Is it worth to lane split just to save on ERP and Time ?  

9 members have voted

1. 1. Is it worth to lane split just to save on ERP and Time ?

• Yes
    • No

In time you will get it. Its like predicting the next move of other road users. For now just ride within your capabilities. :D

For me I usually observe the driving of the drivers. If its erratic then I shall not want to be beside or behind the driver. Chances are the driver is too occupied with something else than safe driving. If the driving is stable and smooth then I will lanesplit. When you see someone lanesplitting faster than you just slow down and move to the side safely to let the person through. Do so only when it is safe. I believe the other rider will understand. Only unreasonable ones will want you to move aside even if its not safe to do so yet. Encountered those before as well only to be ahead of them when traffic comes to a crawl. :cool:

Your point 3 and 4 seems to contradict. Definitely will not be twice the speed but definitely faster than the vehicle beside. If not faster will end up side by side as stated not to do in number 4. If do not want to be side by side of course must be faster right? Lets not confuse the fellow. :cool:

Nope, I don't think they contradict each other. You are not to travel as the same speed as in point 4, but not up to double the speed as in point 3.

• Replies 112

Nope, I don't think they contradict each other. You are not to travel as the same speed as in point 4, but not up to double the speed as in point 3.

I get what you mean, if travel same speed, might as well stay in lane right ? Haha

2014 - current Kawasaki KLX 125

That's one way to put it also. Also scare you are in their blind spot when they lane change.

True, but by not lane splitting, we can minimize the risk of getting into an accident, of course, you can say, by not riding, we can totally avoid an accident, haha.

Wait wait wait. Did you just say this?!

I dont know how long you have been riding, but i have been riding for quite some time now and i can assure that lane splitting reduces the risk of getting into an accident. I have been saved more times lane splitting and staying in the lane like cars actually increases my risk of an accident. But dont be an idiot and speed here and there la. Do it safely, do it responsibly. And wear the appropriate gears. And yes, i ride my YBR with a Full-Face helmet. :cheeky:

To save $1.50,he'll have to cough up more then $1.50 to pay for the repairs for his bike.And injuries on himself if any.

True,he may have done this for quite some time now.Saving $30/mth. Say he's been doing this for 6 months. 6 X $30=$180. And then you saw him getting into an accident.Do you think $180 is enough to fix the damages on his bike? 6 months of rushing to siam the ERP,but 1 accident is enough.

That is the reason why Hospitalisation and Accident Insurance is very important for us riders to take up. Our risk of accidents will always be higher than the average person as long as we ride. This, together with expensive healthcare costs in Singapore, makes it undeniably important for us to be financially covered should such cases happen.

If you guys are interested to know more, you guys can contact me at nine-eight-three-4-5-eight-1-two.

Think the issue here isn't about lane splitting to save on ERP charges. But rather poor time planning that led to him rushing, thus ending up in an accident.

Bad time planning and management will lead to rushing on the road, doesn't need to be rushing to beat ERP. It could be rushing to sch, to beat the rain, rushing to meet friends etc. Even if he wasn't lane splitting, the fact that he was rushing for something might mean that he would probably have ended up in an accident, lane splitting or not.

Lane splitting is safe if done responsibly. If that rider wasn't rushing, he might have been going 5kmph slower during his filtering, but it could mean being able to spot the hazard, react to it and avoid it completely.

Like some of the rest said, I'd rather be drenched to the bone, 30 min late and a few dollars poorer in ERP/petrol than dead or in hospital.

Agree with you bro. It is safe if you do it responsibly, anticipate what other road users are going to do and signal your intentions early. I feel that its the lack of confidence on the road which results in both riders and drivers to end up in accidents.

Riding is one of the things in life where you need to be fully awake and alert to do. A couple if times, I have ever dozed off on my bike while it was raining and the helmet was like a pillow cover your head so nice and warm. In these cases, i will faster go to a nearest HDB void deck, find a nice corer and take a nap there. I do drive as well and i can tell you, you can be half asleep at the wheel and still be extremely safe to you and those around you. On a bike, not so much. The bike is an extension of your body. You will feel every gravel, every screw, nail or plank on the road should you go over them.

A lot of my friends i know who got into accidents all possess 2 traits when riding. The lack of confidence or overconfidence. When you lane split, you need to be confident that you and you bike is in working order and it must do exactly how you command it to do. This is one of the reasons why i encourage those who can, learn how to DIY their bikes themselves if they have the time and ability to. It makes you understand the limitations of both you and your bike.

Secondly, when you are overconfident, you either tend to over-estimate or over calculate your actions or the other road users around you. When lanesplitting, im sure everyone has seen those JB kapcais gunning between cars. All it takes is for one bugger to not signal, check blindspot and just switch lanes.

Proper lane splitting is both a science and an art form. There are so many factors to take in like time of the day, traffic conditions, weather conditions, colour of number plate, type of car, gender of driver, type of driver, type of bike, etc. I can go on and on about what you should watch out for and what type of factor leads to certain types of behaviours, but end of the day, when you are on the road long enough, you will always form a profile of the different types of road users.

Edited by crazydj

I get what you mean, if travel same speed, might as well stay in lane right ? Haha

Good that you get it. Also when lanesplitting always have the mindset that someone is and will just suddenly swerve to change lane. This will keep you able to react better when it hsppens. ;)

I dont know how long you have been riding, but i have been riding for quite some time now and i can assure that lane splitting reduces the risk of getting into an accident. I have been saved more times lane splitting and staying in the lane like cars actually increases my risk of an accident. But dont be an idiot and speed here and there la. Do it safely, do it responsibly. And wear the appropriate gears. And yes, i ride my YBR with a Full-Face helmet. :cheeky:

That is the reason why Hospitalisation and Accident Insurance is very important for us riders to take up. Our risk of accidents will always be higher than the average person as long as we ride. This, together with expensive healthcare costs in Singapore, makes it undeniably important for us to be financially covered should such cases happen.

If you guys are interested to know more, you guys can contact me at nine-eight-three-4-5-eight-1-two.

Agree with you bro. It is safe if you do it responsibly, anticipate what other road users are going to do and signal your intentions early. I feel that its the lack of confidence on the road which results in both riders and drivers to end up in accidents.

Riding is one of the things in life where you need to be fully awake and alert to do. A couple if times, I have ever dozed off on my bike while it was raining and the helmet was like a pillow cover your head so nice and warm. In these cases, i will faster go to a nearest HDB void deck, find a nice corer and take a nap there. I do drive as well and i can tell you, you can be half asleep at the wheel and still be extremely safe to you and those around you. On a bike, not so much. The bike is an extension of your body. You will feel every gravel, every screw, nail or plank on the road should you go over them.

A lot of my friends i know who got into accidents all possess 2 traits when riding. The lack of confidence or overconfidence. When you lane split, you need to be confident that you and you bike is in working order and it must do exactly how you command it to do. This is one of the reasons why i encourage those who can, learn how to DIY their bikes themselves if they have the time and ability to. It makes you understand the limitations of both you and your bike.

Secondly, when you are overconfident, you either tend to over-estimate or over calculate your actions or the other road users around you. When lanesplitting, im sure everyone has seen those JB kapcais gunning between cars. All it takes is for one bugger to not signal, check blindspot and just switch lanes.

Proper lane splitting is both a science and an art form. There are so many factors to take in like time of the day, traffic conditions, weather conditions, colour of number plate, type of car, gender of driver, type of driver, type of bike, etc. I can go on and on about what you should watch out for and what type of factor leads to certain types of behaviours, but end of the day, when you are on the road long enough, you will always form a profile of the different types of road users.

Lengthy but pretty much covers it. :cool:

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

Nice, another input from an experience rider, I have been riding for about half a year, not as experience as you guys yet, nothing wrong with a full face for ybr, no doubt there are saying that "Eee, 2b wearing full face". I'm wearing a full face as well for my 2b bike.

My first bike, piaggio x9, I was decked out in full face, armoured jacked gloves and boots. People laugh at me, but I don't care. I'd rather wipe sweat off than blood.

I think with the power of social media and forums like this, it's changing the stereotypes thinking, I did hear some friends saying those when i asked them why don't they wear a full face, but no one actually laughed at me for wearing a full face on a 2b bike.

Actually, most of the time, it's the effort needed to be geared up all the way.

People argue for a trip to the market slippers shorts singlets.

people also argue for a trip from Changi to Tuas can be done in the same fashion.

Nobody is right and wrong, just each to his own.

P.S. I'm a newbie.

Road hogger @ 50km/h on 4th lane :cool:

A bike can go up till 200km/h, can the rider go up till 200km/h o_O

Nice, another input from an experience rider, I have been riding for about half a year, not as experience as you guys yet, nothing wrong with a full face for ybr, no doubt there are saying that "Eee, 2b wearing full face". I'm wearing a full face as well for my 2b bike.

My first bike, piaggio x9, I was decked out in full face, armoured jacked gloves and boots. People laugh at me, but I don't care. I'd rather wipe sweat off than blood.

Why you guys so sad one?! People actually say such things about you? Haha. In my years of decking out in my FF, not a single soul has ever laughed or made fun of me. I think in life if you have the aura of confidence surrounding you, people will take you seriously. Yes, i have been asked numerous times on why i wear a FF. I tell them straight up, the benefits and end close with how much are their heads worth. Then they either got nothing else to say or come up with a counter-argument which is relatively weak. :cheeky:

When you start wearing a FF, you get used to it. Want to complain hot? Then why you ride? Singapore everyday also hot what. I rather be hot than increase the occurrence of having a serious head injury. My head very important one. Everyday i use!

Actually, most of the time, it's the effort needed to be geared up all the way.

People argue for a trip to the market slippers shorts singlets.

people also argue for a trip from Changi to Tuas can be done in the same fashion.

Nobody is right and wrong, just each to his own.

P.S. I'm a newbie.

I do agree with you. As riders, it is important that we assess the risk and situation around us reasonably. If want to pump petrol, buy groceries, those trips which are short, take into consideration the timing of the day, traffic conditions, etc, then i will wear half face for a less than 5 min trip. Life is all about the level of risk you are currently in and what is your risk appetite. Its important to take risks. Riding a bike is a risk in itself. But always be sure to make calculated risks and not be reckless about it.

Unless you got no family, friends, or dont want to give back to the community, then you can be reckless la. If you in hospital, disabled or die, your family also suffer. Got so many people on this earth who loves you so much i think you owe it to them to keep yourself alive. Hahaha. Back to the original topic, if you want to lane split, make sure you know what you are doing. If you dont, then i recommend you learn the proper techniques and practice safely.

Lastly, @HimQQ, i 100% agree that "Nobody is right and wrong, just each to his own." However, i am the kind of guy who would actually list the pros and cons of protection to my friends first. If they dont wanna listen, then i have already done my job already. I feel as friends, we should share our views and our experience to make a better place. The worst thing would be all of a sudden, you see your friends' in the hospital, with stitches on the face, badly bruised and swollen with internal compound fractures. See a few already feel so bad. Everytime see the news if rider die, heart really pain on the inside because we are all riders.

Aiya, we all should meet up for kopi la. New and experienced riders alike. Can talk c0ck and learn from each other's experience.

I also tell them if it's too hot to wear gear, it's too hot to ride. Lol. Glad to see many sensible riders out here in this thread. :)

Edited by imjustin

I've been riding for over 10 years now and am an advocate of riding with at least gloves and shoes and long pants.

The other day I was in a taxi whose driver was apparently a rider before. Big bike - GSX 1000. He was talking to me about how good some helmets like the Arai's are when u out your head up at 300kph there no wind noise at all ( anybody here can verify this? I don't have that much cash to buy a helmet with that price tag).

Anyway the conversation came to this, he said some crazy riders ride small bike but wear full face, " not hot meh?!" Was the words he uttered.

Well, deep in my heart I was forming a picture of what kind of rider is this, doing 300 kph on a highway in a straight line, borrowing helmet from other people, and laughing at people using full face on small bikes.. Most probably somebody who cares more for how he looks than how he is protected against the dangers of riding..

To my fellow riders here, continue to ride safe despite what others may think, ultimately if you do get into an accident and come walking out of it because you were wearing riding gears, and you know that had you not wear gear you'd be on the way to the hospital.. you will not go out without it again. And I am speaking from first hand experience myself.

Ride fast..ride safe..don't crash...

I've been riding for over 10 years now and am an advocate of riding with at least gloves and shoes and long pants.

The other day I was in a taxi whose driver was apparently a rider before. Big bike - GSX 1000. He was talking to me about how good some helmets like the Arai's are when u out your head up at 300kph there no wind noise at all ( anybody here can verify this? I don't have that much cash to buy a helmet with that price tag).

Anyway the conversation came to this, he said some crazy riders ride small bike but wear full face, " not hot meh?!" Was the words he uttered.

Well, deep in my heart I was forming a picture of what kind of rider is this, doing 300 kph on a highway in a straight line, borrowing helmet from other people, and laughing at people using full face on small bikes.. Most probably somebody who cares more for how he looks than how he is protected against the dangers of riding..

To my fellow riders here, continue to ride safe despite what others may think, ultimately if you do get into an accident and come walking out of it because you were wearing riding gears, and you know that had you not wear gear you'd be on the way to the hospital.. you will not go out without it again. And I am speaking from first hand experience myself.

That's why he's a taxi driver. ;)

Haha. Ya, those who say "small bike need to wear gear meh" I tell them that I don't need to be going at 160kmph for me to get hurt. Any time I fall off my bike above 20kmph is gonna hurt me too.

I'm a cyclist and I've had enough crashes at under 30kmph wearing nothing by Lycra and a helmet and gloves to know better. I have the scars to prove it. In fact, it was after a particularly bad bicycle crash at 30kmph that I bought my first riding jacket. With half the skin on my arm left on the road at that relatively low speed, I shudder to think what would happen if I were on a bike going more than twice that speed.

Me dad (rider for over 30 years) told me its not a matter of if you crash, its when you crash.

I like the suggestion whereby we should all go for kopi somewhere and share our very own experience and learn from one another, but it's so difficult nowadays, people with their work life, living in different areas.

No one actually laughed at me for wearing a full face and other safety gears, no one actually said anything about feeling hot when wearing a full face, but more of like, "later people think i crazy for wearing those stuff". Like that crazydj says, i will just explain to them that in the event of an accident, which gear will give you more protection.

My first accident, am so glad i was wearing those stuff, too bad my shoe gave way and had a minor laceration on my feet, other than that, not much damage to me :sweat:, but bike go for repair $300, heart pain haha :weep: Didn't manage to claim and stuff, lorry from 3rd lane change to 1st lane, i jam break, in time not to hit the lorry but wobbled and fell, not sure the driver act blur or what, just continue.

I like the suggestion whereby we should all go for kopi somewhere and share our very own experience and learn from one another, but it's so difficult nowadays, people with their work life, living in different areas.

No one actually laughed at me for wearing a full face and other safety gears, no one actually said anything about feeling hot when wearing a full face, but more of like, "later people think i crazy for wearing those stuff". Like that crazydj says, i will just explain to them that in the event of an accident, which gear will give you more protection.

My first accident, am so glad i was wearing those stuff, too bad my shoe gave way and had a minor laceration on my feet, other than that, not much damage to me :sweat:, but bike go for repair $300, heart pain haha :weep: Didn't manage to claim and stuff, lorry from 3rd lane change to 1st lane, i jam break, in time not to hit the lorry but wobbled and fell, not sure the driver act blur or what, just continue.

Used to have regular monthly group meet ups with some. However due to other commitments like marriage, family, kids, changed to big bikes, sold off bikes, Korean shows and etc. now no longer meet up regularly. It was fun while it lasted. Its good to know more riders from all over the island because you never know when your bike might break down and you need help in a place you are not familiar with. :bounce:

But all of you so knowledgeable. i only know how to ride bike. Small bike only for transport purposes. I confirm odd one out if meet up.:sweat:

Its a good initiative though. :cool:

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

Slowly seeing more and more 2B bike riders with riding jacket and full face helmet. Thumbs up!

Might be due to a larger variety and sources to acquire these hence its more affordable now. :cool:

KRGT-1

Slowly seeing more and more 2B bike riders with riding jacket and full face helmet. Thumbs up!

Is it, but i know stuff like these don't come cheap, no matter how affordable they are. If going for a full face helmet, then will have another discussion, PSB approved or not, I had enough of that discussion, ever since i read on an article by SGH i think, or NUH, PSB approved helmet, split into 2 pieces during an accident.

Might be due to a larger variety and sources to acquire these hence its more affordable now. :cool:

True, social media platforms or online shops, like facebook, where buyers and sellers can come together easily.

A person's life is worth so much more than the few dollars of erp money.

Of course, but the thing is, will you still lane split, regardless of saving money for erp, after so much discussion, the conclusion is, yes, we will still lane split, but not for the sake of saving that few dollars.

http://rs144.pbsrc.com/albums/r176/seawyatt/Borat.jpg~320x480

KRGT-1

I agree with you.

I thought the discussion was on "lane splitting to siam erp," which I think ain't right.

But when safe to do so and when not endangering others, then yes of course it is okay to lane split!

I agree with you.

I thought the discussion was on "lane splitting to siam erp," which I think ain't right.

But when safe to do so and when not endangering others, then yes of course it is okay to lane split!

It was before actually, then all the rider's opinion started to pour out on this thread, which concluded what i just mention. But it's good though, I learned from the past experiences of season riders.

Is it, but i know stuff like these don't come cheap, no matter how affordable they are. If going for a full face helmet, then will have another discussion, PSB approved or not, I had enough of that discussion, ever since i read on an article by SGH i think, or NUH, PSB approved helmet, split into 2 pieces during an accident.

I dunno.

FF helmet $100

Jacket $150-200 for basic padded one

A&E consultation $105

If you only kena abrasion then you're only out the cost of jacket minus A&E. So thats what $35-90? You go doctor change dressing thrice already $90. PSB means nothing, buy at least ang moh brand helmet with reviews, not LAB crap helmet.

I dunno.

FF helmet $100

Jacket $150-200 for basic padded one

A&E consultation $105

If you only kena abrasion then you're only out the cost of jacket minus A&E. So thats what $35-90? You go doctor change dressing thrice already $90. PSB means nothing, buy at least ang moh brand helmet with reviews, not LAB crap helmet.

Hahaha, lab crap, i myself using a DOT approved helmet, there's another thread going on with PSB approved or not, and I can say, majority don't give a **** if it's PSB approved, DOT or SNELL labelled helmets are more trustworthy.