"Hi Niall,

If more customers do ask about the ZUMO series, we may consider bringing in future.

Thanks & Best Regards,

Dennis Lee

Cool Asia Distribution -

A Global Positioning System Company"

Can try or not?

Haha....i also did email to them abt the price of the zumo..Anyway the review for the nuvi 200 seems not bad. I have also check whether do they provide thailand map if i got the nuvi 200, if yes i will got it for the coming samui ride. My friend have use it for his car, review from him is not bad.

Video playlists for Nuvi 200..

http://reviews.cnet.com/car-gps-navigation/garmin-nuvi-200/4505-3430_7-32370612.html?tag=box4505

Zumo 550

http://reviews.cnet.com/gps/garmin-zumo-550/4505-3490_7-31995597.html?tag=prod.txt.1

Yancurly8>> mounting sure can DIY....I can work out the design for the mounting. Disadvantage is no waterproof for it. If Raining , we will just stopover & keep it. Zumo 550 is idea for trip but i find it buying such x stuff just for trip not worth it. Anyway last year price for zumo was 1.5k & who know 2-3 year later it will drop to $500. Maybe we just wait until it drop to this range.

Varadero Adventure Rider Asia

• Replies 16.2k

Haha....i also did email to them abt the price of the zumo..Anyway the review for the nuvi 200 seems not bad. I have also check whether do they provide thailand map if i got the nuvi 200, if yes i will got it for the coming samui ride. My friend have use it for his car, review from him is not bad.

Video playlists for Nuvi 200..

http://reviews.cnet.com/car-gps-navigation/garmin-nuvi-200/4505-3430_7-32370612.html?tag=box4505

Zumo 550

http://reviews.cnet.com/gps/garmin-zumo-550/4505-3490_7-31995597.html?tag=prod.txt.1

Yancurly8>> mounting sure can DIY....I can work out the design for the mounting. Disadvantage is no waterproof for it. If Raining , we will just stopover & keep it. Zumo 550 is idea for trip but i find it buying such x stuff just for trip not worth it. Anyway last year price for zumo was 1.5k & who know 2-3 year later it will drop to $500. Maybe we just wait until it drop to this range.

Bro, if thats the case, I think for riders who worry about the waterproofing but still wishes to use a GPS device, tink can consider the item below...

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii175/yancurly8/garmin60csx-1.jpg

alt-image.do?pID=310&img=productImageLarge

Last check at Sim Lim in Nov/07, the cost was ard $600 plus.. nt sure if its the CS OR CSX model.. itz meant for bikers anyway rite.. sure sell mounting.. or else can diy the mount oso.. at Seng Kwang! LOL

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii175/yancurly8/SIGNATURE2.jpg

Atwin & Yancurly> Bros dun worry bout the mount....can buy....no nd DIY waste $$$$... take a look at e pic... to protect from rain jus but those waterproof cover big enough to cover the device and the mount as temporary measure....also as infd by freerangestromer..the viewing screen not totally 3.5 but lesser...and the glaring can be kind of a turn off under sunny condition...well I'm gonna take a look at the set tomorrow if got time as i intend to settle my bike exhaust b4 sunday??? else hav to take my pocket bike instead.. :cheeky:

Atwin & freerangestromer> Try ask them for a start can they bring in 1 set for me and how much..most impt is how bout the warranty... local or overseas... :thumb:

Ian if u go M teknik in the am buzz me ok....

Mount Garmin.jpg

RAM-NUVI-sm.jpeg

Btw guys I was offered RM$2.7k by an agent in JB... he illing to upload for me Singapore,M'sia and Thai map.... all in.. Any bro can get for me lower price??? I'm almost decided..jus wanna confirm by next week PC show if they sell any GPS?? :giddy:

Atwin & Yancurly> Bros dun worry bout the mount....can buy....no nd DIY waste $$$$... take a look at e pic... to protect from rain jus but those waterproof cover big enough to cover the device and the mount as temporary measure....also as infd by freerangestromer..the viewing screen not totally 3.5 but lesser...and the glaring can be kind of a turn off under sunny condition...well I'm gonna take a look at the set tomorrow if got time as i intend to settle my bike exhaust b4 sunday??? else hav to take my pocket bike instead.. :cheeky:

Atwin & freerangestromer> Try ask them for a start can they bring in 1 set for me and how much..most impt is how bout the warranty... local or overseas... :thumb:

Ian if u go M teknik in the am buzz me ok....

bro..those are ram-mounts...expensive stuff but they are supposed to be good stuff.. www.ram-mount.com

...home is where the front of my wheel is. - striking viking

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2066/2077175805_ba8dd2dcfa_m.jpg http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2074/2077981830_a5948902e2_m.jpg

Bro, if thats the case, I think for riders who worry about the waterproofing but still wishes to use a GPS device, tink can consider the item below...

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii175/yancurly8/garmin60csx-1.jpg

alt-image.do?pID=310&img=productImageLarge

Last check at Sim Lim in Nov/07, the cost was ard $600 plus.. nt sure if its the CS OR CSX model.. itz meant for bikers anyway rite.. sure sell mounting.. or else can diy the mount oso.. at Seng Kwang! LOL

this is the csx, the one im using. It's meant for trekking and marine i think. most of my frens chose this because of it's front facing buttons and controls. the mounting we use is those bicycle mounts...bought from perfect watch..abt 40 plus

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2066/2077175805_ba8dd2dcfa_m.jpg http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2074/2077981830_a5948902e2_m.jpg

Updated as 7th June 2008

VARA Seafood Makan

Date: 8th June 2008 (Sunday)

Time: 12.30pm

Meet up Place: GP Petronas ( 2nd link )

1.Yancurly8

2.Atwin (will be slightly late as morning i got 10km Passion Run at ECP)

3.Vara, me & myself

4. 323protege

5. Nu7cracker

6. zazin (TBC)

7. KC

8. chrislayer(will be slightly late; from office)

9. freerangestormer (neil)

10. candyass

11. stantheman

12. Dondidie

13. Joemac (TBC)

14. Dinie (TBC)

Yo bros! kindly update your status, I will reserve air-con room this time. Please feel free to feel up the list if you are free :thumb:

**only 1 img allowed in signature***

http://photos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2630/32/27/667979715/n667979715_1625216_481751.jpg

Updated as 7th June 2008

VARA Seafood Makan

1.Yancurly8

3.Vara, me & myself

4. 323protege

5. Nu7cracker

6. zazin (TBC)

7. KC

10. candyass

11. stantheman

12. Dondidie

13. Joemac (TBC)

14. Dinie (TBC)

Yo bros! kindly update your status, I will reserve air-con room this time. Please feel free to fill up the list if you are free tmr :thumb:

http://photos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2630/32/27/667979715/n667979715_1625216_481751.jpg

U guys can attached it on the left for user friendly...

Waa, Multistrada. I use to hv one.

Its not how much have u done it, its have u did it?http://i131.photobucket.com/albums/p290/Tonyzx11/P1000395.jpg

Updated as 7th June 2008

VARA Seafood Makan

1.Yancurly8

3.Vara, me & myself

4. 323protege

5. Nu7cracker

6. zazin (TBC)

7. KC

10. candyass

11. stantheman

12. Dondidie

13. Dinie (TBC)

Yo bros! kindly update your status, I will reserve air-con room this time. Please feel free to fill up the list if you are free tmr :thumb:

Not gg got to attend family matter. siiiigghhh ya all enjoy.

http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l306/joemac_kint/misc%20pic/untitled123456.jpg

Where got LONG WAY DOWN? Its just around the corner what?!?!?! eeerrmm. JUST a very long corner i mean...

Great singapore sales...selling $299

http://www.coolasia.net/

Bro's >Those interested in the Nuvi's 200 and 200W...the price stated are very standard..I went recce the whole evening and was offered the same price..however was not offered the USA maps..as in the Cool Aisa website.

Pro's and Con's between Garmin's and 3rd party Map....

Garmin Maps;

1)last known Updated as in Jan 08

2)Sold in an sd card with 6 countries(Sgp,M'sia,Thai,Hk,Macau and one more unsure)S$350/= or 3 countries(Sgp,M'sia and Thai)S$250/=

3)eg. In Sgp map can just key-in thru postal code and location will appear....

Malsingmap's;

1) Free of charge for the public version and if u wan a gold version u will have to contribute to them..eg. wrong POI's or not exact POI's jus infd them and u will gain points to get unlock the Locked maps...

2)a generic maps...but updated once now and then...

Feel free to correct me if any of u guys know bout Garmin's...As for ZUMO's well I was told that I dun really need the 550 as model 500 is sufficient enough as the only Diff. is the 500 does not include the Europe map and that alone cost S$300... however i went to check e web and find nothing as what was told.... :sian: check below in RED..that's all nothing said bout pre loaded maps...

Compare Between Zumo 550 and 500

Battery life: up to 4 hours up to 4 hours

Waterproof: yes (IPX7) yes (IPX7)

High-sensitivity receiver: yes yes

RoHS version available: yes yes

Preloaded maps: yes yes

Ability to add maps: yes yes

Built-in memory: internal solid state internal solid state

Waypoints/favorites/locations: 500 500

Routes: 50 50

Basemap: yes yes

Accepts data cards: SD card (not included) SD card (not included)

Voice prompts (e.g. "Turn right in 500 ft."):

yes (using included mount(s)) yes (using included mount(s))

Speaks street names(e.g."Turn right ON ELM STREETin500 ft.") :

yes no

Speech recognition (navigate with voice commands):

no no

3D map view: yes yes

Auto sort multiple destinations (provides most direct route): yes yes

Auto re-route (fast off-route and detour recalculation): yes yes

Choice of route setup (faster time, shorter distance, off road):

yes yes

Route avoidance (avoid highways, tolls etc.):

yes yes

Custom POIs (ability to add additional points of interest): yes yes

Hands-free calling with Bluetooth® wireless technology: yes yes

FM traffic compatible: yes yes

XM® Navtraffic (includes basic weather) & Radio for U.S. compatible:

yes no

MSN® Direct for U.S. compatible: no no

Where Am I? feature (find closest hospitals, police & gas stations, nearest address & intersection): no no

Car locator feature (marks position when removed from windshield mount): no no

MP3 player: yes yes

Audio book player: yes yes

Picture viewer: yes yes

Configurable vehicle icons (select car-shaped icons for map navigation): yes yes

World travel clock, currency & measurement converter, calculator:

no no

Touchscreen: yes yes

Qwerty or ABC keyboard (choose keyboard layout): no no

Remote control: no no

FM transmitter: no no

Headphone jack/audio line-out: yes yes

Dead reckoning: no no

Garmin Lockâ„¢ (anti-theft feature): yes yes

Motorcycle-friendly: yes yes

:sian: :sian: :sian:

Guys it's the time of the year where all e man rules the TV controller..... The Euro'08 is Officially ON.. Let us have a list of ur FAV Team to go all the way :cheer: :popcorn: :bouncefire: :sleep: :argue: :box: .....

1)Dondidie- Netherlands :angel:

Guys it's the time of the year where all e man rules the TV controller..... The Euro'08 is Officially ON.. Let us have a list of ur FAV Team to go all the way :cheer: :popcorn: :bouncefire: :sleep: :argue: :box: .....

2) Kenny - LiverSpain

3) Vara,me & myself - Portugal!!!!!!

The future depends on what we do in the present. - Mahatma Gandhi

VARA Seafood Makan

1.Yancurly8

2.Atwin

3.Vara, me & myself

4. 323protege

5. Nu7cracker

6. zazin (TBC)

7. KC

8. freerangestormer (neil)

9. stantheman

10. Dondidie

11. Dinie (TBC)

12. Lionel & Pauline

13. Plus 3 other frenz... - Hope its ok with everyone...

Confirm not coming - Kumar got to work.. & Chrislayer will be in KL..

The future depends on what we do in the present. - Mahatma Gandhi

VARA Seafood Makan

1.Yancurly8

2.Atwin

3.Vara, me & myself

4. 323protege

5. Nu7cracker

6. zazin (TBC)

7. KC

9. stantheman

10. Dondidie

11. Dinie (TBC)

12. Lionel & Pauline

Confirm not coming - Kumar got to work.. & Chrislayer will be in KL..

:cheeky: cya guys~!:thumb::thumb: :thumb:

VARA Seafood Makan

1.Yancurly8

2.Atwin

3.Vara, me & myself

4. 323protege

5. Nu7cracker

6. zazin (TBC)

7. KC

9. stantheman

10. Dondidie

11. Dinie

12. Lionel & Pauline

sorry i forgot to update my status.. see u guys tmr at 1230pm..

http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/7100/vfrsiggy.jpg

2) Kenny - LiverSpain

3) Vara,me & myself - Portugal!!!!!!

Hoooray.......updates result... Sui 0 Czech 1 Portugal...Portugal...Portugal.... 2 Greece o :cheeky: :cheeky: :cheeky:

Sian, my new GIVI Simply top case fell off its base plate and was like hockey putt on the road just now. Hit by estimated 5-7 cars (i saw 5 cars hitting it personally). Dragged off more than 300m. thank God nobody got into an accident by trying to avoid it. Everyone just GAVE!!!!! ****!!!

Everyone, just check your cases before riding off yeah?

Zac

There is no pain greater than not being able to ride a motorcycle....

There is no joy more worth mention when riding one,,,,,,,

Zac

Sian, my new GIVI Simply top case fell off its base plate and was like hockey putt on the road just now. Hit by estimated 5-7 cars (i saw 5 cars hitting it personally). Dragged off more than 300m. thank God nobody got into an accident by trying to avoid it. Everyone just GAVE!!!!! ****!!!

Everyone, just check your cases before riding off yeah?

Zac

Bro U sure the BOX gave way............ :faint: If i'm not wrong u bought from someone in the Forum.. How u wan me to investigate on the box sold to u, c if actually faulty before u bought it :dozed: o_O o_O o_O

It could have been faulty but the thing is i was lubing the part where the box clicks onto the base plate. Then i put it back, its healthy to lube moving parts see? The thing is, i might have not installed it back properly. I hate it when its my fault. Then again, i am not ruling out the possibility that it miht have been defective from he start bro. Tsk. Sian like ****.

Zac

There is no pain greater than not being able to ride a motorcycle....

There is no joy more worth mention when riding one,,,,,,,

Zac