Originally posted by allan2104@Jul 27 2005, 10:44 PM

MEDUSA like the automated answering machine for SYM hor haha :thumb:

Hehehe. Don't like that lah bro. She's doing a good job. :sweat:

No Signature

• Replies 4.1k

Originally posted by coollce@Jul 27 2005, 10:50 AM

Hey Guys,

I've a rather troubling problem. :mad:

There's this cat at my MSCP which fancies my bike so much so that it slps on my seat every other night.

It has a problem of shedding lots of fur on my seat, also it leave some patch of stain on it.

Afterwhich, it'll leave my cosy bike without paying for the stay. :giddy:

I've wasted time & effort to clean up the bike b4 I ride, to the extent of almost being late for work. I dun wan cat furs sticking out of my butt when I reach my office.

Covering the bike will welcome them due to the heat trapped, hence I don't cover.

Any possible solutions?

--Lvin--

haha me have the same problem also....found 3 ways of solving it...

1) My friend kymco had a very regular cat visiting everyday and even scratch his seat, damaging it....So one day, he stayed up to catch this cat...As he approach, he threw a very small stone at it....scaring the hell out of the sleeping cat...It never came back again...but this way highly not recommended cos wait SPCA comes after you...

2) Use mothballs....One of my friend tried it on his phantom...Happened to work...According to him, mothballs smell like sh*t to cats...I never try it though...

3) My way.. I bought a cover with metal holes on the fringe where you can lock it...

So when covering the bike, i use a small lock to lock both sides of the cover together around the main stand just below our floor board...The cats do not have enough allowance to climb into the bike after that...Now I don need to worry abt urine, paw marks and scratches...

anybody got anymore ideas ??

Originally posted by GTSFreak@Jul 27 2005, 07:40 AM

Wah somehow, can feel that the GTS is actually quite fast leh, maybe because of the wind since we sit up straight.

Indeed, i been riding at the speed of 50km/h but can feel as it is running at 70km/h :smile:

100 plus more to change my 1st EO :cheer:

Can't wait to test the speed of 90km/h

Hope to have this kind of bike

http://img291.echo.cx/img291/1124/photo209457cv.jpg

Originally posted by inovator@Jul 27 2005, 11:32 PM

haha me have the same problem also....found 3 ways of solving it...

1) My friend kymco had a very regular cat visiting everyday and even scratch his seat, damaging it....So one day, he stayed up to catch this cat...As he approach, he threw a very small stone at it....scaring the hell out of the sleeping cat...It never came back again...but this way highly not recommended cos wait SPCA comes after you...

2) Use mothballs....One of my friend tried it on his phantom...Happened to work...According to him, mothballs smell like sh*t to cats...I never try it though...

3) My way.. I bought a cover with metal holes on the fringe where you can lock it...

So when covering the bike, i use a small lock to lock both sides of the cover together around the main stand just below our floor board...The cats do not have enough allowance to climb into the bike after that...Now I don need to worry abt urine, paw marks and scratches...

anybody got anymore ideas ??

Thanks for the suggestions Inovator.

I'm trying out the mothball, but I din't allow enough smell to come out of the plastic, hence the cat still came back to my bike.

A fren of mine suggested to use some sticky pad. Maybe must DIY some cardboard with doublesided tape. He says they hate sticky things. He also suggested water which is out of the point.

Don't mind if the cat slps on the platform. But if it chooses to share my seat & soil it... Grrr, i'm going to war with it.

--Lvin--

Originally posted by rider80+Jul 28 2005, 12:04 AM-->
QUOTE (rider80 @ Jul 28 2005, 12:04 AM)
Indeed, i been riding at the speed of 50km/h but can feel as it is running at 70km/h :smile:

100 plus more to change my 1st EO :cheer:

Can't wait to test the speed of 90km/h [/b]

lol then u gonna be very disappointed..i travel at 80 mostly..sometimes when goin down slope i accelerate till 7000 RPM till 90-100km/hr..sadly even a taxi cab over took me from the extreme right.when goin pass the PIE-BKE SPeed camera i notice most cars are also travelling at the same speed 90km/hr on my meter.So maybe in reality we're just around 80km/hr

Originally posted by dzqv53@Jul 27 2005, 10:36 AM

Had the same experience on my old JR200 and current GTS

Think it will take quite awhile to update. But when on the move it normally updates quite accurately when the bar is about to drop.

Hmm no lehs..mine only updates when i off the engine..all the time i've never seen it drop while travelling.Some times i wonder how come i could travel for 90+km and the bar still nvr drop,once i off the engine and on it again.It drops.:cry:

Originally posted by -Gu0Zz-@Jul 28 2005, 01:38 AM

Eh u work as a dispatch rider ?lol u sponsor new piston rings and over haul for my R1 lohz then i let u run in for me again.

eh btw i think that super tall windscreen and huge mirrors are causing all the drag..cos when strong wind blows i can feel a severe Lag in the acceleration n drop in speed.

BTW i have 6 bottles of maxima extra 15w50 engine oils.Any 1 wants to buy it?Ester based oil!goin for just 18bux,i bought too much the other time.Special offer for buying from me..a free oil change too!i wana keep just afew bottles for my self.I'm trying to compare between these and the 10w30 mobil 1.

And btw auto bechs is selling maxon f2-21.Its a very good fuel addictive,tried and satisfied with the results it gave to my apriliars125,Rvf,R6 and then R1.Now trying it on this scooter.Currently i'm using only my Neomagnet config.left with 1 bar of petrol and i've travelled 320+ km mostly with pillion and engine speeds around 6-7k RPM,hopefully can hit 350 before reserve!:bouncefire:

Any1 interested to go JB soon?

Hmmzzzz... I think it's ok lah bro. I think your R1 very fast already right, no need change piston rings lah. Save money. Hehehe.

About the Engine Oil.... all I can say is... AIYAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH brother, why never say earlier? I changed already yesterday. Maybe next round lah. Changed to a 'Yacco 1000' brand engine oil (10w - 50w). Donno what name is that also. Costs me $18. They say it's from somewhere in the European Country and very good, so I tried. So far, the feeling of picking up and also while travelling is very good, very very very very smooth. But wanna see how long can it lasts. If good, can stick to it. Changed the spark plugs also. But I don't think they changed my gear oil. I asked them they say "Don't worry, changed already" but I never saw them taking out the small drain plug leh. Never charge me also. Maybe later must go and change. I find it quite a waste as gear oil costs around $18/ bottle of 1 litre but we are only going to use 0.1 litres of it (10 ml :slapforehead: ) Maybe can buy 1 bottle and share it among us.

No lah bro, I don't work as a despatch rider lah. I stay in Sengkang and works in Outram area, so quite far to and fro.

About the Maxon thing, what does it do actually bro? Clean your carbs or makes the fuel consumption better? How much per bottle? My consumption is about 300 km until I'm left with the last bar. Now I'm wondering, how far can we go once the refuelling pump logo starts blinking.

Lastly guys, yesterday when I serviced my bike, they adjusted the belting bush for me. My bike usually only starts to 'move' when the RPM hits around 3000 to 3500. After adjusting, my bike now starts to move when my RPM hits only 2200. Donno good or bad but what I'm sure of now, at traffic lights or moving off from my car park lot, no need to rev like siao already then the bike will start to move. Lesser risk of residents 'upstairs' getting upset over the noise or maybe even throwing 'things' down onto me' o_O heheh. Feel safer. LOL. BTW, the adjusting is FOC when you do servicing there.

And Guozzz, about the JB thing, I only plan to go there after 12th August onwards. Now broke and broken into pieces already, been filling up my petrol using Speedpass™ since I got my bike. And by the way, SINGAPORE PETROL VERY THE VERY THE VERY THE EXPENSIVE leh now. Now they (Esso and Mobil) started the discount again to 20%. Is the price going up again? :faint: (Medusa, your shop got sell bikes using tap/ rain/ mineral/ waterfall water or not? Cannot tahan already with the price leh) :sweat:

SO WHEN IS OUR MINI GTS GATHERING??? Can't wait to meet U all leh. Hehehe.

No Signature

Originally posted by GTSFreak@Jul 28 2005, 07:48 AM

Lastly guys, yesterday when I serviced my bike, they adjusted the belting bush for me. My bike usually only starts to 'move' when the RPM hits around 3000 to 3500. After adjusting, my bike now starts to move when my RPM hits only 2200. Donno good or bad but what I'm sure of now, at traffic lights or moving off from my car park lot, no need to rev like siao already then the bike will start to move. Lesser risk of residents 'upstairs' getting upset over the noise or maybe even throwing 'things' down onto me' o_O heheh. Feel safer. LOL. BTW, the adjusting is FOC when you do servicing there.

SO WHEN IS OUR MINI GTS GATHERING??? Can't wait to meet U all leh. Hehehe.

hmm.. mayb i should go get mine bike adjusted too...

cos i dun really the idea of reving until 4-5rpm to move off for my bike..:giddy:

more over i quite heavy leh... den moving off seem to drag quite a while den engine smooth...:giddy: i weight 90kg btw.:sweat:

yeah... looking forward to meeting up with u guys...

how about this sat? are u guys going over to kenny seaw's shop openning ceremony? maybe we can all go there n move off to another place for a mini gathering after attending kenny's event..:cheer:

http://www.ralliart.com/img/anime.gif
Originally posted by -Gu0Zz-@Jul 28 2005, 01:40 AM

Hmm no lehs..mine only updates when i off the engine..all the time i've never seen it drop while travelling.Some times i wonder how come i could travel for 90+km and the bar still nvr drop,once i off the engine and on it again.It drops.:cry:

What i have experience when is it near to "bar drop range" if u stop ur vehicle or park it on the side stand the gauge will take awhile to resume.

Maybe this can help but it is just some rough reference (plus minus)

1st bar drop - after ~ 100km

2nd ' ' - after ~ 170km

3rd ' ' - after ~ 2?? forgot :cheeky:

4th ' ' - after ~ 320km

Petrol esso/mobile 2000

Pillion = Yes(everyday)

Scoot for L I F E

Hyosung Aquila 125 -> Joyride 200 -> GTS 200 -> G-MAX 200 -> Adiva AD200

Originally posted by coollce@Jul 28 2005, 12:52 AM

A fren of mine suggested to use some sticky pad. Maybe must DIY some cardboard with doublesided tape. He says they hate sticky things. He also suggested water which is out of the point.

Don't mind if the cat slps on the platform. But if it chooses to share my seat & soil it... Grrr, i'm going to war with it.

--Lvin--

Think there is already a topic on cat on bike. can do a search under scooter forum. some of them did mention using vinegar also if i m not wrong.

if i park my bike at the top upper level, i will not have this prob. :sweat:

Hi inovator, so when are we going to DIY our bike? :cheeky: :bounce:

13Jun05 - 21Jul06 Joyride 172cc. Mileage=31050

21Jul06..... TA200. Mileage=3200

MSN = [email protected]

Guest Neosa

Hi fellow Joyrider,

Just collected my new Joyride 200 few days ago and currently clock only 170 km, fuel cosumption about 24km/l. 1st impression on the bike is quite stable with decent acceleration but seems lacking in power. Need fellow Joyriders on some advise on :

1) It comes with 3 free servicing and the motodiam told me to send the bike back for servicing upon 800 km. But when I check the manual it say 300 km. Should I send the bike for servicing at 300 km or 800 km ?

2) Where did fellow Joyrider display your season tickets and road tax. Is it true that you will kena fine by TP if road tax not displayed ?

3) Anywhere that I can duplicate a spare key for the bike which I can handle lock?

4) Need to get two helmet urgently. The bike comes with two free helmet which the quality seems like sponge cake. I have place my order for the Zeus 508 flip up under the MO but still need another spare helmet for my wife. She want a helmet with visor and sun shade. Any comment for the Zeus 507 in term of protection, airflow, value for money ?

Thanks in advance !!

har i hear someone saying that he got the gear oil for $18??? wah piang gear oil $5 can get 1 liao leh... also 1 litre...

no active trips since 2006

Originally posted by sigg4@Jul 28 2005, 10:41 AM

har i hear someone saying that he got the gear oil for $18??? wah piang gear oil $5 can get 1 liao leh... also 1 litre...

$5 can get ah bro? Lucky I never buy the $18 one. Gear Oil also want to con me. If I'm not mistaken, the SAE for our bikes should be SAE 80w right bro?

No Signature

for the gear oil that i use is SAE 85w90 esso gear oil GX-D. $18 is the price of engine oil and not gear oil i think. Unless you are using engine oil as gear oil lor... :giddy: than i made a mistakes the gear oil that I have is 500 ml instead of one litre. sorry just checked than found out.

no active trips since 2006

Originally posted by sigg4@Jul 28 2005, 11:42 AM

for the gear oil that i use is SAE 85w90 esso gear oil GX-D. $18 is the price of engine oil and not gear oil i think. Unless you are using engine oil as gear oil lor... :giddy: than i made a mistakes the gear oil that I have is 500 ml instead of one litre. sorry just checked than found out.

Ok bro, lucky U tell me, if not sure kena carrot and fried. Changed already just now. Castrol Transmission Fluid. Costs me $5 only. :sweat:

No Signature

Who interested to go in malaysia pump petrol and go ah gua lane see see look look got wat things suitable for our bike to buy there or change. give me a buzz @ 96699200 if interested to go in. Petrol is at the very last bar now.

http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q206/AT5555r/EnforcerGTR.jpg

1999-2000 :: NSR125r

2000-2002 :: CBR400rr

2002-2005 :: YZF R1

2005-2006 :: SYM GTS

2006-2010 :: Honda STx

2010-2013 :: Kawasaki GTR1400

2013-2015 :: BMW GSA

2016- ???? :: BMW GSA LC

Originally posted by GTSFreak@Jul 28 2005, 02:16 PM

Ok bro, lucky U tell me, if not sure kena carrot and fried. Changed already just now. Castrol Transmission Fluid. Costs me $5 only. :sweat:

i also did my service at southern. But i need not pay for the gear oil. The mech see the stock got 1 open one. So he say "Aiya, ur bike only take 0.1l no need waste $ i give u abit can le."

And wat u tell them as to they go and adjust ur belt brush? Cos i have been telling him it take a long rev to move off and he told me normal. Really want to go adjust it also. Hate the long dragging.

Originally posted by -Gu0Zz-@Jul 26 2005, 05:25 PM

Guys i've found something interesting in this bike..there's a hidden space,i think enough to put like a carton of ciggys for those smokers?

prehaps others hasn't found it yet.It's quite hidden. :thumb:

As it is a sensitive info.i will not disclose the location on the forums

where is the space? In the head or under the seat? Wanna do some changes.. See if can fix things there.

Any way.. Wed i went to 'botak' shop with my X9 friend to insert in a 'air horn' for my bike. See he dismantle the head i see le also sad.. DAMN bloody lots of screws. Alot of X9 forumers advise me to go change them to stainless steel screws. But so many think buying them will cost me a small bomb liao.. :cry: Sianzed..

But on the good note is that the wire in the head is VERY neat.. They (SYM) even label the wires for us. As not to c*** things up. And its in english not chinese.. God bless. The X9 folks see le also say their own is so messy that they sometimes dun even know wat wire is going where.

Originally posted by sb_rider@Jul 28 2005, 09:09 AM

Think there is already a topic on cat on bike. can do a search under scooter forum. some of them did mention using vinegar also if i m not wrong.

haha....me quite stressed over this also.....always thinking when the belt going to break....hope not in the middle of highway...if not wan dan liao........

This sat kenny shop opens...if we really cannot find pple teach us DIY the belt and rollers...then may have to go his shop to do once first loh...then we learn there...hehe ....

what do you think ??

Anybody belt change due liao ??

Hi Neaosa,

Welcome to the Joyride club. Congrats for ur new bike. This bike is a Scooter so u cannot expect to much power.:smile:

1) My bike also come wit 3 free service. First service at 500km, then 1500km, last at 3000km. Now mine bike is doing fine at 5000+ km.

2) Displaying of the season ticket and Road Tax is not a must. You can keep it under seat.If the TP require to see your Road Tax, then show him.

3) You can duplicate a spare key any where. Our Joyride does not have any clip device in the key, so it should not be a problem.

4) I have not try this helmet before so I cannot tell u much about the helmet.

Hope the information I provide help you. If you have any question can post in here and discuss.:cheeky:

Dec'03 - Honda NSR 150SP - FT****B

Dec'04 - Honda PGM 250SP - FN****G

May'05 - SYM Joyride 200 - FZ****E

Feb'06 - Super Four Ver.S - FQ***R (bike stolen)

Apr'08 - Wave S 125 - FW****X

???????? - What's next??? - ??****?

SYM GTS 200 Riders

Name / Area / Colour

1) roadmaster29 / Yishun / Grey

2) GTSFreak / Sengkang / Blue

3) dzqv53 / Woodlands / Blue

4) ralliArt / Bishan / Black

5) Guozz / Bt Batok / Grey(i wana change it to black)

6) rider80 / Bt Batok / Black

7) Yzf_R1 / Jurong / Black

8) hanson2020 /Yishun / Black

9) wee22wah / Bedok Reservoir / Silver

10) seagull99 / Jurong west / Grey

hi everyone,

Just an ideal to share. :cheeky: since there are so many GTS around now and everyone is so high regarding their new bike... maybe we can start a "GTS CLUB" and we can have monthly or even weekly outing...

any supportor :cheer: ???

1. seagull99

Originally posted by Yzf_R1@Jul 28 2005, 02:50 PM

i also did my service at southern. But i need not pay for the gear oil. The mech see the stock got 1 open one. So he say "Aiya, ur bike only take 0.1l no need waste $ i give u abit can le."

And wat u tell them as to they go and adjust ur belt brush? Cos i have been telling him it take a long rev to move off and he told me normal. Really want to go adjust it also. Hate the long dragging.

I only went to Southern to change EO and spark plug plus the adjustment of the bush bro. Just as I guessed, my Gear Oil was not changed :cry: and had it changed it along Jln Kayu just now. Anyway, If you wanna do the bush thing, try to look for 1 quite young and plump chap at Southern. Forgot his name liozz.. Friendly fella. Actually, they are the ones who suggested the adjust. I know nuts about scooters. Try and ask them bro. I'm sure they are willing to help.

No Signature

Originally posted by sb_rider@Jul 28 2005, 09:09 AM

Wah SB, got DIY session bo jio...

Even if my pony haven't reach that stage but still can kaypo ma.

Sooner or later will reach one. :smile:

How abt others? Any interested parties?

--Lvin--