Hi guys! I had been riding my silver gts for more than a week already. Can feel that the engine getting smoother. Very nice riding on it, will be doing my running in next week at my off day at de xing.

So far so good, I did not encounter any mechanical prob yet, thanks god!!!

I am really suprised that some of you had waited for so long. I did my booking on a friday and go it the next Tue. :cheer:

• Replies 4.1k

Guest Medusa

:shy: HI, GTSfreak! Me now join in the forum. :cheeky:

I'm very new in here!! :giddy:

Hey guys, Something for you to luff at... :cheeky:

My oil lamp lighted up when my mileage hits 1000km.

Normal right?

THe abnormal thing was that I tot it'll go off automatically.

From Clementi till Bedok the Red light was flashing. It's half way on the expressway that I saw the reset oil button. haha

Donno got ppl mistaken me for TP not. cos bike's pearl white den got a flashing red light. Ok la quite exaggerating, the red led so small only. But it was damn distracting.

Any of you guys free this sat & living in the west? Around 12+ to 1+ will be good.

Help me kick start, teach me the technique... I kick till bike wanna fall still can't start. lol.

--Lvin--

Originally posted by seagull99@Jul 20 2005, 11:15 PM

need to find out more about the run in...

1. how much km is need for the run in??? i was told by the bike shop that it need 3000km... every 1000km i need to go back for servicing(free)...

2. what is the top speed for the bike? my friend told me 140-150...:confused:

3. Did any of you have problem with the LEFT rear light??? i think my always got water inside :weep: especially after rain of washing...:help:

Sorri for the late reply...........

Its best to try once in a while, to ride above 80km/hr once after ur bike reaches 1000km (make sure u've changed ur EO)

I've tried the most, able to reach almost 130km/hr when my mileage was only 1500++km.

Gonna have my 3rd oil change (mileage 2000km oredi) on fri morning. Mah pte offer SPC semi synthetic EO... which i personally dun like it, but for running in sake... juz try to bear with it.

FYI,

1st 1000km, ride below 80km/hr. Do not drag ur throttle.

1000km-3000km, try to once in a while increase the rpm. (ride at ur own risk)

>3000km, try ur bike with others.......ehehehe............

As i mentioned...so far i've tried almost 130km/hr... i believe the bike can go faster...havn't got the chance to do so. Maybe after 3000km , then i'll test the bike to its fullest. But i tink of the engine cc, it cant go up to 150km/hr.... i doubt so.

I dont hav tt prob. Better check for any loose screws or etc.... I advice for u to go back to ur shop where u purchase the bike. Let them hav a check.......

Originally posted by hanson2020@Jul 21 2005, 09:38 AM

Anybody have problem with the batteries. I was told by the agent who sell the bike to me that when you turn the key on the batteries light is always on and it will continue on even when the bike is on the go. But recently when I turn on my bike the batteries light is on but when I start my engine the light is off but when I start to move the light slowly become brighter and when I slow down it become dimmer until no light when I stop. I don't know is this normal or not but for the first week when I ride the bike it's not like that the light continue on all the time. Only recently it happen. Anybody encounter the same problem or is this normal? :confused:

Thz is not a problem. Its nomal.

Its an idicator tt our charging system (rectifier or alternator) is in good werking condition. If the light doesnt come up even when u rev, better send to ur shop for an inspection.............. :thumb:

Originally posted by Yzf_R1@Jul 21 2005, 12:46 PM

Anybody have any idea wat is the air filter size?

And when changing the EO is there a oil filter?

I should be getting my bike this fri or sat.. And dun think i will be doing the old method of running in. So want to get all the available info i can find. Thanks.

Hav u seen RVF 400's air filter?? its similar...........

The oil filter is juz a metal gauge.... its at the EO drainage screw....

Wat do u mean u wont running in the old method way??? whats ur way??? juz ramm up the engine??? o_O

Originally posted by wee22wah@Jul 21 2005, 08:59 PM

Hi guys! I had been riding my silver gts for more than a week already. Can feel that the engine getting smoother. Very nice riding on it, will be doing my running in next week at my off day at de xing.

So far so good, I did not encounter any mechanical prob yet, thanks god!!!

I am really suprised that some of you had waited for so long. I did my booking on a friday and go it the next Tue. :cheer:

Good to hear tt ur bike got no prob. ut i dunt understand... u want to do ur running in at de xing??? ..........................

Btw, do hove tt any default comes b4 the warranty expires.......... ehehe. So can get free replacements.

GTS riderss......

I was informed tt the workshop manual is in. BUT ITS NOT FOR SALE. Each individual SYM GTS authorised distributors is given a booklet each. I had a sneak peek at it, very detailed.

So i believed tt some of the mechanics do hav tried to dismantled it.

Any yes, the shipments of GTS hav arrived...so do the parts of the bike.

Some of u hav seen the current GIVI box bracket. Yes, it's meant for GTS 200, and yes, it look ugly. Yes, our agents hav instructed GIVI to produce another set of brackets. Yet to hav my arms on it, to hav a closer look. SO, i cant give my comments bout it yet.....

As for the box, it comes in only black..gloss i tink. Damn big.......

And not to forget.........in the next shipment, accessories for GTS will b coming. Things such as pillion back rest........lights at side mirror........etc.

As for my bike, i'm a very satisfied and proud owner of my GTS 200.......

wah think the sales engineer not working at the service center liao....nvr reply my sms also....

anyway, from the threads i realised that all of us are having the same problems...

1) Like to DIY but don know how....(for me is with regards to belt and rollers)

2) Don know where got reliable motor shops to service our bike...

3) Lack of accessories and parts knowledge....pricing, etc.

I gather if anybody got any info on the above please share it here then everybody will gain....

By the way, something regarding kickstarting...my own experiment...

If you have difficulty starting using the kickstart...try starting using the electric start first then use the kickstart later...this is so to regain the kickstart function slowly...last time i also have some problem getting the kickstart to work...so tried this and now at least not so much problem with the kickstart liao

Originally posted by roadmaster29@Jul 22 2005, 12:34 AM

GTS riderss......

I was informed tt the workshop manual is in. BUT ITS NOT FOR SALE. Each individual SYM GTS authorised distributors is given a booklet each. I had a sneak peek at it, very detailed.

So i believed tt some of the mechanics do hav tried to dismantled it.

Any yes, the shipments of GTS hav arrived...so do the parts of the bike.

Some of u hav seen the current GIVI box bracket. Yes, it's meant for GTS 200, and yes, it look ugly. Yes, our agents hav instructed GIVI to produce another set of brackets. Yet to hav my arms on it, to hav a closer look. SO, i cant give my comments bout it yet.....

As for the box, it comes in only black..gloss i tink. Damn big.......

And not to forget.........in the next shipment, accessories for GTS will b coming. Things such as pillion back rest........lights at side mirror........etc.

As for my bike, i'm a very satisfied and proud owner of my GTS 200.......

Hi Roadmaster. Is it possible to borrow the manual and make a copy for our GTS friends?

Yea... definitely feel the same as you.

ONly diff is tt i found 2 reliable place to do up my bike ->DX and Sunrise

http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k127/jytheorem/SV%20-%20Skinzo/SV_jy.gif http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k127/jytheorem/jy_sv.jpg

Wonder y my ST11 dun look as good as my SV...

Originally posted by Medusa@Jul 21 2005, 10:36 PM

Hehehe. Wah ur nick Medusa ah, can change people into stone leh. Must careful already. Hehehe.

BTW, Medusa, it's good to have you here. Welcome to the club. It is also good as our brothers and sisters here may have some enquiries after they bought their bikes from your place. You may be the adviser leh. Also your technical knowledge about the GTS is quite good, maybe you could share it with us here so that we can take care of the bike better!.

And Jack, they say the manual is already here. Can borrow me a while? Hehehe :sweat:

No Signature

wow, that means that we got a GTS guru here... welcome. do share with us more infor about this new bike. So far the outlook of this bike has attracted alot of potential scooterist, just that as this bike is quite new in the market, we do not have sufficient information on the bikes whether it have major problems or minor problems and what is the performance and mantainance like. :cheer:

no active trips since 2006

Originally posted by inovator@Jul 22 2005, 01:30 AM

wah think the sales engineer not working at the service center liao....nvr reply my sms also....

anyway, from the threads i realised that all of us are having the same problems...

1) Like to DIY but don know how....(for me is with regards to belt and rollers)

2) Don know where got reliable motor shops to service our bike...

3) Lack of accessories and parts knowledge....pricing, etc.

I gather if anybody got any info on the above please share it here then everybody will gain....

By the way, something regarding kickstarting...my own experiment...

If you have difficulty starting using the kickstart...try starting using the electric start first then use the kickstart later...this is so to regain the kickstart function slowly...last time i also have some problem getting the kickstart to work...so tried this and now at least not so much problem with the kickstart liao

HAha, I tried b4 le, but cannot. Engine warm warm after long ride somemore. In the end when i try to electric start it, it takes mi a few tries b4 it can start.

But on a cold start, one try is enuff to get it started.

But when the mechanic got it kicked start for me, I try once only can le. stewpig kickstarter. Or maybe i'm stewpig. :cry:

Dat's y need some advice from fellow JY riders.

--Lvin--

chase79 if u wanna change tires, I will recommend Michellin Pilot Sports/ Gold Standard. I get the quote from Sunrise,it is around $160 for front and back.

U can also visit Kennyseaw shop located behind Sunrise to check the pricng.

Dec'03 - Honda NSR 150SP - FT****B

Dec'04 - Honda PGM 250SP - FN****G

May'05 - SYM Joyride 200 - FZ****E

Feb'06 - Super Four Ver.S - FQ***R (bike stolen)

Apr'08 - Wave S 125 - FW****X

???????? - What's next??? - ??****?

Originally posted by Medusa@Jul 21 2005, 10:36 PM

Welcome to the club.:lovestruck: :thumb:

Hope to have this kind of bike

http://img291.echo.cx/img291/1124/photo209457cv.jpg

Maybe we need to appoint a GTS group leader.Roadmaster would u take up the appointment? :lovestruck:

I realise its quite easy to spill petrol for this bike,Need to position the nozzle very well before pumping man.i "pumped" 13 litres yesterday and there should be 1 litre reserve left,i couldn't have spilled that much.Maybe the tank can hold more than 12.5?

Do you think your idling is high?mine's fluctuating around the 1.8k range..and this bike doesn't have a choke.Some times its difficult to start out cold.

And a does any1 know the Little back rest between the rider and pillion can be adjusted to 3 different positions?Underside of the seat u can find 2 big + screws.It wasn't stated in the manual.That solves the spread wide problem for female pillions! :thumb:

Yesterday i was experimenting with NEo magnets.finding the best config,mine is not from the M.O..mine is much bigger.It Jump out of my hands and snap together from a SURPRISING DISTANCE before i realize what is happening and my skin was pinched off(ouch!).But thankfully i managed to arrange an even flux density across the entire section of the fuel line.It provides a very low reluctance return path for the magnetic flux.The pull force has been tested to be like 80% stronger than without the arrangement.

I'll test it on the bike before posting the results.:bouncefire:

Originally posted by RVD@Jul 22 2005, 12:34 PM

chase79 if u wanna change tires, I will recommend Michellin Pilot Sports/ Gold Standard. I get the quote from Sunrise,it is around $160 for front and back.

U can also visit Kennyseaw shop located behind Sunrise to check the pricng.

wow, $160 for 2 small tyres?

Even more ex then 2 tyres my dad's car uses.

The grip must be damn solid.

But must admit, if the tyres are good, go for it.

In terms of safety for bike, brakes & tyres are the safety features.

No airbag or seat belts to aid.

OT a bit:

Somehow i find the braking power of my bike not good enuff.

As in if light changes amber suddenly, I feel that I've difficulty coming to a smooth stop without exceeding the stopline. I travel at 60km/hr on roads with traffic light.

Wonder if can add more brake-pots? haha.

X9 has 2 disc man. Y JR only has 1. =(

--Lvin--

YAY..i getting mine tonite... those collect theirs already hor..

care to share anything to look out for when collecting?:confused:

http://www.ralliart.com/img/anime.gif

Tyres are the only contact point on the road.It is important to have good grib on the road.The braking of mine also not good enough.Dunno why?:confused:

May be the next brake pad change will change to better brand and also though of change the brake hose to hell.

Dec'03 - Honda NSR 150SP - FT****B

Dec'04 - Honda PGM 250SP - FN****G

May'05 - SYM Joyride 200 - FZ****E

Feb'06 - Super Four Ver.S - FQ***R (bike stolen)

Apr'08 - Wave S 125 - FW****X

???????? - What's next??? - ??****?

Originally posted by ex-vtec@Jul 22 2005, 02:45 AM

Hi Roadmaster. Is it possible to borrow the manual and make a copy for our GTS friends?

Actuaaly, the manuals aren't for consumers. U can try persuade ur respective motortiams. If u're lucky, they'll print it for u. But for ur info, they'll b reluctant to do so. :goodluck:

Originally posted by -Gu0Zz-@Jul 22 2005, 02:09 PM

Maybe we need to appoint a GTS group leader.Roadmaster would u take up the appointment? :lovestruck:

I realise its quite easy to spill petrol for this bike,Need to position the nozzle very well before pumping man.i "pumped" 13 litres yesterday and there should be 1 litre reserve left,i couldn't have spilled that much.Maybe the tank can hold more than 12.5?

Do you think your idling is high?mine's fluctuating around the 1.8k range..and this bike doesn't have a choke.Some times its difficult to start out cold.

And a does any1 know the Little back rest between the rider and pillion can be adjusted to 3 different positions?Underside of the seat u can find 2 big + screws.It wasn't stated in the manual.That solves the spread wide problem for female pillions! :thumb:

Yesterday i was experimenting with NEo magnets.finding the best config,mine is not from the M.O..mine is much bigger.It Jump out of my hands and snap together from a SURPRISING DISTANCE before i realize what is happening and my skin was pinched off(ouch!).But thankfully i managed to arrange an even flux density across the entire section of the fuel line.It provides a very low reluctance return path for the magnetic flux.The pull force has been tested to be like 80% stronger than without the arrangement.

I'll test it on the bike before posting the results.:bouncefire:

I'm flattered by ur suggestion bro.... but sorri, too many commitments.

Bout the leader, i'm not sure what a leader suppose to do. Lets c how the response from GTS riders, shld we appoint 1 or not. But seriously, i dunt tink its neccasary. Lets treat everybody equal.. Any probs to share, lets discuss it here..

the most i've pumped is when the petrol icon blinks...n i ride for bout 10km.. N i've pumped 12.5L . ...........

Bout the seat adjustment, actually its doesnt make the pillion any different. It for the rider's comfort. I've tried tt b4.... Mayb different ppl got diferent views.....

Btw, wat is Neo magnets??? I hav not much knowledge bout accesories thinggy...