Would like to check whether any of the NC700S riders here are ex-super four riders?

Quite keen on NC700S but would like to check whether how does it compare to the super four riding experience.

I am riding a super four revo now and i know it's not a "apple to apple" comparison.

Hope to have some inputs from owners here on the following.

1) Pick up compared to superfour (though i know the torque stats on paper but i just wish to know the diff, comment on with vtec and without vtec)

2) riding posture (superfour abit leaning forwards, i prefer more upright which puts lesser pressure on wrist.)

3) front compartment (thinking of not installing top box but hope to squeeze 1 M size open helmet, taichi drymaster X raincoat, bike cover, parking coupons and poncho for pillion)

4) how much is 2nd party insurance & road tax.

5) Overseas websites mentioned CBS (Combined ABS) is standard. Is it true?

6) brakes stopping power (NC700S only 1 big front brake disc,revo has 2 front brake disc, i think alot super four riders know about the poor stock front brakes)

7) bike made in jap?

8) Instruction manual - English or Jap?

Hope to hear inputs from owners.

Thankyou in advance.

Emil.

hi i owned a Super4 spec two before.. and rode a spec3 and revo dat is being used for work purposes.

riding the NC700s now.. previosu bike a fazer, spark, x1r, x1, super4 , black bird, KRR,

1) Pick up compared to superfour (though i know the torque stats on paper but i just wish to know the diff, comment on with vtec and without vtec)

ans: pick up wise. due to the torque and low rev RPM. u cant drag the bike like super 4 can. have to change when reach certain low rpm. for super4 its vtec kick in at certain rpm and u can feel it by the sound of the pipe and engine. the NC700s with the twist of the throttle u can feel that its going faster but without any vtech sound.

2) riding posture (superfour abit leaning forwards, i prefer more upright which puts lesser pressure on wrist.)

ans: the nc700s is definitely more upwright i must say when comparing with super4... im only 163cm..

3) front compartment (thinking of not installing top box but hope to squeeze 1 M size open helmet, taichi drymaster X raincoat, bike cover, parking coupons and poncho for pillion)

ans: when u squeeze 1 MEdium helmet be it a full face or not.. u can actually store a lil more item like a thin rain coat.. ur wallet coupon and poncho.. bt for a RS taichi drymater and a bike cover i think it wont fit togehter with a helmet. heres wad i normally store: helmet raincoat, wallet, coupon, passport bank book.. thumbdrive. portable battery for S3, manual book, and honda tool kit.. imagine how much more i can put in if i dont put my helmet. so the qns for storage still lies if u need extra storage and top box for more storage..

4) how much is 2nd party insurance & road tax.

im 25 using ntuc 2nd party cost $1k and road tax for 6 mth is $87.

5) Overseas websites mentioned CBS (Combined ABS) is standard. Is it true?

i think for the S model, it comes only with a standards ABS, while the X it has ABS and non abs with additional $1k pricing for ABS.

6) brakes stopping power (NC700S only 1 big front brake disc,revo has 2 front brake disc, i think alot super four riders know about the poor stock front brakes)

i tested the abs for my NC700s, and it prevent from whel lock.. it helps a lot if u go NSHW. bt in singapore road seldom uses the ABS. other than that u might be surprised on how strong the braking for the front wheel.. from my experinced i think super4 rear brake is the worst..

7) bike made in jap?

yeps bike made in japan.

8) Instruction manual - English or Jap?

instruction is in english..

"Let them hate provided they fear"

• Replies 112

One more thing about braking power, even it has only 1 front disc brake, it has almost the same stopping power as the KTM RC8.

A test done by 'BIKE' magazine have stated that the NC700X only took 50.5m to come to a complete stop from 70mph which is about 112km/h.

A video about the storage space for the NC700X, users have reported that the NC700S have a slightly larger compartment.

I'm a Tutor! Proud to be one!

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y88/lexanez/IMG_0008.jpg

Thank you Newblood & Lexanez for your prompt reply. It gave me a better understanding of the bike. I'm still finalising some thoughts before i decide to purchase the bike. May i also know if there is any "helmet hook" to hook my helmet when parking at sheltered carparks. If no then how do you guys manage? Bring along with you everywhere u go? Sorry to ask such a noob question as i'm just too used to having a bike box for close to 10 years and i would want to consider not putting a bike box for this bike in event i'm getting.

Dec 2003 - July 2010

Honda Phantom TA 200

July 2010 - July 2012

Honda Super Four Revo

July 2012 - Current

Honda NC700S ABS

Thank you Newblood & Lexanez for your prompt reply. It gave me a better understanding of the bike. I'm still finalising some thoughts before i decide to purchase the bike. May i also know if there is any "helmet hook" to hook my helmet when parking at sheltered carparks. If no then how do you guys manage? Bring along with you everywhere u go? Sorry to ask such a noob question as i'm just too used to having a bike box for close to 10 years and i would want to consider not putting a bike box for this bike in event i'm getting.

theres actually a hook to for you to use tp attched to the helmet and then to the bike.. theres a catch below the pillion seat for u to attached the hook and the helmet together..

the hook comes along with the standard toolkit..

neverthe less.. top box is coming in really soon from givi and hepco..

accessories is slowly coming in .. not to worry..

btw i attached my helmet and stick the strap below the pillion seat without using the hook.. its how u gona secure it,,

Edited by newblood

"Let them hate provided they fear"

Will this bike overheat when caught in jams like the one @ checkpoint?Can the under-power be resolve by remapping or dyno-tuned?I am worry about this before i made a deposit for this bike.Your advise is important to me.Thank you!:thumb:

I heard the NC700X first shipment is snap up within 2 weeks! Next shipment will be here in August but Boon Siew will not bring in the DCT model,much exp$,i heard and DCT difficult to repair,like DSG.....So i book my RED NCX (ABS) without the DCT.Loois can bring in the DCT model but who knows how to repair if anything fails? So better stick to Boon Siew bikes,safer lah.:p

Not in a hurry,but told bike will be here around august advise to book early to cause any inconvinence from ASP.Had ask HKL about getting PC# for this bike and haven't got any reply.Why? Any problem with this bike? To me with DCT or without is not an issue cause i usually ride for 1 or 2 months and will left bikes for weeks.Worry that whether the bike can be jump start with DCT cause i can't jump start with SilverWing when battery are flat.Shop told me when bike is not automatic can jump start easily,true?

Yes, manual gear can jump start easily.

Live To Ride, Ride To Live.

Yes, manual gear can jump start easily.

Jump start or push start? :confused:

http://i152.photobucket.com/albums/s189/muddyxr/pic-billboard.jpg
Jump start or push start? :confused:

Push start.

Well, either way, push start isn't going to happen very often and most people would't like it anyway. So rather than asking about push start, it would be better to ask about battery and starter motor maintenance, especially the carbon brushes.

I'm a Tutor! Proud to be one!

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y88/lexanez/IMG_0008.jpg

Prices from Boon Siew is different from dealer?I ask Boon Siew about price,they quoted me $16,699(w/o GST & ins.)Dealer quoted $15,900(w/o GST & ins.)Both OTR price for basic model w/o ABS...How come huh?:faint: Dealer said maybe bike arrive @ August but Boon Siew said @ September!:faint:Who do i listen? I am going to pay my booking deposit next Monday.

Dun need to book, wait for the bike to arrive. Look at it, like it, pay & go.

which bike ship u ask? i went to enquiry about XJR6 at BP, they also recommend me NC700.. i think price about 17000k OTR except insurance and IU...

normally if u buy from Agents such as Boon Siew and Hong Leong, more ex abit.. because their reputation. Small retailer can give u some discount.. that's explain..

Dun need to book, wait for the bike to arrive. Look at it, like it, pay & go.

for some popular bikes, u won't able to "see" since all stock will be sold immediately.. if u still can "see" mean the bikes bo lang ai.. (no 1 like)

Shop selling bikes which cost 10 over grand, they are not selling kopi. Customer will tend to view it or test it before decide. I myself took my own sweet time to buy the NC. After I bought , there are still few bikes in the showroom. The only downside is the colour you want might not have.

Above is just my point of view.

Shop selling bikes which cost 10 over grand, they are not selling kopi. Customer will tend to view it or test it before decide. I myself took my own sweet time to buy the NC. After I bought , there are still few bikes in the showroom. The only downside is the colour you want might not have.

Above is just my point of view.

pai seh bro... just knew that u owned NC700.. my experience is on Sym 400 where the first batch sold out almost immediately..

anyway, do you think BP give a good deal? i know some complained their customer service and i do find them sometime really bochap type..

I have another set of questions for NC700S riders.

1) Has anyone riding a NC700S mounted a Givi engine guard or seen any pictures with that? Was searching around the net and couldn't find any pictures. All of them with the Givi Engine guard are all the 700X, none are 700S.

2) not sure if any one put full set of Sliders. Do let me know where you got it from and post some pictures if possible. I actually still thinking whether to put givi engine guard or sliders instead.

2) Anyone already installed honda orginal panniers only / honda orginal top box only / or either one which is of other brands? Do share if got pics. i hope to see how it looks like before deciding whether to install cos i still feel without box for 700S is nicer. I did send enquiry to boon siew but they have yet to reply.

I have already booked that 700S, but shipment delayed till sometime end july (mentioned by bike shop). Now waiting impatiently for the bike to arrive.

Edited by emilsee

Dec 2003 - July 2010

Honda Phantom TA 200

July 2010 - July 2012

Honda Super Four Revo

July 2012 - Current

Honda NC700S ABS

which bike ship u ask? i went to enquiry about XJR6 at BP, they also recommend me NC700.. i think price about 17000k OTR except insurance and IU...

normally if u buy from Agents such as Boon Siew and Hong Leong, more ex abit.. because their reputation. Small retailer can give u some discount.. that's explain..

Actually it a standard procedure between Distributors and Dealers. The Distributors need the Dealers' network to help them sell and handle the customers. So Distributors will usually sell at the predetermined MSRP so the customers will go their Dealers for a discounted price instead. And no point you appoint the Dealers and yet you want to fight business with them. Sooner or later the Dealers will also give up on this dealership.

But one thing interesting. At least for Boon Siew, they don't marked up the price if you intend to full cash unlike the dealers. But of course you need to do your maths to see if it is overall cheaper.

Any comments on whether this bike is comparable to the Kawasaki Versys?

Both parallel twins but the Versys seems to be more 'adventure' style and comes with abs standard. But at 22k otr i want to know if that 5k or so difference really gives me a different bike from the NC700. And in all honesty looking at the Versys makes me want to ride it but the honda seems kinda tame and boring.

It is time for motocycles to move into car's technologys, volkswagen are using twin clutch gear boxes long ago, and BMW and mercs are producing high torque diesel engines for their lines.

One thing that attract me to the NC range is that they actually got a 'boot'! no need to a box and spoil the look.