you journey to sch takes me earlist 30mins to at most 45mins, so, for long distances, backaches prone to occur? you got used to it over time?

btw, i thought its just purely leaning over, and not crouching?

hmm..riding to sch takes me about 40 min..never experienced any backache before, as the lean angle on cbr is pretty mild imo..=p

however it does place abit of pressure on the palms; some degree of vibration is expected as well.

overall, cbr makes a great bike for communting, i get an eye-popping fc of 45-47 km/l at times :D

baby, u're my love..

http://i708.photobucket.com/albums/ww87/curtailed_cat/DSC_0725_650.jpg

• Replies 295

overall, cbr makes a great bike for communting, i get an eye-popping fc of 45-47 km/l at times :D

WA so good ah yours.... haha... when i my hand feels itchy i rev all the way to 7k RPM in every gear before shifting up... feels fast but the FC drops to 30km/l :cheeky:

haha i also cant believe..its prolly cuz travel primarily by expressway then no need stop, go, stop, go lol o_O

i guess u do mostly street riding? i also rev to 6-7k+ before kicking up..if shift at 4-5k feel like not enough..OOmph leh :angel:

baby, u're my love..

http://i708.photobucket.com/albums/ww87/curtailed_cat/DSC_0725_650.jpg

http://www.bikez.com/pictures/honda/2007/26011_0_1_2_cbr%20150r_Submitted%20by%20anonymous%20user..jpg

Engine and transmission

Displacement: 149.40 ccm (9.12 cubic inches)

Engine type: Single cylinder

Stroke: 4

Power: 17.00 HP (12.4 kW))

Compression: 11.0:1

Bore x stroke: 63.5 x 47.2 mm (2.5 x 1.9 inches)

Fuel system: Carburettor

Valves per cylinder: 4

Fuel control: DOHC

Ignition: CDI Direct System

Starter: Electric

Lubrication system: Wet sump

Cooling system: Liquid

Gearbox: 6-speed

Transmission type

final drive: Chain

Clutch: Wet Multiple Disk

Physical measures

Dry weight: 115.0 kg (253.5 pounds)

Seat height: 776 mm (30.6 inches) If adjustable, lowest setting.

Overall height: 1 mm (0.0 inches)

Overall length: 1 mm (0.0 inches)

Overall width: 652 mm (25.7 inches)

Ground clearance: 172 mm (6.8 inches)

Wheelbase: 1 mm (0.0 inches)

Chassis and dimensions

Frame type: Aluminum Frame

Rake (fork angle): 25.0°

Trail: 88 mm (3.5 inches)

Front suspension: Telescopic forks

Front suspension travel: 109 mm (4.3 inches)

Rear suspension: Monoshock

Rear suspension travel: 120 mm (4.7 inches)

Front brakes: Single disc. 2-piston caliper

Front brakes diameter: 276 mm (10.9 inches)

Rear brakes: Single disc. 2-piston caliper

Rear brakes diameter: 220 mm (8.7 inches)

Exhaust system: Painted black steel pipe and chrome coated muffler

Speed and acceleration

Top speed: 160.0 km/h (99.4 mph)

Power/weight ratio: 0.1478 HP/kg

Other specifications

Fuel capacity: 10.00 litres (2.64 gallons)

Fuel consumption pr. 10 km (6.2 miles): 3.00 litres (0.79 gallons)

Color options: Red/grey, black/grey, blue/grey.

Source: http://www.bikez.com/motorcycles/honda_cbr_150r_2007.php

Edited by xXxRatedxXx
Formatting; add pics

Hi all, been riding this slim sportsbike for a year or so now... been through thick and thin with it together with the CBR150R community here in SBF. I notice that this bike is one of the more "popular" choices among new riders and sometimes.... uncles. So this is what i think of the bike after 1 year plus of riding it.

Firstly, a short introduction is in order... The HONDA CBR150R was first brought into singapore in 2002 give or take (earliest iteration i know is FV plater) to compete in the 2B "sports-commuter" market.

"Sports-commuting", if i may coin such a term, is referred to sports bikes being used for daily commuting or daily runaround. Such bikes are often small in capacity and easy to mantain. Current examples include rides such as the CBR150R, Honda SP, Kawasaki KRR, and recently, the very R6-esque Yamaha R15.

The HONDA CBR150R is specially suited for sports commuting, its fuel efficient, runs on a single carburettor, cheap to maintain and repair, highly mod-able, Slim enough for commuting in town, and the list goes on... we shall take a look at these points individually.

Fuel efficiency:

30-40km/litres. If you are ham-fisted like me.... you get poorer fuel consumption obviously, but 30km/l is still alot... You can go 300km riding aggressively on a full tank! 400km if you are conservative!

Cheap to maintain and repair:

This bike uses common 2B bike parts such as common chain and sprockets and sports tires. Just to give you an idea how I maintain my bike in decent usable condition - Monthly EO change at 1000-1500km, Semi Synthetic EO = $10. Spark plug once a year = $3. BRIDGESTONE BATTALAX Made in Japan Tires front and back - changed when botak = $170 from LAB. Brake pads - changed when it never makan = $50 or less, front and rear. Coolant = Buy a bottle from LAB how much only.... Just top up the reserve with water also can.:cheeky:

As you can see, monthly maintenance is just Engine Oil! No need to worry about 2T la all those... The others are to be changed as and when you feel its time to change.

How does this bike fare on singapore roads?

Quite well actually, its slim (some say too slim like victoria beckham) profile enables it to lanesplit and squeeze through stationary traffic with ease. My bike personally has 3 boxes and I still can squeeze with relative ease.

Since the bike is water cooled... the engine temperature tends to shoot up when you are stuck in jams... never fear, if you are NOT like me and decide to invest in better coolants, you would not feel the heat so much.

When the temperature gauge starts to get very high.... the engine tends to get abit "soft", but not so soft that you cannot ride the bike properly, you would feel it in the form of slightly delayed pick up.

Dashboard

Clear indicators and clocks. From Left to Right: - Fuel gauge, speedometer, Rev meter, Engine Temp. Turn signals and neutral light mounted on top and bottom respectively.

Speed

Ah this is a sportsbike right??? It should be able to "cut" those SP and KR right?? It should be fast like Pi Li Huo Blue thunder right??? right??? riggggghhhttt???

Wrong! This is a sports commuter as mentioned earlier.... You CAN ride fast if you want to, but you will never win those aforementioned bikes in terms of pick up. When you ride the CBR150R, you may enjoy SLIGHTLY faster pick up due to the DOHC configuration. i say slightly cos i've seen the YAMAHA r15.... that bike too has strong pick up, and its an OHC. Blur already?? Google DOHC and OHC.

Top speed i've tried is 140km/h flat out on a straight road, don't ask me where. But maintaining speeds above 110km/h is very stressful to the bike and rider.... Engine components work harder and the rider gets buffeted by 140km/h winds.

In summary for speed: Its the rider, not the bike.

Storage

"Hey man that's all nice to know", you might say, "but i'm a practical person... how does this bike carry me and my stuff from A to B?"

Well that's a good question. A fully stock CBR150R has a small underseat compartment big enough to chuck in a "old style" ERP IU. On top of that, the pillon grab rail at the rear can be used to strap stuff down with a huge bungee nets. other bungee points can be found on the pillon foot rest.

For additional storage, you may get a rack and box. HONDA SP's Givi rack is also compatible with the CBR150's mounting points.

Zhng my bike!

"Whoaaaaa... this sounds like a nice bike man!!", you might say... "but all my friends riding SP and KR got tong stomach and tong exhaust and some say tong fuel tank!! I also want! I want to go 'cut' them jackpot race once i mod my bike! Can or not ah bro?"

My answer is: Go ride SP and KR better.... (or maybe a Spark for that matter), not only will you loose to them and loose your money and whatever you bet on, you will mess up your bike's performance terribly.... the idling will go haywire due to the increased air/fuel intake on a stock carburettor. More headaches for you and your mechanic... Life is hard already; lets not make it harder...

Other modifications that the CBR150R community here in SBF have tried are simple mods such as voltmeter, super loud horn, HID lamps, racing CDI, Cyclometer, Fatter tires and "imported" exhaust pipes (there is no legal pipe for this bike) just to name a few. These are relatively safe modifications.

Spare Parts

Can be found easily as HONDA still produces this bike in thailand.

Want to know more?

Visit the CBR150R community here! We will welcome you with open arms if you come down for our meet ups to learn more! You may also try the SEARCH function in our thread to find info instead of asking the same damn thing over and over!!!

But if you come down with a snobbish attitude and messed up mentality, I will deal with you..... personally.

Edited by xXxRatedxXx
Updated
I agree, its a great review. excellent effort and very detailed writing :thumb:

Hope to see more great reads from you!

Thx for the kind comments.... what else would you all like to know? I shal try my best to explain in detail.

Thank you xXxRatedxXx for that awesome review, very easy to digest with bite-sized paragraphing. Wonder if insurance company classify & charge this bike as Sports or not XP. (Still learning 2b here)

Honda Cbr 150 (28/08/2010 - ??/??/????)

May I know roughly, what's the price for this bike? 2nd-hand.

Intend to get one roughly in August/September if I do complete my license by July. (:

08/07/2010: 2B ; 09/05/2011: 3 ; 25/08/2011: 2a ; 29/01/2013: 2

20/07/2010 - 29/10/2011: Roadwin R125

21/11/2011 - : YZF-R15

23/12/2015 - 29/06/2017: BMW S1000RR

09/02/2018 - : Ducati 1198SP

Looking for plate no. FV1317T

May I know roughly, what's the price for this bike? 2nd-hand.

Intend to get one roughly in August/September if I do complete my license by July. (:

Pls call your favourite motorshop for a quote. Ballpark figure would be around $1500 private fx plate to $4000 shop fbd plate.

Rummage through the used bike section. Hard to find a used CBR150. :x

Yes.... very few people selling.... go look around in shops.. sure have one.

Yup, this CBR150 is not much in used market as those owner will used it long enough. hahaha just like me. I just recently change/upgraded from CBR150. Been used it for 6 years and it's the 1st batch of CBR150 in Repsol paintwork. Itraded it to Honda SuperFour. :)

For ppl who interested on CBR150, It's reliable, yes! FC good too. mine refuel once weekly and traveled 70km/day with pillion. But do change EO monthly at lease. no need very good/ex 1. just normal EO will do. sprocket, chain, tyres tear and wear is normal. parts and labour at JB is cheaper(I do serviced mine there, near Pelangi). This bike good for daily use, but not for speester. Handlebar vibration do made me flareup sometimes, it's tiring ur hand.

Do take care and change the fuel needle inside carburator too(ard 20000km) as it will brake and worse droped in the combusion room. (How I know?? I spend S$400++ b4 to repaired/overhaul, replaced cylinder, head, con-rod, timing chain...etc. maybe it just me being unlucky...)

Riding Since 198+:

Honda C70, Yamaha 100 Sport, Suzuki BEST 110

Suzuki Panther 150, Yamaha 125 Antolo Scramble

YAMAHA LC135 YPVS (Trade in) 1997

YAMAHA RXZ135 (Trade in) 1998

HONDA WAVE 110 (Trade in) 2000

HONDA CBR150 Repsol (Trade in) 2004

HONDA CB400 Super Four Spec 3 Spec III (Trade in) 2010

HONDA CB400X 2014

thanks for the tips! (:

still undecided on the type of bike i intend to get.

it's either CBR or SP.

thanks for the tips! (:

still undecided on the type of bike i intend to get.

it's either CBR or SP.

if you want to go racing. Buy sp... Its really fast. But every mother's son already raped that bike.

Nah, I doubt I would race. The biggest turn off of CBR 150 is that it is really small. Like what you said, slim = Victoria Beckham. ):

So.. you like a little meat on your sportsbikes eh?? There are a few in the 2B category.

http://www.dancewithshadows.com/autoindia/images/yamaha-yzf-r15-photo.JPGhttp://i34.tinypic.com/2w7mszm.jpghttp://www.motorcyclespecs.co.za/Gallery/Derbi%20GPR%20125%20Racing.jpghttp://motoride.sk/motodb/pic/Aprilia-RS125Replica-04-05-06-07.jpg

Poison poison!!!!

RS125!!! Dream bike. :x

Just can't imagine myself with a full-faced helmet and a cbr 150. :dot:

RS125!!! Dream bike. :x

Just can't imagine myself with a full-faced helmet and a cbr 150. :dot:

Why cannot? I wear full face on mine everyday. After awhile you will learn to ignore what other people think...

hi just wonder? how Do you take care and change the fuel needle inside carburator? and nowadays, when i throttle the engine doesn't seems to respond and get stuck at a certain speed/rpm. anyone can tell me y is tis happening?

replied at CBR thread.