Hi.

Those cone air filter are not good if used alone, i.e. directly on the carb. For one they do allow water to get in - water doesn't burn very well, you risk engine damage. Second if such filter is used alone, even with a larger main jet (absolutely required!) there will be no torque at all, the bike will only run on rpm's. Also it becomes VERY loud, and not a "nice" kind of loud - just an awful racket. I have tried it with Destiny.

See my attached picture. The cone is now mounted on the cover of the stock air box (of course a hole in the cover and a matching hole in the side panel to allow it to stick out). It comes hence before the original filter mat, and the stock air box inlet is functional, too - so the cone basically adds additional air and generates a deeper and slightly louder sound, however the flow of the original air box is still like stock and the bike has superb torque. With this setup the main jet had to be increased from stock 205 to 235.

I don't know if it would be legal this way in Singapore (after all the original air box is still there!) but for power it is perfect.

Best regards....

Thanh

airfilter.jpg

Zundapp: ZR10, ZR20, ZX25, ZE40, CS25, CS50, C50 Sport, SpoCo 515, SpoCo 517, GTS 517, GTS 529, KS50 Supersport-TT, KS50 Watercooled, KS80, K80, KS175.

Hercules: G3, MF3, HR2, MK2, Supra 4 GP, K50 RL.

Kreidler: Florett RMC.

Puch: DS, M50 Racing, Cobra 50-6 GTL Export.

Honda: MB 5, MTX 80, CB 250.

Suzuki: RV 50, X5-200, RGV 250.

Yamaha: DT 50-M, VRR 150, RXZ 135 (x2, current)

• Replies 29.7k

Guys got any lobang that have chrome engine casing?Prefer the already chrome nye..thanks

go jb got alot.. dun nid lobang... hehe...

Yamaha RXZ 135 2008- till present

Super Four Spec1 2011- till present

GSXR K8 600 2012- till present

Spark 135 2013- till present

looking for pipe 3bs catalyzer standard .. anyone ?

3bs is 3bs

catalyzer is catalyzer

there isnt a 3bs catalyzer model pipe.

agent selling $120 original brand new.

hi guys, for the past few post theres been lots of talk bout pipes and all sound so jargon!!

chamber pipe lah fully chamber/semi chamber lah pipe lemang lah pipe internal ah PENING PENING PENING!!

anyone care to enlighten me on the difference? (mods on pipe, performance wise, saman wise etc.)

also wanna ask the silencer n end can u guys refering to is the same thing kan?

and the 3bs original pipe is on old japan bike or new thai/mlysia bike?

im riding the old japan version plate FE i think same wit one of the guys here but i dun hav any idea wat pipe im using lol...and its freakin noisy!! been riding for 7 yrs but still a pipe idiot!! HELP!!

--------------------------

[date of achievement] or [license achieved] - no one wants to noe... thk u ;-p

Hi.

Please refer to my picture above (red/silver RXZ), that pipe is a "Lemang", typically all-black.

The 3BS is the more regular one with the front part ("stomach") in black and the end can in chrome. This appears to be available in two versions, with end can removable (3 bolts) and with it welded on (more common).

The newer RXZ include a catalytic converter, hence they are called "catalyzer". I don't know how such pipe looks like.

"Chamber pipe" means the pipe's stomach is empty and functions as an expansion/resonance chamber. A short but thick one generates brutal power in a narrow rpm band while a longer, narrower one generates more gentle power but over a wider rpm band. Chamber pipes have to be calculated and purpose-built to match with the block, carburetor and air intake system.

"Silencer" is a separate part that is inserted into the end can. It is made of a long-ish tube with many holes inside. It is surrounded by separate chambers within the end can and/or a fiber packing, it's purpose is to lower the noise. In 3BS and Lemang pipes this can be removed/replaced, others it can't (like my pipe, i use a Honda LS 125 end can on a chamber stomach, the silencer there is not removable).

Best regards.....

Thanh

Zundapp: ZR10, ZR20, ZX25, ZE40, CS25, CS50, C50 Sport, SpoCo 515, SpoCo 517, GTS 517, GTS 529, KS50 Supersport-TT, KS50 Watercooled, KS80, K80, KS175.

Hi.

Those cone air filter are not good if used alone, i.e. directly on the carb. For one they do allow water to get in - water doesn't burn very well, you risk engine damage. Second if such filter is used alone, even with a larger main jet (absolutely required!) there will be no torque at all, the bike will only run on rpm's. Also it becomes VERY loud, and not a "nice" kind of loud - just an awful racket. I have tried it with Destiny.

See my attached picture. The cone is now mounted on the cover of the stock air box (of course a hole in the cover and a matching hole in the side panel to allow it to stick out). It comes hence before the original filter mat, and the stock air box inlet is functional, too - so the cone basically adds additional air and generates a deeper and slightly louder sound, however the flow of the original air box is still like stock and the bike has superb torque. With this setup the main jet had to be increased from stock 205 to 235.

I don't know if it would be legal this way in Singapore (after all the original air box is still there!) but for power it is perfect.

Best regards....

Thanh

Hmmm... Don't think tat's legal over here. Not wen it attracts attention, especially the eyes of the traffic police. Not a bad idea, exposing the filter for better air intake but yet still safe for the carb. But I think it'll would even do better performance if the air intake is somehow bein shifted to the front in such a way so tat wen u move, air can easily flow into it and hence better flowing of the air intake. Rather than wat u had done or wat stock Z hav rite now, the air intake is still bein blocked by the coversets or doesn't hav a smooth air flow wen bein blocked by ur legs wen u ride. But to do tat, I think it'll take a lot of modifications. I was thinkin a tube tat runs under the tank, attached to a cone air filter at the front, and connected directly to the carb. So it's greater air flow fed directly to the carb.

But then again, tat's just an idea over here. Doin tat over here mite get u into trouble. Or get laughed even; they think it's such a stupid mod to make ur bike like a drag muscle car!!! Haha...:smile:

http://i330.photobucket.com/albums/l417/syamitomo/GroupPhotoMain1.jpg

Hi.

Please refer to my picture above (red/silver RXZ), that pipe is a "Lemang", typically all-black.

oh ok saw it b4 didnt noe tats wat ppl refers to as lemang...wats the diiferent between tat one wit the rest besides the missing end can..

Hi.

The 3BS is the more regular one with the front part ("stomach") in black and the end can in chrome. This appears to be available in two versions, with end can removable (3 bolts) and with it welded on (more common).

The newer RXZ include a catalytic converter, hence they are called "catalyzer". I don't know how such pipe looks like.

how do u tell the difference between the 3BS n the catalyzer one? does it state on the end can? mine got the word yamaha on the end can but, like i mentioned b4, i dun noe wat pipe im using...is there a vast difference btween local and original ones??

Hi.

"Chamber pipe" means the pipe's stomach is empty and functions as an expansion/resonance chamber. A short but thick one generates brutal power in a narrow rpm band while a longer, narrower one generates more gentle power but over a wider rpm band. Chamber pipes have to be calculated and purpose-built to match with the block, carburetor and air intake system.

alrite nw i understand a bit bout chamber...so u mean theres no filter or fiber or watever they call it in the stomach rite...i think this is where i see some of my macam-paham frens knock knock on the pipe for dunnowat reason lol.. hw bout the end can? does it have to be empty too?

Hi :)

Your idea is not bad, it actually would be akin to a "ram-air" system where at higher speeds a certain air pressure is built up. However with a carb mounted behind the block it would mean the tube to make a U-turn.... which would rob some of the power. Also the tube would need to be rather long, which is also bad.

More practical (although still not perfect) would be a 90 degree tube and then have the cone stick out to the side, yet before the rider's legs (these are readily available, the cones come with either straight or 90 degree mounts). Or still a U-shaped tube but shorter so it comes out under/beside the tank but in front of the rider's leg. The problem is that the volume of this tube has to be calculated not to upset the resonance system or again torque and/or rpm's will be lost.

In my personal setup i wanted to retain the original air box due to it's influence on the torque, i prefer to ride the bike low-rpm through traffic but still have the high rpm's available if needed. Hence the Lemang pipe, it performs much better "from below" than the stock 3BS if the engine is stock. For the displacement mod i will have to test both possibilities (150cc with RXZ piston and 180 cc with TZR Street-Thunder or Kawasaki KRR-R piston). 150 will be short-stroke and 180 will be ultra-short-stroke so i need to see how the Lemang performs then but possibly i need to have a chamber pipe purpose-built, i.e. calculated. I want low-end performance more than top-end, if i can get the bike to run 200 at 12,000 rpm i am happy (maybe using 16-28 sprockets). After all the Zundapp KS 175 is also an ultra-short-stroke (a bored-up KS 125 engine which itself has the same stroke as the KS 100, so in the end it's a 100 bored up to 165) but still has torque like a Diesel tractor so this IS possible.

This bike WILL be for racing, it will see track use once i am done with the engine. For every-day use i have my "cruiser", the black RXZ named "Bulldozer". This red one "Destiny" will be my race/show-bike and there will be a third one that is going to be a scrambler/off-roader. It's name will be "Challenger". RXZ's are cheap in Thailand because only old ones are available, usually in poor condition. In the far future there might even be a fourth - a chopper :) I don't really like choppers but just for the sake of having all four major styles together, and all RXZ's :)

Kind regards.....

Thanh

@skirtchaser

I know a bit about that subject but i am by no means perfect, i am good with engines but less so with pipes :) And an even bigger problem is that i can explain the differences between pipes in my native language (which is German) but i lack the words in English.........

The Lemang is an entirely different type of exhaust than the 3BS or a chamber. You need to know how a two-stroke works, i will try to explain it in simple terms.... when the piston moves down (after ignition) the exhaust port opens first so the burnt gasses can escape into the exhaust system. Next the (Ueberstroemkanaele!) "flushing ports" (??) open up through which fresh gas is introduced into the cylinder. This helps to push out the burnt gasses, however some of the fresh gas also goes out the exhaust port which is open at the same time, this would cause a waste of fresh gas and hence petrol, and also les power.

Here is where the exhaust system ("pipe") comes in. It is constructed in such a way that the wave of burnt gas on it's way out "bounces back" for a bit, so that the fresh gas which followed the burnt gas is pushed back into the cylinder just before the exhaust port closes again. Ideally all of the fresh gas is pushed back. That is why chamber pipes, which do this purely based on resonance, need to be exactly calculated so the maximum amount of fresh gas is pushed back at the exactly right moment, typically this works only at a certain rpm and a certain temperature even.

Other pipes, like the Lemang, reach the same goal by using (Prallbleche!) "walls" inside from which the exhausted gasses also bounce back. Their downside is that this introduces additional material = weight. This is why a Lemang pipe is a great deal heavier than a chamber pipe - which is bad for racing purposes where you want the bike to be as light as possible.

The stock 3BS pipe is made to look like a chamber pipe, however it is working like a regular one, i.e. with those "walls" inside. Which is why a 3BS is also rather heavy. People can (and do!) remove those "walls" ("operated pipe") and have the 3BS work like a chamber pipe. This is why people knock your pipe to hear if it is empty (= chamber) or a stock 3BS.

A further difference lemang -> 3BS is the silencer. For the Lemang this is included into the one pipe body, i.e. after the "power stage" (resonance chamber, reflecting walls) comes the "silencer stage" where no further resistance to the exhaust gas is given but only measures to lower the noise. Lemang works with several straight chambers through which one straight pipe with many holes in it passes. This creates sound reflections that cancel each other out - noise is dampened to a great extend while the exhaust gas can still move out quickly (as the actual tube is straight). In the 3BS this "silencer stage" is the end can, same principle - several straight chambers with the straight tube with holes. Alternative there is a second type, just one chamber packed with fiber - again the tube with the holes passes through, this does not work with reflections but absorption, i.e. noise is "swallowed" by the fiber and the noise is greatly lowered while the exhaust gas can still pass freely and quickly.

The catalyzer pipe adds to those two stages a third one, namely a catalytic converter. I am not sure how much sense a catalytic converter makes in a two-stroke as it will quickly become clogged with oil and carbon and hence becomes completely useless........ but i do not know how an RXZ catalyzer pipe looks like as all "Catalyzer" RXZ pictures i have seen always show the bike from the left, pipe-less, side :)

Actually i just googled it - Google is still my friend, it appears that the catalyzer pipe looks similar to a 3BS but the end can is very big... looks a bit weird in my opinion :) Probably the reason most riders take pictures of the left side.......

Best regards......

Thanh

@skirtchaser

The Lemang is an entirely different type of exhaust than the 3BS or a chamber. You need to know how a two-stroke works, i will try to explain it in simple terms.... when the piston moves down (after ignition) the exhaust port opens first so the burnt gasses can escape into the exhaust system. Next the (Ueberstroemkanaele!) "flushing ports" (??) open up through which fresh gas is introduced into the cylinder. This helps to push out the burnt gasses, however some of the fresh gas also goes out the exhaust port which is open at the same time, this would cause a waste of fresh gas and hence petrol, and also les power.

tis one i noe..

@skirtchaser

Here is where the exhaust system ("pipe") comes in. It is constructed in such a way that the wave of burnt gas on it's way out "bounces back" for a bit, so that the fresh gas which followed the burnt gas is pushed back into the cylinder just before the exhaust port closes again. Ideally all of the fresh gas is pushed back. That is why chamber pipes, which do this purely based on resonance, need to be exactly calculated so the maximum amount of fresh gas is pushed back at the exactly right moment, typically this works only at a certain rpm and a certain temperature even.

Other pipes, like the Lemang, reach the same goal by using (Prallbleche!) "walls" inside from which the exhausted gasses also bounce back. Their downside is that this introduces additional material = weight. This is why a Lemang pipe is a great deal heavier than a chamber pipe - which is bad for racing purposes where you want the bike to be as light as possible.

The stock 3BS pipe is made to look like a chamber pipe, however it is working like a regular one, i.e. with those "walls" inside. Which is why a 3BS is also rather heavy. People can (and do!) remove those "walls" ("operated pipe") and have the 3BS work like a chamber pipe. This is why people knock your pipe to hear if it is empty (= chamber) or a stock 3BS.

A further difference lemang -> 3BS is the silencer. For the Lemang this is included into the one pipe body, i.e. after the "power stage" (resonance chamber, reflecting walls) comes the "silencer stage" where no further resistance to the exhaust gas is given but only measures to lower the noise. Lemang works with several straight chambers through which one straight pipe with many holes in it passes. This creates sound reflections that cancel each other out - noise is dampened to a great extend while the exhaust gas can still move out quickly (as the actual tube is straight). In the 3BS this "silencer stage" is the end can, same principle - several straight chambers with the straight tube with holes. Alternative there is a second type, just one chamber packed with fiber - again the tube with the holes passes through, this does not work with reflections but absorption, i.e. noise is "swallowed" by the fiber and the noise is greatly lowered while the exhaust gas can still pass freely and quickly.

The catalyzer pipe adds to those two stages a third one, namely a catalytic converter. I am not sure how much sense a catalytic converter makes in a two-stroke as it will quickly become clogged with oil and carbon and hence becomes completely useless........ but i do not know how an RXZ catalyzer pipe looks like as all "Catalyzer" RXZ pictures i have seen always show the bike from the left, pipe-less, side :)

Actually i just googled it - Google is still my friend, it appears that the catalyzer pipe looks similar to a 3BS but the end can is very big... looks a bit weird in my opinion :) Probably the reason most riders take pictures of the left side.......

Best regards......

Thanh

tis one all i dunno!! hahax

k then how bout the one they call internal pipe??

oh ok saw it b4 didnt noe tats wat ppl refers to as lemang...wats the diiferent between tat one wit the rest besides the missing end can..

how do u tell the difference between the 3BS n the catalyzer one? does it state on the end can? mine got the word yamaha on the end can but, like i mentioned b4, i dun noe wat pipe im using...is there a vast difference btween local and original ones??

Some pics to show the diff pipes bro -

271305145l[1].jpg

...Lemang...

7317_137842943839_106041683839_2466280_3408642_n[1].jpg

.....3bs.......

5369_109190868839_106041683839_2098699_925180_n[1].jpg

........Catalyser...........

Some pics of "off-road" RXZ which I dig up @ Facebook for bro Thanh...

5849_115676853839_106041683839_2190341_6348062_n[1].jpg

If we hav "Lemang" pipes over here, don't noe if it's call "Lontong" pipe over ther...:p

5849_120153138839_106041683839_2254285_4024534_n[1].jpg

I think tis Zs are from India...

7317_132646358839_106041683839_2407668_337925_n[1].jpg

Check out the big fat tyres...

And oh, these last three pics are my Z after an off road expeditions! Haha...:faint:

Image278.jpg

DSC01218.jpg

DSC01230.jpg

k then how bout the one they call internal pipe??

best examples of internal pipe - canadian pizza's RX-Z. :cheeky: try to listen once they drag their gears if you happen to stumble upon one of them.

since when canadian pizza using RXZ?? tot they are using ybr macha...

Thank you so much for those photos, it is nice to see them :) Yes, those ones are from India, they still use the old-type engine and pipe (looks like the one in the Thai Yamaha "Concord" which is i believe an RXK elsewhere) and those Indian RXZ have only four gears! Also they make only 12-14 HP and top speed is around 100 km/h. Those bikes are closer related to the RD 125 (see passenger foot rest and meter set).

Tyre-wise i am planning similar for the scrambler - fat 16" in the rear and slim 19" in front. However mine will obviously have rear disc brake and also i will convert to mono-shock and make the front fork taller by using adaptors for the down tubes. Pipe-wise i am thinking of old-school scrambler look with a raised pipe, i might use a Kawasaki GTO pipe actually because it is a clean chrome pipe similar to the Indian RXZ one.

And of course an Enduro handlebar! I will have to change the upper fork bridge to one from an oooold RXZ because it uses normal handlebars.

But that project is still in the future..... i am not a rich guy and Destiny's engine comes first :)

Kind regards.....

Thanh

Canadian Pizza's do hav RXZs bro Blur. But most of them uses YBR lah.

Hmmm... The pipes they're using are not internals, they're BUSTED 2ND-HAND pipes bought CHEAP2 at the SCRAPYARD!!! Wakakaka...:angel:

now i get it which is 3bs and catalyzer pipe. haha. my friend got the catalyzer, which is like, too quiet . wanna change to 3bs, using lemang now ... so ... anyone letting go their 3bs ?

Edited by boi_s

Thank you so much for those photos, it is nice to see them :) Yes, those ones are from India, they still use the old-type engine and pipe (looks like the one in the Thai Yamaha "Concord" which is i believe an RXK elsewhere) and those Indian RXZ have only four gears! Also they make only 12-14 HP and top speed is around 100 km/h. Those bikes are closer related to the RD 125 (see passenger foot rest and meter set).

Tyre-wise i am planning similar for the scrambler - fat 16" in the rear and slim 19" in front. However mine will obviously have rear disc brake and also i will convert to mono-shock and make the front fork taller by using adaptors for the down tubes. Pipe-wise i am thinking of old-school scrambler look with a raised pipe, i might use a Kawasaki GTO pipe actually because it is a clean chrome pipe similar to the Indian RXZ one.

And of course an Enduro handlebar! I will have to change the upper fork bridge to one from an oooold RXZ because it uses normal handlebars.

But that project is still in the future..... i am not a rich guy and Destiny's engine comes first :)

Kind regards.....

Thanh

bro since your talking about kawasaki GTO, are u able to get any original kawasaki GTO or kawasaki AR sport rim?? drooling over it... :angel:

Canadian Pizza's do hav RXZs bro Blur. But most of them uses YBR lah.

Hmmm... The pipes they're using are not internals, they're BUSTED 2ND-HAND pipes bought CHEAP2 at the SCRAPYARD!!! Wakakaka...:angel:

wasn't aware of tat. usually see lots of YBR canadian riders from the west side with rxz head.

any guys here using tank bags on their tank??

our bro philip using it...

bro since your talking about kawasaki GTO, are u able to get any original kawasaki GTO or kawasaki AR sport rim?? drooling over it... :angel:

Sadly sport rims are a rarity here, specially for bikes like RXZ or GTO which are essentially "bread-and-butter" type bikes, used as transportation and not for show/racing/modifying. GTO, just like RXZ, comes with chromed spoke rims in 18" size and i have never seen one even fitted with aluminium rims, let alone sport rims ("mags").

I guess it is possible to fit sport rims from some other bike... but then GTO is purpose-made to look classic (lots of chrome) so i don't think it would be a good match for that bike.

Mine RXZ both have GTO head light :)

Kind regards.....

Thanh

now i get it which is 3bs and catalyzer pipe. haha. my friend got the catalyzer, which is like, too quiet . wanna change to 3bs, using lemang now ... so ... anyone letting go their 3bs ?

I sayangggg my still shining 3bs...:clap:

wasn't aware of tat. usually see lots of YBR canadian riders from the west side with rxz head.

Yeah, u can spot them at Ang Mo Kio and Upper Serangoon ares...

any guys here using tank bags on their tank??

I sometimes use my ragged tank bag too!:bounce: