2 pt/3pt Crash Bar, Engine Guard, Sliders, etc...

the black looks gd in the begining but after a while, u will c the coating changing colour(rainbow type due to heat) & then it starts to "drop" & u will :sian: ... because u wanted the guard to look nice but in the end become "colourful". just my recent experience wif black colour...

• Replies 331

my anodised coating also faded liao.. cos my jeans keep rubbing against the guard.. get chrome one la...

Seng Kwang uncle says 3 pts guards for comestic only cos are mounted onto the engine case and will fail to protect engine during hard impacts.. their 2pts are mounted to main frame thus stronger. Maybe you can check it out at Seng Kwang first lo.. Not cheap but quality assured.

You'll see a superfour (older version) with super protection.. It belongs to one of the staff there.

Originally posted by Turbo08@Apr 12 2005, 04:55 PM

the black looks gd in the begining but after a while, u will c the coating changing colour(rainbow type due to heat) & then it starts to "drop" & u will :sian: ... because u wanted the guard to look nice but in the end become "colourful". just my recent experience wif black colour...

haha like dat stylo liao like micron headers oredi..

Originally posted by -=HANZ=-@Apr 12 2005, 05:00 PM

my anodised coating also faded liao.. cos my jeans keep rubbing against the guard.. get chrome one la...

Seng Kwang uncle says 3 pts guards for comestic only cos are mounted onto the engine case and will fail to protect engine during hard impacts.. their 2pts are mounted to main frame thus stronger. Maybe you can check it out at Seng Kwang first lo.. Not cheap but quality assured.

You'll see a superfour (older version) with super protection.. It belongs to one of the staff there.

well the uncle at Seng Kwang has his reason to say so...

I have personally seen the good points of the 3 point engine guard.

The after impact after accident.. often seen at motor world ...

So far still ok .. even if using the 3 point engine guard..

I guess its how u fall... n where u fall...

Still having guard is better than no guard at all....

Yesterday Is Already A Dream,

Tomorrow Is Only A Vision,

But Today, Well Lived,

Makes Every Yesterday A Dream Of Happiness

& Every Tomorrow A Vision Hope.

sh*t load of corny crap!!!! Well stupidity wins!!!

If you are going for looks, then get a 3point..

If you wanna safe your engine if you meet an accident (TOUCH WOOD), then get a 2point.

Cos when on IMPACT, the 3point will dent and hit your BLOCK (Engine area). Seen it with my own eyes... :giddy:

Guest bomerman81

3-pt guard is the best choice lah....

if u riding versionS then diff liaoz... coz the 3-p guard will make u feel diff when u coner or ide as the guard is 'poking' ur shin area....:smile:

Originally posted by MiCmAsta@Apr 12 2005, 05:20 PM

If you are going for looks, then get a 3point..

If you wanna safe your engine if you meet an accident (TOUCH WOOD), then get a 2point.

Cos when on IMPACT, the 3point will dent and hit your BLOCK (Engine area). Seen it with my own eyes... :giddy:

Ok from all the above posts, i conclude that 2-pt guard is still the best. Cos i worry if put 3-pt guard, upon impact, the engine could be damaged. Heard 2 pts of the 3-pt guard is attached to engine rite?

Another thing is that it seems chrome one is better in the long run compared to anodised ones. On the other hand, is it true chrome ones rust easily? Like that how ah?

Don't ask me get stainless steel cos i think they r too heavy n also they r too rigid n hard to absorb the impact in accident. Am i rite?

However, i notice the majority of riders here installed the 3-pt guard, chrome/stainless steel i can't tell. I saw from the bike pics posted in 1 of the old threads.

Originally posted by hilfiger@Apr 13 2005, 12:18 AM

Ok from all the above posts, i conclude that 2-pt guard is still the best. Cos i worry if put 3-pt guard, upon impact, the engine could be damaged. Heard 2 pts of the 3-pt guard is attached to engine rite?

Another thing is that it seems chrome one is better in the long run compared to anodised ones. On the other hand, is it true chrome ones rust easily? Like that how ah?

Don't ask me get stainless steel cos i think they r too heavy n also they r too rigid n hard to absorb the impact in accident. Am i rite?

However, i notice the majority of riders here installed the 3-pt guard, chrome/stainless steel i can't tell. I saw from the bike pics posted in 1 of the old threads.

bro... 2 pt or 3 pt...

in any accident.. depends how u fall also n where u fall..

2 pt bar also got good and bad ones...

U want the best protection.. go for the ones.. which driving sch is using..

All rounder protection.....

Yesterday Is Already A Dream,

Tomorrow Is Only A Vision,

But Today, Well Lived,

Makes Every Yesterday A Dream Of Happiness

& Every Tomorrow A Vision Hope.

sh*t load of corny crap!!!! Well stupidity wins!!!

Originally posted by I love Honda@Apr 13 2005, 11:58 AM

That will cost him ALOT.... :giddy:

i juz installed the 3pt crash bar , black 1 from motorworld last nite... :weep: hopefully, it wont decolor so fast...

Rs125 Replica, Nsr150sp , Skipper 125, Bandit400, Honda CBRXX , XR4 , Wave 125R , Honda ST11 PE

Kia Picanto - coming soon!!

Originally posted by fate@Apr 13 2005, 05:16 PM

i juz installed the 3pt crash bar , black 1 from motorworld last nite... :weep: hopefully, it wont decolor so fast...

Originally posted by I love Honda@Apr 13 2005, 11:58 AM

bro... 2 pt or 3 pt...

in any accident.. depends how u fall also n where u fall..

2 pt bar also got good and bad ones...

Haha..that's rite...

The more i read abt engine guards the more confused I am...:giddy:

How does the 2-pt look like? Maybe if someone post the pic that may help me make up my mind...cos i like looks a lot...hehe..:cheeky:

Originally posted by hilfiger@Apr 14 2005, 02:58 AM

Has anyone installed motoworld's 3-pt stainless steel engine guard?

Any comments? Cost $90 rite?

Stainless steel... :smile:

installed a black 1 on tues nite.. cost me 80bucks

Rs125 Replica, Nsr150sp , Skipper 125, Bandit400, Honda CBRXX , XR4 , Wave 125R , Honda ST11 PE

Kia Picanto - coming soon!!

i bought my 60 bucks over there le, mine is not stainless steel but untill now for 1 year, still looks good le. no rust

[OM MANI PADME HOM]

Originally posted by hilfiger@Apr 14 2005, 02:28 PM

What abt it? :confused:

1/2 a year has gone and its still Stainless.... :smile:

Originally posted by MiCmAsta@Apr 14 2005, 05:10 PM

1/2 a year has gone and its still Stainless.... :smile:

U mean u now using stainless teel guard?

Is it heavier than the chrome one? can't decide to get chrome or stainless steel?

I thought Stainless steel is already being chromed??? :confused:

Life is like the process of bowel movement. Sometimes you try very hard but what comes out is only gas.

Originally posted by ingyin@Apr 15 2005, 12:18 AM

I thought Stainless steel is already being chromed??? :confused:

There are 2 kind of Crash bars. (If i'm not wrong)

Chrome will RUST as Stainless will not... :smile:

Me using the ones from motoworld. :smile:

Guest bomerman81
Originally posted by MiCmAsta@Apr 15 2005, 01:32 AM

Me using the ones from motoworld. :smile:

Guest enHANZed

i belive all of them are juz steel coated with some anti-rust material...once that layer wears off ....rust will still set in