Honda RVF400/NC35

Originally posted by Ni+3KiDz@Jan 20 2004, 11:45 PM

YES there rvf 750 if u wan to c go boon siew there one there:smile: :smile: :smile:

but it not 4 sale in s'pore:weep: :weep: :weep:

not for sale .. but any pic of it on the web .. wanna take a look!

• Replies 6.7k

Originally posted by vroomvroom@Jan 21 2004, 04:49 PM

have another qn to ask ...

at what speed does your rvf starts to tremble at the handle bar .. mine seems to tremble at ard 130 .. then on some day, it will have slight tremble even at 100

mine still steady at 130km/h...

u mean vibration is it?? trembling sound terrible!

steering cone? i jus noe heavy balancers can help to reduce vibration..

so in ur case is vibration or trembling?

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6406.jpg http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6402.jpg

*~it's not WHAT u ride, it's HOW u ride~*

Originally posted by cheh_san@Jan 21 2004, 12:18 PM

hehehe..ya man..cool down liao. oso dunno y so fiery last nite...maybe late nite liao, body is heaty:bouncefire: but u all beh tulanz meh? discussion always break up by the same old questions discussed b4 over n over n over .......

hmm....mayb we shall have our own section in sportsbikes section to discuss the finer things abt RVF and leave this thread for repetive questions like pricing, servicing and such. how to go abt it ah?

:btw: Xing Nian kuai Le guys!! :cheer:

CNY eve so angry... cool man..

e suggestion not bad.. think have to ask Andy abt it

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6406.jpg http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6402.jpg

Originally posted by mika14@Jan 21 2004, 01:03 AM

hiz!

eh how u know i frequent First Motor?

the mechanic ah seng there is quite capable leh, except for my battery thingy.

i scared clifford won't be able to solve my prob...

wah lau eh

u dun try how u noe..

if u trust first motor so much, y they still unable to solve ur problem??

mayb its not their fault... its ur bike...

:nono: :bouncefire:

its time for a change..

ACCEPT CHANGES !!

Originally posted by vroomvroom@Jan 21 2004, 04:49 PM

have another qn to ask ...

at what speed does your rvf starts to tremble at the handle bar .. mine seems to tremble at ard 130 .. then on some day, it will have slight tremble even at 100

ermmm....this is subjective. some ppl are sensitive to any small small 'vibrations' (like me!!) some ppl just bor kan lan.

its either attibuted to our ultra sensitive hands or paranoid attitude or is coz well...our motor is old liao. Old motors frankly speakin...all tends to vibrate a little. like Ken said..unless yours is 1st hand if not....just accept it.

tire pressures, suspension setttin can affect vibration oso.

for me, i find my 'vibrations' dissappear when the road is Ultra smooth. even go up to 120-130kmph oso no vibrations felt. but sometimes vibration can be felt even at 100kmh. so i tink its my suspension at front not set up properly.

welcome to Club Paraniod.:cheer:

You Tailgate, I Jam Brake!

To Eliminate that False sense of achievement , Pick on bikes your own c.c.

http://www.geocities.com/infieldg/images/dirk_b_rc30.jpg

Originally posted by cheh_san@Jan 21 2004, 06:03 PM

ermmm....this is subjective. some ppl are sensitive to any small small 'vibrations' (like me!!) some ppl just bor kan lan.

its either attibuted to our ultra sensitive hands or paranoid attitude or is coz well...our motor is old liao. Old motors frankly speakin...all tends to vibrate a little. like Ken said..unless yours is 1st hand if not....just accept it.

tire pressures, suspension setttin can affect vibration oso.

for me, i find my 'vibrations' dissappear when the road is Ultra smooth. even go up to 120-130kmph oso no vibrations felt. but sometimes vibration can be felt even at 100kmh. so i tink its my suspension at front not set up properly.

welcome to Club Paraniod.:cheer:

haha ..club paranoid indeed..

well i dun think i am overparanoid.. there is definitely some obvious vibration..

i jus wanna check if it is abnormal for the vibration

anyway, i will jus accept the reason that ours is a old bike :smile:

happy new year to u cheh san.. and thanks for all the advice :cheer:

Originally posted by BuZZBeaM@Jan 21 2004, 04:58 PM

mine still steady at 130km/h...

u mean vibration is it?? trembling sound terrible!

steering cone? i jus noe heavy balancers can help to reduce vibration..

so in ur case is vibration or trembling?

it's vibration .. hmm i tot trembling and vibration are the same

looks like my english needs some polishing :cheeky:

Originally posted by vroomvroom@Jan 21 2004, 06:25 PM

haha ..club paranoid indeed..

well i dun think i am overparanoid.. there is definitely some obvious vibration..

i jus wanna check if it is abnormal for the vibration

anyway, i will jus accept the reason that ours is a old bike :smile:

happy new year to u cheh san.. and thanks for all the advice :cheer:

hey no probs.

but dun accept my reasons for not checkin out yr bike....like i said...it could be due to a number of reasons. the reason why i attributed my ocasional vibration to road./susp settin/tires is becoz i've oredy changed all the obvious major components..i.e steerin cone, front wheel bearings, front forks overhaul..set me back few hundred bucks but got rid of the 'obvious vibrations' at the front end.

now my vibration is what i call could be "xing li zuo yong" coz its really minimal n i can still live with it.

Yours could be different. what plate is yours? if FQ n older..suggest u check out the above items.:sweat:

Originally posted by cheh_san@Jan 21 2004, 12:18 PM

hehehe..ya man..cool down liao. oso dunno y so fiery last nite...maybe late nite liao, body is heaty:bouncefire: but u all beh tulanz meh? discussion always break up by the same old questions discussed b4 over n over n over .......

hmm....mayb we shall have our own section in sportsbikes section to discuss the finer things abt RVF and leave this thread for repetive questions like pricing, servicing and such. how to go abt it ah?

:btw: Xing Nian kuai Le guys!! :cheer:

:cheer: Yo Cheh San Cool Man!

Remember a few months back when you came in with similar questions??:confused:

You would not want to be scared off the forum by lao jiaos right.:smile:

So stay cool keep up your good work and Happy New Year!!:goodluck: :cheer:

hi bro cheh_san dunnoe y u so hot but anyway wat is this website for??? One of the purpose is to help newbie get info and oso to minimise the chance of them getting chop by those merciless bike shop. If someone wanna change thing then come here to ask price etc........nothing wrong rite juz wanna noe the price range so if bike shop try to chop u then oso not like carrot at least noe the price range. If no one come here to ask this and that then this site become so boring and those lao jiao(u, ken, DLM just to name a few) oso no chance to show their knowledge rite. So dun be so tulanz ok.

:cheer: ANYWAY HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL RVFIAN :cheer:

http://powersports.honda.com/images/model/c028_029_030_031_photos_all/motorcycles/2005/CBR1000RR/LargeHoriz/CBR1000RR_large_03.jpg

wah lau! mi long time no come in post oni...duno suddenly got so many firecrackers being lighted off by cheh_san 2 celebrate chinese new year...bro,relax la...i oso seldom join u aw guys 4 outings so am i included in your black list anot? kekeke

Guys, relac man :smile:

Wish everyone Happy Chinese Year Year. :cheer:

Happy riding... :thumb:

http://www.r1-forum.com/forums/avatar.php?userid=21127&dateline=1077474760.gifhttp://www.vespa.com/img/logoVespaBig.gif

alamak, new year only get hot liao...

relac lah, but sometimes is true lah, i keep typing same thing oso very sian lah :cheeky:

but i understand lah, cos when getting new bike and noe nuts about it and when abnormal syntoms come out, will be very gan jiong.

But cheh san u oso cannot blame them lah, cos when we r toking about a certain thing 2 months back, they must be haven come in or haven seen the discussion mah.

and to search on the whole thread of rvf, b4 u can find it, u fall asleep liao and too bad the search engine in our forum is only on topic not pages. so they tend to ask same questions to us but its their first time asking.

so its best if u guys got problem, is better to come out together and we can tell u guys all problems u might have or even u already have and remedy way.

type hor, not clear and tiring.

so is better to come out lah. cos rvf quite like endanger species.

thats why we hope to get more out together.

u all see cheh san like very fierce but he very funny in person actually.

see, words can be very deceiving as same words with different tone, can make the whole sentence sound very different.

best is can come out together lah.

but got question can still ask lah.

dun be scare of cheh san, he very funny 1.:thumb:

Originally posted by Ken@Jan 22 2004, 04:40 PM

alamak, new year only get hot liao...

relac lah, but sometimes is true lah, i keep typing same thing oso very sian lah :cheeky:

but i understand lah, cos when getting new bike and noe nuts about it and when abnormal syntoms come out, will be very gan jiong.

But cheh san u oso cannot blame them lah, cos when we r toking about a certain thing 2 months back, they must be haven come in or haven seen the discussion mah.

and to search on the whole thread of rvf, b4 u can find it, u fall asleep liao and too bad the search engine in our forum is only on topic not pages. so they tend to ask same questions to us but its their first time asking.

so its best if u guys got problem, is better to come out together and we can tell u guys all problems u might have or even u already have and remedy way.

type hor, not clear and tiring.

so is better to come out lah. cos rvf quite like endanger species.

thats why we hope to get more out together.

u all see cheh san like very fierce but he very funny in person actually.

see, words can be very deceiving as same words with different tone, can make the whole sentence sound very different.

best is can come out together lah.

but got question can still ask lah.

dun be scare of cheh san, he very funny 1.:thumb:

Ok ok....to clear the air, i do apologise for sounding harsh but Beowlf, me no intention of scaring off newcomers. the fact is i welcome them. i myself try to answer thier doubts abt our beloved nc35, but selectively. for e.g u dun see me dissing vroom vroom abt his questions...coz i view those as genuine technical questions.

i even came up a RVF buyin guide so ppl have a rough idea of what to look out for n try to avoid problemetic bikes. all in all, im not trying to defend myself but just saying this should be what the forum is all about. serious tech discussions and to organise meetups.

yes yes..this can oso be a source of info so that ppl will not get chop outside regardin parts n services BUT i personally cant stand it when ppl can ask abt pricing of certain items, abt services of motordiams sooo many times and ppl here answered them so many times before and you know what?? few months later..the same guy come back and ask the same questions!!! often breaking up ppl's discussion in doin so. isnt that a waste of everyone's time? not to mention adding unneccessary space to these pages.

n waz so difficult abt using the search button? iz so much faster. i found a pricing list for rvf in the 1st few pages liao. waz so difficult?

yes i was like guilty of this 'laziness' when i just got my rvf but that is becoz i was a new member to this forum and have since learn to use search button thanks to a moderator that 'told me off' before.

hope u guys understand. im not scaring newcomers, coz they are not newcomers. just tryin to clean up the thread abit.

Originally posted by revolution@Jan 22 2004, 07:00 AM

wah lau! mi long time no come in post oni...duno suddenly got so many firecrackers being lighted off by cheh_san 2 celebrate chinese new year...bro,relax la...i oso seldom join u aw guys 4 outings so am i included in your black list anot? kekeke

of coz NOT la!! you siow ah??

if u notice, this ppl i call 'leeches' have no intentions watsoever in getting aquainted with the community. they come n go, demand answers when they do so and "poooof"!! disappear. tis are the ppl in my blacklist, not u la!:sweat:

Derestriction

========

In standard trim an NC35 is restricted to 180 kph :-(

The restriction is controlled by a sensor in the speedo. This can be removed fairly easily, and there is no need to spend 50 odd quid on a "black box" :-)

First remove the speedo assembly - two 8mm bolts, speedo cable and two connector blocks.

Remove the cover from the speedo - Lots of black posidrive screws plus the odometer knob. This is held in place by a tiny posidrive screw in the end.

Remove the speedo unit - undo 4 silver posidrive screws at the rear of the assembly.

You should now be able to see the sensor. It is a cam shaped disc attached to the speedo drive, which makes contact with a metal strip (connected to one of the two wires that come in through the back of the speedo) at the magic 180 kph. All you need to do is bend back the strip so it NEVER makes contact with the disc and voila: the bike is derestricted.

You will also see that the two wires entering the speedo are connected together by a resistor. This is just to tell the bikes electrics if the sensor has been disconnected, and if it is not in the circuit causes the bike to misfire above 5500 rpm.

Disclaimer: If you knacker your speedo whilst doing this don't blame me coz I accept no responsibility for anything at all. Also the same applies if you get done testing that the derestriction works on public roads

I have added a m max destrictor(black box) and removed my powercut in the same time.keke.Does both of them have the same purposes?

:cheer: :cheer: :cheer: Another question ah,why the sound of rvf seems horrible when it is drag from 1st gear above 7,000rpm?does it mean that we can only drag the engine at most to 7,000rpm which i normally do so?any advice?

:angry: :angry: :angry:

some1 "kop" my rubber at e key hole below e pillion seat...

damn dulan.. he's riding a FM plate rvf respray original paintwork.. sure recongise him if i saw him again.. saw me walkin towards my bike, he quickly ride off...

*PISS* hope he's not in here....if he's here

DONT LET ME SEE UR BIKE AGAIN!!!!!!

Originally posted by BuZZBeaM@Jan 24 2004, 04:29 PM

damn dulan.. he's riding a FM plate rvf respray original paintwork.. sure recongise him if i saw him again.. saw me walkin towards my bike, he quickly ride off...

aiyo.....tell us what plate exactly...can help u kick the bike to the floor next time wen we see mah.

frankly....when i park my bike in shoppin centres...notice the black rubber kena "kiao" out a couple times liao. probably some thieves try to pry out but scared off when ppl walk pass.

immediate solution. i took the damn thing out n put at home liao..hahahaha...problem solve, nobody can steal unless they come my home!

the damn thing is so hard to put back after each "kiow" anyway..so i just heck it.

N yes RVFian..yr black box acts like a 1.5 ohm resistor in parellel with the sensor cct. it disconnects the sensor cct but act as a "dummy" sensor so that the CDI will not sense that the sensor has been disconnected. In theory , MMax is actually a expensive resistor but at least i will not risk spoilin yr speedo.

Originally posted by BuZZBeaM@Jan 24 2004, 04:29 PM

kaoz.. such a cheapo a****** also got ah.. damn disgrace.. can afford rvf cannot afford to buy the rubber.. sigh.. he'll get his retribution... :smile: