Guest deganduss

TECHNICAL SPECIFICATION FOR HONDA WAVE 125

SEngine 4 Stroke, OHC, Air Cooled

Cylinder Capacity = 124.9 CC.

Bore x Stroke = 52.4 x 57.9 MM.

Engine Start Type = Kick and Electric Start Model

Compression Ratio = 9.3 : 1

Transmission Rotary = 4 Speed

Dimension (W x L x H) = 715 x 1,870 x 1,050 MM.

Wheel Base = 1,205 MM.

Dry Weight NF 125MD Electric Start = 95.5 Kgs.

Ignition = CDI

Brake Type = Front Disc Brake (Dual Piston Caliper)

Rear = Drum Brake

Tyre Size Front = 60 / 100 - 17 M/C 33P

Rear = 70 / 90 - 17 M/C 43P

Battery NF 125MD = Electric Start Dry Battery 12 V. - 3.5 Ah

Fuel Tank Capacity = 4.0 Litrs

Fuel Type = Unlead Gasoline Octain 91 Up

• Replies 3.9k

Originally posted by IST@Mar 17 2004, 04:34 PM

FYI, if yr wan cheap and good engine oil ; FUCH SEMI 20-50, here below address.

Pleasure Motorsports Pte Ltd

3 Kallang Ave #01-142 Kallang Ave Ind Centre Singapore 339408

Tel: 6292 4666 ( Just next two door to Lim Ah Boy Workshop )

Almost every 1000km i will change the engine oil from this shop, it just $5 per/ L all in inclu workmanship

how many ml of e engine oil our wave needs?

heard from a mechanic it requires a minimum of 700ml.

Any1 got any idea abt it??

Tankz in advance ya!!

Originally posted by apiz666@Mar 17 2004, 11:24 PM

how many ml of e engine oil our wave needs?

heard from a mechanic it requires a minimum of 700ml.

Any1 got any idea abt it??

Tankz in advance ya!!

Normal = 1 LITRE.

700ml if u want cheong la but later your engine vibrate more and wear out faster. So the choice is yours la.

I normally use 1 LITRE (1 bottle) If USA one I use 0.946ml(1 Quartz).

:goodluck: in trying...............

Guest sportslover

Hello guys i need help..

I tinking of getting a cute cute piantwork but wonder which place offer such service..I koe tt actually many motordiam have this seervice.Juz wonder got any specific shop tt do paintwork on wave??

i got comments frm others tt if i wan to have paintwork,better buy anthoer set of fairing n paint..:confused: Set of fairing going to cost a bomb??

Thankz for answering my quesiton...

Regards.

Thank for helping

Originally posted by enow@Mar 17 2004, 09:13 PM

are the spoke rims YOKO or just normal brands?

er sory dude i can't answer ur ques on wheter its yoko rims or others. I simply collect from fellow wavers posting here n put it up. Might have 2 ask ard abt tat ya~~ :sorry:

so far i managed 2 acumulated e list below according 2 my understanding la...khahaha

if got sumting wrong edit2 abit k?!?

Items

Rear shock

- $50 (Eunos superbike)

- RM70, 75, 100, 160 (JB lab)

Rims

Spoke (Coloured rims + coloured spokes)- RM200 (JB lab)

Sports (3 spoke)- RM430 (JB lab)

Sports (5 spoke)- ??

Tyres

Dunlop tt900 = RM120 (JB lab)

Michelin Pilot sport front and back + new tubes = RM120 (JB lab)

Others

oil and plug = RM26 (JB lab)

front brake pad = RM20+ (JB lab)

rear brake pad = RM30+ (JB lab)

FUCH SEMI 20-50 = $ 5 (Pleasure Motorsports Pte Ltd

3 Kallang Ave #01-142 Kallang Ave Ind Centre Singapore 339408)

Sparkz which is 110cc needs 1LITRE of Engine Oil so I guess Wave 125cc also the same.

Engine Oil Capacity 1.0 Litrs

Originally posted by RxzDelux@Mar 17 2004, 11:27 PM

Normal = 1 LITRE.

700ml if u want cheong la but later your engine vibrate more and wear out faster. So the choice is yours la.

I normally use 1 LITRE (1 bottle) If USA one I use 0.946ml(1 Quartz).

:goodluck: in trying...............

ah ic so u mean u buy 1 litre bottle n pour all in then?

jus change ma engine oil ystrday n e bottle indicates 1litre.However e mechanic only pour 3/4 of it. Then charge me 10 buckz sumore 4 20-50 engine oil...

feel cheated man.. :nono:

Originally posted by RxzDelux@Mar 17 2004, 11:29 PM

Sparkz which is 110cc needs 1LITRE of Engine Oil so I guess Wave 125cc also the same.

Engine Oil Capacity 1.0 Litrs

im not sure if u guyz notice but sum cup kias do have e amount clearly stated at e engine.Sum jus below where u pour in ur engine oil where they engrave 600ml or 800ml. Wonder wheter its e recomen amount to top up engine oil.

Bunta have u rectify e prob on ur wave?hope n :pray: tat ur wave prob is only minor.

Originally posted by ^RaCe@Mar 14 2004, 07:32 PM

u shouldn't even be thinking about the depreciation of the bike. The bike only cost 4k. U ride 1 month , sell.......the most u loose 1k. u ride 6 months sell, u loose 2k. U ride 1 year sell......maybe also 2 k. u ride 10 yrs n sell........most come to most u loose 3.5k. total lost the bike, u still loose only 4k. If u comparing to other new bikes, u will easily loose 4k within 6mths. And u ride till 10 yrs, dunno how many waves u can buy liao.

wah...to my tiny wallet guess every little cent counts lar...

last time my dad sold his FF plate kup kia to motordiam for $500

is that ard the minimum price bikeshops would take old bikes for?? :confused:

Originally posted by ooniq@Mar 14 2004, 08:54 PM

have to agree with some of the bro here... the bike really worth it if u think abt economy... even if u don't go jb to pump petrol, it'll only cost u $4 to pump full tank and can go 130km or even more...

for me i got my wave 2nd hand at a good deal... early FV plate with only 4700km clocked for a 1.5 yr bike... cost me 1650 w/o insurance... so i spend abt $1.9k for the bike after insurance & transfer... even if i want to sell it later, i won't lose much... and i can spend a bit for accessories

gd buy u've got yrself there!

guess depreciation wont be too much a problem for u in the future!

haha...can foresee that nxt time the 2nd hand market for kup kia will be damn big..and prices damn low...now that all the kup kia models all coming in :cry:

Originally posted by D@zed@Mar 14 2004, 11:08 PM

wanna ask u guys.....whether u all got warm up ur bike before u move....if got how long do u all usually warm up??:smile:

to me

letting the bike run idling for a few minutes before moving off will be ideal

exactly how many minutes will depend on weather liao

if weather very very cold guess it will need a few more minutes to warm up well enough

but so far..for me..early in the morning move off throttle response will confirm be laggy one...no matter how long i let the bike warm up :giddy:

Originally posted by mysterio@Mar 15 2004, 12:40 PM

haha. for me i dun really bother to do that. i just open the choke, ride slowly for about 1 min(from my carpark to main road) then close choke. it be as good as warm up liao! :smile:

and to sportlover: i not sure of the brand.. gotta check it 1st b4 i post. anyway its so much better than the stock one! i will prob go again to change the chain and horn. but may wait till next month to catch the sale there. so guys stay tuned!

wah

open choke riding seems to be quite bad for the bike

not sure why...but most of the bike riders sayz so! :sweat:

remember me when got go JB LAB wor! :bouncefire:

Originally posted by mysterio@Mar 15 2004, 12:38 PM

i got a feeling that the speedo abit not accurate one leh... i rode to desaru yesterday with my fren and i was hitting 100km/h liao but he told me his speed about 80-90+ only..... not sure whether its zhun or not lah... anyone got that feeling too?

no need feeeling ah

the speedo is confirm buey zhun!

and guess this applies to most of the other 2B bikes as well o_O

Originally posted by RxzDelux@Mar 15 2004, 03:44 PM

If semi syn good enough liao can use Castrol Activ 4T 20W50! Just cost around $7! Don your $22 can buy so many Castrol Activ liao. Hehe

dat's the sad part

but tink i wont use back active-x lar

after my castrol r4...nxt oil to try will be motul5100 i saw in JB motordiam liao

read some thread regarding engine oil...and motul seems like a gd brand...w/ all that ester technology thingy :thumb:

Originally posted by RxzDelux@Mar 15 2004, 03:45 PM

Wave oso what? Got HIGH beam? Low beam blown off change HIGH beam lor!

must be considerate road user mah

later blind pple w/ yr high beam!

haha..but anything is better those those idiotic cars w/ ultra bright white headlights x 02

kaoz....

anyway

tink saw many of those msia kup kia in spore..actually switching on hi beam went travelling ard :confused:

Originally posted by sportslover@Mar 15 2004, 08:34 PM

Ok thank..i also nt so fast get a bike.

but if u went dw can jio me a nt??like to go leh..??.juz went dw to bike production today quote me 3200 leh..

anyway i saw 1 new wavei leh,,is a pgm-f1 fuel injection 1.leh..

3700 oni leh..outlook look more chio leh...but dunno the parts or other spec quite same a nt.??arbo get tt 1 parts i scare expensive leh

hrmmz

seems like price of FI model still quite stable

asked a few mths ago the price was also ard 3.7k also

but the FI model somehow really looks more chio than carburettor model

saw this all black FI model w/ nicer looking black vs white dashboard...never see it light up at night...but should be :thumb: bah

frm what i heard abt FI models...besides being more fuel efficient....bad point would be not every motordiam got the technology to do servicing for FI bikes

so maybe servicing would cost slightly more?

Originally posted by Bunta@Mar 15 2004, 10:05 PM

oh no...after so many months of smooth riding, problems finally surfaced...:giddy:

I changed my engine oil 2500km regularly, spark plug change half yearly, run 100km/h+ almost everyday..

so this is my problem.. today as usual, start bike, warm up a bit then go slowly then hear some sound like "clak, clak" then it sounds like my pipe have been

" tonged " before which i have nv done before... the sound, " clak, clak, clak..."

sounds only 2nd gear onwards.. anyone guys surfaced this type of problem? then, another thing, my bike like abit " lau hong " ( loose air ) like no power like that...

thinking about, i think that it may be due to these problems, guys, advise me the right thing if u think it's wrong..

1. maybe spark plug too long nv change? :confused: i changed it 3000km ago

2. it maybe due to the air filter as i was told by my friend.

3. bike needs overhaul cos everytime drag to 100km/h with 4th gear..( but i changed engine oil on a regular basis )( motul full-syn )

4. pump lousy petrol..( Nah...it can't be, i pump Shell formula 95 )

hehe, any advices out there....thanks dudes..

check chain tension

opened up my chainguard last wkend

to my horror..realised the chain has gotten quite loose already...the top part of the chain is burshing across this rubber covering when i throttle...

Originally posted by fearless.@Mar 15 2004, 10:45 PM

hi wavers out there...

anyone here feel dat wave's exhaust pipe is a little bit ugly/big? does anyone here change his/her pipe to a nicer one or smaller one in s'pore?

juz the outlook only, no modification. thanx alot...

seems like there's not much alternative to pipe mods

for performance...there this performance pipe which i've seen before

isnt exactly very nice looking...but the sound is killing.....no wonder pple r ordering ear plugs already...

as for visual mods....u can try changing to one of those plastic looking colored exhaust protectors i've seen...or u can even try searching for protectors which cover the whole of the exahust..like those y125z types

Originally posted by fazli_jepun@Mar 16 2004, 05:09 AM

(Bunta @ Mar 14 2004, 06:32pm)

for ppl interested to get original foot rests ( Metal piece below the bike for left right foot rest ) price is $9 at LAB

for me, too poor to get a new one...

btw bunta....i think u got wrong info ah...cos yesterday i just went LAB to buy the footrest and it cost $30(original somemore).(got it cheaper cos DIY).think the one ah boy told you is the footpegs cos he showed me then i told him not those but the metal bar below the bike then he say $50(if they fix 4 you) then i told him i diy he gave me $30...

btw ooniq....wat happen at the yahoo waver outing ah...?no one contacted me to confirm leh..btw you organise ah the next outing...then maybe all can meet up and chit chat bout our waves....

guys u think need to pay if IU unit kena sabo?cos mine the wiring all came out...dunno wat happen...mornin wanna go werk insert cashcard nothing happen...

check wiring inside n in between fork the cable snap...fuse(i think) on the floor...

help.....

huh?

what's the difference between footrest and footpegs huh?

anyway if kena caught by camera for failure to insert cashcard the fine isnt exactly that costly....

ard $10 if im not wrong?

Originally posted by nite_fire@Mar 16 2004, 10:53 AM

can i ask what is a balancer? is that for us to rest our foot while we are not changing gear or braking? thanks for informations!

balancer = bar ends = the metal pice at the end of yr throttle

the rubber/metal that we rest our foot is known either as footrest or footpeg

Originally posted by nite_fire@Mar 16 2004, 11:04 AM

just around that shell you mentioned before.... i think there are actually 3 or 4 outlets... left most back to seaside but can't get to custom.... but can get back to around the U turn when you come out from custom. so the correct route should be the middle one... if there are 2 at the middle, ie. there are 4 outlets, choose that one got sign shows "TUN AMINAH" or what lah.... that's what i remember. once you get to the correct route, just go straight can see plaza angsana around 10 to 15 mins depends on traffic and ur speed... the plaza is on ur right hand side by the way... for the shop.... i never been there before...

wah

:confused: :confused:

haha...think better stick to waiting for more pro pple to bring me ard JB lar

Originally posted by repsol79@Mar 16 2004, 09:45 PM

today my friend bought a wave .

it was a yr old bike plate NO FW 5****

The cost of the bike is $2200 on the road.

the condition of the bike was exelent.

he needed too up another $400 because of his age and he just pass his licence he is only 19 yrs old.

so wat do You guys think was it a bargain or my friend kena ketok!!!

u forgot to mention something

what's the mileage of the bike when he bought it?

if mileage is low...below 10000km

guess it should be an ok buy :thumb:

Originally posted by RxzDelux@Mar 16 2004, 11:16 PM

What i notice after using Multi-Viscosity Engine Oil and Monograde Engine Oil One at a time.

Multi-Viscosity Engine Oil = Fast Warm up. Maybe due to the low viscosity when cold and the oil can go thru the engine faster.

Monograde Engine Oil = Have to take some time like 2 to 3 mins before moving off. If engine still COLD and u want to move off it will STALL. Restart and warm up again after warm up then can move off.

So advantages?

Multi-Viscosity = more costly than monograde but faster warm up!

Monograde = much cheaper and economical but slow warm up!

Why choose a synthetic oil ?

Semi-synthetic and synthetic oils are made from non-conventional bases using sophisticated chemical processes which confer special properties to the finished product.

First, the high level of viscosity of the base oils used gives the finished lubricant remarkably stable viscosity whatever the temperature. This property is one of its major advantages over mineral oils, made from conventional bases which require a greater number of additives in order to improve viscosity.

The stability of lubrication in all temperatures guarantees optimum efficacy in the cold starting phase which is particularly demanding on the engine – as well as under conditions of extreme heat. Synthetic-based lubricants show greater resistance to oxidation, which gives them longer effective life thus guaranteeing longer engine life.

The use of non-conventional bases, finally, permits the elaboration of more fluid lubricants, without being more volatile; resulting in a reduction of oil consumption.

Therefore, choosing a synthetic based oil is the technologically advance choice, for greater efficacy, longevity and controlled oil consumption.

What are the advantages of a multigrade oil ?

A multigrade oil is one whose properties have been artificially modified to reduce changes in its viscosity with temperature changes.

A multigrade oil will be more fluid at low temperatures and thicker at high temperatures than a monograde oil.

Concretely, that means that when the vehicle is not being used (for several hours), the engine oil sinks in the crankcase so that, on starting, it takes a certain amount of time (a few microseconds) to again reach all parts of the engine that need to be lubricated. Since a multigrade oil is more fluid at low temperatures, it reaches the various engine components more quickly than a monograde oil, thereby reducing wear on starting.

Multigrade oil allow "saving fuel" around 1.5% to 3% then monograde oil

Multigrade oils provide better engine protection at low and high temperatures than monograde oils, in that they maintain optimum viscosity over the engine operating temperature range.

Lastly! The choice is YoUrS!.

so is a multi grade mineral oil better than a monograde oil?

Originally posted by fazli_jepun@Mar 17 2004, 02:23 AM

hey guys....does your wave suddenly die on you when u're riding?it happens to me alot of times ah...esp on expressway.....like goin around 80km/hr suddenly hear engine die but when i turn throttle....a loud boom sound is heard and bike is alive again...wats wrong...?

wah

sounds a major problem leh

juz like my idiotic wave

sudden loss in power during travelling at hi-speed for 1-2seconds

after dat back to normal

changed spark plug + oil b4 liao...same prob :cry:

Originally posted by enow@Mar 17 2004, 09:13 PM

are the spoke rims YOKO or just normal brands?

also heard some wave exhuast OTR tat sounds like a chopper, did they make holes in the exhuast? did this to my old bike, top-end affected, really regretted it.

guess the sound between a modified-pipe wave and a chopper still got some difference.....the bass for choppers is higher...can shake the ground more...

not so sure whether top end will get affect or not thou...:confused: