the prices are as follow:

1. 6mm switch $9

2. 4mm regulator $9

3. 6-4mm adaptor $3

4. metal ribbon $5 (everybody share money buy one roll is more than enough)

5. rear or front brake reservoir $4 - $6

the rest of the things like tubes, screws and cable ties can get in bulk and is cheap so 3-4 person can share one set of the above mentioned items(one person maybe around 4 bucks can liao).

plus minus the whole diy is about 30 bucks...

(sorry my previous calculations abit off cos i didn't include the regulators...)

CLOSING DATE WILL BE ON THE 18TH OF JULY!!!

1. guozz

2. Jack (diy oiler) 96863677

3. ivan

http://www.bmwcoop.com/wp-content/images/2008/12/2009-bmw-s1000rr.jpg
  • Replies 2.6k

Third S4 Mass DIY Outing!!!

Date: 20th July 2005, Wednesday (16th i also cannot make it... sorry!!)

Time: 1400HRS

Rendezvous: LAB Kopitiam

Hands on Venue: Multi Storey Carpark Opp LAB

Basic Stuff:

1. Removal of fuel tank

2. Plug Change

3. Air filter wash

4. Engine oil and oil filter change

5. Coolant Flushing

6. Replace Headlight Bulb

In the Last Session:

1. Neon lights DIY!

(Courtesy by ed127723)

2. Fixing of after-market horn (Stebel Magnum)

(I can teach u guys)

Session Special:

1. Lindavw Simple oiler.

Programmes:

1. Discuss what diy we doing.

2. Make sure we have the correct tools (Walk up and down quite Siong!)

3. Consolidate the money and buy in bulk (CHEAPER)

4. Shopping (About half an hour)

5. Commencement of Hands on.

Organiser: Kaginah (94501526)

Comfirm:

Originally posted by calyban@Jun 22 2005, 11:34 PM

S750WP: wad do u mean by ur oiler being a "squeeze and ride"? Manual squeeze instead of oil flow switch? Wouldnt tt be difficult to gauge how much oil is released?

manually sueeze the oil bottle and let the oil flow to the dripper by gravity. One squeeze is more than enogh to lube the chain, giving it the "wet look".

And normally I lube once a month because too many oil, the engine sprocket cover become oily and dirty.

Current Ride - 2004 Kawasaki Z750

http://www.motorvoordelig.nl/images/laser/pics_hot_kaw_z750_04-.jpg

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

http://jarlef.no/Kawasaki/PDF/2004/PDFfiles/z750PDF04.pdf

Originally posted by kaginah@Jun 23 2005, 03:25 AM

the prices are as follow:

1. 6mm switch $9

2. 4mm regulator $9

3. 6-4mm adaptor $3

4. metal ribbon $5 (everybody share money buy one roll is more than enough)

5. rear or front brake reservoir $4 - $6

the rest of the things like tubes, screws and cable ties can get in bulk and is cheap so 3-4 person can share one set of the above mentioned items(one person maybe around 4 bucks can liao).

plus minus the whole diy is about 30 bucks...

(sorry my previous calculations abit off cos i didn't include the regulators...)

CLOSING DATE WILL BE ON THE 18TH OF JULY!!!

1. guozz

2. Jack (diy oiler) 96863677

3. ivan

This oiler is ex. Mine took less than $10 bucks to built.

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

Basic Stuff:

1. Removal of fuel tank

2. Plug Change

3. Air filter wash

5. Coolant Flushing

In the Last Session:

1. Neon lights DIY!

(Courtesy by ed127723)

(I can teach u guys)

Session Special:

1. Lindavw Simple oiler.

Programmes:

Comfirm:

1. pum9kin h3ad

Originally posted by S750WP@Jun 23 2005, 06:48 AM

This oiler is ex. Mine took less than $10 bucks to built.

in terms of look and user friendly wise... i think 30 bucks is still okay to protect a 100 plus chain...

I met Kaginah when he went down to purchase the parts. Believe me, its worth the $$$ :thumb: . Very professional parts. Not those you find in aquarium shops..

Note: This is not a promotional scheme. I DON'T GET PAID!!!!:mad: :thumb:

1995 Skipper, 1996 Aprilla, 1998 Steed,

1998 RVF, 1999 S4 ver S, 2001 Aprilla,

2003 Spec 1, 2006 Spark 135, 2007 Fazer 1 03,

2008 Spec 3, 2008 Fazer 1 05, 2009 Hayabusa

2010 Yamaha R1, 2010 Suzuki K6, 2011 FZ6S2

Originally posted by ed12772@Jun 23 2005, 12:58 PM

I met Kaginah when he went down to purchase the parts. Believe me, its worth the $$$ :thumb: . Very professional parts. Not those you find in aquarium shops..

Note: This is not a promotional scheme. I DON'T GET PAID!!!!:mad: :thumb:

so hw it work??? :confused:

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/av-12159.gifhttp://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/av-12159.gifhttp://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/av-12159.gif

a switch to stop and on the flow

a regulator to control the flow to suite ur usage... normal maybe 2 drop-3 drop per min... touring or long distance maybe 4-5 drop permin can be adjusted by u...

squeeze bottle oiler may be cheap diy but can u lube the chain constantly throughout ur ride and control the flow that well??

i leave it to u to sort it out!

Basic Stuff:

1. Removal of fuel tank

2. Plug Change

3. Air filter wash

5. Coolant Flushing

In the Last Session:

1. Neon lights DIY!

(Courtesy by ed127723)

(I can teach u guys)

Session Special:

1. Lindavw Simple oiler.

Programmes:

Comfirm:

1. pum9kin h3ad

2. kukubird

http://img133.imageshack.us/img133/6264/kawasaki7an.png
Originally posted by kaginah@Jun 23 2005, 12:42 PM

in terms of look and user friendly wise... i think 30 bucks is still okay to protect a 100 plus chain...

My $10 oiler serves the same function, chain use more than 8000km with 2 adjustment so far.

For your info, mine is cheapo non o-ring chain install by previous owner, and its known not as lasting as o-ring chain, somehow with regular cleaning and lubrication it has last me for one year plus and still looking good.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Originally posted by S750WP@Jun 23 2005, 06:47 AM

manually sueeze the oil bottle and let the oil flow to the dripper by gravity. One squeeze is more than enogh to lube the chain, giving it the "wet look".

And normally I lube once a month because too many oil, the engine sprocket cover become oily and dirty.

ok... think i get the big picture, though still not too sure of the technical details(of course)...

anyway, got a suggestion here: mebbe its better u and kaginah can meet up for an informal comparision on both type of oiler?

the way i see things, its highly possible tt some aspects of S750WP's oiler may be adapted by kaginah's (vice versa), thus allowing cost savings?

nobody would know what is better if we dun lay bare everything to compare, and i'm sure everyone would definitely want better things right? tts the main purpose of this forum: everyone can share wads best for our bikes. :thumb:

personally, i'm curious about the dif in the 2 type of oilers mentioned (squeeze vs switch?) , arent u guys? :confused:

mine 30 bucks compare to his 10 bucks might be abit ex...

but how much is a scott oiler?

the priceyness of lindavw oiler is because the switches are meant for pneumatic usages and its durable... that explains the price... it can be cheap if we use aquarium stuff... but i can swear by my name that it will not last at all...

squeeze btl oiler may be economic but it has no control of the flow... imagine u accidentally squeeze too much? ur rims and tyre wall might be oily... if heng maybe u just wash the bike if sway, u might end up in a hospital...

plus the switch type oiler is at least presentable...

do u want a plastic bottle dangling on ur bike?? and its so catchy that when ppl see they sure have some question marks...

the switch type oiler with regulator installed has the ability to control the oil flow to suite ur needs...

1 drop per min till 5-6 drops per min is up to u to set in a matter of a few minutes time...

is $20 difference really worth saving after reading this??

Originally posted by kaginah@Jun 24 2005, 12:42 AM

mine 30 bucks compare to his 10 bucks might be abit ex...

but how much is a scott oiler?

the priceyness of lindavw oiler is because the switches are meant for pneumatic usages and its durable... that explains the price... it can be cheap if we use aquarium stuff... but i can swear by my name that it will not last at all...

squeeze btl oiler may be economic but it has no control of the flow... imagine u accidentally squeeze too much? ur rims and tyre wall might be oily... if heng maybe u just wash the bike if sway, u might end up in a hospital...

plus the switch type oiler is at least presentable...

do u want a plastic bottle dangling on ur bike?? and its so catchy that when ppl see they sure have some question marks...

the switch type oiler with regulator installed has the ability to control the oil flow to suite ur needs...

1 drop per min till 5-6 drops per min is up to u to set in a matter of a few minutes time...

is $20 difference really worth saving after reading this??

Mine oiler is Loobman concept, it doesn;t drip to the chain like the socttolier concept which needs to controls 1 drop per minute, instead the oil is slowly flowing onto both side of the sprocket though 2 small cable tie lubricating both side of the chain.

Scottoiler is dripping oil constantly on the move, hence need to control oil drip. Loobman concept is oil the chain and kept it moist till the next oiling. I have installed scottoiler on my previous bike and I know exactly how the scottoiler work.

The Loobman squeeze oiler although dont look good as the scottoiler but it serves the same purpose of oiling the chain in a economical way. Btw I been using the sqeeze bottle oiler for more than a year, the tire side wall never show a single trace of oil.

Loobman

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Wow...

Both kaginah and S750WP have made their point very clearly.

To sum up:

-cheaper (ard $10)

-not as presentable as lindavw (scottoiler) oiler (refer to posted pics)

-flow based lubrication (lubricant is applied onto the chain by 2 cable ties in direct contact wif the sprocket, lubricant on the sprocket is then centrifugated onto the chain when riding)

-squeeze bottle control of lubricant flow

-cost more (ard $30)

-more presentable (refer to posted pics)

-drip based lubrication (lubricant is dripped onto the chain directly by means of tubings positioned directly above the chain)

-regulator wif switch control of lubricant drip

Arguments in question:

(Issue 1)

-kaginah argues that S750WP (loobman) oiler lacks lubricant regulalting control wif the squeeze bottle concept, thus may cause serious flings due to overlube

-S750WP does not refute fling directly but imply control (by "gravity") is possible when he mentions he lubes only once a month. Also can personally back it up;

"Btw I been using the sqeeze bottle oiler for more than a year, the tire side wall never show a single trace of oil."

The Loobman website does acknowledges that heavy flings are possible wif overapplication (refer to Loobman website's FAQ) but which oiler doesnt cause flings when overapplied?

(Issue 2)

-kaginah justified the cost of lindavw oiler with its high quality components (vouched by fellow forumer ed12772).

-S750WP has been using his cheaper oiler for over a year, thus time-proven. (Can tell us if its still ok? any particular wear/tear or replacements done?)

(Issue 3)

-kaginah points out that lindavw's scottoiler has better outlook as its more compact. Judging from the pics posted, i have to agree wif him, but i also feel tt this issue is not much of a problem if can technically modify the bottle's position to be under the seat. (S750WP, possible?)

-----------------------

I think S750WP's emphasis is that his loobman oiler is of a dif concept to lindavw's scottoiler, but it can achieve the same purpose of lubing the chain even wif cheaper components (right?).

In my opinion, the choice of which oiler is better then ultimately lies with personal preferances liao.

The more impt consideration between the two:

1) their technical functioning -loobman's oil application to sprocket first then chains, or scottoiler's direct drip onto chain.

2)cost and componets- $30 high end stuff, or $10 (but can tahan usage for 1+ yr. even more?)

3) operation and outlook- squeezing vs turning knobs, bottle vs reservoir + regulator/switch.

I still feel that such issues arise cos we dun have the chance to examine first hand the loobman concept oiler lah, most of us at the 2nd diy saw lindavw's scottoiler liao, so more/less can relate to its functioning (S750WP claims he has personal experiences with scottoiler himself).

kaginah, dun think u examined the loobman type oiler b4 right, have u?

I'm not taking any sides here, just trying to figure out myself the workings of the 2 oiler so can decide which i like better. Hope i am presenting this particular argument objectively enough and have not offended anyone.

kaginah and S750WP, pls feel free to correct me if i have misinterpreted anything.

u are right!

thanks for making the point :p

i personally have not examined the loobman oiler before but i think its the cheapest oiler u can find in the market. right?

we cant say which one is better in terms of the end user which will be u guys... each have their own preference... some may like loobman some may fancy lindavw oiler...

what u guys need to know are just the facts and how this thing works...

$10, $30, $150 oiler,

they all do the same job

just that...

in which manner?

Actually before i invented my oiler, tot of using the loobman oiler. The effect is all the same oil still flings to the rims la.

loobman oiler the bottle can be hidden anywhere as long as u can get to squeeze it no problem.

loob man oiler need no high end stuff. normal fish tank stuff can work already but i guarantee u that fish tank stuff is dirt cheap but it leaks... and once it leaks, it will leak non stop.

As for my oiler i prefer a switch control cos whenever u think u wan to on u juz turn on when u wan to off u juz turn off simple. loobman 1 still muz open seat if u place the bottle inside ur seat. hence i designed everything to be outside n accessible.

1 point to note. there is actually a way to minimise the flings to the rims... heehee... but my current oiler havent put it on too....hahahaha

Loobman oiler i have a fren using it so to me not much difference but only if u 1 2 mount the bottle outside (not under the seat) for ez access then it looks really weird. my oiler is design ok n drip ok... in all both oiler using gravity to control the flow of the lube.

O ya 1 thing my oiler u can use any SAE oil to lube n the drip will be constant to ur liking once u have set the drip per min. but loobman oiler if u dun have a regulator like mine, if u use a thinner SAE oil, the drip will be damn fast.

Life Is Never Fair.

Some pple slog for the paper in their wallet.

Some slog to feed the paper to the pple w/o the wallet.

okay dun off topic le go back to original topic... those coming can put in ur names...

Guest enHANZed

who can help me with DIY this sunday ? 26th june ... i need to change plugs , air filter ..maybe change engine oil and oil filter

Basic Stuff:

1. Removal of fuel tank

2. Plug Change

3. Air filter wash

5. Coolant Flushing

In the Last Session:

1. Neon lights DIY!

(Courtesy by ed127723)

(I can teach u guys)

Session Special:

1. Lindavw Simple oiler.

Programmes:

Comfirm:

1. pum9kin h3ad

2. kukubird

3.FoxracingINC82(97588866)

eh... i don't know where is lab pls enlighten me thanks

Originally posted by foxracingINC82@Jun 25 2005, 10:18 AM

just wanna ask... the DIY session is u demo how to change only... or u will teach while we do it ???

if someone is doing with u you can see the demo or else we'll guide you step by step!

Originally posted by enHANZed@Jun 25 2005, 03:04 AM

who can help me with DIY this sunday ? 26th june ... i need to change plugs , air filter ..maybe change engine oil and oil filter

i'm working leh...

maybe u wanna join us at the DIY session... change ur EO and oil filter first lor...

plug change i can guide u... LAD sell Gpower 5 each only... DIY sure cheaper...