Alright! Manage to find the GPS map with the latest version for Singapore and Malaysia roads!

Mine is a Garmin E-Trex Legend bought for around $300 3 years ago.....

I think now got a better version, the Garmin E-Trex Legend Colour...

Gaofar p(^.^)q

"Something new is in the air.. I think my 2nd wind is here..!"

• Replies 5.7k

Hi Bro Gaofar,

Mine was the b/w etrex legend but it died recently. So I got a new etrex color recently. It comes with expandable memory & 128MB card free. Compare to the b/w etrex, the advantage is the expandable memory - coz there are huge amount of free detailed maps to download for many countries.

The response time is also faster and battery consumption is even better - 24hr ; unlike the b/w only 10hr or something. Its unusual that color gps can consume less power than b/w , but its true.

Best of all , it got auto-routing function - can automatically generate a shortest route to your destination. It also prompt by flashing & beeping to remind you to turn according to the automatically generated routes. I really love this gadget! :lovestruck:

I really like your idea of side boxes to make the boldor bigger yet can squeeze through traffic. Coz my main box is now over packed - with my FF flip up helmet & armoured jacket & leg armour protector. No space for another helmet actually.

I must go and see the E360 quick. Where's 219 & how much you paid?

Btw , I have same thinking as you - I always want a tourer but the Boldor gives a cheaper option.

Hi bro Keiyong,

If you interested to buy, try Perfect Watch pte ltd at sim lim square ground floor - they cheapest. Sim Lim tower basement also got shop selling gps , but their prices more expensive. The etrex legend color is the cheapest color gps of the entire range. I bought for $500 there if I remember correctly.

How the GPS maps show speed traps? The maps downloaded from Malsing website got markers of speed trap & petrol kiosks & other danger warning stuff . The markers are updated by motorists & biker enthusiasts and circulated for downloading.

The downloaded maps are very detail, while the gps build-in maps are very generic and basic. The details can show small lanes and small tracks in even small town like batu pahat, petrol kiosk & shopping malls etc. But lots of memory needed.

John 15:7 (New International Version)

7 If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.

-- it's true & it really works for me. :)

7 If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.

Hey bro tt6389,

I have sent a PM to you regarding the Givi boxes.

Wah, you really got yourself a Legend Colour har... 3 years ago when I bought my Legend, the Legend Colour just came out but it's so expensive, at around $700 - $800... :giddy: Well, at least my current Legend still serves me faithfully, going with me to other countries for training like Australia, Thailand and Taiwan..... :smile:

Thanks for the tips on the maps man! :cheer:

Uncle Keiyong, can consider the Garmin E-Trex Legend Colour. It's really a good product.

Gaofar p(^.^)q

Wow guys, hear you all say I also quite gian to get the GPS system. :sweat:

Anyway, I had always liked the look of the fazer. Like you guys in a sort of way, the bold'or is the closest thing to it since I'm holding a 2A only. It looks bulkier than your average s4 and its definitely up there in terms of looks.

Considering that, I also wanted to install side panniers in view of making the bike look bigger, and also the convenience. But so far, I can't seem to find any that is proportionate and suitable for the look of the bold'or because I found the current range of givi box to be quite "rounded". I wanted something more "squarish", like those you find on african twins and fazers.

So maybe after gaofar has finished doing up his bike, then I will see for myself how it looks on a bold'or. If it looks good enough, maybe I will copy him... hahaha :cheeky:

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii193/khookahkiat/DSC00352-501.jpg

Missing my Super 4 Bold'Or FBA1859D always... (22nd Feb 2006 ~ 17th Feb 2009)

Wah, bro khoo, long time no hear you, kenna "soccer-fever" also har? :giddy:

Anyway, it's "Bol'Dor Tips Time"!

Though I'm not sure if fellow Bol'Dorians know about this fact, I feel obliged to let all be aware of this nice feature on our bikes...

The headlight beam angle of our Bol'Dor can be fine-tune adjusted by means of a rotary knob behind the headlight assembly, on the right side. It's better accessed by turning the handle bar to the full-left before you turn the knob to adjust the beam higher or lower...

Picture tells a thousand words and so below are the attached pics of that area...

Hope this helps out for those who might think that their headlight is too low or something like that...

Cheers! :cheeky:

Gaofar p(^.^)q

This is a close-up pic of the area...

Gaofar p(^.^)q

I have a feeling that I am the "most-posted-member-in-Bol'Dor-thread-of-the-week"...... :cheeky:

Okay, guess what? I have finally installed the Givi Wing-rack with two E360 boxes!!! :cheer:

A few pointers here... Firstly, if you really want to install the rack, you have to be patient as the rack extension bar is sort-of custom made, if you go to the bike-shop 219 which I have done my rack there... It'll take the mechanic, Ah Hwa, around 4 HOURS of your time to get the rack fixed... Reason as to why it took so long is that Givi Wing-rack system is not really meant to be fix on Super4 VTEC but through custom metal bar extension, which he makes it straight from RAW normal flat metal bar of which he will then cut, file, bend, drill and paint to create the custom bar for your Super4 VTEC... Sheesh..... :giddy:

No wonder it took so long to install! I ask Ah Hwa why no one wants to create a template on creating the Givi metal bar extension, to be sold in the market in a more professional and neat package, he said it's not quite feasible as models of VTEC keeps changing and so the templates will have to change too.....

Also, I found out that the original mirrors that the Bol'Dor had all along, I suspect that Honda had already the idea of putting boxes on Bol'Dor and so the mirrors will accommodate to views of having boxes as well! That said, now I simply extend the mirrors out to the fullest, using that as a gauge, I find it quite useful in using the mirrors to safely ride my bike in out of traffic early on... :smile:

Total price is: Two Givi E360 boxes with Wing-Rack System - around $750 plus optional top plate, to give you an option of just putting a box on top will do or more importantly to further strengthen the structure of the rack, at $65... Grand total: about $815.....

Gaofar p(^.^)q

Close up view of the boxes.....

Gaofar p(^.^)q

Originally posted by Gaofar@Jun 17 2006, 08:48 PM

I have a feeling that I am the "most-posted-member-in-Bol'Dor-thread-of-the-week"...... :cheeky:

Okay, guess what? I have finally installed the Givi Wing-rack with two E360 boxes!!! :cheer:

A few pointers here... Firstly, if you really want to install the rack, you have to be patient as the rack extension bar is sort-of custom made, if you go to the bike-shop 219 which I have done my rack there... It'll take the mechanic, Ah Hwa, around 4 HOURS of your time to get the rack fixed... Reason as to why it took so long is that Givi Wing-rack system is not really meant to be fix on Super4 VTEC but through custom metal bar extension, which he makes it straight from RAW normal flat metal bar of which he will then cut, file, bend, drill and paint to create the custom bar for your Super4 VTEC... Sheesh..... :giddy:

No wonder it took so long to install! I ask Ah Hwa why no one wants to create a template on creating the Givi metal bar extension, to be sold in the market in a more professional and neat package, he said it's not quite feasible as models of VTEC keeps changing and so the templates will have to change too.....

Also, I found out that the original mirrors that the Bol'Dor had all along, I suspect that Honda had already the idea of putting boxes on Bol'Dor and so the mirrors will accommodate to views of having boxes as well! That said, now I simply extend the mirrors out to the fullest, using that as a gauge, I find it quite useful in using the mirrors to safely ride my bike in out of traffic early on... :smile:

Total price is: Two Givi E360 boxes with Wing-Rack System - around $750 plus optional top plate, to give you an option of just putting a box on top will do or more importantly to further strengthen the structure of the rack, at $65... Grand total: about $815.....

And here are the pics!.....

Gaofar p(^.^)q

Yo bro gaofar,now that's wat i call heavy duty boldor.Now you ready to tour ah?It's a good investment that you just made.No hassle of carrying or locking your helmets on the bike & carrying extra stuff around now.Cornering feels better with the side boxes actually imo.Hahaha!The only hassle is to take out the boxes when you go jb.Take care & ride safe!:smile:

Originally posted by Gaofar@Jun 17 2006, 08:48 PM

And here are the pics!.....

Gaofar p(^.^)q

hmm... looks quite decent all right... but at $750, that must have blown quite a hole in your pocket right gaofar? hahaha...

any complaints so far from pillion whether getting on the bike is difficult or not? seating wise comfortable? :smile:

Heeheehee...... :cheeky:

Actually quite okay lah 'cause I use my bonus to pay for the boxes and I think it's quite good an investment and price-wise still alright lah..... :smile:

Urm... I had my wife sat on the bike to test it out and she says it doesn't obstruct her in any way and she says it feels more comfortable having the two boxes by the side...

Actually this is part of my "Master-Plan" to protect my new bike... You see, if you noticed the parts that I've installed so far on the bike: Engine-crash guard, Front-axle sliders and Extended Heavy-ended balancers, those 3 parts is only sufficient to protect front half of the bike as those 3 parts will form a 3-point contact and prevent damage to important bike parts like fuel tank, engine chassis or wheel rims...

So to protect the back half of the bike, I have thought before of employing rear sliders to complete the point of contacts to prevent the exhaust pipe or tail-board from damage, but it was deem quite not realistic or feasible as the sliders has to be around 15 to 18cm especially on the side with the exhaust... Think it looks stupid isn't it?..... :sian: So the other way around it, as I have also talked with bro motorex33, is to put side boxes to take the blunt of the damage should it fell to the side..... That way I can have spaces or compartments to enjoy with and also it protects the bike should it fell to either side...... :cheer:

Gaofar p(^.^)q

Originally posted by Gaofar@Jun 18 2006, 08:11 AM

Actually quite okay lah 'cause I use my bonus to pay for the boxes and I think it's quite good an investment and price-wise still alright lah..... :smile:

Urm... I had my wife sat on the bike to test it out and she says it doesn't obstruct her in any way and she says it feels more comfortable having the two boxes by the side...

Actually this is part of my "Master-Plan" to protect my new bike... You see, if you noticed the parts that I've installed so far on the bike: Engine-crash guard, Front-axle sliders and Extended Heavy-ended balancers, those 3 parts is only sufficient to protect front half of the bike as those 3 parts will form a 3-point contact and prevent damage to important bike parts like fuel tank, engine chassis or wheel rims...

So to protect the back half of the bike, I have thought before of employing rear sliders to complete the point of contacts to prevent the exhaust pipe or tail-board from damage, but it was deem quite not realistic or feasible as the sliders has to be around 15 to 18cm especially on the side with the exhaust... Think it looks stupid isn't it?..... :sian: So the other way around it, as I have also talked with bro motorex33, is to put side boxes to take the blunt of the damage should it fell to the side..... That way I can have spaces or compartments to enjoy with and also it protects the bike should it fell to either side...... :cheer:

Gaofar p(^.^)q

Thumbs up for you then gaofar!

Actually just read another thread, learnt from this guy roger that he's using the hepco and becker brand side panniers. Which was pretty much what I had been looking for. Big squarish types that I would like to see on my bike. But its even more expensive that ur givi box I reckon.

Maybe will go down to see for myself one day and visualise how it would look on my bike... hehe... :smile:

Originally posted by Gaofar@Jun 16 2006, 11:44 AM

Auntie Lass, wah! Go cheong in Sepang... On a Blade? So yo u got 2 bikes lah? Wonder can take my Bol'Dor there to cheong or not... :cheeky: Think better not, wait maybe in another 3 years I will fix Yoshi pipe then maybe can cheong!... :cheeky:

Gaofar p(^.^)q

yup on my blade hehe, boldor is my transport.

well u can play the track w any bike actually, saw VFR, BMW Tourers, Haya so that they usually go down for touring only. got yoshi no yoshi, fully stock oso can cheong.

Originally posted by Gaofar@Jun 18 2006, 08:11 AM

Gaofar p(^.^)q

thks for the pm & pics bro Gaofar, I'll definitely go down to check out the shop.

I think yr bike pics look great with the box - its also making me drool thinking of the benefits of extra storage, fall protection & bigger looks.

Hi bro Khoo,

Can kindly advise where's the best place to see the hepco and becker brand side panniers?

Miust compare with the Givi ones before deciding. Thanks in advance.

Hey bro tt6389, Hepco and Becker brand box can also be viewed at Motoworld...

Gaofar p(^.^)q

Had a fall this morning at the Jurong Island entry checkpoint. The barricade bar closed when I was driving through. My bike falls to the left side. Luckily my police style extended crash bar prevents my leg from getting crushed or sandwished. Even my handle bar also unscratched. Absolutely no damages at all. My armoured mesh jacket and synthetic hand gloves also saved me from skin abrasions and bruises.

But if bike were to fall on the right hand side, I think my exhaust bike will be dented for sure.

Originally posted by tt6389@Jun 19 2006, 11:54 AM

Had a fall this morning at the Jurong Island entry checkpoint. The barricade bar closed when I was driving through. My bike falls to the left side. Luckily my police style extended crash bar prevents my leg from getting crushed or sandwished. Even my handle bar also unscratched. Absolutely no damages at all. My armoured mesh jacket and synthetic hand gloves also saved me from skin abrasions and bruises.

But if bike were to fall on the right hand side, I think my exhaust bike will be dented for sure.

Hi tt6389,

i like your police-style crashbar leh! :cheer:

very the stylo-mylo. :smile:

where did u make it, n how much did it cost?

I am considering fixing this up.

Because of him the lame walked briskly,

And the songless through him burst into melody.

//////////////////Algazel (1111AD)//////////////////

I took a picture of a Yamaha Fazer600 parked side by side to my S'Boldor. Surprisingly, the bike is about same size with my SB :cheeky:

Btw, anyone can advise me how to display photos directly within my text box? :help:

Originally posted by Gaofar@Jun 19 2006, 06:19 AM

Hey bro tt6389, Hepco and Becker brand box can also be viewed at Motoworld...

Gaofar p(^.^)q

Hi Gaofar,

may i know if u have tested your bike at high speed,

with the new panniers setup.

i wonder can it do 130km/h stably?

Originally posted by tt6389@Jun 19 2006, 11:54 AM

you take care man... hope it is not contributed by the rain...

anyway, those are interesting crash bars... where did you get them? seng kwang? and how much are they?

http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/7720/dsc00157a.jpg

All Must Work Hard!

Originally posted by tt6389@Jun 19 2006, 12:20 PM

I took a picture of a Yamaha Fazer600 parked side by side to my S'Boldor. Surprisingly, the bike is about same size with my SB :cheeky:

Btw, anyone can advise me how to display photos directly within my text box? :help:

you have to first find a website to upload your pic... then use the IMG button from the reply panel to add the URL...

hope that helps... :smile:

http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/7720/dsc00157a.jpg

All Must Work Hard!

Originally posted by tt6389@Jun 19 2006, 12:20 PM

Hi TT6398,

what u can do is to save your photos/images in a website like http://www.photobucket.com.

Once u have saved/stored them, u can copy the link/image shortcut,

and paste them in your postings. Then the pic will be displayed automatically.

Originally posted by kennethy@Jun 19 2006, 01:41 PM

you take care man... hope it is not contributed by the rain...

anyway, those are interesting crash bars... where did you get them? seng kwang? and how much are they?

the crash bar fully stainless steel is from Seng Kwang, can't remember the price - think is between $250 - $300. It takes about 3/4 day to fabricate to my spec. I told them my spec is - must not be wider than the handle bars' width, yet it must protect the handle bar & the front/rear signal lights. Why smaller width? Coz when bike falls, the bike will lie at an angle from the wheel base. So a smaller width can still protect the handles' end pt. A smaller width also will allow unobstructed squeezing between traffic also.

I have seen riders falling & legs sandwiched by the hot engine - very very painful.

I think my extended crash bar is useful to prevent this. It also protects bike's everything except the exhaust pipe on the right.

Hope this helps....

Originally posted by zinedine@Jun 19 2006, 03:02 PM

Hi TT6398,

what u can do is to save your photos/images in a website like http://www.photobucket.com.

Once u have saved/stored them, u can copy the link/image shortcut,

and paste them in your postings. Then the pic will be displayed automatically.

Thks bro Zinedine for your tips.:thumb: