How reliable is your scooter? or How long it has served u for?

Hi guys, any of the gilera riders or other scooter riders who have been riding their scooter for years keen to share their experience on their individual bike?

Just curious and wanted to know what is the highest mileage or the engine life span mileage range that u guys have clocked for gilera runner or your scooter? (how reliable it is?)

Before sending it for major servicing the wear & tear, which touches on the block, timing chain, valve, shaft and so on.

100, 000km? higher or lesser possible to ride till?

With every 3000km well care taken of servicing which include eg, (engine oil, oil filter & spark plug). And also including transmission parts replacement if needed eg, (rollers, belt and so on.)

Those who had clocked high total mileage of your scooter and your bike still running good please share how reliable or how good it has served you for the past years.

Hope to have some keen sharers!

Have a nice day guys! : )

BIKE,MODEL / HIGHEST MILEAGE CLOCKED

Glad to have u in my life : ) Always love one another!

• Replies 20

KXXXX, GrandDXXX 250 / 15000KM on the odo Used less than 100km made me spend more than 1/2 the price to repair it and the yucks altitude of the agent (pui!) First and last bike of this brand...

Yamaha, Cygnus-X125/ Used for 5000km except some tear and wear Good so far no problem at all till I sold it..

Yamaha, Tmax 500 / Good so far no problem at all....

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Honda Silverwing JDM 400

48000KM - Full Service (EO, Auto Oil, Oil Filter, Belt, Rollers, Clips, Spark Plugs) $320 only :D

Sparkplugs ever 10000KM on Iridium and 5000KM on Normal Plugs

So Far so good no prob on the engine i.e Piston, block e.t.c.

The best bike is YAMAHA WR200 1997 - 600,000KM still strong and no piston and block damage! But its a scrams..lol

http://www3.picturepush.com/photo/a/14045926/640/14045926.jpg
Honda Silverwing JDM 400

48000KM - Full Service (EO, Auto Oil, Oil Filter, Belt, Rollers, Clips, Spark Plugs) $320 only :D

So Far so good no prob on the engine i.e Piston, block e.t.c.

The best bike is YAMAHA WR200 1997 - 600,000KM still strong and no piston and block damage! But its a scrams..lol

i see.. nice sw!

ur wr200 is incredible strong! haha used to ride wr200 too.. mine overhaul twice in two years! haha

i see.. nice sw!

ur wr200 is incredible strong! haha used to ride wr200 too.. mine overhaul twice in two years! haha

wah twice in 2 years?..u whack so much or not enouf 2t?:p:P

so far i only svc cleaning the piston for my wr only..everything in good order no scratch piston e.t.c...

for WR must use ESSO 98 & YAMALUBE 2T cfrm can last long:D

so far i only svc cleaning the piston for my wr only..everything in good order no scratch piston e.t.c...

lol i fed the best 2t and petrol (motul 800 and v power) haha..

maybe whack too much liao!! haha

u used the bike for 600K km without overhaul??????? are u sheeeerious?

http://gadgets.boingboing.net/gimages/lego-cycle-helmet.jpg this is not me! :cheeky:
u used the bike for 600K km without overhaul??????? are u sheeeerious?

yupz:) coz i dont do offroad, only on pure tarmac:)

Done up full servicing every 40000Km (1.5 Yearly) and all in good order excpt for piston ring la wear and tear also change all gasket every 40000Km, besides no major damages; no cdi problem, no 2t pump leaking, no everything:)

Is a very strong hardcore machine datz y ppl are still looking for it till today:)

just f.y.i la:

Monthly Service Includes:

Change EO

Change Spark Plugs

Full Servicing Includes (40000km):

Clean Piston Block and Check if got scratch

Clean Piston and check piston ring

Clean carb

Clean Airfilter

Clean Power Valves and Reed Valves

Change all gaskets (Engine Gasket, Water Pump Gasket, Engine Block Gasket, Reed Valve Gaskets)

Decarb Belly and Endcan

Change Rectifier and Check CDI

Replace Throttle Cables

Total of $500 Sing dollars its a gulp but its worthit if we want to keep this classics alive:)

Edited by etkach3
Honda Silverwing JDM 400

same here... mine's a 2006 manufactured FJS400 (Euro) Silver Wing. coming 50k kms soon and still going strong, sound of its engine is still very sweet :thumb:

reliable? other than a defective magnetic coil, it hasn't failed me on the road over the years (touch wood). i've taken it up to tong-yum land many times (last trip was just last month) and still feel confident it won't fail me during the next tong-yum trip (probably in Aug). this is one hardy machine that serves its master well as long as its well taken cared for.

just sharing :smile:

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

same here... mine's a 2006 manufactured FJS400 (Euro) Silver Wing. coming 50k kms soon and still going strong, sound of its engine is still very sweet :thumb:

reliable? other than a defective magnetic coil, it hasn't failed me on the road over the years (touch wood). i've taken it up to tong-yum land many times (last trip was just last month) and still feel confident it won't fail me during the next tong-yum trip (probably in Aug). this is one hardy machine that serves its master well as long as its well taken cared for.

just sharing :smile:

SW is just simply reliable and trustworthy!! : )

Mine a 2nd hand 7yrs old Piaggio Evo 200cc. owned for 2 months. First time riding a scoot. Down graded from 1000ccs. No need to talk about power. point a to point b is good. mileage 14l will give approx 360km wo pillion.

No mechanical issues. Only need to re-wrap seat as the cushion had worn and long dist becomes uncomfy.

I bought an x9 evo 10 mths ago. I downgraded my vara1k to this bike. Since then, the bike have giving me alot of problems.

1st- engine mounting

2nd- radiator burst

3rd- over heating problem

4th- temperature valve not working

5th- waterpump not working

6th- front disc brake crack

7th- steering wobbly

This problems cost me lots of money for the last 10mths. I when back to the shop, but the boss said he don't wanna repair the bike or buy the bike. And he said, if I don't take back the bike, he gonna push the bike to a carpark and Leave it there. So I have no choice to tow the bike to another. Bike shop for repair. I've riding above 1000cc bikes for 9 years I don't get this problems so much. But with this bike at this particular shop... Haiz... Giving me headache .

KING SHAH

I bought an x9 evo 10 mths ago. I downgraded my vara1k to this bike. Since then, the bike have giving me alot of problems.

1st- engine mounting

2nd- radiator burst

3rd- over heating problem

4th- temperature valve not working

5th- waterpump not working

6th- front disc brake crack

7th- steering wobbly

This problems cost me lots of money for the last 10mths. I when back to the shop, but the boss said he don't wanna repair the bike or buy the bike. And he said, if I don't take back the bike, he gonna push the bike to a carpark and Leave it there. So I have no choice to tow the bike to another. Bike shop for repair. I've riding above 1000cc bikes for 9 years I don't get this problems so much. But with this bike at this particular shop... Haiz... Giving me headache .

i see.. sorry to heard that. Might be because the bike is too old or probably met with an accident before. Cheer up!

Skipper 150 4T Registered 2002 FU plate

Current Mileage : 76000km

Things i've change so far

Tires every 10000km for rear

every 20000km for front

Rear brake shoe still using original ( haven't change)

Front brake pads Changed only once @60000km wow

Rectifier (voltage regulator) changed twice only ( the volt meter helps alot, no need to guess)

All basic like brake oil, engine oil, hub oil, spark plugs are periodic maintainence.

Never break down at all and just service the carb for the first time around 70000km because forgot to change air filter. All the air foam become bits and power choke the carb and hard starting heh heh.

Damn reliable, plus i don't send to workshop at all ha ha.

Super highly recommended if it were 9 years back.

average mileage 23Km ( still the same as new)

top speed new 109km/h now average about 100km/h to 109km/h depending on expressway got incline or downslope :)

Very good cornering, very stable ( never change the shaft at all now cannot corner liao as going to scrap no point to change the bushing.

It can corner better than my Runner 180 SP 2T

Top speed new 109km/h now take very long from 100km/h to 109km/h

consumption 23km/litre same as when new

Have not adjust the valve clearance as the stupid design need to drop the engine, now engine tick tick tick tap tap tap damn noisy. But i like, got it's own character. i come home to hdb my family members above knows i'm back haha.

As for Runner 180 SP gives me the most S**T for day one

Paint chip

Petrol expansion tank leak 2 times petol keep flowing out from a small tank inside. The 2nd time i cover the stupid small tank with sealant make sure it won't split open.

Bloody petrol hose all start to crack and leak. change this today, tomorrow another side leak.

Petrol cock got no cocking effect. suppose to stop fuel flow when engine stop the fuel can flow and flow if pull out hose from carb side

Absorber rear change 2 or 3 times can't remeber

Oh my scoot mileage now is only 55000km only use every day as workplace near.

Now at my work place rusting away wondering what to do with it. very jia lat as stater spoil, carburettor spoil, water pump spoil, radiator leak, engine over heat, swing shaft don't know change 3 times already.

casing leaking 2T and water, i think water go inside engine already. S**T scooter but i love the pick up and power. Good to ride not good to maintain heh heh.

top speed when new 135km/h on meter i think actual on car is like 115km/h S**T meter so optimistic

now only can do 120km/h

consumption now is 18km/liter if don't base on meter i think it's more like 15km/litre, bloody car can do better than this. steering cone change and change roller change and change.

Edited by parotae
extra info
i see.. sorry to heard that. Might be because the bike is too old or probably met with an accident before. Cheer up!

Maybe it is bro, but the shop should know better than me before selling the bike. But it's okay I manage to find a good mech to repair my ride.

KING SHAH

Maybe it is bro, but the shop should know better than me before selling the bike. But it's okay I manage to find a good mech to repair my ride.

Yup, u r right. Majority of the shops are quite dishonest in term of selling 2nd bike. Always says how good is the bike here and there, and when the deal is close and sold they dun kept their words. Say is not under their shop warrenty so on..

Happens once on me b4 as well:( No chioce lo, just treated it as a experience and is good to learn from mistake:)

Anyway is gd to find a good and reliable mechanic.

Skipper 150 4T Registered 2002 FU plate

Current Mileage : 76000km

Things i've change so far

Tires every 10000km for rear

every 20000km for front

Rear brake shoe still using original ( haven't change)

Front brake pads Changed only once @60000km wow

Rectifier (voltage regulator) changed twice only ( the volt meter helps alot, no need to guess)

All basic like brake oil, engine oil, hub oil, spark plugs are periodic maintainence.

Never break down at all and just service the carb for the first time around 70000km because forgot to change air filter. All the air foam become bits and power choke the carb and hard starting heh heh.

Damn reliable, plus i don't send to workshop at all ha ha.

Super highly recommended if it were 9 years back.

average mileage 23Km ( still the same as new)

top speed new 109km/h now average about 100km/h to 109km/h depending on expressway got incline or downslope :)

Very good cornering, very stable ( never change the shaft at all now cannot corner liao as going to scrap no point to change the bushing.

It can corner better than my Runner 180 SP 2T

Top speed new 109km/h now take very long from 100km/h to 109km/h

consumption 23km/litre same as when new

Have not adjust the valve clearance as the stupid design need to drop the engine, now engine tick tick tick tap tap tap damn noisy. But i like, got it's own character. i come home to hdb my family members above knows i'm back haha.

As for Runner 180 SP gives me the most S**T for day one

Paint chip

Petrol expansion tank leak 2 times petol keep flowing out from a small tank inside. The 2nd time i cover the stupid small tank with sealant make sure it won't split open.

Bloody petrol hose all start to crack and leak. change this today, tomorrow another side leak.

Petrol cock got no cocking effect. suppose to stop fuel flow when engine stop the fuel can flow and flow if pull out hose from carb side

Absorber rear change 2 or 3 times can't remeber

Oh my scoot mileage now is only 55000km only use every day as workplace near.

Now at my work place rusting away wondering what to do with it. very jia lat as stater spoil, carburettor spoil, water pump spoil, radiator leak, engine over heat, swing shaft don't know change 3 times already.

casing leaking 2T and water, i think water go inside engine already. S**T scooter but i love the pick up and power. Good to ride not good to maintain heh heh.

top speed when new 135km/h on meter i think actual on car is like 115km/h S**T meter so optimistic

now only can do 120km/h

consumption now is 18km/liter if don't base on meter i think it's more like 15km/litre, bloody car can do better than this. steering cone change and change roller change and change.

wow, u seems to have pretty much interesting experience in these two bike!

Didnt know skipper is such a reliable bike! haha nice to learn this info from u!