where 2 fix a loud horn?  

20 members have voted

1. 1. where 2 fix a loud horn?

• JB motordiam RM$65 - including installation
    • JB car shop RM$55 - including installation
    • BMW car's horn fr scrap yard $?
    • mustaffar centre $18 - exculding installation
    • LAB $23 including installation (MUST hv 10 bikes)

• Replies 112

With all due respect, I do not think its a good idea to send your bikes to JB for servicing. This is because it will be your first time sending your bike to the mechanic. If he screws it up then you're going to be dissapointed during the trip. If you need someone in Singapore, I can recommend. Perhaps we can go on a Saturday.

And, please make sure the mechanic do not screw up your circuits. You will need the lights on the way back! Make sure thay use a relay or your fuse might go! Connecting a electric air horn is not as easy as just connecting it like an ordinary horn.

So please be careful.

Bi cents worth ....

have bike will travel . . . . .

www.kruzer.sg

With all due respect, I do not think its a good idea to send your bikes to JB for servicing. This is because it will be your first time sending your bike to the mechanic. If he screws it up then you're going to be dissapointed during the trip. If you need someone in Singapore, I can recommend. Perhaps we can go on a Saturday.

And, please make sure the mechanic do not screw up your circuits. You will need the lights on the way back! Make sure thay use a relay or your fuse might go! Connecting a electric air horn is not as easy as just connecting it like an ordinary horn.

So please be careful.

Bi cents worth ....

thanks 4 the advise :smile:

Ya.. heard from friends too that connecting those wires gota be very careful.. any wrong connection may short circuit and damage the CDI and whatsoever.... :sian: :sian:
u have a nice pic!!!

To be old and wise, u gotta be young and stupid

在绝望中坚强

I also wanna go fix horn and alarm. but if all of us go at the same time, wouldn't the last person being "serviced" (hehe!) have to wait see bay long?

Also, has anyone had any experience with the JB bikeshops? The last thing I think anyone wants is to have their bikes screwed up. My bike is 4 days old and still very shiny leh. Scared later screw up...

My geeky ramblings:http://meandmyphones.blogspot.com/

I also wanna go fix horn and alarm. but if all of us go at the same time, wouldn't the last person being "serviced" (hehe!) have to wait see bay long?

Also, has anyone had any experience with the JB bikeshops? The last thing I think anyone wants is to have their bikes screwed up. My bike is 4 days old and still very shiny leh. Scared later screw up...

Haha.. new bike siah.. :p

Got a good news to share... Maybe we can get a electric air horn in sg for a cheap price... According to Pupu.. the set cost abt $18 without installation.... :bounce: :bounce:

mustaffar centre. there got sell at $18 with relay.

Your best friend in forum :: Search ::

BTW, how does the electric horn sound like? Is it the Japanese car type (single note) or continental car type (double/triple notes making a musical chord).

Erm... duno how to describe.... u heard those lorry horn b4? trailers etc... the sound is like those... :D :D

Ya.. thats what pupu told me also.... 2nd storey the shop selling car accessories one... :p

well, maybe u have to drop down there and have a look. Coz i rem the hella ones are always out of stock and only left with the fiamm ones (he didnt tell u that right?) and the hella ones are much more sleeker and nicer looking, not forgetting a louder decibel too.

installing an electric horn (loud horn) is for safety purpose. some cars tend 2 ignore bikes' horn & some cars got sound proof features.

here r some options available:

fixing in JB motordiam

1. JS auto parts enterprise (inside ah gua st) - RM$65 including installation.

2. car shop next to JS - RM$55 including installation.

Fixing in SG

1. get a BMW car's horn fr scrap yard & fix ourself/ask motordiam 2 fix.- $??

2. get fr mustaffar centre & fix ourself/ask motordiam 2 fix - $18 excluding installation

for those guys who 1 2 fix the horn pls suggest.

p.s how 2 add a vote on top of the pg? :confused:

installing an electric horn (loud horn) is for safety purpose. some cars tend 2 ignore bikes' horn & some cars got sound proof features.

here r some options available:

fixing in JB motordiam

1. JS auto parts enterprise (inside ah gua st) - RM$65 including installation.

2. car shop next to JS - RM$55 including installation.

Fixing in SG

1. get a BMW car's horn fr scrap yard & fix ourself/ask motordiam 2 fix.- $??

2. get fr mustaffar centre & fix ourself/ask motordiam 2 fix - $18 excluding installation

for those guys who 1 2 fix the horn pls suggest.

p.s how 2 add a vote on top of the pg? :confused:

goto your first post. click edit.

at the bottom, there's a "Add a poll" section.

Enter your poll qn: where to fix horns?

poll options, enter your first option: go jb fix

press the add option button and it will refresh the page. then add in the second options and add button again. continue till u add in all the options.

then submit. thats all.

goto your first post. click edit.

at the bottom, there's a "Add a poll" section.

Enter your poll qn: where to fix horns?

poll options, enter your first option: go jb fix

press the add option button and it will refresh the page. then add in the second options and add button again. continue till u add in all the options.

then submit. thats all.

tks Andy :smile:

well, maybe u have to drop down there and have a look. Coz i rem the hella ones are always out of stock and only left with the fiamm ones (he didnt tell u that right?) and the hella ones are much more sleeker and nicer looking, not forgetting a louder decibel too.

Ya.. maybe gota go down take a look first... Thanks Andy :p

I choose fix in JB option 2, cheapest of all. Mass install maybe can be cheaper further.

Current Ride - 2004 Kawasaki Z750

http://www.motorvoordelig.nl/images/laser/pics_hot_kaw_z750_04-.jpg

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

http://jarlef.no/Kawasaki/PDF/2004/PDFfiles/z750PDF04.pdf

r u joining us? :confused:

I just wan to check out the shop in JB, dun intend to fix.

Current Ride - 2004 Kawasaki Z750

http://www.motorvoordelig.nl/images/laser/pics_hot_kaw_z750_04-.jpg

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

http://jarlef.no/Kawasaki/PDF/2004/PDFfiles/z750PDF04.pdf

The present exchange rate for the Malaysian Ringgit is 2.16. That means the RM55 horn from the car shop on JB is S$25.46, already more than LAB's price of S$23.

Riding all the way to JB will also up the cost of the horn in terms of petrol for those not living Woodlands (me in Tampines).

Also, personally I don't mind paying S$5 (LAB-S$23 minus Mustaffa-S$18) for someone to install the horn for me.

UNLESS, people want to think of it as a fun trip, where we can ride in a group, have a little adventure finding the place, bargaining and going for makan or something like that, then it's a different story.

My geeky ramblings:http://meandmyphones.blogspot.com/