chain

tighten chain

flush coolant and replace new one

flush engine oil

change engine oil

replace oil filter

new spark plugs

Hi guys m quite paranoid about a few things about our trip to KL. We need to iron up some issue before we go.

1. At and even of an accident how who do we contact and where would be the nearest hospital.

2. At then event of a breakdown of our machine who do we call to get it towed

3. If we get caught by the police for whatever infringments how do we settle it.

4. In the event that one of our group members are not feeling well in the middle of the trip or on the return leg.

Originally posted by newtsuit@Nov 21 2004, 12:15 PM

Brudder Dakar,

my air filter.

Any clue???

eh man tot your bike is ok already. I also replace my air filter around may. Man did u get a new air filter? Where did u change it? and how much did it cost? sometimes the bike shop just clean with it compressed air w/o replacing a new one. If u replaced your air filter get it blown. You can do it at GHC at Yishun think its quite cheap can't remember the exact price cos NITI did it. How bout your engine oil n filter when did u last changed it.

Originally posted by newtsuit@Nov 21 2004, 12:15 PM

Brudder Dakar,

my air filter.

Any clue???

U can't tell for sure that ur air filter is blocked unless u take it out and inspect it. However one of the symthom of a blocked air filter is that your bike dies off when u slow down because there is a restirction in the air flow to your carbs thereby resulting in the air/fuel mixture running lean. You could tune your carbs to allow more airflow which would solve the problem but it will result in higher fuel consumption. The other way is to clean or replace the air filter which is more expensive.

guys sowy ah the fuel/air mixture is too rich too much fuel for the given air.

any idea where got sell the screw tt holds the plate onto the exhaust??

missing one, dunno where came off.... :sian:

Originally posted by ez_s_abc@Nov 19 2004, 06:18 PM

Bro Chow___ you bought your bike from GHC....i a bit blur about this bike...

are they the only ones that deal with it brand new or is it that you did some leg work already and this shop gives you the best deals? Btw, how's the bike performing?

Hi...

I did not have the time to scout around. First went to BoonSiew as it was almost impossible to see a Vara125 on the road. Tried the Vara, Shadow, Super4 and even the scooters (site on them only), but only the Vara can give you that Shiok feeling. BS was selling at $10,800 w/o COE.

Next, when to GHC and pricing were much better and seems like everything is

negotiable. (Just need to be thick skin and keep asking)

I did ask this forum earlier about second hand but no response. Seems like now there are some available. Buying 2nd hand is risk taking, unless you buy from someone in this group :cheer:

Think we all here love and treasure this baby.

Good Luck.

1989-1991 Yamaha LC 125

1993-1995 Honda NS400R

2005-2007 Honda Varadero 125

2007-2012 Honda Africa Twin 750

2013-2018 Honda CB400 Spec III

now BMW F700gs

Thanks for all the warm welcome by all.

Been riding for the past few days.....still enduring to stay slow as engine is new.

no more than 80km/h.

Wow, bike is heavy even for me, a guy. Not sure uf Darby can handle it. I can

hardly "walk the bike". Can only sit on it and manourve it.

Also, i find the sixth gear missing. Think this bike will be even better with the sixth.

Each time i try to kick up, but oops....no more, max already.

hope to meet you all soon.

If there are still T-shirts, decals, whatever avail, hope i can get it from u.

1989-1991 Yamaha LC 125

1993-1995 Honda NS400R

2005-2007 Honda Varadero 125

2007-2012 Honda Africa Twin 750

2013-2018 Honda CB400 Spec III

now BMW F700gs

Originally posted by Chow@Nov 21 2004, 10:57 PM

Been riding for the past few days.....still enduring to stay slow as engine is new.

no more than 80km/h.

Also, i find the sixth gear missing. Think this bike will be even better with the sixth.

sixth gear???

oni got 5 gear :cheeky:

Originally posted by Chow@Nov 21 2004, 10:57 PM

no more than 80km/h.

Try to keep it at 60km/h for max speed till u hit 1000km and done ur oil change.

X1-R 2010 model

Star Brake Lines

K&N Air Filter

EzzyOiler

Fuel Consumption Excel File (Update columns in blue), download @ http://dl.dropbox.com/u/38849257/Fuel%20Consumption-20120222-154031.xls

Stalling of engine

increase ya rpm juz above the choke to 1500 0r 1700 rpm

problem starting ya engine is bcuz ya engine oil is to cold for this climate better refer the temperature settings

only need to wash ya carb n air filter only when ya bike starts to be choking n no power.

i am using RK exc250 gold chain o ring, front 13 den rear 41, gotta check with ah wah really smooth so far.

fyi 2moro smicerboy got gathering at adam food corner at 8pm

check ya tires if harden oredi time to change or brakin will be less effective den ya milaege goes up the wall.....cheers mate!

WELCOME TO THE DARK SIDE...

2004 Honda Varadero XL125 ride to tour

2005 Ducati Monster 400 for track use :p

2006 white r3 spec gen2 manual gear for pimping hehehe!

2008 THE new silver subaru impreza hatch NOT road legal & manual gear for drifting!

2010 white fd2 honda civic 2.0 si & still manual gear for family use so whats next baby?

Try not to buy tires that exceed a year of storage,

Tires after 3 years should not be used. At ur own risk.

To check tire age, there's 4 digit combination printed on the sidewall.

2503 means manufactured on the 25th week of year 2003.

Prolong storage causes ozoning which results in cracking.

X1-R 2010 model

Star Brake Lines

K&N Air Filter

EzzyOiler

Fuel Consumption Excel File (Update columns in blue), download @ http://dl.dropbox.com/u/38849257/Fuel%20Consumption-20120222-154031.xls

WhatS Up DaWgZ!

Thanks for ur pointers. I really appreciate it. I do have faith in my bike but...going at 100km/h and at 12 rpm...it is a bit too risky...I do not want that during the trip..my bike something wrong....and I would be the cause of unhappiness...So i trying to pick the best option right now...so that i hope i can prevent the unwanteds.....

To be honest...i consulted my uncle about my bike...and based on u guyz comments....I hope i can change the sprockets...coz...if i change to stock settings, it will bring down my revving...i think it will helps a lot...air filter, i can wait longer for money to come in....

Chow>>> Is it ok...if u could find out for me based on ur bike...wat is the number of teeth for ur front and back sprocktets...coz based on boon siew manual...it is 14 to 44...thank you...

Simone>>> Thanks bro..really appreciate ur help...so tomorrow i call u up..and we wash my chain....

newtsuit>>> I dun know wats wrong with ur bike...all i can say is we are in the same boat.

Some info....

1. my uncle advice us not to travel in convoy to KL unless we are in KL...coz it is dangerous...

2. he advice us not to stop at the rest point..we should stop at the petrol station at the rest point...much more safer...

3. We should buy our own drinks like bottle pepsi or mineral water for own consumption at the apartment...it is cheaper...can chill it using the provided fridge...

4. Pagoh and Seremban is the ideal stop over for us...

5. The towing fee for breakdown bike is $300RM...from Malacca...if we use the toll plus towing service, they will be activated from Malacca...

6. Ideal speed will be 90 - 110 km/h...

Juz wanted to share these tips from my uncle with u guyz....

About that pegaso bike thingy...i dun know...i got a feeling it is a vara125....why...coz of its exhaust pipe...totally the same like ours...the idling sound also...the tyres and the rims also...why...i almost stop beside him...thot of inviting him...the moment i saw pegaso sticker only...i pull up my left leg and CABUT!!!!

www.nazrinsalim.wordpress.com

Errm, guys, just to post some information regards to our bike,

Few days ago, I went down to enquire on my clutch and throttle cable from my workshop, they got back to me and told me that my bike's clutch cable cost $50/- and my throttle cable cost $70/-, and that's where I got the biggest shock. $120/- for 2 wires???

I remember the days when I was still riding on a bicycle, a cable is only few bucks, and I understand from other bikes like RXZ or wave, their cable is alot cheaper then ours, (maybe $10++ or less), all due to the manufacturer region, spain / japan, as informed by my mechanic.

I did a survey around and was informed that our bikes cable are a little different, then those more commonly in the market, thus it's very difficult to mod a cheaper cable to fit ours.

This will really make me to consider seriously when I am upgrading to another bike.

My Iron Horses

1997 - 2001 : Mountain Bike (No brand one)

2001 - 2002 : Datsun Nissan Sunny (1984 model)

2002 - 2003 : Toyota Starlet GT (My fav)

2003 - 2005 : Honda Varadero 125

2005 - 2006 : BMW R1150GS

2006 - 2007 : TA200

2007 - 2009 : FZ6S

2009 - ???? : FJR

Originally posted by unknown@Nov 22 2004, 12:58 AM

Errm, guys, just to post some information regards to our bike,

Few days ago, I went down to enquire on my clutch and throttle cable from my workshop, they got back to me and told me that my bike's clutch cable cost $50/- and my throttle cable cost $70/-, and that's where I got the biggest shock. $120/- for 2 wires???

I remember the days when I was still riding on a bicycle, a cable is only few bucks, and I understand from other bikes like RXZ or wave, their cable is alot cheaper then ours, (maybe $10++ or less), all due to the manufacturer region, spain / japan, as informed by my mechanic.

I did a survey around and was informed that our bikes cable are a little different, then those more commonly in the market, thus it's very difficult to mod a cheaper cable to fit ours.

This will really make me to consider seriously when I am upgrading to another bike.

I think the throttle cable is quoted w/o installation. w installation it might cost more :( cos i find it diff to diy the throttle cable.

the clutch cable at hwa chin at bukit batok is selling it for 45 must check out fjt to see how much is the clucthc cable.