Guys. I have posted this before.

Just take the sticker off a cheap old helmet and put it on your other one lah.

There are no "registries" of helmets in Singapore. Your particular helmet cannot be tracked.

As long as your helmet belongs to a model that HAS been certified, nobody will ever be able to trace whether its was from a batch that has been certified. Models like Nolan, Zeus, HJC etc are all ok. Just don't go around putting the sticker on Boxers or other exotic helmets....

PS I have written to Straits Times and a few other newspapers about it already, they don't want to print the story.

<span style=\'font-family:Ariel\'>The Difference between Men and Boys is that the Boys think the size of their Motorcycles has something to do with being a man.

Iron Butt Association#23842

• Replies 41

scooterer, takin a PSB sticker off another certified helmet is nt e way to walk away wif legal rights...

in e end when insurance or worst a court order came into e pic u r still at e losin end...

if anyone wld remember there is actually a female rider wearin a arai helmet n a heavy vehical wheel(either a bus or lorry i cldnt remember) went over tat helmet when she had an accident..she survived tat accident to tell tat story on e news...

nw e first thing tat came to my mind is - is tat full face arai helmet PSB certified?? n wat wld PSB has to say if its nt??

oh btw tat helmet suffer only some hairline crack but ofcos its not usable anymore...

i heard from the salesgal from motoworld that the helmet did not send for inspection n not that they failed the PSB test...she says that if it was sent the price of the helmet will be higher

Hi Guys, I think we've been seeing this topic again & again.

Actually the helmets being not approved, who's the actual culprits?

As we've seen, many people swear by the Snell approved helmets after evidence of users alive after a serious crash. Why isn't it being approved?

Merchants claim that the helmets would be more costly if it is sent for testing to seek approval. Is that a logical reason not to get it approved?

I think it's more logical for them to sell both kinds at least. A costlier version for that sticker, & the cheaper version without the sticker.

Anyway, this was taken from the TP's website regarding tinted visors. I guess when they say unapproved, it also does refer to helmets without PSB stickers.

"Can I get a refund if the helmet I bought is not within the regulations?

You would have to check with the shop that sold the helmet. Nonetheless, it is an offence for the retailer to sell any helmet that is unapproved. You may provide the particulars of the retailer to Traffic Police for investigation pertaining to the sale of unapproved helmets."

And I will say it again and again... if you have a $50 head, then wear a $50 PSB approved helmet from LAB.

I was fined twice before for wearing a full faced helmet when its use was not officially approved yet, each time I paid $30 for the charge of "wearing helmet of not approved type".

Lets just say that you are only allowed to use a $50 PSB approved fibreglass sheet as a bullet shield to protect yourself against the enemy's bullets and the bullets are beginning to make holes in your shield. Someone then offers you a Kevlar composite bullet proof shield, unfortunately it is not PSB approved but guaranteed to stop the bullets.

What would you do?

Originally posted by DragonX@Sep 5 2006, 07:58 PM

i heard from the salesgal from motoworld that the helmet did not send for inspection n not that they failed the PSB test...she says that if it was sent the price of the helmet will be higher

this is always the shop's lame excuse...

you means a $35 helmet can send and pay for PSB certification and a $800 ARAI cannot?? due price? when they can sponsor hundred of thousands in GPs?

There are some technicalities I realised when I bought a helmet recently....

I wanted to get a Flip Up. The available one are only NOLAN and SHOEI at Aik Chong.

NOLAN is approved and SHOEI is not...funny? SHOEI is $400 while NOLAN is $300. Why SHOEI did not get PSB cert? Many shop before this told me more expensive to get PSB etc etc.... AIK CHONG told me the nest reasoning and I believe.... SHOEI is "CLIP FASTENED" for the chin strap, a non-compliance for PSB certification.....hmmm....maybe it does make sense after all...

How about the insurance aspect?

Will they disallow your claims based on some technicality if you get into an accident and was wearing a non-approved helmet?

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

i guess no one can know for certain...like someone earlier thread says, the insurance company might try to find all sorts of excuse to lessen their loss in the event of a claim, especially a huge one....

that's the reason i chose a Nolan instead of the Shoei though i prefer the Shoei.... we do not want an accident and if it happens, why "sink" further?

my 2 cents

Originally posted by paithorn@Sep 6 2006, 08:04 AM

this is always the shop's lame excuse...

you means a $35 helmet can send and pay for PSB certification and a $800 ARAI cannot?? due price? when they can sponsor hundred of thousands in GPs?

There are some technicalities I realised when I bought a helmet recently....

I wanted to get a Flip Up. The available one are only NOLAN and SHOEI at Aik Chong.

NOLAN is approved and SHOEI is not...funny? SHOEI is $400 while NOLAN is $300. Why SHOEI did not get PSB cert? Many shop before this told me more expensive to get PSB etc etc.... AIK CHONG told me the nest reasoning and I believe.... SHOEI is "CLIP FASTENED" for the chin strap, a non-compliance for PSB certification.....hmmm....maybe it does make sense after all...

i do understand that some of the helmets are clip fastened thus non-compliance for PSB certification, but the particular helmet which i m looking is a HJC CL-14 which is using D-ring as i saw in the reviews n also read in this forum that quite a number of users out there too (using HJC CL-14). Though i do not know wat r tested b4 approving the helmet, i believe that the helmet shld be able to pass the test.

i do think is the brand that sends the helmet for PSB testing but the shop, the shop that i went to is motoworld, which the salegal there told me abt it.

i agree with coollce that they shld sell both kinds, 1 with PSB more costly n 1 without cheaper, if both is sold i will surly go with the one that is with the PSB as i wan a good helmet that doesn't give me an insurance trouble.

for me i would rather go with the not PSB approved but guaranteed to stop the bullets shield than one that i m seeing holes.

hi guys so far any1 kena fine by TP bcos of wearing a helmet w/o the PSB sticker? btw wat if the PSB sticker drop off? so is it still considerde as a approved 1? :confused:

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o22/fba8485c/n687922172_4603.jpg

万般带ä¸èµ° ... 唯有业éšèº«

But if someone crash with the $20 psb approved helmet and die, the money is useless to the person, if you crashed with a unapproved $800 arai helmet and keep ur life, i think you would rather heck care about the insurance pay out.. At least u r still alive

Agreed. I once asked an official who came to give a talk about traffic safety at a certain venue, whether we should wear non-approved ARAI helmets. Being an avid rider himself, he said, "They are things that really save your head, TP won't catch one!"

I wonder how true is that, since he himself is in the trade, I presume there's some credibility.

Originally posted by BaaBaa Black Sheep@Oct 19 2006, 06:13 PM

But if someone crash with the $20 psb approved helmet and die, the money is useless to the person, if you crashed with a unapproved $800 arai helmet and keep ur life, i think you would rather heck care about the insurance pay out.. At least u r still alive

http://app2.nea.gov.sg/data/xml/rainlocation_map.gif

but i tink wad worries most ppl here is tt wad happens if u wearing a damn good helmet snell n dot approved but non psb approved n crash at high speed n die would it be worst? scully no claim for ur family or loved ones coz of the helmet not being psb approved den how? imagine if u were to crash at 100+km/h u dun need to be damn fast all u need is u to fly head first into a tree or signboard regardless psb, snell, dot there goes ur neck n ur life

Character is doing the right thing when no one is watching..

2005 - 2005 Aprilia RS125 FR6755A

2005 - 2006 Honda Wave S FW5450J

2006 - 2007 Honda CBR 400 RR FQ6676A

2007 - 2008 Suzuki GSX-R600 K5 FZ414G

2008 - 200? Yamaha YZF R1 A* 86 *

2008 - 2009 Honda CB400 Vtec 1 FR8377U

2009 - 2009 Honda Wave S FX4974R

:help: wat if the PSB sticker drop off? so is it still considerde as a approved 1? :help:

http://i116.photobucket.com/albums/o22/fba8485c/n687922172_4603.jpg

万般带ä¸èµ° ... 唯有业éšèº«

Originally posted by contrarian@Jan 25 2006, 10:08 PM

this link is to an article from bmw motorcycle club singapore is from a motorcycle rider and doctor who about his own crash experience and photos:

http://www.bmwmcs.org/documents/The%20Usef...tive%20Gear.pdf

Wow thanks for sharing the PDF file with us! Now I can show it to anyone that thinks that I am being nuts or a show off when I wear my FF helmet, armoured jacket, gloves, touring boots and jeans everytime I ride!

PS: Of course I sweat like a bloody pig after each ride! But I'm used to it.

c26492.jpg
icon-help.gif wat if the PSB sticker drop off? so is it still considerde as a approved 1? icon-help.gif

Any bros can help with this?? i oso sticker fall off..then another old helmet the sticker faded till jialat.. :giddy: