In the book for pylon they mention about closing and opening throttle for turning, but the instructor always says that throttle must maintain and speed is regulated by rear brake. Thats the difference.

Going through the pylon uses the same technique as on plank...maintain throttle and use rear brake.

http://i408.photobucket.com/albums/pp169/lawlietvashie/Vashie4.jpg

Class 2B - 29th March 2010 [30th April 2010 - Phantom]

Class 3 - 4th June 2008

• Replies 22.3k

If feel like going to drop, just open throttle and regain speed. Get points for clearing fast better than drop and IF.

How many points would that be ?

I heard from my friends that its not easy to pass on first try..:cry:

Anyone here got tips for U turn? i just cant seem to get the bike angle correct, keep wide turning.

Just failed 7.01. :(

:cheeky::cheeky:

2B - 10th May 2010 [PASSED]

There's a checklist at the back of the book, different timing got different penalty. Not easy to pass 3.01? I took 2 times to pass...really have trouble with pylon at first.

I remember the 2nd time I went, the instructor keep ask me open more throttle. I open, strike the kerb at the right side and flew onto the outer circuit facing downwards...my right feet got stucked in between the kerb and the bike. I couldn't do anything because I'm facing downwards...took some time for instructor to notice I fell and came to help. Took some rest at the grass patch before I go back to pract. The right side mirror got twisted 45 degrees to the front and I had to change a new bike. My leg swelled up after that day and couldn't walk properly for a week...but the good thing is I managed to pass that pract. :cheeky:

Recently I went for SP I saw the same situation happened to someone. The instructor help him up, flagged down a learner car and let it transport the guy back to the bike waiting room. They also gave the guy some ice to apply on. I didn't get any of those treatments when I had my accident. :(

Class 3 - 4th June 2008

Anyone here got tips for U turn? i just cant seem to get the bike angle correct, keep wide turning.

I have the same problem too. can never seem to get my bike positioned nicely. So I just position it my way and look far when turning out so won't go into the outer lane. :cheeky:

I hear the instructor say something like half clutch when move off, close throttle clutch in when turning to position behind the line...but I don't quite get how to do that. o_O

Class 3 - 4th June 2008

hey dude, i got this problem also last time.

so the instructor told me, when you u-turning, don't look down, look at the traffic light infront. confirm can. :cheers:

http://i163.photobucket.com/albums/t317/zakirr/yoyo.jpg

Kawasaki KRR150 (Jan 2010 - Nov 2012)

Yamaha X1 (Jan 2013 - Feb 2013)

Kawasaki KRR150 (Feb 2013 - Apr 2013)

Yamaha X1 (Nov 2013 - June 2014)

Seems like all the courses is not easy ):

When you completed learning everything, you will realise that the courses is the least you need to worry about if your bike don't have any problems. :p

More points would be deducted for your normal riding. (signal, blind spot, lane change...all those.)

Class 3 - 4th June 2008

Erm, dun think so much how many points la.

No one but yourself (and um, the BBDC computer) will know how many times you took the lesson. Even if instructor ask who first time who not first time, you can always say 2nd time only mah. Doesn't matter. 2nd module you sian already, 5.02 will be even worse.

So why worry whether you will pass it the first try or not? On the contrary, if you try too hard you will end up doing even worse, just relax and tell yourself you can do it.

My 2A I took so many RC (itchy to ride la) until I paiseh to show the book to instructor, always say nv bring :angel:

Drop the bike more times than during 2B, throw face! But drop inside circuit better than drop outside.

The important one to pass one time is the TP, not the lessons.

My bike is stock! Please don't jio me! :angel:

Super lightweight lithium batteries for sale! http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/347746

if plank less than 6 sec but more than 5 sec=4 points.

if less than 5 sec but more than 4 sec=6 points.

if less than 3 sec IF.

Guns don't kill people.Idiots with guns kill people.

Erm, dun think so much how many points la.

No one but yourself (and um, the BBDC computer) will know how many times you took the lesson. Even if instructor ask who first time who not first time, you can always say 2nd time only mah. Doesn't matter. 2nd module you sian already, 5.02 will be even worse.

So why worry whether you will pass it the first try or not? On the contrary, if you try too hard you will end up doing even worse, just relax and tell yourself you can do it.

My 2A I took so many RC (itchy to ride la) until I paiseh to show the book to instructor, always say nv bring :angel:

Drop the bike more times than during 2B, throw face! But drop inside circuit better than drop outside.

The important one to pass one time is the TP, not the lessons.

5.02 seems the hardest. I don't have good feeling for myself going for 5.02..

I think i will fail like crazy.. :cry:

5.02 is still some distance away from you...don't need to plan so far now! :gun::gun:

Focus your mind on the task at hand...I didn't even think much about 5.02 till I passed 5.01.

Class 3 - 4th June 2008

Hmmm I think it's pretty easy , one of the pracs that I passed on the first attempt . Don't worry so much about the timing first , during the first few tries , try to get the technique right . If you're good enough the instructor will let you pass and bring you to 3.2 ( Wet surface E brake ) !

Hopefully, I'm going with 1 of my friend on saturday.. It's his 3rd try already...

book an sp and just keep practicing ur u-turn ba..immediate failure due to right leg down quite sian..

u-turn must throttle more and maintain throughout, control speed using ur half-clutch and rear brake (machiam plank technique).

ensure the bike has sufficient power at all times-it will greatly reduce wobble and increase ease of handling.

once u achieve a comfortable level of control, ull be able to bring the bike down and bank confidently (fig 8 technique)

most of all, dun rush urself and keep calm..

as jB said, a u-turn is merely 2 right turns :p good luck!

as denial stated, eye point very impt..look far and will be much easier :thumb:

@sky99 it might not seem easy at first but it will come to u with more practice..good luck! :p

baby, u're my love..

http://i708.photobucket.com/albums/ww87/curtailed_cat/DSC_0725_650.jpg

So what i should do is maintain throttle and release clutch abit by abit?

Don't release your clutch , use your rear brake to control .

Go up the plank slowly and maintain the speed ( if you think you're going too fast , use rear brake to control ) once you're on it and always look straight , if you look down very hard to balance .

For me I always go up fast then slow down using rear brake while fully on plank. Heard that if go up too slow will fall when the front wheel touch the plank.

Just went RC today...feel like it's a waste of $$! Keep do the courses...in the end the instructor only say my brake scary. Never even help us count the timing for the courses. :sian:

Class 3 - 4th June 2008

what about the pylon?

i'm not very good in turning