Originally posted by ah fat@May 6 2006, 02:25 AM

but how come it looks so high abover the handle bar on the normal pic but so low and behind the handle bar on the closeup. haha

on the normal pic, is last time one.. the close up is after i repositioned it.. looks weird to some, but the one on the handle bar looks "weird-er" to me. diff ppl diff opinion though :smile:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v514/aman47/SNC001921.jpg

Honda CBR 150R (Mar 2006-Mar 2008)

Yamaha X1-R (Mar 2008-?????)

• Replies 34.8k

• collectees

• limbat

• Kenneth.C

• ozzarhomb

Aman47, ur blue handle bar blue tue hor, how much ah? where u buy one de? when u buy they instiall for u? and ur IU i find it okie lei, quite nice, if i go the shop where u mod ur IU, how much the shop will charge for a labour ah? hee... :sweat:

Originally posted by r3g9ie@May 6 2006, 09:46 PM

Aman47, ur blue handle bar blue tue hor, how much ah? where u buy one de? when u buy they instiall for u? and ur IU i find it okie lei, quite nice, if i go the shop where u mod ur IU, how much the shop will charge for a labour ah? hee... :sweat:

haha.. the handle bar i bought at midview(bukit batok) there, the shop on the left of the entrance wen u enter. i tink the name hua chin.. $8 for both sides, they install for u.. got many pattern n colours, price range $8-$16.. so i juz buy the cheapest BLUE one.. hehe..

hmm.. not sure leh. u can try chk it out.. sorry :sweat: the place easy to find one. u frm SP, u go clementi rd towards upper bt timah road. den at upper bt timah rd, juz go straight all the way(towards woodlands rd). the shop is on the LEFT shoulder.. if u c "ten mile junction", u overshot liao.. :goodluck:

Originally posted by Aman47@May 6 2006, 10:34 PM

haha.. the handle bar i bought at midview(bukit batok) there, the shop on the left of the entrance wen u enter. i tink the name hua chin.. $8 for both sides, they install for u.. got many pattern n colours, price range $8-$16.. so i juz buy the cheapest BLUE one.. hehe..

hmm.. not sure leh. u can try chk it out.. sorry :sweat: the place easy to find one. u frm SP, u go clementi rd towards upper bt timah road. den at upper bt timah rd, juz go straight all the way(towards woodlands rd). the shop is on the LEFT shoulder.. if u c "ten mile junction", u overshot liao.. :goodluck:

Where and how much u get for the IU holder ah?

1)25th May 2005 - 14 Feb 2007 Cbr 150

2)14th March 2007 Toyota Vios

3)18th april 2008 NSR SP 150

MSN:[email protected]

Originally posted by kahhwee@May 7 2006, 08:04 AM

Where and how much u get for the IU holder ah?

The location is like the one i describe to r3g9ie.. the name of the company is Lee Huat. it's located ard the start of upper bt timah rd, ard ten mile junction there.. erm, it cost me $20 with installation, quite ex cos it's stainless steel bracket.. the normal one i duno how much..

hey guys...mind listing down the top speed u all ever hit?? understand diff ppl results might differ...but jus wanna noe the highest speed u all hit...thks

ya.. the handle grip install at shop better. dn do diy for tat. i change the grip myself end up gotta go bike shop without any grip cos cant push it in... they use air compressor push in chop chop fast one. HA.

20bucks to reposition the IU to a nicer place.. hmmm.. not bad lah..

about to buy my cbr150 liao. but wanted to ask...

the bike shop say a new IU unit is $153 with 5 yr warrenty.

do you think a second hand one wud be wiser?

IU unit need to register or not? if i take 2nd hand one, i tot maybe need to 'transfer ownership' or something, like taking 2nd hand bike. heh.

and lastly,

normally how long does it take to process to buy a new bike?

the same day cannot ride off right?

thanks thanks :cheeky:

Originally posted by pinkster@May 7 2006, 07:23 PM

IU unit need to register or not? if i take 2nd hand one, i tot maybe need to 'transfer ownership' or something, like taking 2nd hand bike. heh.

and lastly,

Yes. Iu need to be register one. If u buy a second hand one, u install it then just go and register for it. Would advice u get a new one, since u can pay for the bike, why not fork out extra money for the IU with 5 yrs of warrenty. :smile:

1)25th May 2005 - 14 Feb 2007 Cbr 150

2)14th March 2007 Toyota Vios

3)18th april 2008 NSR SP 150

MSN:[email protected]

seeing as how got a few new peeps getting cbr150, and all the 'lao da's keep repeating themselves... i tot i'd put up some of the stuff i've learnt from this topic.

(then can save others like Miss who have to read all 200+pages. 2 of us enough already)

NO 1. THE CBR MANUAL IS IN THAI. many people have repeated this and i feel kinda sorry for them.

the following is in alphabetical order.

they are the views of people who have posted in this topic.

Air filter

Air cleaner must change regularly (at abt 10k)

air filter every 15,000km den change once.

the bike already has an air filter mah. airbox is located under the fuel tank.

not so sure about the air cleaner though, i believe it's the first stage of cleaning the air that goes into the airbox, cuz u can see the the air that enters the airbox has to go through the air cleaner. the air filter is probably the secondary stage of air cleaning before the air enters the carb. that's my thoughts, not confirmed

Chain

the chain and sprocket best is to change it after 20,000km. or 15,000km.

new bike, its better to use fully. chain lube has to be sprayed once every 100km. to make the life of the chain longer.

Go buy a degreaser from LAB. Spray on the chain and clean it off with a cloth. Then lube it can liao

The putotine chain wax is quite gd to use.

Clutch

clutch plates usually can last quite long wan, at least 50k. 50k is a rather conservative estimate. unless u slip ur clutch plates a lot!!

even if the clutch plates are worn out chances are that the bike still can move, u will feel it when gg up slopes, u find that u're slowing down even if the RPM remains the same, means the clutch plates are worn out and slipping already.

Coolant

The upper container is for Brake fluid ( Yellowish in Color ) & the lower container which is bigger & greenish/blue in color is the coolant fluid.. .....

Bike shop sell 5 bucks

Add until it is higher then the lower mark by the continer.

1) first open ur rear seat first

2) at the front of the rear seat compartment is an allen key bolt, use a 5mm allen key to unscrew it

3) Remove ur front seat

4) on the left side is a rubber cap for the coolant container

5) pour in a bit of coolant first to gauge the amount of coolant needed. chances are that u're not gg to use even 500ml of coolant. the container is small.

6) upright the bike everytime u top up to coolant to check out the level.

finish liao just reverse the steps to assemble back everything lor.

Engine Oil

every 5000km change engine oil(1 litre ~$8 depending on wat eng oil u use), spark plug($8) and oil fliter.($12)

eng oil use fully syn. semi also can, but change sem eng oil every 2500km.

Explosion sound

Anyway,the other time when i started the bike,there was an explosion sound, not loud enough to deafen but quite audible. Why is that? It happened once only.

It is air inside ya engine when u start la. Nothing one la.

Fuel gauge

Normally when the needle hits the red zone on the fuel gauge there is about 2-3 Lt left in the tank!

Once it first enters the red zone you can usually ride for about 100km still

I did noticed, when u start the bike & the fuel meter needle goes left instead of right, then U are on reserve (1 litre). Normally the needle will go right to indicate fuel level. Full tank is 10.22 litre .............

Muffler

Muffler is the end part of exhaust where most silincing effect takes place. For CBR150 it is the end cylinder of the exhaust bolted below right passenger foot paddle.

It is bolted to the front section of the exhaust by 3 bolts which I think is easy to be taken out......... Usually muffler affect the sound and power very much..... more power louder and more silent less power kind of balancing between them. Wat I am looking for is that muffler that give better power without causing the bike sound like chainsaw.....

The in and out of an engine is very important.... when the out (exhaust) is smooth, the intake (air and feul) also must be equally smooth, then improve on the combustion (sparking) and I believe we can improve the overall performent of the bike without actually modifying the engine......... this give better FC too when combustion is improved.........

Parking

Season parking costs $15 bucks per month. 1 day 50 cents nia. cheap cheap. if use coupons 1 day 1.30 bucks per day. kena caught for no coupon is $8 bucks.

Spark plug

Changed my spark plug to the platinium one. NGK platinium one. wah the difference u can feel straight away man!! she's more free revving i feel, shiok. i keep having to slow down

Model is NGK CR9EGP. dun worry it's listed in the honda parts book as an alternative to our stock NGK plug which is CR8E.

anyway platinium plug selling for 5 bucks at LAB. does ur 15 ringgit include installation? if yes then it's a good deal cuz CBR150R change spark plug very troublesome wan.

just my way of giving a little bit back for all the help the 'lao da's have given me :smile:

Originally posted by sKdiGi@May 7 2006, 04:52 PM

hey guys...mind listing down the top speed u all ever hit?? understand diff ppl results might differ...but jus wanna noe the highest speed u all hit...thks

erm, i tried 130km/hr before. after tt no balls to go further :sweat:

Originally posted by pinkster@May 7 2006, 07:53 PM

seeing as how got a few new peeps getting cbr150, and all the 'lao da's keep repeating themselves... i tot i'd put up some of the stuff i've learnt from this topic.

(then can save others like Miss who have to read all 200+pages. 2 of us enough already)

Wow.. hehe, i also quite blur in these servicing stuffs. this should b very useful.. great work :thumb:

Originally posted by pinkster@May 7 2006, 07:53 PM

NO 1. THE CBR MANUAL IS IN THAI. many people have repeated this and i feel kinda sorry for them.

the following is in alphabetical order.

they are the views of people who have posted in this topic.

Air filter

air filter every 15,000km den change once.

the bike already has an air filter mah. airbox is located under the fuel tank.

not so sure about the air cleaner though, i believe it's the first stage of cleaning the air that goes into the airbox, cuz u can see the the air that enters the airbox has to go through the air cleaner. the air filter is probably the secondary stage of air cleaning before the air enters the carb. that's my thoughts, not confirmed

Chain

the chain and sprocket best is to change it after 20,000km. or 15,000km.

new bike, its better to use fully. chain lube has to be sprayed once every 100km. to make the life of the chain longer.

Go buy a degreaser from LAB. Spray on the chain and clean it off with a cloth. Then lube it can liao

The putotine chain wax is quite gd to use.

Clutch

clutch plates usually can last quite long wan, at least 50k. 50k is a rather conservative estimate. unless u slip ur clutch plates a lot!!

even if the clutch plates are worn out chances are that the bike still can move, u will feel it when gg up slopes, u find that u're slowing down even if the RPM remains the same, means the clutch plates are worn out and slipping already.

Coolant

The upper container is for Brake fluid ( Yellowish in Color ) & the lower container which is bigger & greenish/blue in color is the coolant fluid.. .....

Bike shop sell 5 bucks

Add until it is higher then the lower mark by the continer.

1) first open ur rear seat first

2) at the front of the rear seat compartment is an allen key bolt, use a 5mm allen key to unscrew it

3) Remove ur front seat

4) on the left side is a rubber cap for the coolant container

5) pour in a bit of coolant first to gauge the amount of coolant needed. chances are that u're not gg to use even 500ml of coolant. the container is small.

6) upright the bike everytime u top up to coolant to check out the level.

finish liao just reverse the steps to assemble back everything lor.

Engine Oil

every 5000km change engine oil(1 litre ~$8 depending on wat eng oil u use), spark plug($8) and oil fliter.($12)

eng oil use fully syn. semi also can, but change sem eng oil every 2500km.

Explosion sound

Anyway,the other time when i started the bike,there was an explosion sound, not loud enough to deafen but quite audible. Why is that? It happened once only.

It is air inside ya engine when u start la. Nothing one la.

Fuel gauge

Normally when the needle hits the red zone on the fuel gauge there is about 2-3 Lt left in the tank!

Once it first enters the red zone you can usually ride for about 100km still

I did noticed, when u start the bike & the fuel meter needle goes left instead of right, then U are on reserve (1 litre). Normally the needle will go right to indicate fuel level. Full tank is 10.22 litre .............

Muffler

Muffler is the end part of exhaust where most silincing effect takes place. For CBR150 it is the end cylinder of the exhaust bolted below right passenger foot paddle.

It is bolted to the front section of the exhaust by 3 bolts which I think is easy to be taken out......... Usually muffler affect the sound and power very much..... more power louder and more silent less power kind of balancing between them. Wat I am looking for is that muffler that give better power without causing the bike sound like chainsaw.....

The in and out of an engine is very important.... when the out (exhaust) is smooth, the intake (air and feul) also must be equally smooth, then improve on the combustion (sparking) and I believe we can improve the overall performent of the bike without actually modifying the engine......... this give better FC too when combustion is improved.........

Parking

Season parking costs $15 bucks per month. 1 day 50 cents nia. cheap cheap. if use coupons 1 day 1.30 bucks per day. kena caught for no coupon is $8 bucks.

Spark plug

Changed my spark plug to the platinium one. NGK platinium one. wah the difference u can feel straight away man!! she's more free revving i feel, shiok. i keep having to slow down

Model is NGK CR9EGP. dun worry it's listed in the honda parts book as an alternative to our stock NGK plug which is CR8E.

anyway platinium plug selling for 5 bucks at LAB. does ur 15 ringgit include installation? if yes then it's a good deal cuz CBR150R change spark plug very troublesome wan.

just my way of giving a little bit back for all the help the 'lao da's have given me :smile:

Mine a bit different from u though..air filter and etc.. coz i TOOK 5 days to read from page 1 to 228 that time.. and i gather those quotes and copy paste into notepad then save at desktop.. below are the quotes i copy paste de lol

Honda CBR150

"Bike Production" seems to be cheaper ? (Import themself?)

tires:BT39 Bridgestone

Use fully syn oil,change every 5k mileage (Castrol R4 *Good* )

semi syn oil,change after 2.5k mileage

Change stock tyres ASAP as they are slippery in wet road

Wheels 80/80-17, 80/100-17 good? according to love_ivy(fast)

Air filter(round de) and spark plug 10K then change. Brake fliud is best 1 yr rebleed once.

Model is NGK CR9EGP. dun worry it's listed in the honda parts book as an alternative to our stock NGK plug which is CR8E

Ok I really think all major parts must be changed b4 U reach 30k -like Brakes pad -Clutch plates -Chain -Sprokets & brakes pumps. This I learn thry helping Jillen maintain her bike. She onli changed them when they starts to fail.

Conclusion Castrol R4 oil with Shell V-power petrol = Best (According to kahhwee)

wah both of them really kilat!! let me try to help out a bit too! other more senior CBR150R riders please help to edit if there are discrepancies. please understand that there may be more than 1 suggestions to certain issues cuz different ppl got different views. this post will be on parts purchase\replacement and maintenance only.

1.) Where to buy bike?

Bike production, cheapest price? (parrallel importers)

Mah pte ltd (input please ppl who bought from here)

2.) Tires

Bridgestone BT39 (cage only 1 using??)(cost??)

Dunlop TT900 (limbat using)(good stuff)(abt 140RM)

Golden Boy (ozzarhomb tried before)(dun ever buy it, stock better)

Stock IRC (split comments, not all find it lousy)

tire size 80/80-17, 80/100-17 according to love_ivy(fast)

3.) Engine oil

fully synthetic oil (5000km maximum)

semi synthetic oil (2500km maximum)

Mineral based oil (1000km maximum)

tried and tested

(castrol R4)(fully synthetic)(recommended)

(Castrol Power1)(semi-synthetic)(limbat comment please)

(Castrol Activ)(synthetic based)(smooth, protects engine but not as responsive)

(shell advance S4)(mineral based)(cannot make it)(not worth money)

(shell advance vx)(semi synthetic)(ok only, power1 better, can feel difference)

4.) Air Components

air cleaner (change every 10k)

air filter (change every 15k)

5.) Spark plug (Cage recommend 10k change)(Ozzarhomb recommend 5k change)

(stock is NGK CR8E)

alternative stock models are NGK CR9E

Denso U24ESR-N

Denso U27ESR-N

CR8E (stock)($??)

Denso (stock)(no noticeable difference from stock NGK)(ozzarhomb)

CR8E (platinium)(can feel difference, can feel difference)($5)

CR8E (iridium)(limbat using, please comment)($??)

6.) Brakes (rebleed once a year)(front brake reservoir located at right handlebar)(rear brake reservoir located at bottom right side of rider's seat)

Front brake pump (jilleen comment and explain please)

(putoline brake fluid)(bought for $5.50 bucks at regina)(ozzarhomb)

7.) Coolant (top up when level drop below L when bike is upright)

(Putoline coolant $5 at LAB)

8.) Chain (change when cannot tighten anymore or 20k mileage, whichever comes 1st)

(lube chain weekly)(clean chain with degreaser)

(Putoline chain wax)(review by cage?)

(Putoline chain jelly)(review)

(castrol chain lube)(works well)(messy though)

people who have recently purchased or replaced parts please update this list for everybody's benefit. price, place bought and product review is wat we want to see here. :smile: :smile:

Resolution for 2009, stay healthy, get wealthy, make more friends, ride safely & pass all exams!

Originally posted by kahhwee@May 5 2006, 09:12 AM

U guys r night owls but i guess i would be joining u guys soon when the world cups starts. :offtopic:

ah yes, world cup starts in june right? i'm no soccer fan but think i'll still watch ah. Brazil!! :lovestruck: :cheer:

Resolution for 2009, stay healthy, get wealthy, make more friends, ride safely & pass all exams!

Originally posted by miss@May 5 2006, 01:22 PM

Since we're on the topic of plugs... any comments on iridium spark plug? i was thinking of using it when it's time to change plug.

This mechanic uncle at shell recommend the use of iridium plugs and putoline chain wax (the one where ur chain turns blue!kinda completes the look for the blue cbr 06. hahaha).

iridium plugs works best if the bike is working at high revs so unless u always right fast and hard u won't really benefit from using iridium plugs.

iridium plugs do have a history of short life spans compared to other plugs cuz of it's performance superiority hence shorter life span.

Originally posted by Spark135LC@May 5 2006, 07:35 PM

Hi, the EO I changed cost me RM37.

Regarding the spark plug, RM15 is include labour ...... spore selling S$6?? I go scold that JB motordiam boss..... trust him so much he some more sell me at high price....... have to scold him, no scold can not........

Eh how is the tyres price range like in spore? I guess tyres cost cheaper in spore than in JB. Am I right? I wanna change my tyres, at leat the rear one..... lately everyday rain and the stock tyres is not got on wet road.

well, changing plug for CBR150R is very hard work leh, give some credit to the poor fella who helped u change lah. :cheeky:

tires are slightly cheaper in malaysia. :smile:

Originally posted by pinkster@May 7 2006, 07:23 PM

and lastly,

get a new one and save yourself all the trouble ba, used ones have to do transfer and pay transfer fee.

anyway, i tried to look for a used one sometime back and couldn't find one lor, where is ur shop that has 2nd hand ones? :confused:

good luck in purchasing ur bike!! :smile:

Wa... u guys can write your own guide book for cbr150 already!

Great work! Thanks all!

Even the most precious of memories fade with the passage of time

Wa... u guys can write your own guide book for cbr150 already!

Great work! Thanks all!

Even the most precious of memories fade with the passage of time