Looking for Meng Tong previosuly from Looi. Heard he shifted to Motorworld. Some say he has shifted out of motorworld too. Different post in the forums give different locations. So quite confused. Anyone can enlighten me? :confused:

• Replies 43

he's @Mah P/L nw. juz saw him last Friday. :cheeky:

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o22/fba8485c/PGMIV250.jpg

u're welcome. u looking 4 him for? Mah dun hv Dyno machine. :sweat:

  neslo-ice said:
u're welcome. u looking 4 him for? Mah dun hv Dyno machine. :sweat:

I am looking for him so I can trust my ZXR to a good mechanic. The previous owner of my ninja also recommended him. I also have seen him at Loois when i used to service my KRR there. I guess a Good mechanic will be followed no matter which workshop he hops on.

Send my KRR to lo*is to wash the valve last saturday. Mechanic didn't know what was meant by wash valve. I was going to sell the bike off in week. He asked for help from another mechanic. Both of there where trying to take out my KIPS valve. They force my nut on the valve the wrong way and spoilt the thread on the nut and stem. The nut was free wheeling. KIPS nut is left hand thread. clockwise to remove. Finally after kenna scold by Ah piao they removed the nut by turning it correctly. Took them 2hr 17mins to remove just the nut. So I let them carry on, the next thing i know when i turn around, the fellow removed my carb and exhaust pipe and was about to remove my block. Ah piao got pissed off with them and he came and ask me if i Had time to leave the bike and collect on monday cos it was late already. So I agreed and told him since the parts are off, just wash and decarbonise for me the carb, block and exhaust. Everything agreed and I left feeling abit bitter cos i got to take public home.

On Monday, I called Ah piao and found he was on MC. So i just head down to the shop at 6pm. The mech had done the bike and left it aside. I went and paid for the service. I was charged for the valve rod and nut. When asked the mech told a change was needed cos the item was spoilt. I was in no mood to argue cos i was late for work and Ah piao was not around. Just paid up and took my bike. After I started the bike found that my neutral gear lights were not working. The mechanic still asked me if it was working when i passed to them. Another older mech told him to look for the fuse box. I was very puzzled, I know there is a fuse below the seat and its straight right at the mechs face. Why was he lookign for a fuse box when there isn't one? Finally another mech came and check the wirings and found they had not connected my wires. I stood and observed all these and felt very uneasy. I did a full check before riding off.

This incident cost me extra 30 bucks and a whole lot of uneasiness of leaving my bike with untrained hands. Not adding the amt i spent on public transport.

I have nothing against the shop cos this happens in alot of other shop. This is a lesson to me to be more careful with mechs that I am not familiar with. If I had not known the mechanics of my own bike I would be like one cuckoo to listen to their stories. My bike became a learning tool for the new mechs. At my expense ofcos. :sian: I should have sounded off the moment i saw them turning the wrong the nut the wrong direction. Great mistake on my part. Lesson learnt.

AFter this episode with the KRR, I think I shall let a more experience mech to handle my other bike. I wrote this not to flame the shop but to let others know that we are responsible for our bike. You can't trust a mech or the shop completely to take care of your baby. Either you know the mech well or you just keep a watch on everything he does. As for new mechs or mechs u r unfamiliar with, extra caution is needed till you feel that your bike is in good hands.

Anyone knows anyother good mech that can help me service and tune my ZXR400 other than meng tong. Most mechs not quite familiar with kawa bikes.

  genez said:
meng tong dun just do dynos mah. from what i heard he is pretty good on the ST11s and other big cruisers too.

yup. heard tt he's gd @CL2 bikes. :thumb:

  drz-killer said:
not only cruises. any bike u name it, he surely can...

another Meng Tong's fans. :sweat:

  Svanan said:
I am looking for him so I can trust my ZXR to a good mechanic. The previous owner of my ninja also recommended him. I also have seen him at Loois when i used to service my KRR there. I guess a Good mechanic will be followed no matter which workshop he hops on.

Send my KRR to lo*is to wash the valve last saturday. Mechanic didn't know what was meant by wash valve. I was going to sell the bike off in week. He asked for help from another mechanic. Both of there where trying to take out my KIPS valve. They force my nut on the valve the wrong way and spoilt the thread on the nut and stem. The nut was free wheeling. KIPS nut is left hand thread. clockwise to remove. Finally after kenna scold by Ah piao they removed the nut by turning it correctly. Took them 2hr 17mins to remove just the nut. So I let them carry on, the next thing i know when i turn around, the fellow removed my carb and exhaust pipe and was about to remove my block. Ah piao got pissed off with them and he came and ask me if i Had time to leave the bike and collect on monday cos it was late already. So I agreed and told him since the parts are off, just wash and decarbonise for me the carb, block and exhaust. Everything agreed and I left feeling abit bitter cos i got to take public home.

On Monday, I called Ah piao and found he was on MC. So i just head down to the shop at 6pm. The mech had done the bike and left it aside. I went and paid for the service. I was charged for the valve rod and nut. When asked the mech told a change was needed cos the item was spoilt. I was in no mood to argue cos i was late for work and Ah piao was not around. Just paid up and took my bike. After I started the bike found that my neutral gear lights were not working. The mechanic still asked me if it was working when i passed to them. Another older mech told him to look for the fuse box. I was very puzzled, I know there is a fuse below the seat and its straight right at the mechs face. Why was he lookign for a fuse box when there isn't one? Finally another mech came and check the wirings and found they had not connected my wires. I stood and observed all these and felt very uneasy. I did a full check before riding off.

This incident cost me extra 30 bucks and a whole lot of uneasiness of leaving my bike with untrained hands. Not adding the amt i spent on public transport.

I have nothing against the shop cos this happens in alot of other shop. This is a lesson to me to be more careful with mechs that I am not familiar with. If I had not known the mechanics of my own bike I would be like one cuckoo to listen to their stories. My bike became a learning tool for the new mechs. At my expense ofcos. :sian: I should have sounded off the moment i saw them turning the wrong the nut the wrong direction. Great mistake on my part. Lesson learnt.

AFter this episode with the KRR, I think I shall let a more experience mech to handle my other bike. I wrote this not to flame the shop but to let others know that we are responsible for our bike. You can't trust a mech or the shop completely to take care of your baby. Either you know the mech well or you just keep a watch on everything he does. As for new mechs or mechs u r unfamiliar with, extra caution is needed till you feel that your bike is in good hands.

Anyone knows anyother good mech that can help me service and tune my ZXR400 other than meng tong. Most mechs not quite familiar with kawa bikes.

tt's indeed a very bad experience. :giddy:

  Svanan said:

that place was never meant for going for service or repairs.

more for buying bikes leh.

they got like 2 levels for bikes?

  Svanan said:

Try Ah Tak from Tachyon Ubi. He himself rides and services his own Class 2 Kawa bike so he should be knowledgeable and experienced with that bike model... :goodluck:

nobody can repair bikes better than Meng Tong. :smile:

John 15:7 (New International Version)

7 If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.

-- it's true & it really works for me. :)

  neslo-ice said:
he's @Mah P/L nw. juz saw him last Friday. :cheeky:

where inside Mah they do repairs and servicing ???? i only see bikes on display leh

It's MENG KONG peeps...!

The goal of life is not to arrive at the graveyard in a well preserved body, but instead to skid in sideways, totally worn out yelling "What a ride!"

  AE86 said:
It's MENG KONG peeps...!

yes thats his name as he stated in motor culture asia last month but in circles he is known as meng tong and he doesn't mind being called that.. :cheeky:

  CivicR said:
Even so U can't go in to talk to him personnally, they won't allow.

so what if i am looking for him ... like telling him wat to service etc ????

hi....is meng tong still at Mah? or has he shifted???

KDX200/XLR200

XR250R/CBR400RR(N)

CBR900RR/ST1100/GL1500SE/ZX11R

R1/CBR1100RR/S4s/S4II/

CBR1000RR(repsol)/TA200/XLR200/Typhoon125/vxr200

S4III/FZ1s

one big round - back to 2B bike and now climbing up again !!

  tt6389 said:
nobody can repair bikes better than Meng Tong. :smile:

ya i fully agree best in singapore . he is the best ....

2b-03jan05 krr150(fx4049) sold nsr150(fs5608)sold 2011 spark t135 (fba9-2-) currently

2a-21feb06 nc35-(fr4373G) sold

2-09oct07 cbr1-(fz5547) 6oct2013 tmax500(fbf7410)

Nov2014 fjr1300 (FBJ)currently

3-16aug05

4-21sep07

5-24mar08

thankyou...will go check it out tis week

KDX200/XLR200

XR250R/CBR400RR(N)

CBR900RR/ST1100/GL1500SE/ZX11R

R1/CBR1100RR/S4s/S4II/

CBR1000RR(repsol)/TA200/XLR200/Typhoon125/vxr200

S4III/FZ1s

one big round - back to 2B bike and now climbing up again !!