budget is very important to me. i am thinking since this is a 2b bike, i might want to get 1 bike mainly for transport first. cause i will wan to upgrade to 2a and get a super 4 maybe. if roadwin got 2nd hand at 3-4k i will surely get 1, but i dun think its possible considering the fact that it is still consider a new bike (very hard to find 2nd hand and somemore i think roadwin 2nd hand is much expensive). but i'm still considering.

anyone knows Bajaj Pulsar DTSi price? lazy to ask. where is universal motor btw? looks nice too but i really nv heard this bike b4. uncommon in singapore?

• Replies 8.9k

Originally posted by OkdOkie@Mar 28 2005, 10:45 PM

budget is very important to me. i am thinking since this is a 2b bike, i might want to get 1 bike mainly for transport first. cause i will wan to upgrade to 2a and get a super 4 maybe.

From the looks of it, i can safely say that you're still in poly or in NS, OkdOkie :confused:

Anyway, like i said since budget is your main priority, then scrap the looks in your hunt for a first bike. Whats the point of paying so much dough for a Varadero or a new Phantom or Roadwin since you already decided that you want to upgrade? Might as well save $13K for the Super 4 after getting your 2A. At least you know that you'll get a problem free investment.

I got the Roadwin as a long term investment of at least three years or more so i dun mind paying the amount. I don't want to upgrade because financially it doesn't really make sense to pay $13K for a super 4 only to sell it off at half the price a year or two later. Market value for Super 4s are very fluctuating, just ask around! At least, with the Roadwin, i can still sell it off without losing that much since 2B bikes are always in demand. Not only that, i'd save a bundle on maintanence fees alone!

So, in a nutshell, you aim for a super 4 in the long run right...so why bother thinking about your learning bike? Just get any cheap bike, use it for a year or so, sell it away at the same price or at a marginal loss and get that S4! :cheer:

btw, you can find the info on the Bajaj somewhere in the forum & if i remember correctly it cost about $5K OTR :goodluck:

Recite ! In the name of thy Lord and Cherisher, Who created-

Created man, out of a (mere) clot of congealed blood:

Recite ! And thy Lord is Most Bountiful,-

He Who taught (the use of) the pen,-

Taught man that which he knew not.

thanks lostjackal u are a great help... i am still considering. i like super4 alot but after hearing what u have said, i think it actually makes sense that getting a roadwin can actually save alot of $$ in long run.

roadwin speed is it acceptable? safe? stable anot?

Bajaj i research some other time, abit tired le.

oh ya, u r correct, i am in NS now. :smile:

I think stsoh's the best person you can ask about the Roadwins performance and such. After all, he got it when it first came out :smile:

He's also done pretty few mods to his bike to increase its performance.

If you have time you can also browse through the topic, i think you can find much answers here. Thats how i got my Roadwin in the first place

Cheers! :goodluck:

Originally posted by maddy84@Mar 28 2005, 12:26 AM

hi bro my hight is 186 i oso using roadwins now.....

it don look cartoon lah...

roadwins got a big body mah......

Hey maddy

Tot you trying to sell your Roadwin? :confused:

Originally posted by stsoh@Mar 29 2005, 11:53 AM

start going to JB n top up petrol, shell v-power cost rm 1.58 compare to sin 50% off.

me now very poor, petrol in sin rocket to sky high n still can gives 10% discount. :giddy:

Wah Soh, i've been doing that ever since i've gotten the bike.

Luckily, the stock carb settings can tahan me for at most two weeks before i go JB. I prefer Petronas though, cheap and better mileage :sweat:

Usually go there either during Sat noon (via second link) or Wed during my lunch break.

So instead of spending S$60-$80, i only spend S$30-40 only per month of fuel. :thumb:

You stay where? Near TP Caltex or the Shell? Can jio you go drink kopi if nearby mah

Went down to jb to pump gas in the evening just now, by the second link. So far, the traffic there is smooth at that time (bout six thirty) compared to the causeway - already jam packed. I guess it was still worth paying the extra two bucks on toll.

From Gelang Patah petrol station all the way to East side (Bedok - Tampines) will be about 44-48km in total distance travelled which is about 1.5l of petrol spent. So still got 420 km more of travelling before empty. Total cost - RM17 for petrol - plus RM12 for a hearty KFC dinner (2piece meal with extra large potato wedges and a large miranda) = RM39 == SGD 20.

That is equivelant to a normal full top up of Shell XO here :smile:

Originally posted by OkdOkie@Mar 28 2005, 10:45 PM

anyone knows Bajaj Pulsar DTSi price? lazy to ask. where is universal motor btw? looks nice too but i really nv heard this bike b4. uncommon in singapore?

Indian made bikes are still uncommon in Singapore even though they have been selling the Bajaj scooters since 1999 if i recalled correctly. Maybe not enough marketing by the local distributor?

However my friends in India are all swearing by it...say its a good long distance bike. Maybe if you're lucky you can find someone in sgbikes forum that has / had ridden one b4

I've just serviced my bike and installed the front exhaust mod. Basically the mechs @ cka replaces the whole exhaust system with a another one. Compared the two (stock & modded), found that the modded pipe has a constant diameter compared to the stock one, where the entrance is about 30% smaller in diameter compared to the whole pipe. This allows more exhaust gasses to escape

When starting the engine and bleeping the throttle, much much better throttle response was observed. Went out for a test run, bike can reach high rpms fast without any noticable flatspot. Haven't tried the top speed yet, too tired to enter the expressway today. Maybe tomorrow or sumthing..However due to my 15:42 sproket setting, pick up was realtively slower when compared to mid & high end. My carb jettings were also still set to stock settings, mind you....

Overall, i'd say it was a worthwile and investment. Changed my spark plugs to platinum ones @ $18.

Can do...might take it from u tonight maybe

sure no prob

I've tested the bike on the highway on the way to work today. Frankly, i'm VERY satisfied with the $250 spent on the front pipe mod. The muffler sounds differently, although you won't get the sound of a thumping 400cc exhaust, it still sounded better than during the stock setup.

Bike can easily maintain 7500 - 8000 rpm range on highway upslope (aljunied/kallang flyover) without any dramatic speed decrease (increased hp?). Speed wise, a slight drop is noticable, maybe about 2-3 km/h than usual. Nevertheless, it's throttle response was quick and has better pick up so no major complaints. I'll probably change my rear sprokets from 42t > 40t to up the top end speed.

Carb settings are still in stock settings so there's still room for improvement if the rear sproket change greatly affects the current pick up by enriching the carb settings. (at the expense of greater fuel consumption :cry: )

All in all, i'd recommend this upgrade to all. Value for money compared to changing to a Moriwaki muffler.

Originally posted by stsoh@Apr 9 2005, 12:05 PM

it been awhile no update, i have installed a new wave piug windshield.

sorry guys no digital camera, no pictures for now.

hey soh, maybe i can take a pic of the bike for you.

Planning to set up a local roadwin webpage, what say you :confused:

Originally posted by maddy84@Apr 11 2005, 08:16 PM

hi bro can help me to ask your friend who wan to buy roadwin.......

i going Ns next months wan to sell fast........

thank..

Hey maddy,

Maybe you can pm Okiedokie and ask if he's interested? Alternatively, you can try Yahoo! classifieds