Honda RVF400/NC35

Guest Anonymous
http://www.dropbears.com/m/models/honda/images/rvf400.gif

Engine:

Configuration: 90º V4 Gear driven DOHC 16 Valve

Bore & Stroke: 55.0 x 42.0mm

Capacity: 399cc

Compression Ratio: 11.3

Maximum Power: 53PS @ 12,500rpm

Maximum Torque: 3.7kg-m @ 10,000rpm

Gearbox: 6 Speed

Dimensions:

Weigh: 165kg

Wheelbase: 1,335mm

Lenght: 1,985mm

Wheels:

Tyres:

120/60R17 Front

150/60R17 Rear

(160/60R17 Alternate)

Fuel Capacity: 15 litres

• Replies 6.7k

Hello Pursuit,

Gear driven valves means that the valve timing is transmitted by gear instead of chain. That's one of the reasons why RVF so expensive.

I have opened up the thing once. The camshaft gear actually has two layers. They can be slightly offset by a spring, that way the correct timing can always be maintained should there be wear in gear. Cool man.

Guest HighwayAngel

wah how come suddenly so many posts on bike specs? :confused:

Guest HighwayAngel
Coz this is the "Bike Specs and Reviews" webpage. :lol:

ok ok.......duhz........... :sian:

Hi fellow riders & RVFdians,

It would be much appreciated if anyone wanna share some form of valuable info, views, pics, pro & cons about the bike..... ;)

Cheers..... :cheer:

http://www.motorcyclelane.com/pictures/sean2.jpg

http://www.r1-forum.com/forums/avatar.php?userid=21127&dateline=1077474760.gifhttp://www.vespa.com/img/logoVespaBig.gif

Orginal paint work, with Single seat......

http://www.motorcyclelane.com/pictures/willrvf.jpg

http://www.r1-forum.com/forums/avatar.php?userid=21127&dateline=1077474760.gifhttp://www.vespa.com/img/logoVespaBig.gif

The green n white, Castrol design.....

http://www.motorcyclelane.com/pictures/rvf400castrol.jpg

Hi fellow riders & RVFdians,

It would be much appreciated if anyone wanna share some form of valuable info, views, pics, pro & cons about the bike..... ;)

Cheers..... :cheer:

http://www.motorcyclelane.com/pictures/sean2.jpg

wat painkwork is tat??

very nice

wonder how much to do such a paint job

ROssi special?

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6406.jpg http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6402.jpg

*~it's not WHAT u ride, it's HOW u ride~*

VTR Paintwork

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6406.jpg http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6402.jpg

*~it's not WHAT u ride, it's HOW u ride~*

wat painkwork is tat??

very nice

wonder how much to do such a paint job

ROssi special?

yup... limited edition design.

btw I ever saw one at LAB. nice paint work, but too bad too much stickers on it. Somemore got damper. Overall not bad.....

Guest Karen03sg

wow wat a nice paintwork design ?? It is love at 1st sight liao :lovestruck:

the flower is sticker or spray ??

Sticker can be bought from autie shop and easlity burn pocket and tired too. As what fc222b mention before leave it to Ah Kun he'll do a nice final upz. sticker job first then lacquer..

Guest jeffreylim

Hi DLM,

It's me Jeffrey. Wonder if u still remember me :confused: . I am riding a FT plate RVF who met u up at Kallang KFC tat time for the manual. Btw, got something need your advice. Recently when i am riding my bike, i noticed that the idling sound from my bike sounded very strange. Seems like there is some kind of strange sound coming out from the engine :? . But i got no idea whether is it normal or not. Therefore, i am thinking of sending my bike to do a full servicing. Do u think it will help :confused: ? Or can u advice me on this problem? Btw, where do u normally service your bike? Any recommendations?

Meanwhile pls take good care n regards.

Cheers...to all RVFdians and fellow riders!!! :cheer:

I am new to this forum n i am very intersted in riding a RVF soon when i get my 2A, like to find out what's the market price now for a FS or FT?

How much does a regular servicing cost and how often to change what?

Heard that there would always be a rectifier problem with RVF, is it true?

Thanx

The secret of happiness is to make others believe they are the cause of it.

Hi Martini,

Why buy a RVF??? I would suggest you to buy a cheaper class 2A bike if you are intending to upgrade. Maybe ZXR400 or GSXR400. Best is keep your existing bike.

I'm also riding a FQ RVF. After paying for one and half years of instalment, I still owe my finance company about 6.5K plus. I should had paid about 7K for my bike till date.

If I sell my wife now at around 9.5K, I will lose about 4K. So I cannot help but to keep her. Haiz......

The regular servicing made me eat grass regularly. Depending on what, when and where you service, the price and distance below is just an estimate...

( i ) S$48 for an original air filter ( Every 10,000km )

( ii ) S$16x4 for an original spark plug ( Every 10,000km )

( iii ) S$16x2.5 for a bottle of Castrol Superbike ( Every 5,000km )

( iv ) S$80 for carb servicing ( Every 10,000km )

( v ) S$12 for an original oil filter ( Every 5,000km )

Let's touch about fuel consumption. A full tank of petrol which cost about S$17- S$18 lasts only about 250KM.

There is a rectifier problem with RVF. I changed 3 sets of recifiers and batteries in one and half years of ownership. For my case, I tried installing the CPU fan on my rectifier on two occasions, but it didn't help.

Hope this is of any help to you. Have a nice day!

Sorry Bruise 1 more question!

So at every 5000km i would be required to do Step (iii) and (v) right? And at every 10000km i would be required to do Step (i) - (v) is that right?

So at every 10,000 km the whole servicing would come up to be $252???? :giddy: That is a very scary amount for a servicing charge!

The secret of happiness is to make others believe they are the cause of it.

Hi Martini,

Why buy a RVF??? I would suggest you to buy a cheaper class 2A bike if you are intending to upgrade. Maybe ZXR400 or GSXR400. Best is keep your existing bike.

I'm also riding a FQ RVF. After paying for one and half years of instalment, I still owe my finance company about 6.5K plus. I should had paid about 7K for my bike till date.

If I sell my wife now at around 9.5K, I will lose about 4K. So I cannot help but to keep her. Haiz......

The regular servicing made me eat grass regularly. Depending on what, when and where you service, the price and distance below is just an estimate...

( i ) S$48 for an original air filter ( Every 10,000km )

( ii ) S$16x4 for an original spark plug ( Every 10,000km )

( iii ) S$16x2.5 for a bottle of Castrol Superbike ( Every 5,000km )

( iv ) S$80 for carb servicing ( Every 10,000km )

( v ) S$12 for an original oil filter ( Every 5,000km )

Let's touch about fuel consumption. A full tank of petrol which cost about S$17- S$18 lasts only about 250KM.

There is a rectifier problem with RVF. I changed 3 sets of recifiers and batteries in one and half years of ownership. For my case, I tried installing the CPU fan on my rectifier on two occasions, but it didn't help.

Hope this is of any help to you. Have a nice day!

I have not changed any of my rectifiers except for the batt after riding for one year. No problem so far. The price for RVF have dropped recently because of the insurance thingy about RVf anyway it is not just RVF, there are also other Honda bikes like SpecsII which NTUC insurance dun accept now.

However comparing RVF to CBR, still prefer RVF handling. On the road, RVF and CBR side by side which would you see. Just my views!

I have not changed any of my rectifiers except for the batt after riding for one year. No problem so far. The price for RVF have dropped recently because of the insurance thingy about RVf anyway it is not just RVF, there are also other Honda bikes like SpecsII which NTUC insurance dun accept now.

However comparing RVF to CBR, still prefer RVF handling. On the road, RVF and CBR side by side which would you see. Just my views!

See both, else how would u noe there's two bikes around? :D