Hayabusa

Guest AddiCt

http://www.motorcyclenews.com/content/images/News/news_stories/images/01332971.jpg

400 BHP Hayabysa

Paul Richardson has a Hayabusa. It makes 348bhp. He isn’t finished yet. He wants it to make 400bhp.

And it’s road legal… sort of. It has topped 216mph at Elvington, Yorks and the secret is… well owner Richardson, from Hull isn’t saying

The bike could be famous soon – it’s being lined up for a crack at Britain’s land speed record for a road-going production bike. This currently stands at 217mph.

Richardson said: " When it’s finished, it will break the record without any problem. "

" I have the skills, the equipment and the backing to put it beyond 400bhp and reach more than 240mph. "

And it will remain a road-going machine throughout the whole process. " I’ve bought my road tax for the next 12 months and I’m not wasting that money, " Richardson said.

Suspension specialist Maxton Engineering is designing a whole new set-up for Richardson and a new JMC swingarm is on the way, along with Dymag wheels.

The engine uses reprofiled Kent Cams, there’s a stainless steel exhaust from local specialists Wunoff and gear changes come courtesy of a Racegadgets quickshifter.

Stopping power is boosted with steel-braided brake lines from HEL Performance and the clutch has been strengthened by U.S. firm MTC Engineering.

Richardson estimates the project will have eaten up £20,000 by the time it hits the magic 400bhp, although much of that has been provided in sponsorship.

Richardson has already been through six rear tyres since the project began four weeks ago! He said: " Sometimes we can measure how long they last in days rather than miles. But when we are using them on the road, they last brilliantly. "

Think he can break the record? Fancy riding a brute like that on the road? Have your say in TALK BIKES, you’ll find a thread in TALK NEWS, called 400bhp Busa.

wooooooo.. that a powerful bike... i mean really powerful machine... :pity:

:shy: cHrIsOnAnCe :makeup:

:box: OnE tHaT s|tS oN PoRcH sW|Ng :cheeky:

:lovestruck: aPaRt By E mOOn N sTaRs :lovestruck:

:smooch: LoOk|nG @ skY tH|NkInG :dozed: oF CB1000/Fz1000 !!!:smooch:

• Replies 648

Presenting the new 2003 busas:

http://www.suzukicycles.com/sr_03/sportstreet/images/1300a.jpg

http://www.suzukicycles.com/sr_03/sportstreet/images/1300b.jpg

http://www.suzukicycles.com/sr_03/sportstreet/images/1300c.jpg

New Features

Titanium-nitride-coated inner fork tubes for reduced friction and improved appearance.

Gold-colored brake calipers for improved appearance.

http://http//content2.i-am-bored.com/images/instantninja_456876.jpg

Looks like the new busas have Ohlins type forks.....Titanium-nitride coat on the forks........ all you need are the Ohlins stickers to complete the look.......

Nice touch but they really need to improve on other things rather than just 'improved appearance'.......

Looks like the new busas have Ohlins type forks.....Titanium-nitride coat on the forks........ all you need are the Ohlins stickers to complete the look.......

Nice touch but they really need to improve on other things rather than just 'improved appearance'.......

You mean that suzuki should include ohlins stickers into their package in 2003??

Why I ride....\"Modern travelling is not travelling at all; it is merely being sent to a place, and very little different from becoming a parcel.\" -- John Ruskin

Was wondering about that.... I think they try and make the BLACK busa as BLACK as possible..... its suppose to be a special edition.....

Maybe Suzuki has run out of ideas to improve the busa..... they were talking about a V-Twin busa to improve pick up.... but I guess not now.....

So we have to wait and see......

Guest GuiNNeSS
how come the all black haya doesn't seem to have gold callipers and nitride forks? hmm..........

You never hear about the news meh Lychee?

Suzuki and Honda have decided to reduce cost and jointly produce the new BLACKBIRD! And Honda very conservative about flashy colours, so no gold bits!!!!! :eek:

Was wondering about that.... I think they try and make the BLACK busa as BLACK as possible..... its suppose to be a special edition.....

Maybe Suzuki has run out of ideas to improve the busa..... they were talking about a V-Twin busa to improve pick up.... but I guess not now.....

So we have to wait and see......

actually the forks seem to come from the gixxer thous... but what i am wondering is... if the Gixxer thou 03 will have black colour fork stanchions then why dont the busa 03 share that kind of fork??

kinda makes u wonder how the engineering teams in suzuki are formed... issit gixxerthou got one team on its own.. and busa another on their own... and not joined...hmmzzz

its time for a change!

New attraction coming soon!

The first busa I bought was a used (640 mi) silver/grey 2002. Second day I had her the starter ground down to powder and cracked the case. I got lucky and the owner gave a a brand new 2002 black/blue off the showroom floor for 200 dollars more. Now I work for Tucson Motorsports and I get the inside poop. There is a recall for the starter clutch in the 2002 busa. If any of you have noticed a significant "clunk" when trying to start your 2002 busa. Be very careful. What is happening is the compression being so high, the starter is being turned backwards when you are trying to turn it forwards. I have all the parts ordered on a repair order free of charge from suzuki. You can do the same. Go to your dealer and tell them that sometimes when you start her that you hear and feel a big "clunk" like the starter is being thrown backwards and that you have heard there is a recall on the starter clutch of the 2002 busa. They will order all new parts including the starter to fix this problem. The 2003 has a starter gear 3 times as massive and incorporates a torque limiter so if the engine tries to shoot backwards the starter clutch wil slip instead of cracking the casing. I think captain should pin this to the top for a time so it does not get buried in the threads.

I can post the exact numbers of the recall and every part needed to be replaced if anyone has some problem with their dealer

guys this can be found on hayabusa.org ... how true is this info

anyone???

Another cost-saving effort for the company. I believe the forks were from the GSX-R1000?

http://carblueprints.info/design/images/logos/triumph-logo.png

Guest GuiNNeSS

Can't remember where..... somewhere on line, I read that the black Busa was launched to get rid of excess Hayabusa parts. All black models always seem to sell well.

Maybe a new model is on the way..... 4 yrs liao leh.....

someone told me that the new busas have v-twin engines....said he even saw the catalogue..... Probably faster pick up but at the cost of top speed since it isn't an issue anymore.......

there was talk about it for a long time but only recently, someone told me he had seen the 'new' catalogue.... Personally, I haven't seen it yet but it could be possible as top speed is no more a concern...... Probably a V4....

wow... looks funny leh... the colour makes it look very ermmmm inexpensive... like owner respray funny taste... anyway one man's meat is another man's poison..

i wonder when they will change the busa's shape though... wonder will they go the SHARP SHARP tail look... or maybe change dual headlights... its been quite some time.... ;)

its time for a change!

New attraction coming soon!

Guest GuiNNeSS

The pic is for the "Anniversary Edition". It's actually a reddish copper, very similar (probably same, but i have not seen in flesh) as the '03 GSXR1000 Black/Copper. ;)

....I think i prefer the '02 All Black version better though. :shades:

wow... looks funny leh... the colour makes it look very ermmmm inexpensive... like owner respray funny taste... anyway one man's meat is another man's poison..

i wonder when they will change the busa's shape though... wonder will they go the SHARP SHARP tail look... or maybe change dual headlights... its been quite some time.... ;)

iagree too tat the color look a bit out of the world ... but it's a limited edition so must special a bit