Honda RVF400/NC35

View? no need bah, the thing is packed nicely lia leh, wont wanna touch it. u gei gei never seen carb b4 wanna see mine rite. caught ya!!~

If ur mech really tell u ur carb is spoil, then i m the 1st person u will looooooook for man as i m ur saviour.

Anyway, its hard for a Carb to be spoiled.

Just posting to try my luck.

• Replies 6.7k

Hi to all RVFdians,

Like to clarify regarding on the Haynes Manual (Wu Ling Mi Ji). In case if anyone here have any doubts.

There was onces a couple of riders looking for 1. Orignal Haynes Manual cost $80. So I did a MO order. Tat was long time ago. Sold at $15 per copy. Eventually manage to sold more than 20 copies. No profit made cos each copy is about 200+ pages. If anyone wants a copy can try borrow from some oldbirds like ken, shay, ghostrider...

Happy Riding

http://www.r1-forum.com/forums/avatar.php?userid=21127&dateline=1077474760.gifhttp://www.vespa.com/img/logoVespaBig.gif

U all post here post there to argue will not make the matter any easy. Its all about pride and face in this heated session. Even if u guys manage to solve this all here, u guys will have "Xing Bing" with each other next time. Soon, it will be groups forming in this thread. So, the best way to close this case is to meet up face to face to talk it out.

Let me decide a time and place for the involved personnel to sort it out.

Love Making Session

Venue: KKFC

Date: 14-01-05

Time: 8pm

Love Makers:

1) Ken (Organiser)

2) dlm (thread starter)

pls add ur name in.

ise, shay, rev, buzz, ghost, jungle going??

http://www.r1-forum.com/forums/avatar.php?userid=21127&dateline=1077474760.gifhttp://www.vespa.com/img/logoVespaBig.gif

Hi guys, wanna ask anyone has a 100 or 250mb Zip Drive can borrow? I have some important file store inside a zip disk, need to extract out. Need help here...

U all post here post there to argue will not make the matter any easy. Its all about pride and face in this heated session. Even if u guys manage to solve this all here, u guys will have "Xing Bing" with each other next time. Soon, it will be groups forming in this thread. So, the best way to close this case is to meet up face to face to talk it out.

Love Making Session

Love Makers:

1) Ken (Organiser)

2) dlm (thread starter)

3) BuZZBeaM (kpo)

pls add ur name in.

ise, shay, rev, ghost, jungle going??

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6406.jpg http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6402.jpg

*~it's not WHAT u ride, it's HOW u ride~*

Guest daprei81
Originally posted by dlm@Jan 12 2005, 10:12 AM

Love Making Session

Love Makers:

1) Ken (Organiser)

2) dlm (thread starter)

pls add ur name in.

Originally posted by dlm@Jan 12 2005, 10:12 AM

Love Making Session

Love Makers:

1) Ken (Organiser)

2) dlm (thread starter)

pls add ur name in.

I cant go lah.... I'm working Nite SHift this week. But let me know how is the results.

Although i dun think the affected parties might wana turn up.

But :cheer: to the RVF lao jiaos , the oldies who are still showing thier interest and presence in our thread. This is how we do things the old way, got things to say, come out and say it over a drink , dun bottle it all up. Thaz how the old group can still last so long as frens.

dlm

Posted on Jan 12 2005, 10:05 AM

Hi to all RVFdians,

Like to clarify regarding on the Haynes Manual (Wu Ling Mi Ji). In case if anyone here have any doubts.

There was onces a couple of riders looking for 1. Orignal Haynes Manual cost $80. So I did a MO order. Tat was long time ago. Sold at $15 per copy. Eventually manage to sold more than 20 copies. No profit made cos each copy is about 200+ pages. If anyone wants a copy can try borrow from some oldbirds like ken, shay, ghostrider...

Happy Riding

Yo DLM...that time you sold the haynes manual to me for $20 wor at alameen !!! i still remember! how come you sell Buzz and ken they all $15 but sell me $20!?!?! you see me newbie that time, CHOP me isit? Grrrrr...... :mad: You owe me $5!!!

You Tailgate, I Jam Brake!

To Eliminate that False sense of achievement , Pick on bikes your own c.c.

http://www.geocities.com/infieldg/images/dirk_b_rc30.jpg

Originally posted by jungleboy111@Jan 12 2005, 09:40 PM

Hi all. I've got an original Haynes Manual for RVF. (Bought from Harada) Those who find that photocopying from a photostated version wont turn out well, can look for me. I can lend it to you to zap.

Zap already oso same as our version mah... eh, dun spoil market. shh.. shh...

hahaha, its okie if u guy zip from him lah, but its the same.

Shay, he mentioned that when the demands is high the price goes up too mah. hahaha.

For guys who do your own adjustment of chain on our beloved NCs.... BE CAREFUL.

Herez something interesting i learnt from my silly mistakes.

I had been adjusting the chain myself all this while with a left over c spanner from my SP150 days and a size 17 straight wrench on loan from a fren.

SEEMED like the right tools to use. But! loosening the pro arm nut with a Straight type wrench would mean some access difficulty, particulary with the rear brake hose metal bracket been mounted with the same nut. I had to bend away the bracket to gain space for the wrench to turn everytime i was doin a chain tightening.

Then on Tuesday nite, the metal bracket decided enuff was enuff. I was persuading it to bend over a little so i could use the straight wrench when it finally broke from all those sadistic bendings. Not like i needed it anyway cause i had decided the brake hose was sturdy enuff not to move left or right. But tachi convinced me that during leanings the hoses might move and contact dangerously with the brake disc or the moving rear wheel.

and i cursed at myself for not investing in a proper deep socket wrench or a angled wrench which provides easier access to the nut behind the damn bracket. So guys try not to use a straight wrench and watever you do, dun try to BEND The bracket...its not as flexible as i tot it is!

And what happens after you break it? You CANT get a new one at all. Boon Siew and FJT dun have the part in stock.

My mech was able to weld the broken off part back to its spacer type body but not at the original 90 degree angle. It was welded 180 degree straight in ,flat and level. Still can support the brake hose but at a better angle. Now..even straight wrenches can do the job without hindrance. Looks uglier with its new weld marks but i was still able to salvage a valuble piece of Original Honda Part!!

Love Making Session

Love Makers:

1) Ken (Organiser)

2) dlm (thread starter)

3) BuZZBeaM (kpo)

4) Ise (Go for the refillable drinks)

pls add ur name in.

shay, rev, ghost, jungle going??

I think we shld make this outing a get-to-know each other session instead of dispute solving session.Cos once we know more and understand abt each other,dun think there will be anymore quarrels.Furthermore a lot of the old men like Ken,Dlm and Buzz also haven't met the newer RVF riders b4.I also haven't really got to know the new riders but I considered myself to be young.Fovever young!:cheeky:

hi to all rvfian. long time nvr visit this site. been going to toyota site nowsaday. anyway i got a set of original jetting kit which i want to sell. sell cheap cheap lah. at my house also useless. interested party sms me at 98482390.

http://powersports.honda.com/images/model/c028_029_030_031_photos_all/motorcycles/2005/CBR1000RR/LargeHoriz/CBR1000RR_large_03.jpg

do ani remeber on this thread the page , where some chat about a sound from the engine tat goes 'tiak tiak tiak' ? its like the sound from a sp when idling is low. this is a sign of problems or juz a normal thing for rvf ?

'R6' RedlineRocketRedesignRazor sharpRevolutionaryReward 6.

http://content.wicms.com/shared/images/YAMAHA_Common_Images/Logos/yamaha_logo_red.gif

Originally posted by Ise@Jan 13 2005, 02:29 PM

Love Making Session

Love Makers:

1) Ken (Organiser)

2) dlm (thread starter)

3) BuZZBeaM (kpo)

4) Ise (Go for the refillable drinks)

pls add ur name in.

shay, rev, ghost, jungle going??

Wat time are u guys meeting till?

I will be free only after 2am.

2002 - 2003 Honda NSR SP 150

2003 - 2005 Honda RVF 400

2004 - 2006 GSX-1300R Hayabusa

2008 - ? Yamaha FZ 600

IBA Member No 25268

http://www.121network.net/images/sig11.gif

Originally posted by Non Stop Racing@Jan 14 2005, 03:58 AM

do ani remeber on this thread the page , where some chat about a sound from the engine tat goes 'tiak tiak tiak' ? its like the sound from a sp when idling is low. this is a sign of problems or juz a normal thing for rvf ?

the sound not beri loud on your bike lah.....dun worry too much. may really be sometime loose and vibrating....open fairing and check first?

anyway what happen to you yesterday? sorry me phone died no reception at all when i tried to call you back......only after a few hours then got back my reception.

Ps: oops, maybe can reply me on the other thread for the second part cos this thread for technical stuff rite? Peace, peace....

hi eugene my helpful matie,i pm reg tt day incident alreadi.. well yes here more technical so perharps the other thread is more active? hehe.i did pm some riders before asking a question, the sound describe in hayde manual is call 'knocking'. under the fault finding section i found 3 link to it, 1. wrong grade of petrol . 2.engine oil time to change. 3. cylinder head worn or damage \ piston n valve related stuff

so far i change 1 and 2. the ticking sound occur when idle onli,when riding its veri much softer n not noticable, ani advice guy ? may wan to go down k&t soon..

http://content.wicms.com/shared/images/YAMAHA_Common_Images/Logos/yamaha_logo_red.gif

Originally posted by Non Stop Racing@Jan 16 2005, 12:43 AM

hi eugene my helpful matie,i pm reg tt day incident alreadi.. well yes here more technical so perharps the other thread is more active? hehe.i did pm some riders before asking a question, the sound describe in hayde manual is call 'knocking'. under the fault finding section i found 3 link to it, 1. wrong grade of petrol . 2.engine oil time to change. 3. cylinder head worn or damage \ piston n valve related stuff

so far i change 1 and 2. the ticking sound occur when idle onli,when riding its veri much softer n not noticable, ani advice guy ? may wan to go down k&t soon..

Yo nonstop, that sound you are hearing is probably the valves' ticking sound.

Just meetup with any of us to confirm that. :smile:

If i'm right, you just have to get used to it. OR since you jsut got the bike, you can get your valve clearances checked. It won't get rid of the sound entirely, but at least you won't be scared of it blowing up.:cheeky:

Originally posted by BeowulF@Jan 16 2005, 01:38 AM

Yo nonstop, that sound you are hearing is probably the valves' ticking sound.

Just meetup with any of us to confirm that. :smile:

If i'm right, you just have to get used to it. OR since you jsut got the bike, you can get your valve clearances checked. It won't get rid of the sound entirely, but at least you won't be scared of it blowing up.:cheeky:

That is true. If you go to 400greybike.com, they will tell you that most NCs do that. The ticking sound is your tapperts moving up and down. Pretty normal. I have a fren who did his valve clearance before, the sound is not completely gone and sounds more or less like mine too.

So its normal, dun worry. Tachi mentioned here some pages here that if it happens at idle and then progressively gets louder and nosier with increase RPM..then it would be something to worry about!

Can I just add that I have that sound too.

Many times, when I start my bike, I will hear slight knocking sound from the engine as well. It only happens in the first few seconds, after that no more sound.

Well, as mentioned, if its not too much of a worry, then I guess we all don't have to worry much.

Might I add that my pistons and my engine block is new.... so does it mean changing pistons will help? I leave it for you to decide.

tks for the advice dudes.. i do feel much confident when checking the bike now althought tt rattling or 'tiak tiak tiak' noise is most noticable when i rev my throttle say up to rpm5 then back to 0rpm, u can hear some rattling.. like something ringing( area is below left side of tank where yr knee is gripping) . next outing let u all hear n decide weather muz do sumthing bout it anot .

jungleboy: how much yr engine block n piston ?

Hiz!

Did anyone changed their RVFs head gasket before?

My RVF need to change it or else my RVF will overheat.