Originally posted by RxzDelux@Feb 23 2004, 01:39 AM

The front basket for wave is ILLEGAL is it? I heard some of my frends say it's illegal? Anyone here knows or Stopped by TP b4 for haveing the front basket?

my friend got stopped by ROV for putting front basket.

$70 fine for illegal mod.

• Replies 3.9k

Originally posted by d0n^@Feb 22 2004, 11:41 PM

im currently using the castrol activ-x

bought for $5.50 nia

regretted...intended to get a fully synthetic oil initially....

but dint read the label behind properly

it says 'engine oil with synthetic particles'

so i doubt activ-x is a fully syn oil lor

cause semi-syn also can have syn particles what...not necessary fully syn

going for another oil change soon

IMO, the wave is already so maintainance free, nothing much to pay for, might as well pay a few dollars more to get a full syn-engine oil. Last time i use semi-syn, i often drag and always hit 100km/h++ , just after 800km+, engine already got cruching sound, it's like the gears operate with a lot of friction, then i tulan, go Mah motor change Motul full-syn, very smooth. Now trying out the Shell Full-syn racing oil. so far not bad, but i think Motul should be better...:sweat:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v195/gp02lkh/VTEC_Warning.jpg

hi....i think ur fren scared with the TP lor...when u buy the bike,the manual show that the bike came with the basket fixed infront,so where got modification..???next time if kana stop by the TP ,show them the manual book..!!!:goodluck: :goodluck:

OnLy ThE StRoNg SuRvIvE..!!!!

Originally posted by aidil@Feb 23 2004, 10:07 AM

hi....i think ur fren scared with the TP lor...when u buy the bike,the manual show that the bike came with the basket fixed infront,so where got modification..???next time if kana stop by the TP ,show them the manual book..!!!:goodluck: :goodluck:

all new bikes coming to sg have to go LTA for inspection. I suppose the front basket mounting failed, thus all waves coming to sg have to get it removed, although it is suppose to be a stock item when made in thailand.

i believe u can always check with LTA before kena summon then go fight for your stand.

Originally posted by aidil@Feb 23 2004, 10:07 AM

Very smart idea!!!! alot of ppl also as smart as u!!!!

BUT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! LTA smarter.............:cry: They will tell u , when they bring the bike for inspection be4 they r allowed to import into SG, they never fix the basket!!:sweat:

Originally posted by Pauche@Feb 23 2004, 10:44 AM

all new bikes coming to sg have to go LTA for inspection. I suppose the front basket mounting failed, thus all waves coming to sg have to get it removed, although it is suppose to be a stock item when made in thailand.

i believe u can always check with LTA before kena summon then go fight for your stand.

They say the basket will block ur headlight....thus not approved.

But in fact, it's do block a bit of ure headlight leh...

Honda NSR 150 SP - FT4977D (June 01 - March 03)

Honda CBR 400 RR- FL2119U (Dec 02 - Jan 04)

Honda CBR 929 RR - FS4382A (Feb 04 - Dec 04)

Susuki Hayabusa 1300- FX9524Z (April 05 - Oct 05)

Susuki Bandit400- FL3540D (Mar 03 - Dec 05)

Honda Super 4 Spec 3 - FZ9528C (Dec 05 - Jan 07)

Honda Walve125S - FW8025J (Aug 06 - June 07)

Yamaha Spark135 LE - FBB4..7C (March 07 - ???)

Guest shoryu286
Originally posted by kata_killer@Feb 23 2004, 04:50 PM

But in fact, it's do block a bit of ure headlight leh...

Not only a bit, I saw some1 put his backbag in the front basket.

Whole headlight been block, plus the reflection from the backbag.

I dare to say due to contrast he should not be able the see the road condition. :giddy:

Guest shoryu286
Originally posted by shoryu286@Feb 14 2004, 05:56 PM

Dear all,

I have setup a new group in Yahoo! Group for our people driving Honda Wave 125s.

As you know Yahoo! Group is very powerful yet user friendly.

It have many functionality like mailing list, share photo, database, calendar and etc. (If you have Yahoo! Messenger even better).

I planned to use it for our gathering and outing.

Please join it to improved our communication.

Here's the link:

http://asia.groups.yahoo.com/group/honda_waver/

Shoryu286

Dear all,

This is a repeated message to promote group forum.

Our first outing is coming SOON on 7 March 2004! :cheer:

Location is open for member to vote in a poll, please come and join us now!

Regarsds,

Shoryu286

Originally posted by Pauche@Feb 23 2004, 10:44 AM

hi 2 all..... dont worry laa my dear frenz, they summons follow the trend, since there's a lot of wave on the rd, make revenue mah..... last time LTA aim on scrambler, then KR.NSP, TZM....... if u dont belive u see, wat bike is popular next.......sure kana aim one......if LTA 1 2 summon us, not only basket, anything also they can summon........hehehe.....even ur helmut no sisir approve they can summon.......its whether they want 2 do it or not.......:cheer: :cheer: :cheer:

OnLy ThE StRoNg SuRvIvE..!!!!

Originally posted by RxzDelux@Feb 23 2004, 01:37 AM

U mean Castrol Activ 4T(20W-50) NO GOOD is it? What I know Castrol Activ 4T is synthetic-base. Not Fully synthetic. So How does it perform on your wave don?

wah...watssup w/ the NO GOOD in caps? scares me siah

personally i prefer fully syn engine oil as i tend to abuse the throttle now and then

haha...so anything lesser than fully syn oil would not be satisfactory to me

find not much of difference in performance compared to my old engine oil....dont know what brand or grade my old engine oil is...cause it was changed by the prev owner :cheeky:

Originally posted by aidil@Feb 25 2004, 01:45 PM

hi 2 all..... dont worry laa my dear frenz, they summons follow the trend, since there's a lot of wave on the rd, make revenue mah..... last time LTA aim on scrambler, then KR.NSP, TZM....... if u dont belive u see, wat bike is popular next.......sure kana aim one......if LTA 1 2 summon us, not only basket, anything also they can summon........hehehe.....even ur helmut no sisir approve they can summon.......its whether they want 2 do it or not.......:cheer: :cheer: :cheer:

that's bad

wave wasnt so popular when i bought it

Originally posted by Bunta@Feb 23 2004, 10:00 AM

IMO, the wave is already so maintainance free, nothing much to pay for, might as well pay a few dollars more to get a full syn-engine oil. Last time i use semi-syn, i often drag and always hit 100km/h++ , just after 800km+, engine already got cruching sound, it's like the gears operate with a lot of friction, then i tulan, go Mah motor change Motul full-syn, very smooth. Now trying out the Shell Full-syn racing oil. so far not bad, but i think Motul should be better...:sweat:

agree w/ u

datz why i regretted buying the castrol activ-x

getting R4 nxt....will keep u pple informed if got any improvement in performance etc.... :cheer:

Originally posted by RxzDelux@Feb 23 2004, 01:39 AM

The front basket for wave is ILLEGAL is it? I heard some of my frends say it's illegal? Anyone here knows or Stopped by TP b4 for haveing the front basket?

this is new.....

sounds like a hefty fine to pay for a basket....

$70 for something that costs $10+

I oso got vibration on the left pillion foot peg too leh. oso trying to rectify the problem...... My POV about engine oil hor..... I think use semi-syn enuff liao cos since its supposed to be a low maintenance bike, i planning to keep it that way. haha. but maybe when i about to change engine oil i will change my mind and use fully-syn one.

anyway, does anyone noe agar agar how much to change the chain?? and also tyres. planning to change to the sportec that everyone seems to be using. :lovestruck:

thnx!

Apr '99 - Jun '00 --- TZR125

Jun '00 - May '01 --- Chauffeured by SBS & TIBS drivers

May '01 - May '02 --- Skipper125

May'02 - Nov '03 --- Steed400(VLX in VSE clothing)

Nov '03 - May '05 --- Wave125

Nov '06 - .......... --- Rebel125

Originally posted by timberjid@Feb 26 2004, 12:40 AM

anione here noes where to get cheap n fast spray job??

currently...nope

hehe...actually i really wonder...does a cheap and good paintjob even exist out there...seems like all the motordiams out there r out to chop yr carrot head like that...juz a matter of how much they chop u nia....:giddy:

Originally posted by mysterio@Feb 26 2004, 12:57 AM

I oso got vibration on the left pillion foot peg too leh. oso trying to rectify the problem...... My POV about engine oil hor..... I think use semi-syn enuff liao cos since its supposed to be a low maintenance bike, i planning to keep it that way. haha. but maybe when i about to change engine oil i will change my mind and use fully-syn one.

anyway, does anyone noe agar agar how much to change the chain?? and also tyres. planning to change to the sportec that everyone seems to be using. :lovestruck:

thnx!

hmmz

how come so many pple complaining of the left pillion footpeg prob

could it be cos u pple changed to aftermarket footpeg?

the original ones w/ that thick layer of rubber should be able toabsorb some of that vibration bah.....

tink it's possible to get a cheap chain for $20+ lar...for better higher end branded ones...then i not so sure liao :cheeky:

Guest rogerng

will changing the pillon pegs to the POSH brand eliminate the vibrations?

Originally posted by rogerng@Feb 26 2004, 10:59 PM

i think it's gonna be worse right cos it much lighter and the vibrations felt will be even worse right....correcct me if i'm wrong....:smile:

http://images.animationfactory.com/animations/business/miscellaneous/customer_service_desk_sleeping/customer_service_desk_sleeping_lg_nwm.gif

thnx!

u can try asking Mah motors at jln besar, they quoted me $45 for the Rxz chain which is more wider than our original chain, i think it's 428 or something...:sweat:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v195/gp02lkh/VTEC_Warning.jpg

thnx!

was quoted 34 bucks for mich pilot at eunos superbike. If im not wrong the tt900(or isit tt90? :sorry: ) is about 5 to 10 bucks more.

Im not sure if its reasonable price; perhaps can ask ol timers here :smile:

u guys change e sprocketz n chainz to diff settingz or e original?

heard tat if its diff from e original,it will vibrate more n itz noisy. Care to share ur 20centz worth?(or isit 2 centz?:cheeky: )

Originally posted by rogerng@Feb 26 2004, 10:59 PM

Try to check your CHAIN tension first. I guess your chain has loosen! Feedback to this thread once u rectified it. Sharing is POWER ! :goodluck: dude in trying.

wanna ask u all wavers how regularly u all change spark plug and engine oil....

http://images.animationfactory.com/animations/business/miscellaneous/customer_service_desk_sleeping/customer_service_desk_sleeping_lg_nwm.gif
Originally posted by d0n^@Feb 26 2004, 10:21 PM

hmmz

how come so many pple complaining of the left pillion footpeg prob

could it be cos u pple changed to aftermarket footpeg?

the original ones w/ that thick layer of rubber should be able toabsorb some of that vibration bah.....

tink it's possible to get a cheap chain for $20+ lar...for better higher end branded ones...then i not so sure liao :cheeky:

My foot pegs is stock one leh..... thats why i find it strange.....

anyway thnx! chain so cheap eh!! hahaha. tire also cheap cheap siah!! I luv wave!

Thnx to all who replied!

Apr '99 - Jun '00 --- TZR125

Jun '00 - May '01 --- Chauffeured by SBS & TIBS drivers

May '01 - May '02 --- Skipper125

May'02 - Nov '03 --- Steed400(VLX in VSE clothing)

Nov '03 - May '05 --- Wave125

Nov '06 - .......... --- Rebel125