Originally posted by cephelix@Nov 22 2006, 12:16 AM

what if it is ntfs?

if FAT then what do i do?

There is 3 types of FAT (file allocation table) . FAT16, FAT32 & NTFS. FAT is like a address book recorded the addresses of each cluster of data in your hard disk magnetic platter. Only 1 type for each hard disk partition.

So if address book (FAT ) is corrupted, files will be wrongly written & unretrievable since address is missing or misplaced.

NTFS is encrypted by your log in password. Difficult to recover data during crashes - especially if admistrator password is lost. FAT32 or FAT16 corrupted can be repaired by the scandisk program. Sometimes if PC hangs & you reboot, the windows will automatic detect that it did not closed properly, so it orders scandisk to check the FAT for errors. Why hangs cause FAT to corrupts? Coz it is writing the addresses half way, before it hangs. But sometimes Windows did not realised the FAT is corrupted and still runs without ordering a scandisk during booting up.....then you can faced error when opening files. So you need to initiate manually a scandisk.

Most commonly , external portable hard disk or thumbdrives can suffer corrupted FAT & windows doesn't know. Harder for windows to detect. So , to prevent that - do a scandisk on it occasionally.

If this doesn't solve the file error program , then it might be viruses.

John 15:7 (New International Version)

7 If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.

-- it's true & it really works for me. :)

• Replies 2k

Originally posted by princess_chiaki@Nov 20 2006, 02:04 PM

this weekend go anime shopping...

1. go taman U for nice A&W brunch then proceed to sweep

2. go holiday plaze for KFC for brunch then proceed to sweep

option 1. is nice~ but i dunno how to go.... :sweat:

I thought you went before to Taman U? :smile:

7 If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.

nothing.

did a system scan, nothing....

no password, no virus...

could it be physical damage?

kos now basilisk episode 17-24 on my external hard drive spoil..

but on my laptop hard drive ok....

-= Unsure of what to get=-

Speaking of Basilisk is much skill in detailed than Naruto

at least it does not draggggggggggggggggg like Naruto

its taking for ages to get back on track

when the hell is Naruto going to find Sasuke

http://i184.photobucket.com/albums/x152/Inetreceipt/P6020151.jpgg

ahahaha...

in the manga Naruto is all grown up right?

I watched 16 episodes of Basilisk yest at work...

only thought of watching one...

but got very very hooked!

watched anime the whole day!!!

ahahahahah:faint:

Originally posted by cephelix@Nov 22 2006, 07:24 AM

nothing.

did a system scan, nothing....

no password, no virus...

could it be physical damage?

kos now basilisk episode 17-24 on my external hard drive spoil..

but on my laptop hard drive ok....

you tried scandisk your external hard drive? Can use either windows' own scandisk or Norton Disk Doctor. Scandisk once started , you can select option to scan for bad sectors & marked them permanently. This will prevent valuable files/ data from being written onto the hard disk platter which is marked bad sector. Otherwise you will still faced corrupted files problems again.

But most common problems is corrupted FAT (software problem) , bad sectors (hardware problems) are less common , unless the portable hard disk is very old or the hard disk was shaken while the disk platter is spinning inside.

Originally posted by tt6389@Nov 22 2006, 02:27 AM

I thought you went before to Taman U? :smile:

nope, i haven't.... actually intended to go with when ryan organised but couldn't find the time~ :weep:

anyway, where're the anime shops at taman U...??

http://images1.wikia.nocookie.net/transformers/images/8/8f/Laserrave.gif

FROZEN...

alermak...

i also dunno i scan what....

hmmmm...

any free software to help scan?

stand alone preferably...

kos the norton thing all must pay..

i think

morning chiaki!

n tt!

n to me!

n u!

Originally posted by cephelix@Nov 22 2006, 09:09 AM

watched anime the whole day!!!

ahahahahah:faint:

i oso watch anime at work the whole day yesterday~ :cheer:

FROZEN...

Originally posted by cephelix@Nov 22 2006, 10:55 AM

ahahahaah....

what anime?

currently d/l samurai deeper kyo...

or something like that..

i have no idea what the story is abt

i was watching the melody of oblivion.... :lol:

somemore is took from my manager's drawer one~ :sweat:

FROZEN...

Originally posted by cephelix@Nov 22 2006, 11:06 AM

ahahahaha

what's the storyline?

kuku leh u.... very bored rite?? gave u the title oredi~ go google for the storyline lah..... :p

it's not terribly exciting though~ but some of the scenes *cough cough*.... my collegue seated behind me thot i'm hentai~~~

WAH LAU~ tio sabo by my manager........... i'm a nice person de leh~ :help:

FROZEN...

Originally posted by cephelix@Nov 22 2006, 10:33 AM

alermak...

i also dunno i scan what....

hmmmm...

any free software to help scan?

stand alone preferably...

kos the norton thing all must pay..

i think

morning chiaki!

n tt!

n to me!

n u!

u using xp or win2K ?

Originally posted by princess_chiaki@Nov 22 2006, 10:21 AM

nope, i haven't.... actually intended to go with when ryan organised but couldn't find the time~ :weep:

anyway, where're the anime shops at taman U...??

:cheeky: Actually I dunno the way, my GPS auto-prompt messages automatically guide me to Taman U A&W, then I circle around the Taman and found at least 4 shops nearby selling anime & softwares & dvds stuffs.

I find the journey to Taman U less traffic & more interesting also - especially if you never go before. There are so many makan places there & houses there newer than jb and more space out.

Btw , I also interested in going jb to buy anime this saturday. Can I join you ? I can show the way to Taman U if you want to go there.

Originally posted by tt6389@Nov 22 2006, 02:25 PM

Btw , I also interested in going jb to buy anime this saturday. Can I join you ? I can show the way to Taman U if you want to go there.

only if it includes the way to the A&W too.... :hungry:

i'll be interested to check out the shops there too~ see if they're more current in stock than holiday plaza :smile:

FROZEN...

Originally posted by princess_chiaki@Nov 22 2006, 02:41 PM

only if it includes the way to the A&W too.... :hungry:

i'll be interested to check out the shops there too~ see if they're more current in stock than holiday plaza :smile:

The 2 shops I frequent got quite a wide range of anime. Maybe because many taman U students also anime fanatics.

:hungry: Ya i also missed the root beer , curly fries & their burgers.

Originally posted by tt6389@Nov 22 2006, 03:20 PM

The 2 shops I frequent got quite a wide range of anime. Maybe because many taman U students also anime fanatics.

Thanks for blanja me McDonald *burp*...just becoz I lend u anime. plus thank u for giving me the two anime. Arigato Gozaimasu tt6389 dono!

Honda Rebel 125 (Rebeliah) 2004-2006

Super 4 Ver S (Sephia) 2006-

Mersing(Air papan), Desaru,Tanjung Balau,Tanjung Piai,Pahang/Rompin,Penyabong,bekok waterfalls,Sepang/KL, Penang/KL,Melacca/Gunung Ledang,Pahang Endau Rompin Jungle. more to come~

http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d23/salleh_/S4MHondaman.jpg

Originally posted by Hondaman@Nov 22 2006, 03:27 PM

Thanks for blanja me McDonald *burp*...just becoz I lend u anime. plus thank u for giving me the two anime. Arigato Gozaimasu tt6389 dono!

thanks for lending me your anime also. Nice chatting with you too & thanks for the lessons in downloading anime at the Mcdonald.

Originally posted by cephelix@Nov 23 2006, 12:03 AM

Windows XP

how to scandisk with XP? go to "My computer" , right click on external drive, left click "properties" , left click "Tools", left click error checking "Check Now" , select "automatically fix file system error". The scanning & repair of FAT takes a few minutes only.

The scanning for bad sector (hardware damages) will takes hours , so don't select it. Only when FAT shows no error in the scanning, then you might want to scan for bad sector.

Originally posted by tt6389@Nov 22 2006, 03:20 PM

that's good news for me~ perhaps i can find all those titles now.... (then i'll have to figure out how to carry all of them back) :confused:

what time is good for u...?? meet 2nd link GP Esso...??

FROZEN...

Originally posted by princess_chiaki@Nov 23 2006, 10:39 AM

that's good news for me~ perhaps i can find all those titles now.... (then i'll have to figure out how to carry all of them back) :confused:

what time is good for u...?? meet 2nd link GP Esso...??

anytime between 11am to 12pm. How about 11.30am?

Normally I hide them in my armoured mesh jacket, sandwished between the back armour plate & jacket.