Originally posted by Pauche@Feb 20 2004, 10:32 AM

small bikes usually show higher speed on the speedo than big bikes. My friend Super 4 showed 110kmh when my wave shows 145kmh. Another factor is also the change in front sprocket size that affects the speedo accuracy.

I guess most ppl who r riding wave or smaller bikes should know more or less that the small bike's speedo is inaccurate. And also....not only by changing the front sprocket size will affect the speedo......even the rear 1 also will affect.

And also....... ur fren's S4's speedo was 110km/h when u reached 145km/h? Hmm.......i ask me fren to ride my S4 to follow my wave be4 also, but wave 120km/hr=S4 100km/hr. So means u only get 10km/hr more top end after changing the carb.......which in turn cost u more petrol consumption?

Moral of the story............is the 10km/hr extra top end, worth the extra fuel consumption? Everyone think for urself. :shades:

• Replies 3.9k

Originally posted by ^RaCe@Feb 20 2004, 03:15 PM

I guess most ppl who r riding wave or smaller bikes should know more or less that the small bike's speedo is inaccurate. And also....not only by changing the front sprocket size will affect the speedo......even the rear 1 also will affect.

And also....... ur fren's S4's speedo was 110km/h when u reached 145km/h? Hmm.......i ask me fren to ride my S4 to follow my wave be4 also, but wave 120km/hr=S4 100km/hr. So means u only get 10km/hr more top end after changing the carb.......which in turn cost u more petrol consumption?

Moral of the story............is the 10km/hr extra top end, worth the extra fuel consumption? Everyone think for urself. :shades:

Well said!!n well calculated!! Anyway, some ppl juz have this idea that their waves are very fast becos the speedometer can go higher den normal wave. That's very normal becos all of us rely on the speedometer as a gauge for our speed.

For eg: When 2 waves (1 modded and the other din) are to ride side by side, 1 wave shows the speed at 110km/hr and this wave can "lambong" another wave goin at 130km/hr. Dat modded wave will be very disappointed but he realised that this increase in speedo is jus a hoax.

Juz like when someone is carrying the imitation LV bag, it's hard to judge whether that is a genuine one. But when a genuine one and a imitation is placed side by side, u can easily detect it. :sweat:

Gers tok...hahahahaa.

INSURED BY MAFIA

YOU HIT ME, WE HIT YOU!

Originally posted by fhsook@Feb 20 2004, 03:32 PM

Well said!!n well calculated!! Anyway, some ppl juz have this idea that their waves are very fast becos the speedometer can go higher den normal wave. That's very normal becos all of us rely on the speedometer as a gauge for our speed.

For eg: When 2 waves (1 modded and the other din) are to ride side by side, 1 wave shows the speed at 110km/hr and this wave can "lambong" another wave goin at 130km/hr. Dat modded wave will be very disappointed but he realised that this increase in speedo is jus a hoax.

Juz like when someone is carrying the imitation LV bag, it's hard to judge whether that is a genuine one. But when a genuine one and a imitation is placed side by side, u can easily detect it. :sweat:

Gers tok...hahahahaa.

:slapforehead: ............:faint:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v195/gp02lkh/VTEC_Warning.jpg
:slapforehead: Like tat also can!

Honda NSR 150 SP - FT4977D (June 01 - March 03)

Honda CBR 400 RR- FL2119U (Dec 02 - Jan 04)

Honda CBR 929 RR - FS4382A (Feb 04 - Dec 04)

Susuki Hayabusa 1300- FX9524Z (April 05 - Oct 05)

Susuki Bandit400- FL3540D (Mar 03 - Dec 05)

Honda Super 4 Spec 3 - FZ9528C (Dec 05 - Jan 07)

Honda Walve125S - FW8025J (Aug 06 - June 07)

Yamaha Spark135 LE - FBB4..7C (March 07 - ???)

Originally posted by kata_killer@Feb 20 2004, 04:15 PM

:slapforehead: Like tat also can!

Of cos can lah. It's tested and proven mah.:bouncefire: :thumb:

INSURED BY MAFIA

YOU HIT ME, WE HIT YOU!

any difference between new wave I and normal wave?

Think before you speed, cameras are all over the place now

Guest rogerng

not much difference really. carb vs fuel injection? which you prefer?

i mean the new waveI 2004..

or u mean waveI is also fuel injection?

Think before you speed, cameras are all over the place now

Originally posted by ^RaCe@Feb 20 2004, 03:15 PM

i guess its all individual preference to mod or not to mod. afterall wave accessories are so cheap, especially if u get them direct from thailand. fuel consumption is also so economical, hence still can afford to mod a bit here and there.

Wah so happy ! Just got my wave today. It's a Blue wave ! Which engine oil is recomended for Wave? The shop say this one new bike after 800km must change engine oil already. Is it True?

Originally posted by RxzDelux@Feb 20 2004, 10:29 PM

Wah so happy ! Just got my wave today. It's a Blue wave ! Which engine oil is recomended for Wave? The shop say this one new bike after 800km must change engine oil already. Is it True?

im using the Esso 4T Gold, but i change it only about 3000km of usage.

now already about covered 2500km liao, still going strong.

i'm using shell advance racing 4t, $21 dollars plus i think, i buy this one cos i happen to drag a lot plus i often make my bike go 100km/h, so must let the bike at " Good " stuff.. trying out Castrol R4 at next oil change, see better or worst than shell...:smile:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v195/gp02lkh/VTEC_Warning.jpg
i'm using shell advance racing 4t, $21 dollars plus i think, i buy this one cos i happen to drag a lot plus i often make my bike go 100km/h, so must let the bike at " Good " stuff.. trying out Castrol R4 at next oil change, see better or worst than shell...

Wah lau eh. $21? So expensive ah? I heard the Castrol Activ 4T 20W-50 synthetic base cost ard $8. Is it good?

Got some infos. Sharing wif all the riders here. Periodic Inspections & Adjustments for your lovely Wave to remain in top state~!

http://www.yamaha-motor.com.my/aftersales/warrantyindex.html

hi ppl....just got my wave yesterday.....

im joinin the silver team

so u guy any outing soon

wanna join u guys

btw yo RXZDelux......the webbie u posted only 4 yamaha leh...cant find anything bout wave ah...

A BuTTerFlY is A LovE nOte FolDeD into 2..............

I mAy Be ThE sLoWeSt BuT aT lEaSt I mAdE hErE dIdN't I :angel:

God heLp Me get thRough thE pAin anD soRrows oF liFe...

yo guys.....

just wanna ask u all whether u heard any feedbacks from ur pillion that the rear foot pegs got a lot of vibrations especially the left side.....how to rectify this problem....thanks....

http://images.animationfactory.com/animations/business/miscellaneous/customer_service_desk_sleeping/customer_service_desk_sleeping_lg_nwm.gif
Originally posted by D@zed@Feb 22 2004, 07:15 PM

yo guys.....

just wanna ask u all whether u heard any feedbacks from ur pillion that the rear foot pegs got a lot of vibrations especially the left side.....how to rectify this problem....thanks....

mine oso got tis problem.. oso left side... how to rectify?

ask the pillion to get use to it lor.. my gf get use to it liao..

but if u happen to know any way to rectify it.. pls let me know the solution...

thx

Ride Safe~~

Late is better than never Reach.

btw yo RXZDelux......the webbie u posted only 4 yamaha leh...cant find anything bout wave ah...

Yamaha Motorcycle Honda also Motorcycle what? So should be about the same. Only that Honda is more rugged than Yamaha.

Originally posted by Varadero_1984@Feb 20 2004, 08:50 PM

i mean the new waveI 2004..

or u mean waveI is also fuel injection?

carb model is Wave-S

so FI model should be Wave-I

not sure of any 2004 model or not..havent heard of it yet

Originally posted by RxzDelux@Feb 20 2004, 10:29 PM

cause it's new bike...

supposed to do a run in for the engine...

try not to zhua the bike too much during 1st 1000km bah...

after 1st 800 or 1000km go for oil change...

change to either semi-synthetic or fully synthetic engine oil (better grade type)instead...

as only mineral oil is normally used for running-in process

Originally posted by RxzDelux@Feb 21 2004, 11:04 PM

Wah lau eh. $21? So expensive ah? I heard the Castrol Activ 4T 20W-50 synthetic base cost ard $8. Is it good?

im currently using the castrol activ-x

bought for $5.50 nia

regretted...intended to get a fully synthetic oil initially....

but dint read the label behind properly

it says 'engine oil with synthetic particles'

so i doubt activ-x is a fully syn oil lor

cause semi-syn also can have syn particles what...not necessary fully syn

going for another oil change soon

Originally posted by fazli_jepun@Feb 22 2004, 02:04 AM

hi ppl....just got my wave yesterday.....

im joinin the silver team

so u guy any outing soon

wanna join u guys

welcome to silver team!

guess silver waves are finally getting more common liaoz

nowadays like dont see any outings liao leh

unlike in the past...before i got my wave

Originally posted by D@zed@Feb 22 2004, 07:15 PM

yo guys.....

hmz...so far no complaints frm my pillions

perhaps vibrations on moving vehicles are normal bah

and there's nothing much on the left hand side which can vibrate leh...

the chain??? :confused:

im currently using the castrol activ-x

bought for $5.50 nia

regretted...intended to get a fully synthetic oil initially....

but dint read the label behind properly

it says 'engine oil with synthetic particles'

so i doubt activ-x is a fully syn oil lor

cause semi-syn also can have syn particles what...not necessary fully syn

going for another oil change soon

U mean Castrol Activ 4T(20W-50) NO GOOD is it? What I know Castrol Activ 4T is synthetic-base. Not Fully synthetic. So How does it perform on your wave don?

The front basket for wave is ILLEGAL is it? I heard some of my frends say it's illegal? Anyone here knows or Stopped by TP b4 for haveing the front basket?