How To Remove Fuel Tank

Guest chrischow

:confused: When taking out the tank , just

unplug all the whatever tubes and the petrol tube , right?

I know it does not have fuel knob to turn one ..

can someone clarify? :p

• Replies 73

Guest chrischow

:confused: One more question.

The paint work at the bottom edges of the tank tend to peel off which i suspect is due to rain?

I've seen ppl using a strip to attach onto the edge of the tank, but i dun think is useful as it's shape will warp after some time .

Guys, any one know what i toking about?

How to prevent the pain from peeling off? :confused:

:confused: One more question.

The paint work at the bottom edges of the tank tend to peel off which i suspect is due to rain?

I've seen ppl using a strip to attach onto the edge of the tank, but i dun think is useful as it's shape will warp after some time .

Guys, any one know what i toking about?

How to prevent the pain from peeling off? :confused:

sorry can't help, no exp.. :giddy:

total 4 tubes:

1. petrol tube(tank to carb)

2. vaccum tube(engine to tank)

3. tank breather tube(around ur groin area at the tank)

4. tank petrol overflow tube(around ur groin area at the tank)

5. Electrical Wire sensors from ur tank to ur engine(fuel meter)

Rembr not to let the tubes(3&4) bend when u install coz it will affect the breathing abilities of ur fuel tank creating unwanted pressures within. :cheeky: :cheeky:

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-1713.jpg

Slow Doesn't mean Safe,Fast doesn't mean Dangerous!!

Originally posted by VersionS@Jan 7 2004, 02:02 AM

total 4 tubes:

1. petrol tube(tank to carb)

2. vaccum tube(engine to tank)

3. tank breather tube(around ur groin area at the tank)

4. tank petrol overflow tube(around ur groin area at the tank)

5. Electrical Wire sensors from ur tank to ur engine(fuel meter)

Rembr not to let the tubes(3&4) bend when u install coz it will affect the breathing abilities of ur fuel tank creating unwanted pressures within. :cheeky: :cheeky:

thank a lot for urs advise... :cheeky:

i take note of that..

http://img63.exs.cx/img63/8811/itachicopy9ur.jpg

Originally posted by iliew@Jan 31 2004, 11:47 PM

What level should the fuel be so that removing the petrol tube will not cause petrol to flow out of the tank? Or is there something that can be done to prevent this?

Never removed fuel tank before but want to... thanks.

actual even it is full u can take out the tank ..but it will be heavy

i took out before , best is the lesser the better is light . easy to lift up.

Originally posted by iliew@Feb 1 2004, 03:30 PM

Thanks hellcannon. I got a small dent in my fuel tank. I'm wondering if it is possible to get behind it and knock it out with a hammer. Otherwise will take it to a dent removal service. Found one for cars that charges $35 for first dent.

behind it ?? inserting into the petrol tank ??

must be really careful . empty it before u try to do anything.

if not take to the shop to do.

dont blow u head off.

what to take note when taking out the oil tank of vtec??

the tank is difference from vers that will i asking..

is it the same as vers ??

main tube.

reservce tube .

petrol gauge.

breathing tube

petrol over flow tube.

is it the same , need some advise.

thank a lot

Guest albertx2

Hi, i've jus bought a VTEC1 abt 2 weeks back la.. Blue FR plate..

I just dismantaled the tank and the air filter a while ago and the next day the bike won start in the evein.. morning ok la..

dunnoe wats the problem.. tot my rectifier or electric start fry liao la..

cos i electric start the crank still have but the bike won engage.

So any way i park the bike over night and the next morning it started fine.. this happened twice and i got pissed..

So i took the bike to the shop and check la..

Apparantly the pressure relieve pipe at the bottom got choke (located near the back end of the tank, close to where you seat got 2 tubes la and one tube at the fuel outle there)

think wat happen is, when i installing back the tank, pulled the pipes out too much,

then plug in the pipe and put back the tank, the tank squash the pipes and resulted in pressure built up in the tank. then the petrol cannot flow properly.

Result is cannot start lor..

Bike reacts like its running out of petrol initially. then engine dies.

Jus something to feedback to you guys. Ü

Albert

Guest motofreak

Personally i dun really fix back those two tubes after removing the tank. Dun feel any diff without the tubes. No fear of the tubes being choked anyway. :cheeky:

Originally posted by motofreak@Apr 6 2004, 07:36 PM

Personally i dun really fix back those two tubes after removing the tank. Dun feel any diff without the tubes. No fear of the tubes being choked anyway. :cheeky:

think the tubes u toking are the overflow tubes for fuel cap & keyhole lah..

must put back, if not rain, water go in card leh....

as for albert, guess tats an air lock before the fuel pump ????? tis seldom happen lah...

PEOPLE ON THE MOVE

my two-wheeler adventures:

FD 4001 D 1998-2001 HX135

FJ 6192 R 2001-2003 CBR400RR

FU 679 K 2003-2006 CB400SFYJ

FY 710 G 2007-2007 YBR125

FBC 9277 U 2008-2011 FJS400D

• 8 months later...

anyone did tt or knows how to do it mind teaching? riding a vtec 1...read up and found out tt need to remove the tank to flush coolant...how to remove the tank? can explain step by step and tools and ingredients needed? thanks.

Life is a scam, what is important now might not be important in the future...