Originally posted by darrenx@Nov 3 2004, 01:44 AM

any ppl here experience their super4 or any 4 stroke bike cannot idle in the morning? (usually dun need to on choke or set the air knob )

Just did tuning + wash carb evenually can idle nicely when engine hot...

but when cold engine the will die off after 30 sec?

Any body here care to share their experience?

i think i noe the prob.. its the battery... mine oso got this problem.. but nv ask the mechanic anithing abt it when i go carb servicing... then when he start the bike onli.. he already noe got prob liao... and told me that my battery cfm chiong one... then he open up and check.. indeed is a GPR chiong battery.. and advise me to change to YUASA... so why dun u go and check on ur battery too.. if urs oso chiong one.. then at least we can confirm the source for this problem liao... hope u check liao can post here or PM me.. BTW... if i not wrong.. yuasa oso have chiong one.. so i think its best u ask a experience mechanic

http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f229/Hong-/tummy.gif?t=1229955192
  • Replies 285

Originally posted by s0u1@Nov 4 2004, 01:24 AM

i still can't seem to c the triangle plastic thing leh..

is it rite in the centre of the carbs.......

or nearer to the left side or right side......

if u fix engine guard, it is harder to reach rite....

easy to reach after u remove the tank :sweat:

insert ur hand from the left hand side while sitting on ur bike.

U should be able to reach it.

But careful not to scald ur fingers ! :cheeky:

Enjoy fingering and turning the knobs,,,,,,, :lovestruck:

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-3088.gif

reach into it from the left... its better if u adjust when engine is cold... or put on a glove or something if ur engine is warmed up.

2002 - 2003 : Gilera Runner VXR

2004 - 2005 : Honda Super4

2006 - 2008 : Honda WaveS

2010 - Current : Ducati Monster 696

Originally posted by IreneVXR@Nov 4 2004, 09:46 AM

reach into it from the left... its better if u adjust when engine is cold... or put on a glove or something if ur engine is warmed up.

cold engine to advisable to adjust lah.

later when hot liao u realise it's revving too high u must tune it down again.

Acutally some motorthiams got special long nose tool for adjusting the knobs.....

Check the out !

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-3088.gif

hmm...But what has the battery got to do with the idling? Can recommend me your mechanic to me?

I suppose when the bike is crank n started, the battery is not fully charge up & the voltage is no stable?

So what is the effect after u change the battery?...can idle nicely every morning ( cold engine ) Got include change rectifier?

COnfirm mine is a Lim ah Boy YUASA battery. and the rectifier also

Any 1 here have been using ah boy battery and have the same problem?

but the hor....what i ask ard is that after i start my bike liao, even i take out the battery my bike also will idle lay...the battery is just the electricity to crank the starter motor to start my bike onli.....

was adjusted by ah tee at combine he adjusted it to 400 rpm is that correct? it seems a bit tad low. But the bike runs fine and starts up normal even when cold.

what do you guys usually set at?

and the idling screw is a roundish black right in the centre of the four carbs right? its portruding straight down vertically am i right?

Better to be loved, than to hate...

Originally posted by revolio103@Dec 20 2004, 01:52 AM

mechanic told me ideal is 1200 rpm..

yup... ideal is 1200rpm... just nice and sweet... i heard new bike's factory setting is set at 1500rpm... haven't seen it for myself tho...

around there lor.. if u find it too high u can adjust to 800rpm

http://i48.photobucket.com/albums/f229/Hong-/tummy.gif?t=1229955192

hi guys..anyone can roughly help me along to describe the tuning of the engine idling..? mine i suspect is to0 low, resulting in stall engine when i leave alone or even when downing gears to slow down or come to a stop..

thanks very much..

http://imgcash2.imageshack.us/img218/3839/arsenalbo7.png

Guest quizesilver

manual say 1350 +/- 100

u can adjust the idling below the cab

My one alwasy less than 1000rpm.

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Guest quizesilver

ask ur gf to adjust for ya...

me also ard 1000-1100

so don't need to0ls..? me scared quite stiff nia..hahaha

will be trying after reunion dinner...hehe

http://imgcash2.imageshack.us/img218/3839/arsenalbo7.png