Hello Everyone,

1st time posting here. Started my pract 1 lesson in last week of Aug. Now 4th time, still fail! Mostly because I cant do the slow speed braking part well. You know the part where instructor will put a cone abt 2.5 - 3m away from your starting line & youre supposed to make a start & brake at the cone location?

I found out the hard way, you cant make 'normal' start - too fast for this type of distance, so my split second action to throttle off, brake, declutch & left leg down looked too 'busy' for instructor's liking. So kena penalised. Today I didnt throttle at all, just biting point alone, bike so difficult to control - wobbling. Instructor said must 'tak yew' But if I "tak yew" I go a bit too fast. I scared I overshot the cone!

Another problem for that part, different instructors gv different instruction. 1 say use only rear brake. 1 say use both brakes. So 1 day both the instructors present to conduct that part. So this 1 rare time I did it cun cun with both brakes, but unfortunately the 1 who say both brakes already gone somewhere, so the one who say rear brake only saw me use both brakes say "no need front brake, just rear brake only". wtf! & then today another instructor also say both brakes, but more rear brake than front. But the funny thing is, most others will make mistakes elsewhere but not that part. Im completely opposite!

So many cant get the 1st activity - go around the circle in 3rd gear & stop in front of the instructor in 1st gear, correctly. I got that 1 1st time! But others can do the slow speed braking & I cant!

So now getting desperate. Really no confidence for that 1 part & getting very nervous when come to lesson time just because of this 1 thing. How to practice that 1 part?? Every lesson we get to do it 2 times only max.

Got anyone willing to be my sifu just so that i can get solid practice time for this 1 thing?

Today also du lan. Doing the cornering part, like doing figure 8. With previous instructor we go 1 by 1. So that time can do cun cun. With this 1 instructor we have to follow him. So keeping an eye of the guy in front of me, I missed my line so cant complete the exercise well. I knew from that time sure fail again.

Probably the only consolation I have is I never had the misfortune of falling down, dropping bike or knocking into stationary bikes like ive seen a lot of others do.

hmm.. cause speed slow.. use rear may be enough. if i not wrong. even u jam it.. it wont fishtail. hehe!! what instructor wants is. listen to what is he say, and perform it. if i not wrong.. he shout your number which a cone near him. you after a round, stop infront of him which near the cone with gear 1. not gear 3 or whatsoever. if clear, go out for some huge round in circuit. huge round circuit is to do engine brake. like gear 5 to 3.. he want to hear the engine screaming sound... as for the small fig 8 like kind.. try look further of the bend part.. dont keep looking downward.. try use rear brake only.. your front brake hand is busy controlling the throttle. =D peace out~~ =D

hehe!!

No One In This World Is A Virgin. Cause Life Always Fcuk You Over and Over Again. Rides: 05May13~ NSR SP FQ **** X 2 stroke power! 05May15~ RVF400 FQ **** D V engine power! 04Jun16~ YZF-R1 FBG **** M Xplane power! 26Nov16~ LC135 FBC **** J SPARK big bore! 03Mar18~ BMWGSA F **** D GSR1200ADV! 23Apr20~ CB400 Bold'r FBC ***** J inLine4
  • Replies 4.8k

Hi JrCherish

Ya Its actually the part just before you go 1 big round of the circuit. We all queue up before the yellow line. Its near the place where other riders do the going over bumps exercise. Bit by bit we crawl to the yellow line after each rider moves off.

Now in front of that yellow line about 3m away there will be a cone. & another 1 about 3m in front again. So we have to do this slow speed braking twice before we start going around the circuit, building up speed to 5th gear & stopping in 1st gear after 1 round. Next part is going up to 5th gear & slowing down & shift down to 3rd gear.

Its that initial 2 short & slow speed stops which causing me to fail all the time.

I am the wisest man alive, for I know one thing, and that is that I know nothing - Socrates

U engine brake too slow? or u wobble? hehe!!

No One In This World Is A Virgin. Cause Life Always Fcuk You Over and Over Again. Rides: 05May13~ NSR SP FQ **** X 2 stroke power! 05May15~ RVF400 FQ **** D V engine power! 04Jun16~ YZF-R1 FBG **** M Xplane power! 26Nov16~ LC135 FBC **** J SPARK big bore! 03Mar18~ BMWGSA F **** D GSR1200ADV! 23Apr20~ CB400 Bold'r FBC ***** J inLine4

Wobble.

Funny thing - When going round the circuit in 3rd gear I can slow down & change to 1st gear & plod very very slowly due to slow moving learner drivers. Just feather the clutch & throttle only. BUT starting from 0 & moving ahead slowly 3m & stop, cannot control.

I am the wisest man alive, for I know one thing, and that is that I know nothing - Socrates

Wobble.

Funny thing - When going round the circuit in 3rd gear I can slow down & change to 1st gear & plod very very slowly due to slow moving learner drivers. Just feather the clutch & throttle only. BUT starting from 0 & moving ahead slowly 3m & stop, cannot control.

u need to get a hang of controlling at half clutch quickly, not too much excess throttle, dont panic and jam brake. Dont worry, starting is always tough, i took 3 lessons to clear this stage. thereafter, the lessons become easier for me as i grasp the fundamentals rightly.

There will be alot of setbacks, just persevere and hang on!

If u don't have PDL for EFR. U r not allow to ride cos u haven't get your real 2b licence. I don't think there is any dates on how fast u need to clear efr after tp

great. thanks. sian have to faster clear EFR before the pdl expires. and the EFR slots are so off and limited.

If u don't have PDL for EFR. U r not allow to ride cos u haven't get your real 2b licence. I don't think there is any dates on how fast u need to clear efr after tp

great. thanks. sian have to faster clear EFR before the pdl expires. and the EFR slots are so off and limited.

u need to get a hang of controlling at half clutch quickly, not too much excess throttle, dont panic and jam brake. Dont worry, starting is always tough, i took 3 lessons to clear this stage. thereafter, the lessons become easier for me as i grasp the fundamentals rightly.

There will be alot of setbacks, just persevere and hang on!

Hey Skywalker

Thanks for the encouragement! Really needed it. Was a bit discouraged over that 1 particular issue. Will be going for 5th attempt this 18th. Wish me luck.

Btw congrats on your passing TP.

Mmmmm! Book EFR ASAP you must! May the force be with you! haha

Hey Skywalker

Thanks for the encouragement! Really needed it. Was a bit discouraged over that 1 particular issue. Will be going for 5th attempt this 18th. Wish me luck.

Btw congrats on your passing TP.

Mmmmm! Book EFR ASAP you must! May the force be with you! haha

yup i am done with the EFR thing..kinda challenging to ride on the expressway with the wind and speed....nonetheless enjoy the lessons ahead man and good luck for your attempt!

Hello Everyone,

1st time posting here. Started my pract 1 lesson in last week of Aug. Now 4th time, still fail! Mostly because I cant do the slow speed braking part well. You know the part where instructor will put a cone abt 2.5 - 3m away from your starting line & youre supposed to make a start & brake at the cone location?

I found out the hard way, you cant make 'normal' start - too fast for this type of distance, so my split second action to throttle off, brake, declutch & left leg down looked too 'busy' for instructor's liking. So kena penalised. Today I didnt throttle at all, just biting point alone, bike so difficult to control - wobbling. Instructor said must 'tak yew' But if I "tak yew" I go a bit too fast. I scared I overshot the cone!

Another problem for that part, different instructors gv different instruction. 1 say use only rear brake. 1 say use both brakes. So 1 day both the instructors present to conduct that part. So this 1 rare time I did it cun cun with both brakes, but unfortunately the 1 who say both brakes already gone somewhere, so the one who say rear brake only saw me use both brakes say "no need front brake, just rear brake only". wtf! & then today another instructor also say both brakes, but more rear brake than front.

Hey JbDoggy, you can try requesting the instructor to place the cones further apart. I faced the same problem of being too slow(cos rev too lil & clutch nv release enough) for the slow speed braking.

During waiting periods you could try getting used to the half clutch biting point:

1) Apply both brakes firmly

2) Release clutch slowly

3) You know when the clutch is fully released when you hear the 'click' sound of the gears and engine meshing together completely.

You'll also feel the bike attempting to surge forward.

Then just make mental note of the position of the clutch bar. A little bit before is e half clutch alr.

Then rev a bit to 3-4rpm for normal smooth start.

For me both instructors on two separate occasion said the same thing for the brakes. "Apply both brakes but rear brake more."

They dunwan see the weight of bike visibly shifting forward, which means front brake too much.

hope it helps..

Hey JbDoggy, you can try requesting the instructor to place the cones further apart. I faced the same problem of being too slow(cos rev too lil & clutch nv release enough) for the slow speed braking.

During waiting periods you could try getting used to the half clutch biting point:

1) Apply both brakes firmly

2) Release clutch slowly

3) You know when the clutch is fully released when you hear the 'click' sound of the gears and engine meshing together completely.

You'll also feel the bike attempting to surge forward.

Then just make mental note of the position of the clutch bar. A little bit before is e half clutch alr.

Then rev a bit to 3-4rpm for normal smooth start.

For me both instructors on two separate occasion said the same thing for the brakes. "Apply both brakes but rear brake more."

They dunwan see the weight of bike visibly shifting forward, which means front brake too much.

hope it helps..

Hi Ray!

Thanks for tips. No I dont think I'll ask for the cone to be placed further. Imagine being stuck in a traffic jam & all you can move is about 2-3m before you langgar the car in front of you. So must be strict with myself & get used to that distance. Instructor & other learners may overshot the cone by half to 1 wheel - might jolly well langgar the car in front already if thats the case. but I will try to stop at the cone itself. Yes, I know exactly where the full biting point is, can always get it 1st time. Now I think Im wanna spend some time to find & get used to the point of where its beginning to enter the full biting point.

Just to clarify, what do most of you here mean when you all say half clutch? Im used to the term biting point (more UK I think) & friction zone (more US). So does half clutch mean biting point? Or do you all mean it as the point where youre just about to get into the biting point? - Here the revs will drop only slightly when you release clutch to that point. The bike will not yet move, but if you add some revs to it maybe 4-5k revs the bike will start to crawl forwards. At full biting point, even w/o throttle input the bike can still move forward but not fast enough to maintain balance (still very wobbly), i experienced this in my last lesson. In bigger cc bikes, just the clutch at biting point can make the bike glide forwards w/o any throttle input & fast enough to maintain stability - maybe abt 7-8km/h.

So now my strategy for the slow speed braking part is now to release my clutch to just that little bit before full biting point & provide more revs maybe 4k revs to sort of like crawl forwards. As I mentioned earlier a normal start for this short distance is a bit too fast a speed. The other strategy is just to relax & enjoy myself there. The last lesson I was so anxious to pass & proceed to lesson 2. This just added pressure on me & I noticed my performance that day was not as good as my earlier lessons.

I am at prac 4 now. Can someone advice on the e brake procedure?
]

1) check back right

2) move off , hit 3rd gear maintain between 30-40km/h

3) after cross white line, close throttle, apply front and rear brakes 60/40 brake proportion, elbows lock, posture straight

4) about to stop before the yellow line clutch in fully

5) with left leg down when bike comes to halt, check back right and put right leg down

6) change gear to 1, u might need to pump the clutch at the same time

7) in gear 1, check back left and put down left leg

8) check back right and move off, after u cross the yellow line change to gear 2.

9) only both lanes are clear than u move off from filter lane, if not have to stop and wait for clearance.

something like that...i think...haha..

Thanks to everyone who gave me tips, advice & encouragement. FINALLY passed lesson 1 on the 5th attempt! My lesson 2 will be on 24th. Basically what activities will we be doing for lesson 2? The outline given in the training record not so clear leh. Easier to pass or another mountain to climb like lesson 1?