I encountered the similar experience like you,chaochao.. tried to throttle and move off when my bike is tilted to the side but the bike dun not move, then though bout the sensor.. lol.. muz sit down..

Anyway, i dun think the bike will topple to the side when the handle bar is turned slightly to the side..

Btw,parking is easier with the tilt lock engaged.. once u get used to the 3 wheel lock mode pushing, it can save lots of energy bcoz you need not use ur strength to tahan the bike from toppling..

Mainstand is so easy with the tilt lock engaged.. u can even do it with 1 hand.. lol..

Where to do stay btw,chaochao?

My Rides

Yamaha Nouvo MX - Sep 2006

Honda CB400 Spec II - Nov 2007

Yamaha Nouvo Elegance - Oct 2008

Suzuki GSXR 600 K6 - June 2009

Gilera Fuoco 500 - Dec 2009

Honda CB1000R - July 2011

Harley Davidson Sportster Forty Eight - Dec 2012 (Current)

• Replies 2k

think i'm going for engine oil change soon..

My Rides

Guest chaochao
I encountered the similar experience like you,chaochao.. tried to throttle and move off when my bike is tilted to the side but the bike dun not move, then though bout the sensor.. lol.. muz sit down..

Anyway, i dun think the bike will topple to the side when the handle bar is turned slightly to the side..

Btw,parking is easier with the tilt lock engaged.. once u get used to the 3 wheel lock mode pushing, it can save lots of energy bcoz you need not use ur strength to tahan the bike from toppling..

Mainstand is so easy with the tilt lock engaged.. u can even do it with 1 hand.. lol..

Where to do stay btw,chaochao?

Tried reverse parking with tilt-lock engaged - I've to roll the bike in and out more. Released the tilt-lock to park instead. Besides, the owners manual specify not to push the bike with the tilt-lock engaged. Not sure the reason why, but I do not wanna damange any thing.

Despite its weight, pushing w/o engaging tilt-lock is quite easy because of it is balanced by three-wheels and I can access the grab-bar easily.

Wow - I never like better putting the Fuoco on mainstand! OK - have not tried doing on one-hand though.

I've made my first re-fuel over the weekend. I pumped when the reserve lights turned on. 10.1L for 234KM. 80% with pillon going at 60-70kph @ 4,000rpm-4100rpm.

This week I'd be doing 70kph-80kph @ 4,500rpm with 80% pillon. I'm already bored with the low-speeds during this run-in... no choice :cheeky:

Upside is - whenever it went - it sure got attention - especially when I do not need to put my foot down at traffic lights!!

I guess the bike will be super ready for next year's Songkran?

Of course only if it manages to capture your heart long enough... hehehe.

Anyway, as with all other bikes, running-in not exceeding 5k rpm for 1st 500k would be good enough.

After that, just gradual increase.

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

Guest chaochao
I guess the bike will be super ready for next year's Songkran?

Of course only if it manages to capture your heart long enough... hehehe.

Anyway, as with all other bikes, running-in not exceeding 5k rpm for 1st 500k would be good enough.

After that, just gradual increase.

Hey SW9000! Still got your SWing?! Yah - moved from SWing to Gilera.

Thank you for the info - at least now I have more confidence to go slightly faster... was doing 60-70kph in e'ways behind trucks and buses!!

This bike will definitely stay with me longer (cliche :cheeky: ) than SWing coz I need more stability for commuting.

Hey SW9000! Still got your SWing?! Yah - moved from SWing to Gilera.

Thank you for the info - at least now I have more confidence to go slightly faster... was doing 60-70kph in e'ways behind trucks and buses!!

This bike will definitely stay with me longer (cliche :cheeky: ) than SWing coz I need more stability for commuting.

we shall see... haha...

TEAM RedBull Singapore

Daniel aka bigcow +65 9105-0569

ScooTourers: Have Scooter, Will Travel...

Glad you are enjoying ur ride.. when i juz got the bike, i often get questions from anyway, be it at traffic light, carpark, petrol station, sure got someone will ask me about the bike, how the 3 wheel works, how much, what model,etc.. i answer then sianz liao.. lol..

My Rides

Guest chaochao
Glad you are enjoying ur ride.. when i juz got the bike, i often get questions from anyway, be it at traffic light, carpark, petrol station, sure got someone will ask me about the bike, how the 3 wheel works, how much, what model,etc.. i answer then sianz liao.. lol..

:smile: Then we should get some brochure from the agent, put into the underseat compartment... when ppl ask "Wa - never see before... what bran' huh? How much?" - we'd open our underseat, shove them the brochure "Nah - kagi kua (read it for yourself!)." :cheeky:

On two-wheelers when going over humps, I'd try evade by going to the "ends" of the hump where height is lower. However, with Fuoco *scrapped*... kenna the wheel. Again, I forgot about the two front wheels! Many habits to adapt to.

lol, i even encounter a porsche beside me at the traffic light, he winded down his window to ask me about my bike.. haha..

So chaochao bro, we can sort of look forward to next month?

My Rides

Guest chaochao
BTW, do check your radiator hose which is known to rub against the radiator fan motor housing. It will eventually cause a rupture. This is a well known problem affecting the Fuoco. It only requires a simple cable tie fix.

Not sure if Gilera has fixed that hose-glitch, but the 2010 Fuoco batch (the one that I have) hose placement looks ok.

this hose issue i use cable tie to prevent the hose from contacting with the fan..

My Rides

ouch.. am working on the 1st.. yawns..

My Rides

yup,there is a hazard light switch..

My Rides

bro chaochao.. how's ur running in?

My Rides

testing

[img]http://i919.photobucket.com/albums/ad37/fesa7044/ducati%20Vacation/SDC10009.jpg[/img]

<a href=http://i919.photobucket.com/albums/ad37/fesa7044/ducati%20Vacation/th_SDC10010.jpg' alt='th_SDC10010.jpg'>

%5Bimg%5Dhttp%3A//i919.photobucket.com/albums/ad37/fesa7044/Ducati_desmodromic_cam_animation1.gif[/img]

wow, i love ducati..

My Rides

Guest chaochao

Here's my fuel economy each top-up during the run-in:

0KM to 235KM - f/c 23km/l

60% e'way

235KM to 502KIM - f/c 24.7km/l

60% e'way

502KM to 761KM - f/c 24.7km/l

>90kph; 4,800RPM; 2-Up; Res light on = 240KM;

60% e'way

761KM to 1,026 - f/c 24km/l

>90KPH; 4,800RPM; 2-Up;

60% e'way

1,026 to 1,284 - f/c 23.2km/l

>100KPH; 2-Up;

40% e'way

1,284 to 1,562 - f/c 25km/l

>90KPH; 2-Up 60%;

70% e'way

Changed engine oil at ADH. Heard from the mech that first 10,000km have to service there in order not to void the warranty.

My fuoco has now reached 2000KM. From the looks of it, this 500cc yields a more impressive f/c compared to my previous 400cc Silverwing although both have similar weight. (I had also evaluated Silverwing with same riding condition)

Fastest speed I went so far is 120kph.

Farthest distance traveled in a single tank: 267KM

Rear suspension set to hardest.

In taking bends at 90kph (where feasible), my Fuoco does feels wobbly yet it sticks to the ground. Gotta use more effort to bank the bike. I can only manage 50kph-60kph on the Buona Vista bends. I concluded that the Fuoco is not as good in bends as a two-wheeler (unless you slow down).

I also discovered that if you apply the front brakes while taking a bend, the bike would tend to force itself upright!! This phenomenon nearly had me into an accident on the B.Vista bends!! :help:

Other test on Fuoco include:

- did a little off-road terrain i.e. grass patch with surface tree roots. Not bad except that the front tiny wheels is not very good a clearing higher bumps :(

- making multiples u-turns. Seems that it takes more effort to u-turn a 3-wheeler. It also means wider turns if you wanna go faster.

- engaging tilt-lock before coming to a stop. Not as intuitive as I thought esp if you have a pillon. Better to put foot down, then engage tilt-lock. Still, the tilt-lock function is really useful.

Things I did not fancy or wish to have:

- In the interior under seat compartment feels hot after riding for a while. Most of the heat is generated from right side which the Voltage Regulator is located. Hence, refrain from placing heat-sensitive things such as Toto 4-D tickets :sweat:

- Mirrors - too wide for squeezing between lanes. Will have to scout for a nice after-market mirrors.

- Need a rear hugger!!

Looking forward to:

- riding up to M'sia

- original OEM box (order seems to take ages to arrive)

- after-mkt pipes :clap:

- Givi windshield (last priority)

Edited by chaochao

wow bro chaochao, that is a detailed description of ur running in.. lol..

Think ur topbox will not be as long as mine, i waited 5 months plus for it to arrive..

Let's hope our exhaust arrive soon..

My Rides

Guest chaochao
wow bro chaochao, that is a detailed description of ur running in.. lol..

Think ur topbox will not be as long as mine, i waited 5 months plus for it to arrive..

Let's hope our exhaust arrive soon..

I'm getting impatient on the OEM box. Not arrive till now.

Any chance you can post some pics of how your base plate is fitted to your Fuoco tail?

I am planning to get my own box - just that I do not know what kind of fixtures to use.

can sure,mine is the givi oem rack for fuoco.. shall take some pics for u when i'm free..

My Rides

Do I smell a meet up soon?

Fuoco Owners

(1) Williamleesg - Black

(2) Chao Chao - Red

(3) MS - Black

haha,a meet up with 3 fuocos?

My Rides