So all of us failed L4 today. For me the biggest challenge was actually getting the bike on the damn plank! The little bump that happens when the bike reaches on top of the plank is so unsettling that i lose balance nearly each time. Im comfortable with slow speeds. Was doing a lot of 10km/h or less speed exercises on my own comfortably when going round the circuit back to the plank starting point. Im not sure if being deaf in the right ear has anything to do with my lack of balance cos i tend to fall to the right after that bump.

Slalom was surprisingly ok. Just need a bit more speed to it & i know i can do faster there.

The ebrake was solid. Stopped well before the red line smoothly in all attempts, even in heavy rain. But instructor says im declutching too early. Is 1 sec or less before a complete stop too early?? Or you supposed to declutch in the very very last fraction?? & of course theres a slew of procedures to do before starting off - cant remember everything.

left shoulder check, right leg down, left leg engage 1st gear, left leg down, right leg up, right signal, right shoulder check & move off - or something like that??

I am the wisest man alive, for I know one thing, and that is that I know nothing - Socrates

• Replies 4.8k

Lesson 6 is road hmmmm.

Basically, go out and enjoy. Don't be afraid when you're out there on the road. I believe @rijac should have alr made a note of Lesson 6 back then in 2013. Go find it.

Another just a brief reminder... From what I recall (if my memory never fail me), Lesson 6 is all about applying what you have learnt in the circuit for normal road conditions. Meaning you gotta do your check backs (rule of thumb - always check away from the curb), blindspot checks, forming up (single arrow form up two rows, two or more arrow form up single file), MUST STOP for stopline (there is one route with a pretty invisible stop line that's fading - but it's still a stop line so be observant and stop!), always make sure the road is safe before you proceed to turn out, don't be afraid to speed up, be confident when executing a lane change (don't hesitate). Take note of positioning when coming to a stop (right turn queue up right left, left turn queue up left right), left turns and right turns - treat the amber lights as red lights. Instructors were pretty anal back then about chiong amber lights. If you haven't pass the stopline, and it hits amber, stop and wait for the next green light. Do not chiong. So, approaching the junction slow down and try to anticipate the lights. Take note of bike position for right turns (number of bikes to be in the turning pocket/yellow box, and if your vision is being blocked by a bus, or car, wait. Wait till the green arrow to come on if you must - don't proceed unless you are sure there is no traffic coming at you), filter lane dos and don'ts (form up single file if you have to come to a stop inside the filter lane).

It is possible to pass in a single attempt as long as you do everything correctly and follow instructions. It may seems like there's quite a lot to digest during the briefing at the start of the lesson but once you get it, it will come like second nature. I can't guide you in detail what to do but from my memory, these are mainly the stuff to look out for and of cos, your riding confidence. If you are confident enough and you show that you are capable of handling the bike out there on the road, you will pass. It took me two attempts to do L6 though. Kept chioning the amber lights. Lol. All the best!

Mica

Thank u for the detailed reply. Its useful for me.

Thou i have class 3 and had been driving but i dunno what is filter lane. Ha ha. Got to google it.

I had been doing screenshot of posting tips by rijac. Had been going thru it for my lesson 5 too. Thk u rijac. U have help alot of newbies here.

Lesson 6. Enjoy the higher speeds. And look out for the faded stop line inside the industrial estate.

Key things to remember. Forming up. Know when to be one row and when to be 2 rows

Thk u rijac for all tips.

For lane that hv a arrow showing straight n turning left, if we r gg straight, do we form 1 or 2 line as we r gg straight. If turn left then its, 1 line on the left.

Thk u rijac for all tips.

For lane that hv a arrow showing straight n turning left, if we r gg straight, do we form 1 or 2 line as we r gg straight. If turn left then its, 1 line on the left.

1 row. If going straight keep centre of turning left keep left. But If I recall correctly you won't encounter this situation during tp route .

A Journey of a Thousand Revs Begins with the First Gear Change...

1 row. If going straight keep centre of turning left keep left. But If I recall correctly you won't encounter this situation during tp route .

In the circuit, there is such arrow. Which is the junction after fig 8. I rmb the instructor told us to kp 2 lane when we gg straight for the slope. So go straight shld b 2 lane? Or kp 2 lanes, ths turn left on left lane n those go straight keep right or form up according to left right left right? Or i m lost liao?

Going for BTT Theory lesson 3 and 4 later. Can't wait to book my IE and BTT (but WTH I saw the test date for BTT is like Dec)! I can't wait to start my prac lessons! that burning passion inside me. Hahahaha.

Reading the thread, compiling all the tips (especially from @rijack and @timewalker84) 10 pages and counting until my eyes are like O.o.

Thank you guys and girls for the tips ! Good luck to those taking 2B

Going for BTT Theory lesson 3 and 4 later. Can't wait to book my IE and BTT (but WTH I saw the test date for BTT is like Dec)! I can't wait to start my prac lessons! that burning passion inside me. Hahahaha.

Reading the thread, compiling all the tips (especially from @rijack and @timewalker84) 10 pages and counting until my eyes are like O.o.

Thank you guys and girls for the tips ! Good luck to those taking 2B

If you can't wait, go bbdc lor.. Don't need basic theory & pdl can go till pract 5

In the circuit, there is such arrow. Which is the junction after fig 8. I rmb the instructor told us to kp 2 lane when we gg straight for the slope. So go straight shld b 2 lane? Or kp 2 lanes, ths turn left on left lane n those go straight keep right or form up according to left right left right? Or i m lost liao?

hmmm to my knowledge regarding the 2 directional arrow, if u re goin straight ,u form up in 2 row left,right(w/o signal); but if u re turning, u formed up in one row based on the direction u turning to(signal on).

And if u do remember the chveron arrow right after u turn left out of slope(base on circuit route) just before the blind junction(its a left+straight arrow) ,if there is a car waiting to turn left, u will have to form up in 2 row behind the car.

1 add on tip to mica's advise on L6, try to be the first or 2nd bike behind the lead instructor, becos if u re the last few bike u tend to be nervous on road(if no class 3 like me) and will monkey see monkey do, usually leading u to chiong blinking or amber lights(trust me on this, took 3 time). :btw: the filter lane,usually are those major road with left turn lane and a give way line(usually got zebra-crossing) those u form up in the center, like a car.

Edited by AhXian90
So all of us failed L4 today. For me the biggest challenge was actually getting the bike on the damn plank! The little bump that happens when the bike reaches on top of the plank is so unsettling that i lose balance nearly each time. Im comfortable with slow speeds. Was doing a lot of 10km/h or less speed exercises on my own comfortably when going round the circuit back to the plank starting point. Im not sure if being deaf in the right ear has anything to do with my lack of balance cos i tend to fall to the right after that bump.

Slalom was surprisingly ok. Just need a bit more speed to it & i know i can do faster there.

The ebrake was solid. Stopped well before the red line smoothly in all attempts, even in heavy rain. But instructor says im declutching too early. Is 1 sec or less before a complete stop too early?? Or you supposed to declutch in the very very last fraction?? & of course theres a slew of procedures to do before starting off - cant remember everything.

left shoulder check, right leg down, left leg engage 1st gear, left leg down, right leg up, right signal, right shoulder check & move off - or something like that??

Bro try to go up plank fast, aim ur front wheel, if u go up slow ur bike will most likely to wooble(demerits 2pt) and u might not get the speed to stablise on it. i use to do it lik u slow and steady till i get wooble at plank(L5) just wack hard in ur rev, take 1 whole rev go round do plank, salom ebrake.....i did 2 sesson on it before i can do a good plank. lol

U ned to apply ur front and rear brakes first,then u pull ur clutch if not it will most likely deemed wrong method,plus u ned to lock ur arms once ur on gear 3, till u stop and leg down.(incorrect posture 4 pts)

yep, check back right, right leg down, pump clutch kick gear, check back left ,left leg down, right leg up, signal right check back right move off, kick up gear 2 when u goin pass bumpy,check mirror and check both lane clear then u move out of the give way line.

Lesson 6. Enjoy the higher speeds. And look out for the faded stop line inside the industrial estate.

Key things to remember. Forming up. Know when to be one row and when to be 2 rows

sometime they will take another route within the industrial estate, i think i roughly know the ghost stop line u guys were talking about before haah, i believe its a t-junction and u ned to turn left. cant remember lol,was just trying to keep up behind.

yeah a faded stop line. i alway warn the new lesson 6 rider in circuit. haha! then give hint for L7. =D LOL

No One In This World Is A Virgin. Cause Life Always Fcuk You Over and Over Again. Rides: 05May13~ NSR SP FQ **** X 2 stroke power! 05May15~ RVF400 FQ **** D V engine power! 04Jun16~ YZF-R1 FBG **** M Xplane power! 26Nov16~ LC135 FBC **** J SPARK big bore! 03Mar18~ BMWGSA F **** D GSR1200ADV! 23Apr20~ CB400 Bold'r FBC ***** J inLine4
Bro try to go up plank fast, aim ur front wheel, if u go up slow ur bike will most likely to wooble(demerits 2pt) and u might not get the speed to stablise on it. i use to do it lik u slow and steady till i get wooble at plank(L5) just wack hard in ur rev, take 1 whole rev go round do plank, salom ebrake.....i did 2 sesson on it before i can do a good plank. lol

U ned to apply ur front and rear brakes first,then u pull ur clutch if not it will most likely deemed wrong method,plus u ned to lock ur arms once ur on gear 3, till u stop and leg down.(incorrect posture 4 pts)

yep, check back right, right leg down, pump clutch kick gear, check back left ,left leg down, right leg up, signal right check back right move off, kick up gear 2 when u goin pass bumpy,check mirror and check both lane clear then u move out of the give way line.

Long time no see bro! haha...Ya actually I went up the plank fast. Maybe a bit too fast... I dunno. Then when got both wheels on the plank, gan chiong to slow down, so press rear brake (maybe too much). That + the wobble when getting the bike on the plank - there was a little bump - like rear tyre had a small bounce up on the plank after it cleared the little ramp. A bit hard to describe as everything happened so fast. But definitely lost balance almost immediately after getting on the plank. Wish I could see you in action tho to see how you coordinate everything. Try again tomorrow.

slalom - It appears I maybe doing it wrong. If we draw a line connecting all the cones, my bike's path is about 40-45 degrees off that line. Been looking at some slalom videos on youtube, it appears that people would aim their bikes to just miss the cones - so we're talking about maybe 10-20 degrees off that line. That means we're talking about quickly flicking the bike left & right rather than leaning. A very much sharper & faster action required looks like.

Thanks for the ebrake starting off procedures.

Edited by jbdoggy

I am the wisest man alive, for I know one thing, and that is that I know nothing - Socrates

Every now & again at night, I will see learner riders passing by my workplace. They will ride behind Natural Cool building & stop at the stop line directly facing the buddhist temple before forming up just outside my office/workshop at Tai Seng Avenue. Is that faded stop line within the Tai Seng area or somewhere in the Ubi estates?

Other times at my bus stop opposite Asiawide building I will see them riding down from Kim Chuan & turn into upper Paya lebar road heading down towards Airport Road.

Plank. Key is half clutch and rear brake.

Half clutch may not necessarily work for all. If half clutch doesn't work, try clutching in and freewheeling.

Follow your heart even if sometimes it means losing your mind.

Honda NSR150SP - 2013 ~ 2015

Honda CBR400RRR - 2014 ~ Current

Honda MSX125 - 2015 ~ 2016

Ducati 899 Panigale - 2016 ~ 2017

Yamaha T135 Spark - 2016 ~ 2019

Kawasaki ZX10R - 2017 ~ Current

Learning to do it correctly will help you when you are out in the real world lane splitting traffic jams. It was the one weakness I had in the circuit but ironically the one skill I used the most on the road

A Journey of a Thousand Revs Begins with the First Gear Change...

Oh well, minor triumph i suppose - at least can get half a plank & 3 quarter plank today. It would appear that the whole process is about starting off fast for the 1st half of the plank & slow down & rear brake control for the 2nd half is it? Today's instructor wasnt interested in timing but more focused in trying to get us on the plank & remaining there throughout - even at fail timings. master getting up & riding on the plank 1st. Timings do later he said.

Its funny, in the beginning i really thought I'd pass the plank, given that im comfortable with slow speed maneuvers & struggle with the slalom. But its turning out to be the other way round! lol. Perhaps its psychological.... but its relatively easy to go crawling speeds on flat surface, but its just quite something else on an elevated surface!

Next attempt this thurs.

yeah a faded stop line. i alway warn the new lesson 6 rider in circuit. haha! then give hint for L7. =D LOL

haha nice, 2A peeps is always helpful in the circuit :D they gave me some advice on fig 8 and my plank.

Oh well, minor triumph i suppose - at least can get half a plank & 3 quarter plank today. It would appear that the whole process is about starting off fast for the 1st half of the plank & slow down & rear brake control for the 2nd half is it? Today's instructor wasnt interested in timing but more focused in trying to get us on the plank & remaining there throughout - even at fail timings. master getting up & riding on the plank 1st. Timings do later he said.

Its funny, in the beginning i really thought I'd pass the plank, given that im comfortable with slow speed maneuvers & struggle with the slalom. But its turning out to be the other way round! lol. Perhaps its psychological.... but its relatively easy to go crawling speeds on flat surface, but its just quite something else on an elevated surface!

Next attempt this thurs.

haha yo, my pc got problem mah graphic card fried, spent 3 days trying to fixed it. aiya bro im in no any way a pro rider,slow learner in fact, coordination comes with muscle memory after spent time in revision :D plus maybe noting down the parts(step by step) in every lesson(like after every lesson clear i do 1 note will help u to refresh before goin for pract, i did some sticky notes on my pc, but crash before i start my tp revision lol.:sweat:

Now u nail down of goin up smooth, nxt is the balance and roll thru part. Plank, some time is they see u can go up, then they close 1 eye,( my 2nd time i went halfway and drop plank,and they cleared me dunno its cos of Ramadan month hehe)

Well techq is impt ar, but u can try to play clutch see if it works, like mica said, be comfortable on the plank 1st lor, rest will come in. Ned to develop ur own technique that works for u 1st bah, then work on it and correcting it.some1 Pls correct me if im wrong hehe, i go no real riding experience here :D

when i do plank, right after move off, if the nxt thing i realised im alrdy half of the plank, telling me im way too fast in liao, i will close throttle keep doing IM braking, just roll the bike off.

This is wad i like to do,lean foward alittle,keeping body relax, importantly ur arms,elbow(they control where ur wheel is facing), and i dun like to grip hard on the tank making me tense, but gripping will help to regain stability if u wan to fall.

Pai seh long winded:sorry: hope u get some idea ar, some stuff easier to say den to type lol. ah one unorthodox method i learn from my frend is, tailgate the learner car behind shift gear 1 half clutch and follow, but pls dun bang lol. I always do on my revision before lesson 5, when plank haven been overcome yet :D hope it helps

haha yo, my pc got problem mah graphic card fried, spent 3 days trying to fixed it. aiya bro im in no any way a pro rider,slow learner in fact, coordination comes with muscle memory after spent time in revision :D plus maybe noting down the parts(step by step) in every lesson(like after every lesson clear i do 1 note will help u to refresh before goin for pract, i did some sticky notes on my pc, but crash before i start my tp revision lol.:sweat:

Now u nail down of goin up smooth, nxt is the balance and roll thru part. Plank, some time is they see u can go up, then they close 1 eye,( my 2nd time i went halfway and drop plank,and they cleared me dunno its cos of Ramadan month hehe)

Well techq is impt ar, but u can try to play clutch see if it works, like mica said, be comfortable on the plank 1st lor, rest will come in. Ned to develop ur own technique that works for u 1st bah, then work on it and correcting it.some1 Pls correct me if im wrong hehe, i go no real riding experience here :D

when i do plank, right after move off, if the nxt thing i realised im alrdy half of the plank, telling me im way too fast in liao, i will close throttle keep doing IM braking, just roll the bike off.

This is wad i like to do,lean foward alittle,keeping body relax, importantly ur arms,elbow(they control where ur wheel is facing), and i dun like to grip hard on the tank making me tense, but gripping will help to regain stability if u wan to fall.

Pai seh long winded:sorry: hope u get some idea ar, some stuff easier to say den to type lol. ah one unorthodox method i learn from my frend is, tailgate the learner car behind shift gear 1 half clutch and follow, but pls dun bang lol. I always do on my revision before lesson 5, when plank haven been overcome yet :D hope it helps

Yo bro! If youre slow learner, then I must be gone case alreadylah hahaha.....

Actually today i planned to use higher revs+ half clutch + constant light pressure on rear brake from start to finish. Just let the rear brake disk slide gently against the brake pad kinda thing. But rear brake today a bit soft so didnt bite the way i expected. Should have had cow sense to pump the rear brake a bit afterwards. Like you, i also ended up at half plank after starting off but cos i gan chiong to slow down, pressed rear brake more =>slowed down too much & wobbled off.

I admit being on a narrow elevated platform makes me very uneasy & nervous. Always anxious of not enough room to move around (300mm width) or going off. Feel so constrained. Hopefully a few fast speed full planks might help gain some confidence & overcome my anxieties.

'Tailgating' or rather maintaining your gap from the slow beginner drivers is not an unorthodox way of learning slow skills. I learned how to ride at slow speed during my L1 days this way too. Their speed limit is 10 km/h. Helps develop clutch & throttle feel also.

After lesson, 1 uncle wearing cream colored number tag said going off the plank is not IF. If go off plank, just continue the slow speed until finish. As long as foot doesnt touch ground its not IF. Is this true??

Drop out from plank already count as IF.

No One In This World Is A Virgin. Cause Life Always Fcuk You Over and Over Again. Rides: 05May13~ NSR SP FQ **** X 2 stroke power! 05May15~ RVF400 FQ **** D V engine power! 04Jun16~ YZF-R1 FBG **** M Xplane power! 26Nov16~ LC135 FBC **** J SPARK big bore! 03Mar18~ BMWGSA F **** D GSR1200ADV! 23Apr20~ CB400 Bold'r FBC ***** J inLine4
Yo bro! If youre slow learner, then I must be gone case alreadylah hahaha.....

Actually today i planned to use higher revs+ half clutch + constant light pressure on rear brake from start to finish. Just let the rear brake disk slide gently against the brake pad kinda thing. But rear brake today a bit soft so didnt bite the way i expected. Should have had cow sense to pump the rear brake a bit afterwards. Like you, i also ended up at half plank after starting off but cos i gan chiong to slow down, pressed rear brake more =>slowed down too much & wobbled off.

I admit being on a narrow elevated platform makes me very uneasy & nervous. Always anxious of not enough room to move around (300mm width) or going off. Feel so constrained. Hopefully a few fast speed full planks might help gain some confidence & overcome my anxieties.

'Tailgating' or rather maintaining your gap from the slow beginner drivers is not an unorthodox way of learning slow skills. I learned how to ride at slow speed during my L1 days this way too. Their speed limit is 10 km/h. Helps develop clutch & throttle feel also.

After lesson, 1 uncle wearing cream colored number tag said going off the plank is not IF. If go off plank, just continue the slow speed until finish. As long as foot doesnt touch ground its not IF. Is this true??

Well haha my booklet, i only left 1 stamp to complete the whole pg on ur practical lesson pg. Just move up lik how u move off normally can liao(5rpm?), i do notice alot l4 like to rev high, during inching forward and up plank.

Unorthodox, well dependin how u see it:D , too close too dangerous, and i will do it lik 1 bike length dist~.

Yeah JR is right u get IF straight, if u drop plank, happens alot during tp test, the uncle prob pulling ur leg, but if u drop leg or drag ur leg, u get IF too.(happen to a friend on the tp day, wtf rite! i know)