• Replies 8.1k

bro, i was surfing ebay for some trick parts for my own bike, when i saw these:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Honda-CBR900-CBR900RR-919-fireblade-Fairing-Set-98-99_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQcategoryZ35560QQihZ002QQitemZ120235056086QQrdZ1QQsspagenameZWDVW

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Honda-CBR900-CBR900RR-919-fireblade-Fairing-Set-98-99_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQcategoryZ35560QQihZ002QQitemZ120233329585QQrdZ1QQsspagenameZWDVW

rrx/w fairings! the repsol paintwork seems cheaper and more original than the black/grey, haha...bidding ends 24th march i think.

bro, i went to a penang bikeshop last weekend... they had the exact repsol fairings for sale like the above. got to see it up close, its made of plastic.. but some parts of the fairing definitely will need drilling to fit. the quality i'd say is 6/10 cos the plastic will definitely deform if bike is parked under the sun. but the paintjob looks nice la.. i'd say for USD340 then its worth trying out... but the shop in penang was selling it for RM3800 which is way too high.

Yesterday was history, tomorrow is mystery, today is a blessing. I love today.

1998: honda hurricane

1999: Rxz, TXR150 gamma

2000: L2s turbo

2001: ZXR250

2002: RS125

2003: CBR900

http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g43/FireBLade9282/SBFpic.jpg

Hi guys, I just bought this lovely CBR919 and it's not been used from the previous owner for 6 mths plus. As i am not familiar with this babe, i just need to know your opinions on what are the best tyres for the front and rear and what are the major servicing required to be done for this babe to get into action. :)

hello.... nice to know u got a nice 919.. as far as i'm concerned with tyres, there are only 2 choices of tyres if u are still using a 16" front rim. 1 is from bridgestone, another is metzeler sportec M1 (not much stock left as metzeler already phased out the series)

for bridgestone u can go for BT021, or BT014. (BT015 i also dont think they have size for 16" rim)

if the bike have not been warmed up for 6 mths, u need to check:

1. battery

2. rectifier and coil (see whether its charging properly)

3. spark plugs

4. check, service & balance the carbs

5. air filter check/replace, wash + lube if using K&N air filter.

6. radiator, see how dirty is the inside. flush + replace coolant.

7. water pump, thermostat, temperature switch; replace if faulty

8. fork + rear suspension; check whether any leaks

if you have a bigger budget, u can do a top overhaul which includes changing the valve seals, intake valves replaced if they are worn, valve clearance, replace timing chain + chain guides (if mileage is more than 80k kms), clean up the intake and exhaust ports...

once done its good for around 112hp-117hp on the dyno. very satisfying even though its considered an old bike. :)

Dude..thanks for your opinions, i really appreciated that :thumb:

1) But i am just confused about the tyres, can i use BT021 for both the front and back tyres or must i use BT021 for the front tyre and BT014 for the back tyre? How about Michelin tyres, r they good?

2) I also checked my forks and i realised that my right fork is leaking, so i asked my friends and they told me to change the right fork seal but do i have to change only the one which is leaking or both, the left and right fork seals?

3) If i change my battery, do i have to change my rectifier too?

4) How do i check the thermostat and temperature switch?

5) How does the bikeshop service the Carbs? is it important to wash the Carbs?

6) Which is the best spark plugs' brand can i go for?

7) How to check the rear suspension whether is it leaking or not?

Dude..thanks for your opinions, i really appreciated that :thumb:

1) But i am just confused about the tyres, can i use BT021 for both the front and back tyres or must i use BT021 for the front tyre and BT014 for the back tyre? How about Michelin tyres, r they good?

2) I also checked my forks and i realised that my right fork is leaking, so i asked my friends and they told me to change the right fork seal but do i have to change only the one which is leaking or both, the left and right fork seals?

3) If i change my battery, do i have to change my rectifier too?

4) How do i check the thermostat and temperature switch?

5) How does the bikeshop service the Carbs? is it important to wash the Carbs?

6) Which is the best spark plugs' brand can i go for?

7) How to check the rear suspension whether is it leaking or not?

ok i'll try answer ur questions, :)

1. its advisable to use both same tyres for front and rear cos different compounds mean different way the tyre heats up...

2. change both seals left and right. when the mechanic pours out the fork oil, look at the color and residue of it... i'm sure u dont want that kinda oil in both forks. besides if u change only 1 side, u will never know how much oil in the other fork. *u need both forks to have same amount of oil in it.

3. nope. rectifier only needs to be changed when charging of the bike is below 12.5v. (it cant charge higher even when revved, means gotta change)

4. if bike overheats, or the fan starts to blow when its too late... means there is something wrong with the cooling system. might be radiator blocked, or either thermostat/temp switch not working properly

5. servicing/balancing of carbs is important. quite long to explain, but if u have the time, watch the mechanic when he services and balances the carbs with a vacuum gauge. u'll get a very very clear picture from it ;)

6. plugs; a good buy will be iridium plugs. part number is NGK CR9EHIX, i've been using mine for almost 3 years and it still going really really strong. its cheaper in the long run to use these plugs

7. check whether any hidraulic oil on the body of the suspension, or see whether the damping is correct. if suspension bottoms out when u go over a bump or carrying pillion, or feel floating during a corner... means it kaput liau.

hope this helps... btw u have any pic of the bike ? would be nice if u can post it here... hehe :cheeky:

Dude, thanks again for your help :) So far i haven't take any pictures of my babe yet cos i just bought it 3 days ago. Once i washed it thoroughly and polish it, i will post my babe's photos here. I understand that you are living in malaysia, when will u be coming over to s'pore?:bounce:

bro, i went to a penang bikeshop last weekend... they had the exact repsol fairings for sale like the above. got to see it up close, its made of plastic.. but some parts of the fairing definitely will need drilling to fit. the quality i'd say is 6/10 cos the plastic will definitely deform if bike is parked under the sun. but the paintjob looks nice la.. i'd say for USD340 then its worth trying out... but the shop in penang was selling it for RM3800 which is way too high.

eeyer...like that park in the sun sure droop on floor, hahaha...

damn i thought i found a good deal, shucks.

then again sebimoto's full CF kit for cbr900 is around us$1400...

looks like something i can start saving up for, hehe.

Dude, thanks again for your help :) So far i haven't take any pictures of my babe yet cos i just bought it 3 days ago. Once i washed it thoroughly and polish it, i will post my babe's photos here. I understand that you are living in malaysia, when will u be coming over to s'pore?:bounce:

no prob buddy... i can give u advice on areas which i have done with the bike... erm basically i've done almost everything to mine i guess... ahah...

sure man look forward to see how ur bike looks like.. yup i'm stayin in msia, i'll definitely make a trip to sg during christmas, but whenever i have extra holiday slots, i try to go over too.. meetup with some friends and get accs/parts as well.. ahah :cheeky:

eeyer...like that park in the sun sure droop on floor, hahaha...

damn i thought i found a good deal, shucks.

then again sebimoto's full CF kit for cbr900 is around us$1400...

looks like something i can start saving up for, hehe.

yeah it was a little dissapointing, i actually got news from a friend there who said there was a set of repsol fairings for sale, which is why i went to see for myself. i believe after some time the paint will surely fade alot as the plastic looks quite similar to my plastic waste basket.. ahah

btw, did i tell u before, there is a place in malacca which does full carbon fibre fairings for like RM2800 ? (about sgd 1.3k+) its high quality carbon fibre which the guy purchases from an aircraft composites factory nearby there and moulds it according to what the customer wants.

here's a photo of my buddy's vtr SP-1 which was done up with full carbon fairings from the same moulder. (cant really see the carbon fibre from a distance)

http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g43/FireBLade9282/KIF_1645.jpg

hmm dont know how nice its gonna look with our bikes donning carbon fairings... :p

btw Sanjay_24, here's a pic of my bike.... :)

http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g43/FireBLade9282/Image040.jpg

hmm i think here's a clearer view of it:

http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g43/FireBLade9282/f14c6518.jpg

http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g43/FireBLade9282/40280c59.jpg

yeah it was a little dissapointing, i actually got news from a friend there who said there was a set of repsol fairings for sale, which is why i went to see for myself. i believe after some time the paint will surely fade alot as the plastic looks quite similar to my plastic waste basket.. ahah

btw, did i tell u before, there is a place in malacca which does full carbon fibre fairings for like RM2800 ? (about sgd 1.3k+) its high quality carbon fibre which the guy purchases from an aircraft composites factory nearby there and moulds it according to what the customer wants.

here's a photo of my buddy's vtr SP-1 which was done up with full carbon fairings from the same moulder. (cant really see the carbon fibre from a distance)

http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g43/FireBLade9282/KIF_1645.jpg

hmm dont know how nice its gonna look with our bikes donning carbon fairings... :p

btw Sanjay_24, here's a pic of my bike.... :)

http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g43/FireBLade9282/Image040.jpg

luckily i didn't order the fairings over ebay, sheesh...thanks for the info!

the CF deal in the pics look damn good lah, so much cheaper than sebimoto! but yeah, i wonder how the CF will look on the cbr9...without the bulletholes and vents. still, i think cf fairings is still a pretty cool thing to have, sure can save some weight, though the price is :S

i think i'll continue with my plans to upgrade my brake system and exhaust before i start thinking of the fairings. my stock headers are pretty corroded...maybe a hole will appear one day. heh.

the CF deal in the pics look damn good lah, so much cheaper than sebimoto! but yeah, i wonder how the CF will look on the cbr9...without the bulletholes and vents. still, i think cf fairings is still a pretty cool thing to have, sure can save some weight, though the price is :S

i think i'll continue with my plans to upgrade my brake system and exhaust before i start thinking of the fairings. my stock headers are pretty corroded...maybe a hole will appear one day. heh.

the carbon fairings that are fabricated will be 100% like stock part, eg it will come with the holes as well :cheeky:

yeah i think best upgrade will be an aftermarket full system, dat shave more weight than the carbon fairings. brakes r quite a cheap upgrade, just need to change the master cylinder to a 04 R1, 05 R6, 05 CBR6 or CBR1k unit will be better than the stock cbr9. the yamahas above are using 16mm brembos.

(cbr9 stock cylinder size is 14mm, the above units are 16mm radial) or u can change to the gixxer k7 1000 (17mm radial)

bigger budget can go for the 18x19 or 19x20 brembo race pumps. downside is those stuff are more prone to leak as they running on an "umbrella valve" inside it and the inner body is made of plastic to save weight. but the braking power is "woo-hoo" feels like 100% improvement over stock stuff coupled with the EBC pads....

i'm using a 16mm brembo on my cbr9, feels slighty more powerful (maybe +15% compared to stock). on the 954 i'm using a brembo 19x18, kinda overkill on the road but gives me real confidence whenever i need to apply it..

you can change stainless steel brake hose at planet, about $210 for front and rear. add a good brake pad, your braking a a lot better than stock. if you hardcore like grasscutter, then you change bigger brake pump, but the pump might not fit nicely on your handle.

i still got my stainless steel original full system at home, if you want i can sell you cheap cheap.

you can send it to workshop to cut away the honey comb portion, then you got a free flow header.

http://www.speedtest.net/result/226806566.png

Biking, Bonking & Boozing...

The three great pleasures of life.

the carbon fairings that are fabricated will be 100% like stock part, eg it will come with the holes as well :cheeky:

yeah i think best upgrade will be an aftermarket full system, dat shave more weight than the carbon fairings. brakes r quite a cheap upgrade, just need to change the master cylinder to a 04 R1, 05 R6, 05 CBR6 or CBR1k unit will be better than the stock cbr9. the yamahas above are using 16mm brembos.

(cbr9 stock cylinder size is 14mm, the above units are 16mm radial) or u can change to the gixxer k7 1000 (17mm radial)

bigger budget can go for the 18x19 or 19x20 brembo race pumps. downside is those stuff are more prone to leak as they running on an "umbrella valve" inside it and the inner body is made of plastic to save weight. but the braking power is "woo-hoo" feels like 100% improvement over stock stuff coupled with the EBC pads....

i'm using a 16mm brembo on my cbr9, feels slighty more powerful (maybe +15% compared to stock). on the 954 i'm using a brembo 19x18, kinda overkill on the road but gives me real confidence whenever i need to apply it..

yeah CF fairings seem to be the least value for money upgrade...the 19x18brembo sounds pretty tempting though...i'll start saving up for something like that or keep a lookout for a 2nd hand R1's radial pump :)

in your opinion, how would a aftermarket caliper measure up? will it give more improvements like the brake pump, or less?

you can change stainless steel brake hose at planet, about $210 for front and rear. add a good brake pad, your braking a a lot better than stock. if you hardcore like grasscutter, then you change bigger brake pump, but the pump might not fit nicely on your handle.

i still got my stainless steel original full system at home, if you want i can sell you cheap cheap.

you can send it to workshop to cut away the honey comb portion, then you got a free flow header.

yeah i'm using earl's competition steel braided n ebc pads already...but thanks for the suggestion bro!

the ss full system is the original honda one, with the endcan? i wanna upgrade my exhaust to an aftermarket full-system, but i think my stock one cannot tahan until i save enough $$$ to upgrade...it has funky pimple scars on the headers now due to corrosion, heh heh...

yeah CF fairings seem to be the least value for money upgrade...the 19x18brembo sounds pretty tempting though...i'll start saving up for something like that or keep a lookout for a 2nd hand R1's radial pump :)

in your opinion, how would a aftermarket caliper measure up? will it give more improvements like the brake pump, or less?

the 19x18 or 19x20 brembo pump is really strong... the 16mm stuff u can feel some difference, but nothing close to the 19x18 or 19x20 units.

aftermarket calliper i'd say its just not worth it... even if changed, u'll have hard time buying the brake pads in future. my cbr9 is using 954 callipers, 954 330mm braking wave discs and EBC pads. the callipers IMO dont make any improvements, its the master cylinder and the bigger diameter discs (cbr9 stock disc diameter is 295mm) that makes the difference.

my 954 on the other hand, is running on a CBR1000 05 front end setup... the discs are smaller than the stock setup (310mm instead of 330mm stock) but using a 19x18 brembo master cylinder and radial callipers from the cbr1000.

braking power is huge with the 19x18 m/c.

seriously, i wonder how brakes can have any more room for improvement after fixing a 19x18 or 19x20.. its really more than anyone can ask for using it on the road (track as well); less out some factors such as lighter rotors and rims.

btw there is a forumer selling his brembo pump (19x20) in the garage sales section for $450... new is like $530 if i not mistaken, might be worth a try :cheeky:

ehhh bro... how u been... seem like so long u MIA liau... just like CBR379 also went MIA for ages. both of u hook little finger n MIA together isit ? hehe :p

btw me no more hardcore leh, my bike park in house for like 1+ month never ride.. just warm up engine nia. having lesser n lesser time to ride liau... sighs.. :faint:

the 19x18 or 19x20 brembo pump is really strong... the 16mm stuff u can feel some difference, but nothing close to the 19x18 or 19x20 units.

aftermarket calliper i'd say its just not worth it... even if changed, u'll have hard time buying the brake pads in future. my cbr9 is using 954 callipers, 954 330mm braking wave discs and EBC pads. the callipers IMO dont make any improvements, its the master cylinder and the bigger diameter discs (cbr9 stock disc diameter is 295mm) that makes the difference.

my 954 on the other hand, is running on a CBR1000 05 front end setup... the discs are smaller than the stock setup (310mm instead of 330mm stock) but using a 19x18 brembo master cylinder and radial callipers from the cbr1000.

braking power is huge with the 19x18 m/c.

seriously, i wonder how brakes can have any more room for improvement after fixing a 19x18 or 19x20.. its really more than anyone can ask for using it on the road (track as well); less out some factors such as lighter rotors and rims.

btw there is a forumer selling his brembo pump (19x20) in the garage sales section for $450... new is like $530 if i not mistaken, might be worth a try :cheeky:

wow! ok thanks so much! :D

ehhh bro... how u been... seem like so long u MIA liau... just like CBR379 also went MIA for ages. both of u hook little finger n MIA together isit ? hehe :p

btw me no more hardcore leh, my bike park in house for like 1+ month never ride.. just warm up engine nia. having lesser n lesser time to ride liau... sighs.. :faint:

haha, not MIA lah, just too busy with work.

Now in Perth, 2 days ago in Sydney, will be back to Sin next week.

It is quite cold here, i kind of miss singapore's hot weather man.

not much bikes seen in sydney, but a lot of bikers in Perth, lots of CBR1000, R1, HD. but not many suzuki & kawasaki.

and there're a lots of 300bhp V8 pickup here, lowered body, oversize rim. but not many sports car, funny culture here...

how come not riding these days? no riding kaki in kedah ar?

haha, not MIA lah, just too busy with work.

Now in Perth, 2 days ago in Sydney, will be back to Sin next week.

It is quite cold here, i kind of miss singapore's hot weather man.

not much bikes seen in sydney, but a lot of bikers in Perth, lots of CBR1000, R1, HD. but not many suzuki & kawasaki.

and there're a lots of 300bhp V8 pickup here, lowered body, oversize rim. but not many sports car, funny culture here...

how come not riding these days? no riding kaki in kedah ar?

wah.. ehh ur job not bad mah... few mths ago in china... now in aussie...

can try oriental.. now u have the chance to try blondes :angel: :angel:

btw my ex-housemate is working in melbourne.. he told me bikes there are more expensive... a CBR9 RRV like ur ex-bike, costs like AUD6-7k at least...

hmm can say no riding kakis here... even if have, all just like to ride around town n show off their bikes... not my cuppa tea lor hehe...

erm... do u still remember jimmy or not ? the guy riding the old skool CBR9 but with race spec n big balls... he got into a very bad accident last month during weekend corner rides.. was at a straight road, he open throttle.. suddenly a honda wave swerved into his lane n jimmy just slammed into the backside... ended up with 4 broken ribs (lucky he wearing full race suit) and his cbr9 badly damaged. the kupkia was broken into 2.. the rear suspension also fly out.. i kinda freak out at the police station when i saw the both bikes condition... :faint:

yes, i remember him. the restaurant owner who ride a open pod fireblade.

hope he is recovering soon.

sorry to disturb, I have a clear ventura CBR 919 headlight protector selling at S$15.00, scratchless. PM if interested. Thanks.

ooh...which model year?

i was thinking maybe we can all post pics of our blades here ... another way to ups our thread :p