• Replies 4.1k

Btw guys, what engine oil u use for ur GTS200 for smoother rides? 10w40 or 10w50?? thinner the smoother? anyone can recommend?

Oil should be thin enough to flow easily when the engine is cold and remain thick enough to protect the engine when it's hot.

10W-50 oil, for example, the two numbers mean it's a "multiviscosity" or "multigrade" oil that's effective over a range of temperatures. The first number, 10, is an index that refers to how the oil flows at low temperatures. The second number, 50, refers to how it flows at high temperatures. The W designation means winter.

Normally locally packed fully syn motorcycle oil like castrol, esso etc are 10w cos we are Singapore, it’s a hot country but not as hot as Africa so we don’t need a 15w or 20w.

As for 10w40 or 10w50 , for 10w40 you need to change the oil earlier than 10w50.

Now you know which oil to choose?

Oil should be thin enough to flow easily when the engine is cold and remain thick enough to protect the engine when it's hot.

10W-50 oil, for example, the two numbers mean it's a "multiviscosity" or "multigrade" oil that's effective over a range of temperatures. The first number, 10, is an index that refers to how the oil flows at low temperatures. The second number, 50, refers to how it flows at high temperatures. The W designation means winter.

Normally locally packed fully syn motorcycle oil like castrol, esso etc are 10w cos we are Singapore, it’s a hot country but not as hot as Africa so we don’t need a 15w or 20w.

As for 10w40 or 10w50 , for 10w40 you need to change the oil earlier than 10w50.

Now you know which oil to choose?

:thumb: information thanks bro

SYM GTS 200 - 2005 - 2007

HONDA Varadero XL1000V - 2011 - 2013

it's time for me to change my GTS200 belt...should i change to original or other brand?

http://www.bikehk.com/photo/2005/p004233/001.jpg

My past n present ride...

1995 - Honda C70

1996 - TZR125 (FJ3462G)

1997 - TZRR125 (FM8630P)

1998 - CBR400RRR (FP6854H) / Skipper125 (FL8169K)

1999 - Skipper125 (FL8169K) / RVF400 (FQ7918X) / LC125 (FB9950)

2000 - Skipper125 (FL8169K) / Kawasaki ZXR750 P1 (FN5572M) / Toyota Starlet EP70 (SBH908R)

2001 - Skipper125 (FL8169K) / TZM 150 (FS4806U) / Daihatsu Hijet (GM3346G)

2002 - Skipper125 (FL8169K) / Toyota Starlet EP80 (SBR6249S)

2003 - Skipper125 (FL8196K) / XR200R (FS7249H)/ CBR900 (FJ76H)

2004 - XR200R (FS7249H) / Africa Twin 750 (FR1403Z) / Hyundai Accent 1.5L (SFF738C)

2005 - XR200R (FS7249H) / Honda Foresight 250 (FP9848G) / Atlantic200 (FZ5766H) / Mini (SFM9943E) / Hyundai Accent 1.5L (SFF738C)

2006 - Atlantic200 (FZ5576H) / Mini (SFM9943E) / Hyundai Tucson (SGC1185U)

2007 - DRZ400SM (FBBXXXX) / SWIFT SPORT (SGNXXXX)

Next - ....350Z???

it's time for me to change my GTS200 belt...should i change to original or other brand?

original is good enough, kevlar dont give u any improve in performance, only last longer..... but ur rollers & u-clip cant last tat long. :sian:

Anyone riding the sym fighter 150, how is it?

Anyone have any idea if this bike would be hitting our shores?

http://www.sym.com.tw/admin/upload/mo/moccmp_c/20070409154831.jpg

The sym fighter is already in stores... i saw it last month asked about it... cost about $5k plus with coe and insurance...

ya i know the fighter is out. the picture that i posted is fighter 150 DX. Head light is different from fighter. fighter headlight sharper, fighter150 DX the headlight is circle one

Hi as above. Which shop selling th cheapest price with free stuff etc? I check with MAH, they selling resonable gd but service attitude liike bochup me. Which shop provides gd sales attitude. I thought MAH sells ex but its cheaper than those small shophouses that i've asked. But they dun give free gifts like box, helmet, cover, raincoat etc.. Mah offered the cheapest and got give box, 2 helmet, cover etc.

So anywhere else sells cheaper for gts 200 and provides good sells? Thanks.

i got mine from mah, the prices from the other shops cant compare to them when i bought mine. If you really want to get a new one, do spend more time asking ard who knows u might get a better deal one day

Hi as above. Which shop selling th cheapest price with free stuff etc? I check with MAH, they selling resonable gd but service attitude liike bochup me. Which shop provides gd sales attitude. I thought MAH sells ex but its cheaper than those small shophouses that i've asked. But they dun give free gifts like box, helmet, cover, raincoat etc.. Mah offered the cheapest and got give box, 2 helmet, cover etc.

So anywhere else sells cheaper for gts 200 and provides good sells? Thanks.

if i am not wrong...MAH is the 1 who bring in GTS..

those small shop have to mark up the prices in order to earn some commission mah

well i could be wrong oso... :cheeky:

oh man...today my GTS exhaust chrome cover came off while i was on the expressway....anyone know where to get the cover???

btw is there any aftermarket exhaust for GTS200???

1995 - Honda C70

1996 - TZR125 (FJ3462G)

1997 - TZRR125 (FM8630P)

2000 - Skipper125 (FL8169K) / Kawasaki ZXR750 P1 (FN5572M) / Toyota Starlet EP70 (SBH908R)

2004 - XR200R (FS7249H) / Africa Twin 750 (FR1403Z) / Hyundai Accent 1.5L (SFF738C)

2005 - XR200R (FS7249H) / Honda Foresight 250 (FP9848G) / Atlantic200 (FZ5766H) / Mini (SFM9943E) / Hyundai Accent 1.5L (SFF738C)

Next - ....350Z???

oh man...today my GTS exhaust chrome cover came off while i was on the expressway....anyone know where to get the cover???

btw is there any aftermarket exhaust for GTS200???

how did it fell off sia? to get the cover try checking with mah. after market exhaust i think got but dunno gts200 can use or not.

i also dunno...juz fell off like tat when travelling at PIE near bedok...dun even know if the plate got hit any car anot...haiz...:sian:

1995 - Honda C70

1996 - TZR125 (FJ3462G)

1997 - TZRR125 (FM8630P)

Next - ....350Z???

can ask, are sym scooters' parts not stable, as in they will come out easily? it seems i heard a few sym riders mentioned this flies, that drops.

and can safely say that sym scooters' maintenance will be cheaper than piaggio?

and lastly.. how come some forumers sellin their sym scooters so cheap.. problematic scooter ?

the only thing I heard of dropping off is the exhaust cover.

maintainence is DEFINITELY cheaper than Piaggio. Just remember to do regular preventive maintenance and you're fine. Don't even bother to mod this or that. Keep it stock and it'll serve you well.

can't sell because of market perception and popularity. "Taiwan ah... can use one or not ahhhh????"

Anyway scooters never really have good resale value. So if you wanna save money, hunt for a good 2nd hand one.

Remember... DON'T MOD no matter what the mechanics tell you. Keep em original but Dr Pulley are fine to use. Just have to use the correct weight.

the only thing I heard of dropping off is the exhaust cover.

maintainence is DEFINITELY cheaper than Piaggio. Just remember to do regular preventive maintenance and you're fine. Don't even bother to mod this or that. Keep it stock and it'll serve you well.

can't sell because of market perception and popularity. "Taiwan ah... can use one or not ahhhh????"

Anyway scooters never really have good resale value. So if you wanna save money, hunt for a good 2nd hand one.

Remember... DON'T MOD no matter what the mechanics tell you. Keep em original but Dr Pulley are fine to use. Just have to use the correct weight.

thanks bro for ur reply. But what i ever heard was, the whole carburator dropped druing riding, couldnt find it, then went back to get a replacement. morever, this rider only rode for a few days..

carburator???? u sure???? seems kinda impossible to me....

1995 - Honda C70

1996 - TZR125 (FJ3462G)

1997 - TZRR125 (FM8630P)

Next - ....350Z???

a carb is held together with Fuel lines, Air intake thro the filter and into the engine.

there are at least 4-5 clips and connection there. For the whole carb to drop, I'd think that will be almost impossible.

also even if the carb really dropped, I'm having problems imagining it dropping out of the bike's cover and onto the road FAR FAR away till the rider can't even find it. No carb no distance covered. PERIOD.

better find out properly from WHERE you HEARD this.

this "I HEARD, I HEARD" business is getting way out of hand.

what are the respective FC for SYM range of scooters?

Joyride ?

GTS ?

2004 Jan - 2007 Feb - Yamaha RXZ FT*921U

2007 Feb - 2008 June - Yamaha Majesty 250 MK1 FQ822*A

2008 Jul - Present - MP3 250 FBB7122

for mine I think ard 27 to maximum 30 km/litre...i think still quite reasonable considering i always going 100-110km/h at ecp from bt batok to changi...

1995 - Honda C70

1996 - TZR125 (FJ3462G)

1997 - TZRR125 (FM8630P)

Next - ....350Z???

for mine I think ard 27 to maximum 30 km/litre...i think still quite reasonable considering i always going 100-110km/h at ecp from bt batok to changi...

ur bike model ? joyride/joyride efi / GTS?

2004 Jan - 2007 Feb - Yamaha RXZ FT*921U

2007 Feb - 2008 June - Yamaha Majesty 250 MK1 FQ822*A

2008 Jul - Present - MP3 250 FBB7122