would like to ask all whom can help...

wats the difference in having a 180 or 190 rear? i know that one of them gives more grip, which one again? cos the way i think is that on normal (big bikes), contact area bigger for 190, but since 180 is smaller (more triangular profile), that gives you more contact area during cornering as well as lesser contact during riding (=faster, better fuel consumption).... so why 190 then??

pls advise.

NSR 150SP; Super 4 Spec I; CBR 929; GSX 750; R 1150 GS; Piaggio X8

Feels like moving a circle....

• Replies 799

Guest blackbird749

There are so many brands of tires around for bikes. it depends on what is your budget for the tire, whether you want more grip, whether longer lasting etc.

It had try the BT010 on a blackbird and so far it is quite good. BT010 is about $350-$380. If you want longer lasting, go for the BT020 and is slightly cheaper. The rule of the thrumb is to ask around different shops for the price and dun get conned. Maybe you can go to Motoworld at kaki Bukit and ask for the price..

Guest blackbird749

The different between 180, 190 or even 200 is that the contact area on the road is slightly bigger and in turn more grip for your bike. before your want to get a bigger tire for your bike, check whether it will fit nicely into the rear of the bike and will not rub against any part of your bike.The rule on tire is that you can for example on a Honda Blackbird which use a OEM 180/50/17 can either go bigger one size up to 190/50/17 or one size down to 170/60/17. Well the best is to stick to the OEM size as it has been tested by the bike company to suit the overall handling of that particular bike. The profile of the each tire from different tire company is different from one another as the technology they used are not the same. Sometime, if the tire is either too big or small, it will affect the handling of ther bike and fuel consumption will go up.

Guest blackbird749

For that price, the best is BT010 for more grip for your 929. unless you want to try BT020 for longer lasting and good grip too. Some people have try sport tire like BT010 on the front and a sport touring tire like BT020 on the rear. but the best is to buy front and rear together to get the best of handling.

Originally posted by Sckona@Mar 25 2004, 04:17 PM

with a budget of 300 - 350, wat can i find for my 929??

a pair of BT012ss at HKL.

http://carblueprints.info/design/images/logos/triumph-logo.png

buy liao then bring where to install???? how much exactly?

NSR 150SP; Super 4 Spec I; CBR 929; GSX 750; R 1150 GS; Piaggio X8

Feels like moving a circle....

Guest blackbird749

where is this HKL and what is it stand for ??

Originally posted by blackbird749@Mar 26 2004, 04:52 PM

where is this HKL and what is it stand for ??

Hock Kim Liong at Bukit Merah Lane 3

http://powersports.honda.com/images/model/c028_029_030_031_photos_all/motorcycles/2005/CBR1000RR/LargeHoriz/CBR1000RR_large_03.jpg
Originally posted by Sckona@Mar 26 2004, 02:58 PM

buy liao then bring where to install???? how much exactly?

The last price i heard was $340 (inclusive of installation costs) a pair and installation is done at the same place. You don't have to bring the tyres elsewhere to fix it on your bike.

http://carblueprints.info/design/images/logos/triumph-logo.png
Originally posted by Sckona@Mar 22 2004, 05:53 PM

would like to ask all whom can help...

wats the difference in having a 180 or 190 rear? i know that one of them gives more grip, which one again? cos the way i think is that on normal (big bikes), contact area bigger for 190, but since 180 is smaller (more triangular profile), that gives you more contact area during cornering as well as lesser contact during riding (=faster, better fuel consumption).... so why 190 then??

pls advise.

For my bike, it uses 190 rear tyres originally. But since i go track once in a while, i changed rear section to 180. Tis makes the bike to turn in corners faster. Have tried and tested by me... :smile:

Hope tis helps... :cheeky:

http://img285.imageshack.us/img285/9274/saniboyburn0ui.gifhttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v220/saniboy/Ride/style.jpg
Originally posted by blackbird749@Mar 25 2004, 04:54 PM

For that price, the best is BT010 for more grip for your 929. unless you want to try BT020 for longer lasting and good grip too. Some people have try sport tire like BT010 on the front and a sport touring tire like BT020 on the rear. but the best is to buy front and rear together to get the best of handling.

Better dun change front and rear tyres differently, like front bt 020, rear bt 010. I tried tat and seriously it SUCKS! :mad:

Bt 010 is good. Offer good grip and good mileage. But if u reali wan superb tyres, go for michelin pilot sports. Its best for road use and NOT TRACK USE. Reali lasts and offer superior grip, more better than bt 010 or bt 020. But they cost nearly $500 sia... :sweat:

If once in a while goin track, bt 010 good enuf. But then if got money, can try pirelli dragon supercorsas... :cheer:

And one more thing, soft compound tyres like the pirelli dragon supercorsas super grippy but good tyres dun wear long... :weep:

http://img285.imageshack.us/img285/9274/saniboyburn0ui.gifhttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v220/saniboy/Ride/style.jpg
Originally posted by saniboy@Apr 5 2004, 08:31 PM

Better dun change front and rear tyres differently, like front bt 020, rear bt 010. I tried tat and seriously it SUCKS! :mad:

Bt 010 is good. Offer good grip and good mileage. But if u reali wan superb tyres, go for michelin pilot sports. Its best for road use and NOT TRACK USE. Reali lasts and offer superior grip, more better than bt 010 or bt 020. But they cost nearly $500 sia... :sweat:

If once in a while goin track, bt 010 good enuf. But then if got money, can try pirelli dragon supercorsas... :cheer:

And one more thing, soft compound tyres like the pirelli dragon supercorsas super grippy but good tyres dun wear long... :weep:

when bt 14 will b in hkl???

mi need to change tire soon....

Originally posted by Cool79@Apr 6 2004, 08:47 PM

when bt 14 will b in hkl???

mi need to change tire soon....

Ya hor. Dunno how's the performance of the tyres though. And also dunno wat's the price... :confused:

Originally posted by Kino@Mar 18 2004, 06:35 PM

One more thing.. most say 120/80 is too big for krr rear wear although stable but still too big.... most will say 110/70 is better choice.... although it is reccomended for front wheel of bigger bike.... almOst 70% of krr rider uses 110/70

Actuali, normally when i see class 2b bikes race on Pasir Gudang, they use front 90/80-17 and rear 110/70-17. Hope tis helps. :smile:

Originally posted by RobVanDam@Apr 5 2004, 12:06 PM

The last price i heard was $340 (inclusive of installation costs) a pair and installation is done at the same place. You don't have to bring the tyres elsewhere to fix it on your bike.

dat is the price of 012ss at hkl???

how is the grip n mileage compared with 010????

it's more lasting or wat???

how abt 012 without ss 1....

heard dat 010 the front will get spoilt veri easily....

Originally posted by louisbong@May 28 2004, 04:32 PM

Any comment wif Diablo Corsa? Thinking to change next week, ani 1 here got use dis tyre b4?

I am using Diablo Corsa this tires worth the money... i try it on track and high speed good grip.. i change it abt 5 mth ago still in good shape.. NO regret changing it... can get in change at Sporting Motor.. :smile: :thumb:

http://img70.photobucket.com/albums/v212/superman335/bike/newbig.jpg

Daijiro Kato always a racer in my heart !!

I am using Michelin Pilot Sport now for my tyres. Been superb so far. Anybody knows how much does a new pair cost? I would like to change them soon.

Any comparison between this pilot sport and the BT010??

Oh, and what are the prices for them, from where too?

hi pple...currently usin pilot race 2 on a 400cc bike ...so far so gd....1 of the best tires so far...saved my @ss a few times...hahaha....:cheeky: cost my abt 500 4 a pair...but my life depends on it......so nvr save when changin tires..jus an advice...tires so far so gd...nvr go track on rd use can last quite long....its better den pilot sport,more sticky...

cheers pple

Hey, where did u get ur pair of Michelin from? Most shops i go to do not sell Michelin...guess its becoz its simply too expensive

Well, though i would very much like to get a pair ..haha

Originally posted by lychee@Oct 6 2002, 02:05 AM

by judging from the depth of the threads. if the threads are less than 3mm or 2mm deep, time to change.

i thought if i can recall in theory the tyre thread is less than 16mm depth u need to changed liao... not wat 2mm or 3mm..... am i right?

Back to topic.... how abt dunlop good anot huh....?

It Is Not How FAST You Can Travel, But How FAST You Can Handle?

Originally posted by suzuka1980@Jun 6 2004, 10:29 AM

Hey, where did u get ur pair of Michelin from? Most shops i go to do not sell Michelin...guess its becoz its simply too expensive

Well, though i would very much like to get a pair ..haha

hihi..i got mine frm xtreme in ubi.u can try there.done everyting there...u can go n try there...