Heard that Makida rear shocks for wave are cheap and long-lasting. Anybody can vouch?

nahhhh.. i wouldnt agree to tt. afterall its based on luck. if u hit a pot hole fast and hard, any 2b rear shocks will fail. IMO, buy the cheapest and nicest u can get. =)

i bought a makida and it leaked in a month. waste my money.. haiz..

• Replies 7.8k

Hey juelz and logan.

Thanks man, really quite worried about the wobbling.. Appreciated all the advices given. I will bring the vehicle down to my mech for an inspection immediately, paying attention to the cone and tyres.

Mine is a eight year old bike and i didnt know the forks and shocks could be serviced. May i kindly get any rough estimation for them?

The reason i'm thinking of an aftermarket one is because 1st the bike is 8 year old, 2nd i'm 70kg + my 70kg pillion, i'm not certain the suspension could really handle it. could you guys advise me on this?cause in the end, if servicing them is cheaper than purchasing a aftermarket set, i'll definitely go with the cheaper option. but i will love to hear your opinions on the stock shocks with a 140kg load.

lastly, can advise me what tires to run with? i'm currently using IRC wild fire or something like that.. Works alright but since i might be changing tires, i rather know what to change to..

Thank you very much guys.. Really.

The tires part, dunlop TT900 have always been my option. Battlax is actually the super best with good grips, but wears out super super fast. =) Dunlop can last for 1 1/2 years minimum.

For everything else, stay with original parts. Even internal parts.

if got Tsunami, we will be the only ones alive. Coz we are the WAVEEE riders. okay lame.

shocks wise.. jb is obviously cheaper. never buy in singapore for rear absorbers. hahahaha

Yeah man! Or u can invest in a pair of showa shocks like me. :)

nahhhh.. i wouldnt agree to tt. afterall its based on luck. if u hit a pot hole fast and hard, any 2b rear shocks will fail. IMO, buy the cheapest and nicest u can get. =)

True man!!!!!:eek:

Hahahaha.. cheap mah!

The tires part, dunlop TT900 have always been my option. Battlax is actually the super best with good grips, but wears out super super fast. =) Dunlop can last for 1 1/2 years minimum.

if got Tsunami, we will be the only ones alive. Coz we are the WAVEEE riders. okay lame.

TT900 is good enuf ledy.

SIME tyres cheaper and nice to play corner too.

Hehehe.. tsunami?! Hahahaha.:D

just overhauled my Wave at a motor shop in Taman U in JB.

these are the breakdowns

Conrod 155RM

Piston 75RM

Piston Ring 58RM

Block Polishing 18RM

Gasket 1 set 48RM

Cam Bearings 2 set 88RM

Big 4th Gear 78RM

Small 4th Gear 75RM

Clutch Plates 110RM

Sparkplug 11RM

Engine Oil 27RM

Timing chain 48RM

Engine Oil Pump 78RM

Sprocket Bearings 35RM

Labour Manhour 100RM

compared to SG, are these parts considered cheap or expensive.

Edited by Cyanide14

one more thing guys, when i travel at specifically 55-65km\h, the handlebar has minor wobbles, if i slowly release my grip at the speed, the bike has minor tank slapping symptoms. May i know if its a problem with the forks(slanted or smth?), or is it tyre problems?

Kinda feel damn unstable with it.. and wish to do some preventive measure, to fix or change the problem part.. Thus asking about the front fork in post above.

Kindly help me pls.

is your Wave fitted with a box?

sometimes its normal`as the Center of Gravity of the bike is shifted rearwards, causing little down pressure to the front wheels thus causing wobbling.

ya fitted with givi e33, used to have a kappa locking center which was remove and its selling in garage sales.

yeah i get your logic, but, the thing is this tank slapping thing didnt happen before, just suddenly came up, so i wont put the blame on the box, at least not yet.....

hahahha..

Vibrating bikes gimme the vibes...

Suzuki DRZ400SM M 2009 [FBD^@#$H]- 22 May 09' -

Girls are nothing but the Devil's minions..

Honda NSR150SP [FU&$^)C]- May 08'- Feb 09'

stick and stones dont break my bones...

[/img]http://i759.photobucket.com/albums/xx240/giamhe/Picture-3.jpg

these are the breakdowns

Conrod 155RM

Piston 75RM

Piston Ring 58RM

Block Polishing 18RM

Gasket 1 set 48RM

Cam Bearings 2 set 88RM

Big 4th Gear 78RM

Small 4th Gear 75RM

Clutch Plates 110RM

Sparkplug 11RM

Engine Oil 27RM

Timing chain 48RM

Engine Oil Pump 78RM

Sprocket Bearings 35RM

Labour Manhour 100RM

compared to SG, are these parts considered cheap or expensive.

Expensive actually.. :eek:

Did u check the prices @ SG Ah Boy?

Yikes! Alright noted bro.

original parts are the best for bikes like ours. Built to last.

Yeah man! Or u can invest in a pair of showa shocks like me. :)

How much did you pay for the Showa shocks?

Why so serious?

Big 4th Gear 78RM

Small 4th Gear 75RM

Your wave got two 4th gears?

means you bike got 5 gears total? :confused:

cheers! :angel:

Goodee hor hot goodee... Mat witz sebastian! :p

Big 4th Gear 78RM

Small 4th Gear 75RM

Your wave got two 4th gears?

means you bike got 5 gears total? :confused:

cheers! :angel:

I think this is almost never a factor when it comes to honda wave. I believe its a misconception.

why?

cos...

1) the mass we carry in the box is never equal to or more than a pillion. or even close, for that matter.

2) we do not move fast enough to cause downward force caused the passing air acting onto the box.

3) the distance of the box from the rear wheel vs. the distance of the front wheel from the rear wheel is lesser, hence the force is much greater on the front wheels

just my $0.02 :angel:

I think this is almost never a factor when it comes to honda wave. I believe its a misconception.

why?

cos...

1) the mass we carry in the box is never equal to or more than a pillion. or even close, for that matter.

2) we do not move fast enough to cause downward force caused by the passing air acting onto the box.

3) the distance of the box from the rear wheel vs. the distance of the front wheel from the rear wheel is lesser, hence the force is much greater on the front wheels.

just my $0.02 :angel:

Edited by SimpleRider

$350. Spec II shocks with red spring

wouldnt recommend showa shocks if u frequent jb. hahaha. prone to robbery there. not worth the hassle.

and i love going larkin @ jb and park my bike there and walk2 shopping2. if u got showa on, be prepared to go home without them.

just my 0.002 cents.

wouldnt recommend showa shocks if u frequent jb. hahaha. prone to robbery there. not worth the hassle.

and i love going larkin @ jb and park my bike there and walk2 shopping2. if u got showa on, be prepared to go home without them.

just my 0.002 cents.

I don't frequent JB now.

Only went there to do a full makeover for my bike.

So yeah.. :D

I don't even park my bike in JB.

Ride in and ride out. :p

I was referring to this Sat noon actually. ;)

Hi bro logen1836! Any chance i can tag along? Hoping you can share with me of gd lobang mah at JB;) xie xie ni...looking to get tyres and rims..shopping mode la...hahaha

Sieg Heil!!!Sieg Heil!!!Sieg Heil!!!

Hi bro logen1836! Any chance i can tag along? Hoping you can share with me of gd lobang mah at JB;) xie xie ni...looking to get tyres and rims..shopping mode la...hahaha

Hey bro,

Gotta cancel this sat's recce as im working @ 12pm. Will update u guys again aite? ;)

So sorry bout it,man.. :p

Hey bro,

Gotta cancel this sat's recce as im working @ 12pm. Will update u guys again aite? ;)

So sorry bout it,man.. :p

No need sry bro..im the one asking u for a favour mah...by e way just saw u putting up yr "new" wave for sale?:( u have changed almost like the whole bike lei...what ride u eyeing for bro?

Sieg Heil!!!Sieg Heil!!!Sieg Heil!!!

No need sry bro..im the one asking u for a favour mah...by e way just saw u putting up yr "new" wave for sale?:( u have changed almost like the whole bike lei...what ride u eyeing for bro?

Yea bro. Left with the new owner

to buy it and zoom! Hahaha.. taking over @ friend's Honda EX5.

your bike loooks exactly like mine except for my middle basket and green-ish rims. hahahahah

Fooyoh!!! Nice leh!!!

dude, you have cracks on your rubber, might mean the rubber life is over.. its time to change a new set dude. cracking may be due to heat cycles, drying the rubber causing cracks.. aside from many other possible causes for it.. but all in all it means its time to change it.

Vibrating bikes gimme the vibes...

Suzuki DRZ400SM M 2009 [FBD^@#$H]- 22 May 09' -

Girls are nothing but the Devil's minions..

Honda NSR150SP [FU&$^)C]- May 08'- Feb 09'

stick and stones dont break my bones...

[/img]http://i759.photobucket.com/albums/xx240/giamhe/Picture-3.jpg

Anyone encountered cracks on their Dunlop TT900 tyres?

My front tyre hv hairline cracks in middle of threads.....

i wouldnt worry so much unless your tires' keep getting soft too often.