The noise my Maxsym makes happens only in the morning when I go to work. Just when pulling out of the garage. Then I can't hear it no more.

It seems to come from the center of the wheel, not from the transmission area.

i think if its not causing any problem technically it should be ok. if you are worried maybe bring it to the shop for a check. but u got to make sure the mechanic can hear the noise if not he might just tell you no problem.. =D happened to me when i brought mine to the mechanic..

• Replies 7.1k

squeaking noise is normal. esp wen taking off aggressively. the belt slips just abit. can also be ur clutch, esp wen its still cold wen u first move off. needs a few take-offs before things warm up and everything gets better. vibration from the clutch slipping should also lessen.

CVT systems tend to make alot of noise. as well as being so near the engine. as long as u knw the transmission was assembled properly and everything is clean, dont worry so much.

A ride a day, keeps the doctor away!

2010-2012 : Honda Phantom TA200

2012-current : SYM Maxsym 400i

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/adiknaim

SG Maxsym FB Group: http://www.facebook.com/groups/sgmaxsym/

Speaking of squeaks and rattles in the recent threads......

Was haunted by creaking noises from front area today when going to ta pao kopi, just can't figure out where the noise was from. Only happens when I am cruising between 30-40km/h and at 3-4krpm, lowered my head towards speedo area sound disappears, raise head sound came back.

During return trip couldn't tahan any more started to grip onto various plastic parts in front, handle bar area, etc etc still cannot locate the source. Park by side of road and trouble shoot high and low, brake area, hoses, seats, under belly....no luck. Continued journey like a loser.

Reached home, parked bike, put on bike cover, walk into my house with helmet on (Cos it was bloody hot then) and tamede I heard the bloody noise again! Took out the Chap Pa lang helmet and realised the side latch for visor came loose that's causing the agony the whole afternoon.

FML. And Yes i buang the Chap Pa Lang Helmet already.

Was haunted by creaking noises from front area today when going to ta pao kopi, just can't figure out where the noise was from. Only happens when I am cruising between 30-40km/h and at 3-4krpm, lowered my head towards speedo area sound disappears, raise head sound came back.

During return trip couldn't tahan any more started to grip onto various plastic parts in front, handle bar area, etc etc still cannot locate the source. Park by side of road and trouble shoot high and low, brake area, hoses, seats, under belly....no luck. Continued journey like a loser.

Reached home, parked bike, put on bike cover, walk into my house with helmet on (Cos it was bloody hot then) and tamede I heard the bloody noise again! Took out the Chap Pa lang helmet and realised the side latch for visor came loose that's causing the agony the whole afternoon.

HAHAHAHA! :thumb: best story so far...

Thanks for the info.

Even if Mah has it.. U might probably have to leave your bike there for 3 weeks.. So forget it.

Can u bring your own engine oil/gear oil there bro? Probably heading down on Wed.

i second that

http://i249.photobucket.com/albums/gg228/mercenary_017/BusaKenji.jpg

Best Biker Short Story of the Year!

So I went and bought a 12V impact wrench to do my CVT work myself. not as hard as it looks. at least i can be more meticulous than some mechanics who charge $40 and just splash some of MY PETROL on the parts. I can even bring it along with a spare belt on touring trips and change if needed. :)

steady la bro

my SYM Maxsym 400i reaching 170-175km/h!

http://youtu.be/tVijZATFurs

dont know if i got the wrong settings but i feel that the bike becomes difficult to control at above 150km/hr even on straight roads. i got to hold on to the handlebar really tightly above 150km.

also, the handlebar feels light and during mild bends, i can only go around 130km, not more than 140km as the handlebar will start to "bounce"..feels scary..

do you guys feel the same? what do you guys think about the handling during high speeds? above 140km/hr

personally i feel that cruising at 130km/hr is the comfortable speed

dont know if i got the wrong settings but i feel that the bike becomes difficult to control at above 150km/hr even on straight roads. i got to hold on to the handlebar really tightly above 150km.

also, the handlebar feels light and during mild bends, i can only go around 130km, not more than 140km as the handlebar will start to "bounce"..feels scary..

do you guys feel the same? what do you guys think about the handling during high speeds? above 140km/hr

i have only tried gg 160 once for a short time. mostly i cruise ard 140-150. its ok for me. can still change lane steadily to overtake. maybe is ur topbox loaded heavily? can cause the front to feel light. or maybe make the rear suspension harder?

I agree that 130km/h is the comfortablw cruising speed. Think any bike above 150km/h is difficult to control if you're not used to travelling at those speeds. Same as when we first passed 2B, and found 100km/h on highway "fast". Above 150km/h you're taking on all the bumps and road imperfections at high speed, so naturally it'll be a jerky ride, though maybe an expensive superbike suspension would take them better.

i have only tried gg 160 once for a short time. mostly i cruise ard 140-150. its ok for me. can still change lane steadily to overtake. maybe is ur topbox loaded heavily? can cause the front to feel light. or maybe make the rear suspension harder?

Do you feel like when you accelerate, the front dips and back rises, especially on the softer suspension setting?

dont have eh. even accelerating aggressively. the bike seems pretty balanced. suspension on no.3

Nice a DIY person. Price and place of where you bought the impact wrench?

Maybe we can do it together when you decided to do so?

At least not so boring i guess lol

Edited by MERCENARY

i tested on the Malaysia highway, controlled it with ease though

I'll never buy another helmet from Motorworld ever again. Seems like they're only interested in selling you overpriced helmets, and then not supporting their products.

In fact, I'd avoid buying items that might require support. Tried to get a replacement visor for my HJC helmet, and was told that they don't bring in visors. Tried to order, and was told brusquely to wait at least two months.

Anyone has any good (and properly supported) helmet brands to recommend?

I'll never buy another helmet from Motorworld ever again. Seems like they're only interested in selling you overpriced helmets, and then not supporting their products.

In fact, I'd avoid buying items that might require support. Tried to get a replacement visor for my HJC helmet, and was told that they don't bring in visors. Tried to order, and was told brusquely to wait at least two months.

MHR from Chiap Lee

LAB/REginas the New OGK Kabuto

What type of heltmet you looking @?

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b250/anodise5757/project57/Hornbulbfoggiesbanner2013_zps6e758ef1.jpg

Click Here --> <CMO> Premium Products - HELLA, Philips & Osram

Nice a DIY person. Price and place of where you bought the impact wrench?

Maybe we can do it together when you decided to do so?

At least not so boring i guess lol

$98 from Autobacs. I dont mind lending if wanna do it tgt during a DIY session. Treat me drink enuf. Haha!

Wat model? I feel HJC is is pretty gd value helmet. Well priced by motoworld, esp if u compare to ordering one online by urself. However, i get my parts frm ebay. Visors and hinges can get cheaply. 2 weeks shipping frm korea.

Shame is, I like HJC helmets, and have been buying them over the years. But everything I need to replace the visor, Motoworld says they don't stock it, and I always end up having to buy a new helmet... Maybe that's their business model...

MHR from Chiap Lee

LAB/REginas the New OGK Kabuto

What type of heltmet you looking @?

OGK sounds interesting... I like open face, am looking for those with good quality cushion and wind noise protection.

$98 from Autobacs. I dont mind lending if wanna do it tgt during a DIY session. Treat me drink enuf. Haha!

Wat model? I feel HJC is is pretty gd value helmet. Well priced by motoworld, esp if u compare to ordering one online by urself. However, i get my parts frm ebay. Visors and hinges can get cheaply. 2 weeks shipping frm korea.

FF3. Now selling for $180. For open face it's considered expensive. But I don't mind, as the wind noise protection is good. If only the visor was forthcoming.

Apart from the sqeauking noise, now my speedometer start to do gangnam style on me. Throttle that time go to zero then go back up to my speed then goes back to zero then go up again.

up down up down gangnam style speedometer. you all kena before?