how much are the repairs? I believe not more than $10K? if shared equally among the rest den at the most each person a few $K

it is considered an extremely cheap price to pay to see someone inside out

just like those ******** who want free fug... get it liao tio aids den cry foul

kiam kan only... sorry... is TOH KAN!!!

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a169/changmao/ninedragoncafe.jpg

• Replies 68

It happened like this.

patricia - driver

james - driver's bf

cathy - owner of car

shaun - backseat passenger

me - back seat passenger

kenny - designated driver but did not drive(went home by cab cos drunk)

we all went clubbing. we appointed kenny to be the driver cos cathy was determined to get drunk that night. but kenny got drunk too. me and james got no license. so we asked patricia (sober and got license) to drive. She said ok.

Then patricia crashed the car, really due to her lack of experience and poor judgement. we were travelling at 70-80km/h on a major road(4 lane) and then she realised we had to turn left(she not very familiar with the route). she turned sharply into the bend, but the car was severely understeered. crashed into divider. no one injured.

now james claimed that patricia should not pay. and the rest of us divide the cost of repair, with cathy paying a bigger portion because its her car and that she was the party organiser. and james said that kenny should pay too cos he was the designated driver.

what do you guys think of this?

Simple.

The driver will be responsible for all consequences while at the wheel. That's the golden rule. If Patricia banged and killed someone, the only one going to trial is her.

Because the rest are too drunk to drive which makes everyone in cahoot of this accident, for good friendship sake, everyone in the car should share the cost of repair equally. That's the golden rule.

If you start apportioning cost according to the blame, then everything will turn ugly and there will be no friendship left.

As the car owner, Cathy has no legal recourse if everyone defaults, but if you all are gang enough, then don't let money stand in between.

For me, i dont quantify frienships like that. Personally i dont feel any guilt when i take a free ride because I always pack supper for them and sometimes i dont collect the money from them. I mean, friendship is all about giving and taking. And the balance is hard to achieve, thus when you have really close friends, you have to treasure them.

In this incident, I am very disappointed with James because what he did and said was very insensitive and 'unbrother' to me.

But i agree with you that drivers suffer alot due to those freeloaders. Sigh

If you are going to pay, do it out of goodwill and friendship, not because you are partly responsible - no one is, other than the driver.

What is Patricia's view on this matter?

We always have a assigned driver when we go out to party or drinking sessions. All of us drive so the skills and understanding is there.

If there is any accident, ALL the passengers will chip in equally and share the costs. Usually we won't let the owner of the car pay a single cent, because he/she have be kind enough to volunteer to be the driver. And suffer the inconvenience of repairing his car.

This is not a clear-cut case of "should pay or should not". you have to search your conscience lor.

Although I feel that this will be a little unfair to the other passengers, but the way you and your friends do things very 'steady'! :thumb:

how much are the repairs? I believe not more than $10K? if shared equally among the rest den at the most each person a few $K

it is considered an extremely cheap price to pay to see someone inside out

just like those ******** who want free fug... get it liao tio aids den cry foul

kiam kan only... sorry... is TOH KAN!!!

I agree with what you said.

IMHO,

1) Patricia is a eligible driver stamp by the TP when she took the test. Maybe that TP/Instructor that took her should pay for it? HEHEHE

If i'm in this shoe, all pay lor. all come out,have fun! all go bang tree, pay up! There should no be any proportion or left out in this.

Dec 2005 - Sep 2007 Honda NSR 150 SP FS3*45M

Sep 2007 - Apr 2010 Honda CBR 400 RRL

Apr 2010 - Sep 2010 Yamaha X-1

May 2013 - Apr 2014 Kymco Grand Dink 150

Apr 2014 - ~~~ Kymco Downtown 300i

One life, Live it, Don't waste it!

My old SP

http://s223.photobucket.com/albums/dd94/SGGH/th_bike1.jpg

Though i still think it's the rider fault. But if you guys are good frenz, then i think he should at least pay a bit. Like 30 ~ 50% so that you no need to take that much damage. But the most part of me still says if skid still the rider's fault.

talking about responsibilities over the wheels.

if u are eligible to drive + inexperience + had not touch the wheels for dozen years, you will drive slowly and carefully looking out. its no excuse to miss a major road left bend.

Dec 2005 - Sep 2007 Honda NSR 150 SP FS3*45M

Sep 2007 - Apr 2010 Honda CBR 400 RRL

Apr 2010 - Sep 2010 Yamaha X-1

May 2013 - Apr 2014 Kymco Grand Dink 150

Apr 2014 - ~~~ Kymco Downtown 300i

One life, Live it, Don't waste it!

My old SP

http://s223.photobucket.com/albums/dd94/SGGH/th_bike1.jpg

It happened like this.

patricia - driver

james - driver's bf

cathy - owner of car

shaun - backseat passenger

me - back seat passenger

kenny - designated driver but did not drive(went home by cab cos drunk)

we all went clubbing. we appointed kenny to be the driver cos cathy was determined to get drunk that night. but kenny got drunk too. me and james got no license. so we asked patricia (sober and got license) to drive. She said ok.

Then patricia crashed the car, really due to her lack of experience and poor judgement. we were travelling at 70-80km/h on a major road(4 lane) and then she realised we had to turn left(she not very familiar with the route). she turned sharply into the bend, but the car was severely understeered. crashed into divider. no one injured.

now james claimed that patricia should not pay. and the rest of us divide the cost of repair, with cathy paying a bigger portion because its her car and that she was the party organiser. and james said that kenny should pay too cos he was the designated driver.

what do you guys think of this?

Her TP tester shd pay too for letting her pass. If she'd failed,then she wouldn't have gotten her lic and wouldn't have driven the car. And while at it, don't forget the driving center's role as well - they're liable too.

I thk every1 of u shd chip in. That's the most responsible and 'gangly' thing to do. But i just cant stomach James' reasoning.

Never give the devil a ride..cos he will always want to drive

hey share a little compassion for her.. well, if say she's a rich girl and still ask for you guys to pay, perhaps judgement could be this harsh. but i guess the boyfriend's, loving and concern as usual, is trying to lighten this new burden that is upon her.. i guess over here its not whether its right or wrong, but whether does she deserve the compassion? (:

no sacrifice, no victory - transformers

sensitive & sticky topic.

Best never get in such situations.

how not to? by not requesting a ride? or by not asking to pay? how can we avoid such a situation, that is the question i guess..

i say...

ask club to pay... cos club entice u guys to go there drink...

no wait... the company who supplies the drinks shld pay... cos they supply the drinks... if they dun supply...

then the club will not have the drinks and u guys won't go drunk... or maybe shld ask LTA to pay... cos the filter lane too sharp already...

if the above sounds like donkey 5hit... it is... and this is how u shld tell ur fren... lastly... stay of alcoholic drinks...

the point now is not to point fingers, but how to avoid this in the future? i guess a lesson of this experience is drink, don't drive, no matter how confident you are..

in fact this is wat they did... they didn't drink and drink... those who drink... didn't drive... i dun noe abt the driver thou...

BTW, problem solved. We came to an agreement that all 5 of us in the car should come out with something. Not equally divided, but we did it by percentage, with patricia shouldering most of it. All of us sat down like in a meeting and discussed the matter. So now hopefully things will pick up from there. One thing is certain though; we will not go to that club anymore! BAD LUCK CLUB!

in fact this is wat they did... they didn't drink and drink... those who drink... didn't drive... i dun noe abt the driver thou...

Driver drank like 2 shots. last shot at midnite. we drove off at 3plus. She passed the breath test with 0.0000000% alcohol in her body. So cannot consider that she was under influence of alcohol, so thats not drink and drive.

As for me, budget tight. So i didnt drink. But no license, cannot drive. Haha.

So James agreed that his gf shall shoulder most of the cost? Good to hear that. Anyway treat this as a lesson learnt, if really want to go clubbing, the appointed driver must be quite zhai and 100% never drink a tiny bit of alcohol. :cool:

Past Rides

Honda NSR125R, Kawasaki ZX400-L9, Yamaha YZF-R1 2001, Yamaha YZF-R1 2006, Suzuki GSX-R1000 K2

Current Rides

Mitsubishi Lancer

no money dun drive car la.

it was never a money issue all along.

if u had bothered to read carefully, you should understand what's the whole problem is about.

So James agreed that his gf shall shoulder most of the cost? Good to hear that. Anyway treat this as a lesson learnt, if really want to go clubbing, the appointed driver must be quite zhai and 100% never drink a tiny bit of alcohol. :cool:

He did not exactly agree, but he did not reject our proposal either. I cant say that he is entirely happy with it.

I believe the most important lesson for me to learn is not to take things for granted.

go club dun drive dun ride .. if u drink dun drive, if u drive dun drink.. hais. jame is somehow being unreasonable here.

Agree with the drink and drive advice. As for James, he has always been a stubborn and strong headed person, but he is a very nice friend to have. Just that in this case, we felt he was overprotecting his gf.

No comprehensive insurance?

Looks like next time I ask someone to bring me somewhere, I better ask if I need to pay in the case of an accident!

(void *) &NHY;

We live in interesting times!

BTW, problem solved. We came to an agreement that all 5 of us in the car should come out with something. Not equally divided, but we did it by percentage, with patricia shouldering most of it. All of us sat down like in a meeting and discussed the matter. So now hopefully things will pick up from there. One thing is certain though; we will not go to that club anymore! BAD LUCK CLUB!

So Kenny doesn't need to pay after all? I raised my eye-brows high high when I read that James suggested he has to pay.

It's not the club...

(void *) &NHY;

We live in interesting times!

Unless the pillion anyhow touch here and there like stand up on the bike, then i dont see any reason why the pillion pays if hes seating down properly. With regards to the above, the car case. this also happened to my friend.

Okay here it is. He was asked to have fun outside in a rented car. Then Driver fetch person A. After that, driver fetch person B. Later Person A asked driver to go cineleisure carpark as Person B wants to catch a movie. However, Driver does not want to go in as he not experienced enough yet and dont want to try entering a narrow car park. Then park there 10 mins. However, when exit the carpark, he scraped a wall. Headlight glass crack abit, and scratches. Damage about 1k plus.. However, persons A and B dont want to shoulder the blame. So in the end my friend, the driver pays up. The guy went and rent car with the intention of just driving around Singapore. So you think whose fault is it? Most of it is the driver's fault but should person A and person B shoulder abit of the cost as well?

http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt/d/4;10747;127/st/20080103/e/Class+3+tp%21%21%21/dt/13/k/1b81/event.png

2b failures...

Fell once on a bike,

Dropped bike twice, in 1.01 and SP.

How about we discuss another scenerio...(I find the final result of the TS case quite good. And it moves the mind to think more about social responsibilites and legalities.)

So here's a twist of the story.

4 friends went pubbing.

Allan is the designated driver.

Benny is the owner of the car

Carl & Donovan are passenger.

Driving along a road after the pubbing. Allan crashed the car.

Carl's left arm was amputated at the elbow. Carl is a right hander.

Donavan died.

Benny & Allan both suffers serious cuts & bruises. Benny lost an eye and Allan broke his ribs.

How do accord blame, responsibility & compensation?