Originally posted by Hopelessly Stupid@April 03, 2007 05:24 pm

Today I had a weird encounter with my bike.

Was moving along smoothly, then suddenly bike died just like that.

Quickly moved to the nearest curb.

Switch on headlight still very bright, means got batt.

Neutral light not dim at all, means got batt.

Check petrol, which i just pumped ytd, and is still quite full.

Tried to start again but to no avail.

Tried using the choke and start but also no diff.

Rested for around 10mins, just thinking abt what happened. Then I try to start again, then the bike started. Rev'ed abit, then quickly put on my helmet and but by the time I put on, bike died again. But luckily this time, easily started then proceeded towards school again.

Anyone encounter sudden death like mine before?

Any comments?

Anyone knows what happened?

Thanks in advance.

Spark plug? :cheeky:

• Replies 140.5k

• wait4me

• lwfc

• MC28

• garfieldrox

Guest SPchoo
Originally posted by Hopelessly Stupid@April 03, 2007 05:24 pm

Today I had a weird encounter with my bike.

Was moving along smoothly, then suddenly bike died just like that.

Quickly moved to the nearest curb.

Switch on headlight still very bright, means got batt.

Neutral light not dim at all, means got batt.

Check petrol, which i just pumped ytd, and is still quite full.

Tried to start again but to no avail.

Tried using the choke and start but also no diff.

Rested for around 10mins, just thinking abt what happened. Then I try to start again, then the bike started. Rev'ed abit, then quickly put on my helmet and but by the time I put on, bike died again. But luckily this time, easily started then proceeded towards school again.

Anyone encounter sudden death like mine before?

Any comments?

Anyone knows what happened?

Thanks in advance.

someone played a prank and turned your fuel to "off" ? lol

No leh, it wasn't off'ed.

2006 - 2008 // Honda NSR150SP

2008 - 2009 // Honda CBR400RRN

2009 - 2009 // Honda RVF400

2009 - 2011 // Yamaha X1R

2011 - 20xx // Suzuki DRZ-400SM

HopelesslyStupid : i encounter same thing like u a few days ago.

i dunno why too.

maybe singapore lacking of oxygen to complete the petrol combustion.

Good and bad is just the difference between perceptions.

Originally posted by Redz@April 03, 2007 04:16 pm

means, when u turn the knob to OFF, petrol from the tank will stop entering the carb.

but there will still be remaining petrol left in the carb...

so, to clear off the petrol in the carb, turn the knob to off, and rev ur bike till ur engine dies, means theres no more petrol in the carb...

oicc,ok ok thanks,anyway is there any good brands for engine oil and spark plug for our bike?

Four Wheels Move The Body,Two Wheels Move The Soul

Originally posted by heuer25@April 03, 2007 03:00 am

realised that premix, must use much more 2t than using the pump. but premix, u got the kick =)

not true that you use more.

and you can feel the difference between using 2t pump and premixing? lol.

why did you premix in the first place anyway?

Originally posted by fnee@April 03, 2007 10:12 pm

not true that you use more.

and you can feel the difference between using 2t pump and premixing? lol.

why did you premix in the first place anyway?

hmm. i donno, but i felt its more =\

1 litre = 25ml of 2t

thats my measurement. but correct rite? haahs!

if u shake ur bike until shiong, petrol and 2t mix properly and u put chun2 (not too much, not too little 2t) den u feel ur bike very light =)

not that i want. but buy from fren like that already. then continue the generation like that. =)

Originally posted by heuer25@April 03, 2007 10:38 pm

hmm. i donno, but i felt its more =\

1 litre = 25ml of 2t

thats my measurement. but correct rite? haahs!

if u shake ur bike until shiong, petrol and 2t mix properly and u put chun2 (not too much, not too little 2t) den u feel ur bike very light =)

not that i want. but buy from fren like that already. then continue the generation like that. =)

what 2t are you using? 25ml of 2t to 1L of petrol is crazy.

i used only 20ml : 1L ratio (with semi syn pennzoil marine and maxima Super M which is premix only 2t) and it's still a little smokey. i think your bike can kill mosquitoes alr. lol..

with Maxima's Castor 927 which is fully syn, racewerks mech told me that you can use 15ml : 1L.

hey guys.. do u all noe anywhere to spray paintwork? price around 200++ den the paintwork need not be very very nice.. at least lookable.. place around ubi or kakit bukit or jalan besar area..

HONDA NSR SP 150 - Dec 2006 to Nov 2007

HONDA SUPER FOUR CB400 SPEC I - Feb 2008 to Current:cheeky:

Originally posted by fnee@April 03, 2007 10:53 pm

what 2t are you using? 25ml of 2t to 1L of petrol is crazy.

i used only 20ml : 1L ratio (with semi syn pennzoil marine and maxima Super M which is premix only 2t) and it's still a little smokey. i think your bike can kill mosquitoes alr. lol..

with Maxima's Castor 927 which is fully syn, racewerks mech told me that you can use 15ml : 1L.

hmm. i using castrol activ only. no need so high end wan. lol

we all not pgm or aprilia 250. not really kill mosquito, but only give dots onto ppl paintwork behind =)

Originally posted by botakid@April 03, 2007 10:55 pm

hey guys.. do u all noe anywhere to spray paintwork? price around 200++ den the paintwork need not be very very nice.. at least lookable.. place around ubi or kakit bukit or jalan besar area..

like tat u will get super lousy quality of paint.. abit of crack.. den the whole patch of paint will drop off liaoz.. can try GoldHill at Ubi.. spraying shops.. can go check the 'WHY PAY MORE' section.. will hav lotsa informations there..

http://i167.photobucket.com/albums/u142/nGuOrEn/renssig.jpg

My RiDeS

HONDA NSR 150 (FS 336K): 23/09/06 tO 17/08/07

WAVE-I (FY 5801U): 17/08/07 tO 13/12/07

HONDA CBR400RR (FM 1463B): 13/12/07 tO 20/09/08

WAVE-R (FZ 2846E): 20/09/08 tO 17/04/09

WAVE-S (FV 7293M): 03/10/09 tO 14/08/10

CB400 BOLD'OR (FZ 7896G): 16/08/10

Guest SPchoo
Originally posted by heuer25@April 03, 2007 11:40 pm

hmm. i using castrol activ only. no need so high end wan. lol

we all not pgm or aprilia 250. not really kill mosquito, but only give dots onto ppl paintwork behind =)

good engine oil goes a long way. so good 2t makes life easier too. invest in it alittle and you will save yourself alot of problems in your engine. i am giving up on penzoil already and starting on R2 now. aft my extended holiday that is.lol :bouncefire:

spchoo: im used R2 Europe or Malaysia for my SP. cant say its the best 2t ive ever used cos its the only 2t ive ever used! hahahahah!!

hopelesslystupid: ive never encountered that prob before when im riding my sp. is this the first time u faced this prob??

Originally posted by happiness_1911@April 03, 2007 08:35 pm

oicc,ok ok thanks,anyway is there any good brands for engine oil and spark plug for our bike?

the 2 rich enough companies to advertise on SBS bus.

motul 300v engine oil 15W50

denso iridium spark plugs. lol

Good and bad is just the difference between perceptions.

Originally posted by cOngx@April 03, 2007 07:37 pm

maybe singapore lacking of oxygen to complete the petrol combustion.

wouldn't we all be dead by now??

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v56/flykite/futurerp.jpg

can i ask how do u reduce the size of ur signature to tat small??? i tried posted but it extended out of the usual full screen..

http://i167.photobucket.com/albums/u142/nGuOrEn/renssig.jpg

My RiDeS

HONDA NSR 150 (FS 336K): 23/09/06 tO 17/08/07

WAVE-I (FY 5801U): 17/08/07 tO 13/12/07

HONDA CBR400RR (FM 1463B): 13/12/07 tO 20/09/08

WAVE-R (FZ 2846E): 20/09/08 tO 17/04/09

WAVE-S (FV 7293M): 03/10/09 tO 14/08/10

CB400 BOLD'OR (FZ 7896G): 16/08/10

Originally posted by nGuOrEn@April 04, 2007 10:38 am

can i ask how do u reduce the size of ur signature to tat small??? i tried posted but it extended out of the usual full screen..

Resize it usin MS paint/PS or whatever..

Originally posted by SPchoo@April 04, 2007 02:07 am

good engine oil goes a long way. so good 2t makes life easier too. invest in it alittle and you will save yourself alot of problems in your engine. i am giving up on penzoil already and starting on R2 now. aft my extended holiday that is.lol :bouncefire:

I dun think SP needs to gd a engine oil... cos it only runs through the gears... a gd 2t is more impt... i've been using cheapo engine oil for a yr and no engine problems.. juz my 2 cents.. :cheeky:

hey guys,recently my bike temperature rise to almost to the max,abt one quater more to max,tis happens only sometimes,the engine part will also rev loudly when the temperature rise,the aft a while it will slowly cool down,has anyone encounter tis be4?

u got check ur coolant??

if u temp rises when ur stuck in a traffic jam den its normal lah. if normal riding den it goes up, go check ur coolant.

Originally posted by LimHammett@April 04, 2007 02:08 pm

u got check ur coolant??

if u temp rises when ur stuck in a traffic jam den its normal lah. if normal riding den it goes up, go check ur coolant.

yup i checked,my coolant there is still coolant water in it

hey guys,

One qus to ask i am going in NS soon. I'm going ask someone to start my bike everyday to warm up but not moving around will my bike spoilt or wat? not going to move my bike for 2 weeks..