hey dont forget me if you can import at that price, i am sure many ex-vmax riders will be keen,,,:D

already i see familiar nick appearing...howdee rick

wanna ride with madness?

http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f340/maxxmadness/madness00.jpg

• Replies 1.3k

Vmaxers/ex-Vmaxers/future Vmaxers......can we have at least 10 keen and firm, prior future discussionon on this :D

1. MI_R1

Bringing your own vehicle:-

Import duties on cars and motorcycles are very high in Singapore, so be prepared to pay through your nose to bring your vehicle in. However, if you are bent on bringing along your vehicle, there's definitely a lot you need to know. The following information is courtesy of the Land Transport Authority (LTA). Visit their website for more information.

You may bring your own vehicle to Singapore only if it is less than 3 years old. The age of a used vehicle is reckoned from the date of its first registration in a foreign country.

A surcharge of $10,000 is payable for each imported used car registered in Singapore.

Your vehicle must pass a mechanical inspection at the LTA before it can be registered. The requirements are:

All safety glass fitted must have not less than 70% light transmittance and must not contain any metallic oxide coating.

Exhaust emmission standards as specified by either the European Directive 91/441/EEC or Article 31 of the Japanese Safety Regulation. A certificate of compliance is required.

Vehicle must be able to use unleaded petrol.

Vehicle must have asbestos-free brake and clutch lining.

If your vehicle meets all these requirements and you are still convinced you want to import it into Singapore, here's what you must do:

If the vehicle you are importing is manufactured in one of the European Community countries, obtain the EEC Certificate of Conformity issued by the manufacturer for the car from the manufacturer or agent.

If the vehicle is manufactured in Japan, obtain the Completion Inspection Certificate issued by the manufacturer for the car from the manufacturer or agent

Alternatively, the vehicle can be tested overseas at any recognised vehicle testing laboratory for a Certificate of Compliance with Exhaust Emission Standards together with a Test Report and a Safety Glass Certificate.

Obtain proof that the vehicle is new or has never been registered for use (eg manufacturer's invoice, V308 Registration Document issued by the Department of Transportation, London, etc). For a used vehicle, the vehicle registration document issued by the foreign authority is required.

Technical specifications/catalogue issued by the manufacturer if the vehicle is a new make or model previously not imported into Singapore (eg technical catalogue).

Declaration form for asbestos-free brake and clutch lining.

Arrange for shipment of the vehicle to Singapore. Arrange with a shipping agent to obtain an Inward Cargo Clearance Permit. Your agent will have to submit a joint application to the Trade Development Board (TDB) and the Customs & Excise Department (CED) using the Tradenet System.

The CED will assess the Open Market Value (OMV) of your vehicle and customs duty will be levied at 41 or 12 per cent of the OMV.

Still with us? Good, you're already half way there. The next step is to register your vehicle, although that can be done on your behalf by a agent.

Submit items (1) through (6) listed in the preceeding section for verification at the New Registration Section, LTA, 10 Sin Ming Drive, Singapore 575701. The LTA will then notify you to send your vehicle for inspection.

Get a Certificate of Entitlement (COE) and obtain insurance coverage for your.

Submit vehicle particulars at any computer service terminal at the Singapore Network Services (SNS) Service Centre, Bugis Junction and collect your Vehicle Registration Application Form.

At the New Registration Section of the LTA, submit the following:

Vehicle Registration Application Form

COE (issued by LTA as Temporary Certificate of Entitlement)

Original passport or a Certified true copy of the Company Registration Certificate (if the vehicle is to be registered under a company's name)

Original insurance cover note or certificate of insurance

Notification of PARF benefit / COE rebate (if any)

Successful bidding letter for Vehicle Registration Number (if any)

In one cheque made payable to the Land Transport Authority, pay the registration fee of $1,000 for private registration and $5,000 for company registration. There is an Additional Registration Fee (ARF) of 150% of the vehicle's OMV.

Collect the following from the New Registration Section at LTA upon registration:

COE

Registration Card / Log Card

Road Tax disc

Insurance Cover Note or Certificate of Insurance

Bringing your own motorcycle

The regulations and procedures for importing a motorcycle are about the same as those for bringing in a car. The significant differences are:

The customs duty is levied at 12% of the OMV instead of 41%

All motorcycles must comply with the exhaust emission standard specified in the United States Code of Federal Regulations (40 CFR 86.410-80). Note that testing of the exhaust emission is not available in Singapore.

ARF is computed at 15% of the OMV

Congratulations! After all that (phew!) you are now ready to hit the roads.

any idea wad's the OMV of the new Max? probably we will be able to get the bike at a lower price if it's for export cos some taxes won't apply.. Put my name as number 2 on the list!

Ricky, what is your max budget?

http://img62.imageshack.us/img62/5999/sbfsignature.jpg
i have to have one of these in my fleet one of these days..:D

Indeed....

BTW, do you have time to check on my request?

@maxbg

my bad, totally forgot about it..:sorry:

Yes it is possible, you can have mine since it is taking space in my store room.

wanna ride with madness?

@maxbg

my bad, totally forgot about it..:sorry:

Yes it is possible, you can have mine since it is taking space in my store room.

Wow! Thanks bro! I'll contact you during this weekend to arrange for collection. Makan and drinks on me.

Australian exchange rate is currently 1.26, not very favourable to import from there!

The price on the aussie website is MSRP on the road with 10%GST included. Still 10K cheaper than SGP after conversion.

I guess the best is to import from USA but also need to consider shipping and crating cost.

Perhaps someone can talk to Mr.Lee from Loois motor to consider one time import of the bikes.

The price on the aussie website is MSRP on the road with 10%GST included. Still 10K cheaper than SGP after conversion.

I guess the best is to import from USA but also need to consider shipping and crating cost.

Perhaps someone can talk to Mr.Lee from Loois motor to consider one time import of the bikes.

AU$31299 (minus 10% GST) X 0.90 X 1.26 = S$35493.066

To import bike, take OMV (machine price + freight/handling charges ) + 12% ARF + 7% GST

If it costs AU$1k per machine to import, then the machine price becomes S$44044.87

Add COE, road tax, insurance and you're quite close to the 50k OTR price.

I was thinking of importing too, but turns out Motorcycle prices here (Japanese bikes at least) are amongst the cheapest already. No choice, we're the victim of the tax system.

Importing from USA might be a better option, but the bikes there come with MPH meters and Left hand drive headlight optics (Kink is on the right side, to light up the kerb, unless it comes with universal 'flat' beam pattern).

AU$31299 (minus 10% GST) X 0.90 X 1.26 = S$35493.066

To import bike, take OMV (machine price + freight/handling charges ) + 12% ARF + 7% GST

If it costs AU$1k per machine to import, then the machine price becomes S$44044.87

Add COE, road tax, insurance and you're quite close to the 50k OTR price.

I was thinking of importing too, but turns out Motorcycle prices here (Japanese bikes at least) are amongst the cheapest already. No choice, we're the victim of the tax system.

Importing from USA might be a better option, but the bikes there come with MPH meters and Left hand drive headlight optics (Kink is on the right side, to light up the kerb, unless it comes with universal 'flat' beam pattern).

Neo... you are right that the Jap bikes prices in Singapore is already very low. But the Vmax is still overpriced by the local distributor.

Your comparison of the Aus price and Sgp price of the Vmax includes double taxation. the 31K AUD also includes 10% import duty that you did not take into consideration.

Neo... you are right that the Jap bikes prices in Singapore is already very low. But the Vmax is still overpriced by the local distributor.

Your comparison of the Aus price and Sgp price of the Vmax includes double taxation. the 31K AUD also includes 10% import duty that you did not take into consideration.

I removed it already ( X 0.90 )

Maybe HL wants to make VMax more exclusive? The MT-01 was quite over-priced too.

I'm still itching to try one though! I heard it spins up easier than it wheelies! Whoo hoo...

I propose Jalan Kayu or Simpang Bedok 9 PM.... :thumb:

Friday....Hari Raya, likely no go for the Muslims.

As for me, driving up north.

Counter propose.....Thursday Evening after work :D

i aint good at calculation but i am all game if it is around S$40K

slowly i am beginning to accept the fact that if i want to ride the new vmax, i just have to fork out that S$50K..:sian:

wanna ride with madness?

I removed it already ( X 0.90 )

Maybe HL wants to make VMax more exclusive? The MT-01 was quite over-priced too.

I'm still itching to try one though! I heard it spins up easier than it wheelies! Whoo hoo...

10%GST is already inclusive into the price. Import duty is another 10%. so you should (X 0.8)

http://www.customs.gov.au/webdata/resources/files/importguidePrivOwnMV.pdf

BTW, The MT-01 now only 21K (OTR).

Friday....Hari Raya, likely no go for the Muslims.

As for me, driving up north.

Counter propose.....Thursday Evening after work :D

I am flexible..... Thursday is also ok with me. :thumb:

i aint good at calculation but i am all game if it is around S$40K

slowly i am beginning to accept the fact that if i want to ride the new vmax, i just have to fork out that S$50K..:sian:

I agree with you. 40k OTR is the highest amount the rest of the world is paying. quite Fair.

Kopi Session

Date : 26/11/09 Thursday

Time : 9pm

Venue: Simpang Bedok

1) MI_R1

2) Maxbg

Ex Owner, Future owner, Current owner or just Enthusiast all are welcomed to join us.

Edited by maxbg
Yeeeha, Vmax Kopi Session!

Will you still be around 11.00pm??? I can only be there that late....

cheers#

Kai

Sure Kai. Pls PM me your contact so that I can update you about our location.