guwakzai: fork is fork, rear suspension is rear suspension. fork is the two long pieces of metal that runs from your front wheel to your yoke. if your fork seal is broken, there will be alot of oil. if it's fine, it'll have just a little oil. just enough to provide lubrication. near the part where the shiny metal part meets the black part, there is a rubber seal. if yours is worn out/hardened/cracked, go change it. rear suspension is the big red spring below your rider seat. you can see it easily.

dOnGhAi: where do you stay? riding without insurance in SG is very risky. if it's anything, take it to JB and test.

NSR^G@|^_^: oil leakage in huge quantities means there's MOST PROBABLY a problem. some places need lubrication hence there will be a little oil. don't worry too much. like alot of people have said, ask someone to check it for you. where do you stay? west, east, north, south? no need to be specific if you're uncomfortable with the question. (:

• Replies 140.5k

• wait4me

• lwfc

• MC28

• garfieldrox

Originally posted by guwakzai+Jun 25 2006, 01:49 AM-->
QUOTE (guwakzai @ Jun 25 2006, 01:49 AM)
no la..i ask u see ur suspension there got leak or not..if it does means u probably need change the oil seal la..u see the shiny metal of ur suspension there..use hand touch if oily means leaking liao loh.. [/b]

i think its her rear suspension/linkage that is making the sound. not the front one ^^

Originally posted by dOnGhAi@Jun 25 2006, 01:56 AM

guwakzai got technical knowledge must help me leh... wanna see if my sp is good or no good. maybe can go the block 610 carpark there again?? haha! then meet liao give you try my sp.

just be careful if you want someone to test your bike in singapore. you dont want to be caught by the police. licence precious yes?

'96 nsr250sp

'90 nsr250r

'18 yzf-r6

and me and siaogina got our posh chain guards! woo. zhan che on the way! lol..

NSR^G@|^_^: IF i'm not wrong, your suspension linkages are worn out/loose? i can't really remember. read it from the aprilia forum some time ago. they have a Q&A for common bike problems. i'll check and give you the link. hmm think you should really bring the bike down to a motorshop to give it a check up. so many problems! >> repeat telecast. and yes, this is the link http://themuser.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=27 million thanks to the aprilia guys! :thumb:

Originally posted by ravenSP@Jun 25 2006, 06:12 AM

flykite: sam, you totally suck! you should have asked me earlier! :lol:

me, fnee and siaogina went in just now for supper! and i decarbonised my endcans! WHEE! :lol: :lol:

POO!

bert u suck! u didn't sms me.. :mad:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v56/flykite/futurerp.jpg
Originally posted by ravenSP@Jun 25 2006, 06:12 AM

i think its her rear suspension/linkage that is making the sound. not the front one ^^

just be careful if you want someone to test your bike in singapore. you dont want to be caught by the police. licence precious yes?

forgot leh! alot of ppl call/pm-ed me :lol:

oh wait, maybe i remember.. uh... AHA.. EH.. :/ :lol:

seriously, we'll post some outings here and there also. just check the sp outing thread in the 'beyond the screen' forum. if you want to go out la kopi or sth, just drop me a PM with your number or something, some of us meet almost everynight if we're not working just for dinner ^^

flykite: sam, you totally suck! you should have asked me earlier! :lol:

me, fnee and siaogina went in just now for supper! and i decarbonised my endcans! WHEE! :lol: :lol:

thanks for the advice. anyways, i ask quwakzai becoz i met him before, viewed his bike, becoz wanted to buy. only test to see if engine got problem anot and see if the sounds coming out are bad sounds or good sounds, not test top speed those kind. no need worry :p

msn and friendster: [email protected]

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Joan Chan Shu Fang - Far apart but close at heart.

FU ***9 B - <220606-151006> - Far apart but close at heart.

Originally posted by NSR^G@|^_^+-->
QUOTE (NSR^G@|^_^)

wts the diff between full svc and overhual?

[/b]

full service does ur engine including inspecting of ur piston parts. overhaul will be dismantling ur whole engine, including gear box. inspection will be done thru out the whole engine. full service normally takes 3hrs but overhaul needs a 3-4 days(only if there is disturbance to the mechanic).

Originally posted by lauze+-->
QUOTE (lauze)

the minimum different is the price! overhaul cost a few hundreds while full service cost 100 plus nia!:cheer:

[/b]

what do u mean by that? there are alot of difference in full service and overhaul...

Originally posted by raden

u know the top speed of this bike????

why u wanna noe it? get one and test it. :D

Originally posted by NSR^G@|^_^

somemore problems..

i tink my suspension gona spoil sia..nw wait i sit on my bike, will hv the eek eek sound..if chng suspension hw much ar?

doesn't mean got sound must change leh. i remember i was quote abt 200+ ringgit for changing a pair of it. But just service the forks will do. Change the oil inside and also the oil seal. will do the job. i remember servicing each fork cost me 45 ringgit... (the above price is what i remember in my barely remembered system from 2 yrs ago...)

Originally posted by flykite

if u don't know wat i mean here i give u an example. for instance i earn 1500 a month and i know obviously i can afford a car by doing full loan for seven years. so am i going to buy a car? well i can, but im going to pay thru my nose for the seven years and wat if i get retrenched halfway? in the same fashion, students and those in NS must think in the same way ok?

sian... like me loh... finding ways to maintain my bike! :cry: bo lui ah!

Road is a place to practise safety.

Track is a place to practise skills.

Originally posted by civic_eg6@Jun 25 2006, 01:02 PM

may i know normally full tank can travel hw far?

wad petrol and 2T is most popular?

last time for me is:

full tank will travel me for 250km.

i'll use vpower oni when i ride sp. however it's not required to restrict urself to use that.

i oni use racing 2t from mobil.

Road is a place to practise safety.

Track is a place to practise skills.

Originally posted by fnee@Jun 25 2006, 06:10 AM

guwakzai: fork is fork, rear suspension is rear suspension. fork is the two long pieces of metal that runs from your front wheel to your yoke. if your fork seal is broken, there will be alot of oil. if it's fine, it'll have just a little oil. just enough to provide lubrication. near the part where the shiny metal part meets the black part, there is a rubber seal. if yours is worn out/hardened/cracked, go change it. rear suspension is the big red spring below your rider seat. you can see it easily.

dOnGhAi: where do you stay? riding without insurance in SG is very risky. if it's anything, take it to JB and test.

NSR^G@|^_^: oil leakage in huge quantities means there's MOST PROBABLY a problem. some places need lubrication hence there will be a little oil. don't worry too much. like alot of people have said, ask someone to check it for you. where do you stay? west, east, north, south? no need to be specific if you're uncomfortable with the question. (:

i stay bukit batok

Jun 06 ~ Apr 09 : NSR 150 SP

Apr 09 ~ current : Yamaha Spark 135

Originally posted by RollinMao+Jun 25 2006, 12:44 PM-->
QUOTE (RollinMao @ Jun 25 2006, 12:44 PM)
what do u mean by that? there are alot of difference in full service and overhaul...

sian... like me loh... finding ways to maintain my bike! :cry: bo lui ah!

Originally posted by NSR^G@|^_^@

somemore problems..

hmmx..guwakzai..any part of my bike tt got oil leakages means tt part spoilt isit? i tml den go check..thx thx for the info manx!

hmmm.. nsrgal... den any part of ur bike got sound means that spoilt ah...??? engine got sound leh... LOL jk....

Originally posted by civic_eg6@Jun 25 2006, 01:02 PM

may i know normally full tank can travel hw far?

wad petrol and 2T is most popular?

it's how u ride

we have from 110km to 340km

we have from Pennzoil Marine to Castrol R2

we have from SPC 92 to Mobil F1

i ride at max 100km/h..frm my hse to bugis everyday..and yet every 3 days hv to top up...my fuel comsumption like alot hor?

i ride at 110km/hr at bout 6k RPM

everyday travel to PS n back to Jurong

every 2 - 3 days need to pump le

y not monitor ur mileage n calculate how much u travel against how much u pumped?

my shop quoted mi $80 for O Ring full set chain n sprocket..

tink some ppl's gonna ask mi do in M'sia rite?

anyway AGL charge ard RM80 izzit?

oh and another qn:

tt day was riding at bout 70km/hr on a normal road

den suddenly throttle no power n like engine gonna die

the same feelin u get when ur fuel running out

i still haf half tank tt time

den i quickly switch to reserve den ok le

n i switch back to normal den no prob until now

any prob? cos carn be no petrol get into the engine for about 5 sec rite?

Originally posted by RollinMao@Jun 25 2006, 12:44 PM

changing a rear suspension can easily cost u more den 500. just do a setting to ur pre load, rebound and compression will do.

Eh a new stock rear suspension for SP is not so ex. Eddy Ong quote me $360 last time. Well in e end i nv change so i dont know anything else.

Anyway for those whose suspension preload is already max out n still too soft, just get those Kiss brand rear suspension from JB or LAB. Cost around $60 only.

You are not racing, as long as e ride is not bouncy n is comfy its good enough.

SP suspension can adjust e rebound n compression rate? Must be after-market stuffs. WP shocks? No wonder urs cost more than 500.

And Raden stop going around e 2B sport bikes threads to ask abt e top speed of each bike. I can say there's not much difference, maybe 10-20kmh, which can easily be offset by your sprock settings.

So what if urs have e fastest top speed?

Why four strokes when all you need is two?

Originally posted by iceddd@Jun 25 2006, 04:44 PM

wah.. my sp 110 already 7k rpm liao. sian.

Sprock settings la bro. U want 110kmph 10k rpm also can.

hey hey..although abit off topic..bt u guys know wea can get sushi buffet today for dinner?or any nice and cheap places with buffet??

Originally posted by flykite@Jun 25 2006, 09:41 AM

POO!

bert u suck! u didn't sms me.. :mad:

he did call me le...haha...but i went in earlier instead cos i need to rush back for a movie wif fren...

but i did sms him when i m in n told him e traffic condition...:cheer:

sry i cldnt join u all...

Originally posted by gekokujyou@Jun 25 2006, 04:47 PM

Sprock settings la bro. U want 110kmph 10k rpm also can.

erm sorry i newbie in bikes lol. wads sprock? u mean i can change it ah? can change to 110 at 5k rpm? lol :sweat:

Originally posted by iceddd@Jun 25 2006, 08:31 PM

erm sorry i newbie in bikes lol. wads sprock? u mean i can change it ah? can change to 110 at 5k rpm? lol :sweat:

it's sprocket...the one together with ur chain

sprocket is the thing that your chain goes around. it's at the rear wheel. bigger sprocket = faster pick up, but no top end. smaller sprocket = not so much pick up, but higher top end.

Originally posted by NSR^G@|^_^+Jun 25 2006, 05:06 PM-->
QUOTE (NSR^G@|^_^ @ Jun 25 2006, 05:06 PM)
hey hey..although abit off topic..bt u guys know wea can get sushi buffet today for dinner?or any nice and cheap places with buffet?? [/b]

Kushinbo at Suntec City along e stretch of restaurants at Sky Garden.

Jio the guys out for outing to there lah! :D

erm sorry i newbie in bikes lol. wads sprock? u mean i can change it ah? can change to 110 at 5k rpm? lol

Can. Ur rear sprock size will be so small that i think u will have to rev ur bike crazy to move off or go uphill.

Originally posted by iceddd+Jun 25 2006, 08:31 PM-->
QUOTE (iceddd @ Jun 25 2006, 08:31 PM)
erm sorry i newbie in bikes lol. wads sprock? u mean i can change it ah? can change to 110 at 5k rpm? lol :sweat: [/b]

theoretically yes, technically no,

110km/h at 5000rpm would translate to 220km/h top speed, ur rear spockets would have to be something like 34 or 35 to achieve that, and u won't have the power to move off and go uphill.

wah.. my sp 110 already 7k rpm liao. sian.

is normal. your spocket setting is 14/40 based on 110km/h at 7000rpm assuming it's sixth gear.