Originally posted by kiamh@May 25 2006, 12:59 PM

Hopefully they work out the kinks for the K7 model :D

What about hot spots for the rider?? Any feeling of BBQ balls? :cheeky:

& one more thing, Wildcard... pardon me for being blunt, but the front number plate above the headlight looks a bit weird. Is there no better place to mount it?

No hot spots.

A great relief from my TLR.

Though the engine temp rises very fast.

Abt the plate, yeah. that's the best spot for now. there's no other mounting place I can see. Mokkette cane up with a better idea by using stickers at the mudguard sides. I'm considering it coz I wanna clear the spot above the headlights for other things like voltmeter, vacuum gauges and stuffs like tat...

Originally posted by WildCard@May 25 2006, 08:45 AM

If you ask me, the bad point might be the small fuel tank and conventional front forks. Otherwise, it would be a perfect bike.

Hi bro,

For comparison sake, what's ur height & weight?

Me 1.64m at 53 kg, sat on a GSR6 & felt bike was extremely big (so much bigger than my old Bandit 4) ... especially the tank, so much so that even the MV Agusta Brutale 910 feel smaller. :giddy:

Do you find the GSR6 big & heavy?

Also, do yo think the GSR 6 can go tracking at PG? Can beat the CBR 4 & RVF 4 right? But slower than CBR 6 F4i rights? :confused:

ps: Hope the GSR 4 is much smaller at perhaps 160 kg dry. :lovestruck:

http://www.triumph.co.uk/images/Daytona675_gallery_main_1_2008.jpg
Originally posted by R6ex@May 26 2006, 05:08 PM

Hi bro,

Me 1.64m at 53 kg, sat on a GSR6 & felt bike was extremely big (so much bigger than my old Bandit 4) ... especially the tank, so much so that even the MV Agusta Brutale 910 feel smaller. :giddy:

Also, do yo think the GSR 6 can go tracking at PG? Can beat the CBR 4 & RVF 4 right? But slower than CBR 6 F4i rights? :confused:

I'm about 1.8m and 90+ kg.

Kinda big size,

The bike size felt just right for me. Then again, it could coz my last bike was even bigger (a TL1000R).

But for its size, its really surprisingly light, even at standstill. Again, it could coz my last bike was really heavy at over 200kg.

In terms of tracking, yes, I feel the bike is suited for it compared to a Fazer 600 or similar bikes. Its lighter, light-handling, agile and somewhat lower.

Beating RVF & CBR? Let's just say tats always up to the rider. Even a RS125 can beat those 2 at track if the rider can and has the will to do it.

Originally posted by WildCard@May 26 2006, 06:45 PM

Beating RVF & CBR? Let's just say tats always up to the rider. Even a RS125 can beat those 2 at track if the rider can and has the will to do it.

What about if same rider?

It all depends on the rider.

It's so cliche. :sian:

In comparing which bike is faster, we should assume the same rider rides both bikes. Else, it's just back to square one. :smile:

http://photos-313.ll.facebook.com/photos-ll-sf2p/v160/113/88/592651313/n592651313_483240_5577.jpg

Kinda big size,

The bike size felt just right for me. Then again, it could coz my last bike was even bigger (a TL1000R).

But for its size, its really surprisingly light, even at standstill. Again, it could coz my last bike was really heavy at over 200kg.

In terms of tracking, yes, I feel the bike is suited for it compared to a Fazer 600 or similar bikes. Its lighter, light-handling, agile and somewhat lower.

Thanks for the feedback. :smile:

No wonder I found the GSR6 BIG!!! ('coz I'm only abt half ur weight, big guy!) :cheeky: Think GSR 4 mayb more suitable for me. In fact, I like the feel of the R6 - light & low-CG ... but too bad, its TOO TALL for me! :giddy: Actually, I really like the feel of the positioning on d bike, thus hope the GSR 4 wil b d same, except lighter and smaller. :thumb:

Erm ... like what zod said, let's assume we have a rider abt 65 kg, class 2 and equally skilled in riding 600 naked bike as well as 400 racer ... wil he b faster on CBR 4 & RVF 4 or GSR 6 & GSR 4??? :confused:

Also, can the GSR6 corner knee-down on track like the CBR 4? :help:

Kinda big size,

did i saw u at the junction of yio chu kang road and buangkok ave yest evening?

1999 - YAMAHA TZR 125

2000 - YAMAHA RX 125

2001 - SUZUKI DR 200

2002 - YAMAHA WR 200

2003 - HONDA CB 400 VTEC I

2004 - HONDA TELEFONICA MOVISTAR CBR 1000 RR4

2005 - SUZUKI GSX 1300RX HAYABUSA

2006 - SUZUKI GSR 600

2007 - HYUNDAI GETZ 1.6 FL

2014 - YAMAHA FZ 6 S1

Originally posted by jerryGSR@May 27 2006, 08:26 AM

did i saw u at the junction of yio chu kang road and buangkok ave yest evening?

yeah, tat was me.

Tot it was you.

I was on my way back from werk. Werking at the hospital nearby (you'll know what hospital :) )

Originally posted by zod@May 26 2006, 06:54 PM

What about if same rider?

It all depends on the rider.

It's so cliche. :sian:

In comparing which bike is faster, we should assume the same rider rides both bikes. Else, it's just back to square one. :smile:

I dunno.

Coz all the years I've spent in the forum, the only certain thing about comparison between bikes is its uncertainty.

If I were to say my old TL1000R is the hottest thing on the road, some schmuck on a 600 would say differently. If I get a Busa and say the same thing, some scmuck on a litre bike would argue against me.

Anywayz, I would prefer to give a personal opinion then.

The bike is very torquey. In the right hands, you can out run almost anything for the first few hundred meters, no doubt. But the weak point would be its 95 BHP. Once horsepower comes into play, it would get left behind. Tried this with a few frens riding CBR919s & TL1000Rs. In a straight line blast, I can leave them behind for several seconds. And this is at a limited max 10K RPM. But once top end kicks in, I get left behind.

On track, I think this bike's main advantage is its lightweight and light handling. It is VERY agile. Maybe coz my last bike was fast-moving dinosaur (which is agile enough in the right hands like mine). But this bike's agility is tremendous. I've tried 2 600s (a CBR600F4 and an older Kawa 600) and this bike's agility blows them out of the water. Plus its torqueness, it would be perfect for the track. Dun expect to blast down the straights, but expect better turns.

Yes, it is possible to go knee-down on this bike. I came close already trying it out while making the GP town U-turn and my butt barely moved off the seat.

To sum it simply, I have a fren who's riding (and selling off) his Duc 999. Last Sat, I let him try my Ghost. He instantly loved it and told this bike is perfect for the track unlike most naked bikes. The torque comes very close to matching his 999.

Well, tats my opinion. If you guys wanan really give it a hands-on, PM me and we can always arrange a meetup.

Oh, and this evening, I will be at East Coast beach with my wife and her frens for a birthday BBQ. Maybe if any of you guys wanna meet up or see each other's bikes, gimme a call. 94376964.

Thanks for sharing, WildCard. :cheer:

I'm just wondering will an after-market full-system exhuast be able to bridge the power difference to a stock modern supersport? :confused:

Originally posted by R6ex@May 27 2006, 11:25 AM

Thanks for sharing, WildCard. :cheer:

I'm just wondering will an after-market full-system exhuast be able to bridge the power difference to a stock modern supersport? :confused:

not.

its more than that.

Even with a race full-system, there might be an increment of up to, give or take, another 15 BHP max?

If you want to seriously up the BHP, there's an actual mountain of werk.

FS system, cam timing, changing the ignition timing, materials used.

If I wanted to upz the BHP, I would look at the fuel management system first. Check the TB size and compare it to a superstock GSXR-600 K4 size. Usually, one of the steps to detune a race engine is smaller sized TBs. Cam timings also play a major difference.

Originally posted by WildCard@May 27 2006, 11:44 AM

not.

its more than that.

Even with a race full-system, there might be an increment of up to, give or take, another 15 BHP max?

If you want to seriously up the BHP, there's an actual mountain of werk.

FS system, cam timing, changing the ignition timing, materials used.

If I wanted to upz the BHP, I would look at the fuel management system first. Check the TB size and compare it to a superstock GSXR-600 K4 size. Usually, one of the steps to detune a race engine is smaller sized TBs. Cam timings also play a major difference.

PM u already, bro.

Gd morning fellow Ghost riders.

So quiet arh past few days.

Anywayz, I think I need to send my bike to GH for some tightening up. Seems the bike's vibeyness has caused a few parts to rattle around a bit, namely my meters...

Originally posted by R6ex@May 26 2006, 05:08 PM

Hi bro,

Friend, I'm about 59kg and 172cm. i personally feel that the bike is still ok as compared to a sportbike. note that this nake bike is a high handle posture, just like scrams, super4. as for the handling, its easy. honestly, i feel safer than a sportbike.

don't consider, buy now.

Looking and Looking

Originally posted by mokette@May 30 2006, 11:34 PM

Friend, I'm about 59kg and 172cm. i personally feel that the bike is still ok as compared to a sportbike. note that this nake bike is a high handle posture, just like scrams, super4. as for the handling, its easy. honestly, i feel safer than a sportbike.

don't consider, buy now.

Yup. Thanks to WildCard who kindly let me test ride his GSR6, I totally agree that the GSR only "look" big, but is actually a very compact package which handles well. It has a much sportier feel than a Super4. But I'm still tip-toeing pretty badly 'coz its got a wide seat for 785mm. Not too much of a problem though. Meanwhile, I hope to get another test ride on an 06R6 before I decide. I'm also reading up on other interesting naked bikes, like the Triumph Speed Triple & MV Brutale 910. Just don't look at the price tage, haha. I don't mind naked bikes, but they don't offer enough wind protection on NSH, like the way sporters do. Even the small screen of the Speed Triple is perhaps useful up to 150 km/h. Similarly, while GSR6 has a claimed top speed of 220 km/h, I just can't understand how we can get it above 200 km/h on NSH without being badly buffetted by the wind, even at full tuck. I guess naked bikes are just not meant for high-speed travelling.

Originally posted by R6ex@May 31 2006, 08:36 AM

Yup. Thanks to WildCard who kindly let me test ride his GSR6, I totally agree that the GSR only "look" big, but is actually a very compact package which handles well. It has a much sportier feel than a Super4. But I'm still tip-toeing pretty badly 'coz its got a wide seat for 785mm. Not too much of a problem though. Meanwhile, I hope to get another test ride on an 06R6 before I decide. I'm also reading up on other interesting naked bikes, like the Triumph Speed Triple & MV Brutale 910. Just don't look at the price tage, haha. I don't mind naked bikes, but they don't offer enough wind protection on NSH, like the way sporters do. Even the small screen of the Speed Triple is perhaps useful up to 150 km/h. Similarly, while GSR6 has a claimed top speed of 220 km/h, I just can't understand how we can get it above 200 km/h on NSH without being badly buffetted by the wind, even at full tuck. I guess naked bikes are just not meant for high-speed travelling.

If you ask me, its a streetfighter.

Its mean for street / urban riding and some country riding.

Its different from longer-ranged tourers like Fazers and CB750s. They have big-sized windshields and far-ranged fuel tanks.

While the engine can bring it up to ard 200++, a naked bike is a pain to ride at such speeds.

A Triumph Speed Triple is a sweet looking bike.

If it weren't for the fact that

1. Its expensive

2. Has little after-sales support

It would be my choice. After watching it in action in MI:2, who the heck won't want one?

But 2nd-hand ones are cheap. Someone once offered an FS-FT plate for under 8K.

Originally posted by WildCard@May 31 2006, 08:50 AM

If you ask me, its a streetfighter.

Its mean for street / urban riding and some country riding.

Its different from longer-ranged tourers like Fazers and CB750s. They have big-sized windshields and far-ranged fuel tanks.

While the engine can bring it up to ard 200++, a naked bike is a pain to ride at such speeds.

A Triumph Speed Triple is a sweet looking bike.

If it weren't for the fact that

1. Its expensive

2. Has little after-sales support

It would be my choice. After watching it in action in MI:2, who the heck won't want one?

But 2nd-hand ones are cheap. Someone once offered an FS-FT plate for under 8K.

Oic. So I guess GSR is also a streetfighter, good for local traffic, but bad for NSH. Any after-market windshield we can install on the GSR?

Haha, talk about Speed Triple in MI:2 (I've not watched it), but I remember the superb piece of action of a Ducati 916 in The Matrix 2. :thumb:

Originally posted by R6ex@May 31 2006, 09:16 AM

Oic. So I guess GSR is also a streetfighter, good for local traffic, but bad for NSH. Any after-market windshield we can install on the GSR?

Haha, talk about Speed Triple in MI:2 (I've not watched it), but I remember the superb piece of action of a Ducati 916 in The Matrix 2. :thumb:

There are windshields available.

Suzuki optional accessories has a short windshield. Givi will sure to follow with an aftermarket windshield for the Ghost.

BUT, I have serious 2nd thoughts of putting a windshield. The headlight and front-end design looks so damn fierce as its that putting a windsheild kinda ruins it.

Just like putting a windshield on the fierce twin-headlights Triple-Speed.

Originally posted by YNT@May 31 2006, 04:56 PM

Come to H6 :cheer:

Well.. Team Suzuki is preferred. I had rode many makes but this is the first time i have a suzu. Just nice for singaporeans i would say.

Adding a windshield shouldn't hurt much style.

I think GSR can handle more than 220kmh though.

Looking and Looking

Haha. ... hopefully can install one whenever prior to NSH trips ... hope its not too troublesome to remove later. :cheeky:

With a bit of modding, prolly can go 230+ but cannot tahan the wind. :giddy:

Originally posted by R6ex@Jun 1 2006, 10:00 PM

Haha. ... hopefully can install one whenever prior to NSH trips ... hope its not too troublesome to remove later. :cheeky:

With a bit of modding, prolly can go 230+ but cannot tahan the wind. :giddy:

tried with a open face helmet at about 210km/h. think with a windshied and full face, things can be done easily.

Looking and Looking

Originally posted by mokette@Jun 2 2006, 06:14 PM

tried with a open face helmet at about 210km/h. think with a windshied and full face, things can be done easily.

Fwa! :bow: Kudos to you, bro! :thumb: Last time on my Kawi 7, d moment i hit 200 only, muz straight away go hide behind bubble screen already. Wind damn strong ... You solid man!

Car best! Tried 230 km/h NSH oso like no feeling like that. :cheer:

K, thx, will keep that in mind. :smile:

btw, is it as torquey as a litre bike??? :confused:

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/av-12159.gifhttp://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/av-12159.gifhttp://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/av-12159.gif
Guest rookie517
Originally posted by WildCard@Jun 3 2006, 12:54 PM

I can say its as torquey as my TL1000R.

And that's a V-twin to boot.

bro, buy new bike never tell me!!