Honda RVF400/NC35

• Replies 6.7k

Originally posted by y2kredbull@Apr 19 2005, 09:49 AM

Yo guys,keep this thread alive leh.:cheer:

As has been discussed before..This thread is best kept 'alive' with constructive comments of technical info or RVF related issues. if you have interesting tech info, mod suggestions, bike related problems, post and contribute here. This thread is for serious discussions only.

All talking corks, lively chats ala IRC , ICQ, pls go to the other rvf thread in Sportsbikes Section. The reason is to preserve the years of precious tech info and discussions stored here from mindless chatterings and marketplace gossips.

This thread is like a library. Quiet but informative so ppl can study (find out more abt RVFs). The thread under sportsbike section is like a coffee shop where u guys can talk cork, sing song and chat the pages away. Not here please. I hope i dun have to repeat myself regarding this issue again.

You Tailgate, I Jam Brake!

To Eliminate that False sense of achievement , Pick on bikes your own c.c.

http://www.geocities.com/infieldg/images/dirk_b_rc30.jpg

I have changed to a knn air filter from k&T with some jettings tuned to suit my air filter 2 years back.However,i find that original air filter is still better.Seems like my bike has more power with the original filter compared to the aftermarket filter.Any comments abt that?:cheer:

I need your advice bros, I left my bike untouched for a week and found a pool of oil on the ground. Further inspect it and the bottom of the farring is oily. Checked on the engine oil, after screwing in and out the dip stick oil level seems fine.

Anyone encounter this problem? What are the causes that cause the leak of the engine oil?

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/86/98/6938968/12522666816462s.jpg
Originally posted by Greydium@Apr 24 2005, 10:29 PM

I need your advice bros, I left my bike untouched for a week and found a pool of oil on the ground. Further inspect it and the bottom of the farring is oily. Checked on the engine oil, after screwing in and out the dip stick oil level seems fine.

Anyone encounter this problem? What are the causes that cause the leak of the engine oil?

Just to check, did u see your Engine oil pressure come on when engine is runing? If not, good.

This might be simple to isolate. Lez see if you can rule out these factors 1st;

The next time this happens, feel your fingers around the Engine Oil Drain plug at the bottom of the engine oil sump (dun do it when engine is hot, the downpipes might burn you)...isit oily? If it is, perhaps the mech did not tighten the drain plug properly on yr last oil change.

Another suspect which is actually normal is that oily chain lube fling-offs tend to collect near the bottom fairing right below the front sprocket area on the left side. It may be just that, especially overnight after you lube the chain with a "watery" type chain lube , excess tends to drip off near the front.

anyone knows where to get the wire cable thats screwed on in our pillion seat compartment, to hang helmet one. or just happen to has extra piece? i need it... can pm me or msg me here.. thanks

Originally posted by bLuEicE__11@Apr 19 2005, 06:05 PM

any got the RVF 400(NC 35) Service manual?

or can kindly direct mi go where to d/l..

thank you :cheeky:

yaya...anyone know where to d/l??can anyone tell me??thks...:cheer:

Originally posted by Soulmace@Apr 25 2005, 08:08 PM

anyone knows where to get the wire cable thats screwed on in our pillion seat compartment, to hang helmet one. or just happen to has extra piece? i need it... can pm me or msg me here.. thanks

Its just braided metal wires.

Tip ; can buy from D.I.Y shop. they sell by length.

After that just get pinch tabs that can be pressed onto the ends with a plier to form a small loop to secure to the chasis. U can get rubber hoses to wrap round the metal wires to protect your hands from frayed ends.

Originally posted by Shay@Apr 24 2005, 10:53 PM

Just to check, did u see your Engine oil pressure come on when engine is runing? If not, good.

This might be simple to isolate. Lez see if you can rule out these factors 1st;

The next time this happens, feel your fingers around the Engine Oil Drain plug at the bottom of the engine oil sump (dun do it when engine is hot, the downpipes might burn you)...isit oily? If it is, perhaps the mech did not tighten the drain plug properly on yr last oil change.

Another suspect which is actually normal is that oily chain lube fling-offs tend to collect near the bottom fairing right below the front sprocket area on the left side. It may be just that, especially overnight after you lube the chain with a "watery" type chain lube , excess tends to drip off near the front.

Thanks for your reply Shay, it's definatly not the chain lube, maybe the tighteniing part. I did check and touch the bottom of the engine and it is oily. Could it be the gasket leaking?

Need to sent to the mechanic to rebuild my right fork. Plus servicing for the leakage. Anywhere to recommand? Last question is the ERP bracket. Where to get it ah?

Thanks in advance:cheeky:

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/86/98/6938968/12522666816462s.jpg
Originally posted by Greydium@Apr 25 2005, 10:08 PM

Thanks for your reply Shay, it's definatly not the chain lube, maybe the tighteniing part. I did check and touch the bottom of the engine and it is oily. Could it be the gasket leaking?

Need to sent to the mechanic to rebuild my right fork. Plus servicing for the leakage. Anywhere to recommand? Last question is the ERP bracket. Where to get it ah?

Thanks in advance:cheeky:

Coulden be gasket.

Yr EO will drop fast & u will tend to see white smoke exhausting.

2002 - 2003 Honda NSR SP 150

2003 - 2005 Honda RVF 400

2004 - 2006 GSX-1300R Hayabusa

2008 - ? Yamaha FZ 600

IBA Member No 25268

http://www.121network.net/images/sig11.gif

Originally posted by Shay@Apr 25 2005, 09:58 PM

Its just braided metal wires.

Tip ; can buy from D.I.Y shop. they sell by length.

After that just get pinch tabs that can be pressed onto the ends with a plier to form a small loop to secure to the chasis. U can get rubber hoses to wrap round the metal wires to protect your hands from frayed ends.

thanks for the info.... actually i had some kind of ur idea too.. was wondering if using the elastic bend that NS guys use to secure their pants to their boots.... but it would be kinda short ...

but i tink i shall use ur advice

Originally posted by Soulmace@Apr 26 2005, 03:33 AM

thanks for the info.... actually i had some kind of ur idea too.. was wondering if using the elastic bend that NS guys use to secure their pants to their boots.... but it would be kinda short ...

but i tink i shall use ur advice

Yea , green elastic bands right? I think they call it "Cutters".

But dun be crazy la, you want to give the thieves an easy time stealing your helmet?

Get the metal braided wires like OEM. Tougher to cut off by itchy fingers and is longer lasting.

Originally posted by Shay@Apr 26 2005, 07:06 PM

Yea , green elastic bands right? I think they call it "Cutters".

But dun be crazy la, you want to give the thieves an easy time stealing your helmet?

Get the metal braided wires like OEM. Tougher to cut off by itchy fingers and is longer lasting.

ic... cos i was tinking ma.. since the 'cutters' are short... so it wun protrude out of my pillion seat when i hang a helmet... the double D rings would be inside....

thats my imaginary illusion of how its gonna work :cheeky:

but i tink i'll use metal wires , den probably find a rubber tube to wrap around it.. if not use those coloured sticky tapes to wrap around the wires

Saw on e-bay,rear hugger for RVF selling at 40pounds.Anywhere in S'pore selling cheaper?Cos better to invest in a rear hugger to protect the suspension areas.Would a Super 4 rear hugger fit ours?

Bikes Previously Owned: Aprilia RS125, Kawasaki KRR150, Honda RVF400, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha FZ6N, Suzuki Hayabusa ,Yamaha RXS115, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha Nuovo Elegance, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha FZ16,Honda Vtec1, Yamaha FZ1N, Honda Wave-S, Honda CB400X, Honda NC750X,Yamaha TMax 530, Vespa GTS 300, Yamaha XMAX 300 

Current Ride: Honda X-ADV 750

The Dark side...

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y175/airpm/rvf1.jpg

http://www.r1-forum.com/forums/avatar.php?userid=21127&dateline=1077474760.gifhttp://www.vespa.com/img/logoVespaBig.gif

Checkout the rear hugger

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y175/airpm/rvf3.jpg

http://www.r1-forum.com/forums/avatar.php?userid=21127&dateline=1077474760.gifhttp://www.vespa.com/img/logoVespaBig.gif

R1?? :? NC30?? :confused: carbon fibre :slurp:

http://www.evilshenanigansracing.com/images/NCR1.jpg

A awesome RVF race bike being built. Absolutely stunning

Frame and the swingarm are powder coated in black.

http://www.4hunderter.de/Bike%202/1.JPG

Trible clamp by Performanceparts from germany.

http://www.4hunderter.de/Bike%202/2.JPG

http://www.4hunderter.de/Bike%202/gabelb1.JPG

The fork comes of a Honda RS250R.

http://www.4hunderter.de/Bike%202/3.JPG

http://www.4hunderter.de/Bike%202/Gabel2.JPG

The rear shock by Wilbers.

http://www.4hunderter.de/Bike%202/umlenkung2.JPG

Tank and tail made from carbon fibre.

http://www.4hunderter.de/Bike%202/4.JPG

A pic of rear axle and rear HRC RC45, brake disk.

http://www.4hunderter.de/Achse/Achse4.JPG

http://www.4hunderter.de/Achse/Bremss2.JPG

Wp steering damper and brand new AIM MXL digital Meter.

http://www.4hunderter.de/bike2/MXL2.JPG

http://i21.ebayimg.com/01/i/03/b2/25/27_1_b.JPG