How much do you earn a month when you gotta support a car?  

648 members have voted

1. 1. How much do you earn a month when you gotta support a car?

Originally posted by archenemy@February 01, 2007 11:25 pm

be contented bro...

some people dont even have a job...let alone a bonus...

• Replies 870

be contented bro...

yar lor.. look at foreign workers in singapore.. come so far to work.. only earning peanuts..

i love dividends.

Originally posted by xb84@February 11, 2007 04:13 pm

yar lor.. look at foreign workers in singapore.. come so far to work.. only earning peanuts..

From another perspective, I had a vendor who had a pretty capable bangla working for him as an assistant foreman (he speaks pretty good english). One day I did not see him anymore, so I asked my vendor what happened to him.

His reply was that (after working in Spore for 8 years) the Bangla has gone back to his home country for good as he has enough savings put away to buy a plot of land and declare himself SEMI-RETIRED. That chap looked in his early 30s at best.

EIGHT years of toil and sweat, but the rewards are sure sweet, isn't it...

No doubt that foreign labourers have a tough life here, but its a transition for them to a much much better life later on....

be contented bro...

:pity: well said man......this sentence really gave me some thought...... although my pay is getting lower & lower every year, but as least i still got a job & a small bonus. Where else other people job scope might be even more jialiat & lower pay then me :pity:

I guess i cant be contented yet.

between 30 - 40 yrs old is the prime period.

The only way is up for now.

sorry dude, info only if i know you personally

haiz, i was so close to committing to a car ytd. but after thinking over 1 night, really couldn't bring myself to commit :cry: coz i realise i will be living hand-to-mouth should i commit. very uncomfortable. but now the car prices so attractive.

Good for you.

Dont be fooled....especially by this thread.

If you have a family then, unless you earn min $5000 a month, a car should be the last thing on your mind.

Why own a set of wheels which restricts your freedom when it is suppose to give you freedom?

i already got an old car to start with, so not that bad. Just that financially i'm still not prepared for addition of the installment into the monthly expenses. Oh well, i will just be contented with my old car :smile: for the time being haha

Originally posted by Throttle@February 16, 2007 11:58 am

Good for you.

Dont be fooled....especially by this thread.

If you have a family then, unless you earn min $5000 a month, a car should be the last thing on your mind.

Why own a set of wheels which restricts your freedom when it is suppose to give you freedom?

i think u type the last sentence until u can close ur eyes and do it liao. haha

but that's a gd piece of advise which my parents always tell me also.

24th Feb'06 - 28th Jun'06 NSR 150SP FR 8*9*Y

29th Jun'06 -Dec'06 Crutches n Taxi

Jan'06 - present day Public Transport

25th May'07 Daihatsu Extol

bike sold on my bdae!!

haah you are right ermintham, becos I really mean what I say.

Otherwise, I would have bought a brand New Porsche C2 tiptronic myself already.

Originally posted by Throttle@February 16, 2007 03:23 pm

haah you are right ermintham, becos I really mean what I say.

Otherwise, I would have bought a brand New Porsche C2 tiptronic myself already.

24th Feb'06 - 28th Jun'06 NSR 150SP FR 8*9*Y

29th Jun'06 -Dec'06 Crutches n Taxi

Jan'06 - present day Public Transport

25th May'07 Daihatsu Extol

bike sold on my bdae!!

We should start a new poll.....

How much of your car is paid up?

10%

20%

40%

80%

100%

Then you will know how many people really "own" cars or do the cars own them.......

or maybe

What percentage is your car monthly instalment to that of your monthly salary?

and/or

How many years is your car loan ?

if everyone is like you, our cramp traffic problems will be solved becos there will only be 15% of the current car population on the roads.

Originally posted by Throttle@February 16, 2007 09:34 am

sorry dude, info only if i know you personally

ar... no worries... Was just wondering. Am a banker myself too.

*off topic*

Didnt say I was one, dude.

You are a banker?

Sorry, but too many people call themselves bankers already, i'm sceptical. I guess my definition of "Banker" is quite high up there.

Originally posted by Throttle@February 17, 2007 07:48 pm

if everyone is like you, our cramp traffic problems will be solved becos there will only be 15% of the current car population on the roads.

thanks for the compliment.

if everyone buys ancient car like me the pollution headache hahaha my car exhaust damm smelly...worse than garbage truck.

poot.

you said it in the previous post dude. in this thread actually. I agree, a banker could be anyone in a bank. My definition of a banker is not too low down either.. haha...

anyway, back to the topic. I think a comfortable salary would be about 3.5K to own a car?

Originally posted by R.C@February 18, 2007 01:34 am

you said it in the previous post dude. in this thread actually. I agree, a banker could be anyone in a bank. My definition of a banker is not too low down either.. haha...

anyway, back to the topic. I think a comfortable salary would be about 3.5K to own a car?

more like $4.5K.....because it roughly costs $1.2K or $1.3K to maintain an "ordinary" car.....so if income is roughly $4.5K, will only spend 25% on transport.

for me, 25% is already upper limit.

poot.

Originally posted by Throttle@February 17, 2007 04:51 pm

What percentage is your car monthly instalment to that of your monthly salary?

and/or

How many years is your car loan ?

Using monthly income as a basis would be too simplistic which I believe this is one of the reasons for the present car roaring sales. All things equal, a guy earning $10,000/month owning a BMW X5 and living in a prime district condo, could be "poorer" than a guy earning $2500/month, driving a Picanto, and living in a 3-room HDB.

Taking a loan may not be a bad idea especially when the interest rates are low because it's good to remain liquid. There are too many singaporeans who are asset rich but cash poor.

If a car is not a tool of business, perhaps we could use Disposal Income as a basis for comparison. Disposal Income can be loosely defined as Gross Income less all financial commitments and compulsory expenses. In short, this amount if not used to support the ownership and maintenance of a car, can be put aside as savings.

Being a Singaporean, there is so much status attached to a car that it's intrinsic value is worth many times over the actual cost of the car itself. And Singaporeans are also one optimistic lot because at the back of their mind that they are always one bet away from landing the grand prize. What others call them is not important but gamblers call it fighting spirit

Bankers are the most risk averse creatures so as long as the bank is willing to give you a loan it means that to them it's within your affordability. Banks are consistently the most profitable companies, so their judgements have to be consistently right.

It's our first day in the year of the boar, I like wish everyone here a prosper year ahead and hope you get your dream car or bike wish granted, remain healthy and be safe on the road. Make it a point to return something back to society. Cheers.

Originally posted by R.C@February 18, 2007 01:34 am

No I didnt say i was a "banker" (whether or not i am in real life). I just said I make millions for the bank, you made the rest of the assumptions yourself leh.

And no, I do not agree that a banker is anyone that works in a bank.

I'm saying that there are too many people calling themselves Bankers so the true meaning of the word is gone, sadly.

(i.e someone who doesnt even smell a good five figure per month is definitely no Banker in my eyes) but that's another topic.

coming back......

$3.5k and above per month is barely there to own a car, considering other things in life to own. I lean towards Skunky's theory but I'm even more kiasu, my monthly instalment is much less then 10% of my monthly salary. (and, i got no more monthly instalments in 3 months time, hahah)

Originally posted by Demon@February 18, 2007 09:14 am

Bankers are the most risk averse creatures so as long as the bank is willing to give you a loan it means that to them it's within your affordability. Banks are consistently the most profitable companies, so their judgements have to be consistently right.

Sometimes it's not a bank giving you the loan , it's a finance company.

and willingness to give a loan is not be equal to affordability.