ok guys..

i own a pair of alpinestars sps gloves and recently got caught in the rain.. the gloves was totally soaked..

thinkin tat rainwater is not good for the gloves i dipped them in cleaned water and squeezed the water out.. water was quite dirty afterwards.. so now i am hangin them out to dry..

so i was wonderin is there any so called correct method to clean n maintain leather gloves ? or wat steps r u guys takin for ur own gloves ?

Bah-weep-Graaaaagnah wheep ni ni bong.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v643/wayangxjr/contrast_siggy.jpg

• Replies 12

obvious thing is you have to dry it in the shade, and dont use detergent

to maintain the shine and suppleness of leather, get a bottle of mink oil from bata (can't remember the price, less than $10) and apply it once it a while. Quite useful, I use it for my shoes and jacket too.

Hi, oil on leather gloves? will it make the leather surface slippery and lost the grip? :confused:

It doesn't make any difference whether a motorcyclist has the right-of-way or not, the rider is the one most likely to get hurt.

http://www.motorcycle-accidents.com/bike_photo/4-21-02_b.jpg

for me I use my gloves everyday but not the alpinestar one,

half pail of water + a bit of "clothe washing" soap. dip dip, squeeze, dip dip, squeeze. admire how dirty the water is meaning the gloves are 'cleaner'

rinse rinse a bit . Water will still come out a bit blackish. it's ok to me.

Throw in washing machine to spin dry. Hang up in house near window to blow dry.

Overnight to dry and ready to wear by next morning.

I haven't tried leather oil on my gloves before. I've been using this pair of gloves for about 2+ years (everyday usage) already. Still nice and supple :D

Big brother's watching...

http://yanuk.net/temps/led_ring_sil.jpg

To do list:

- Steel brake hoses (In progress...)

- Rewire bike

- Repaint fairing and clean up bike

- Replace exhaust system (DONE!)

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b286/Angkuguay/marcusakaflowers.jpg

Always in my heart...

Originally posted by ReBornBikeR@Feb 10 2006, 10:11 AM

Hi, oil on leather gloves? will it make the leather surface slippery and lost the grip? :confused:

dont have to apply the whole bottle la....

and after the mink oil is applied, you have to let it sit for a while, the leather will absorb some of the oil, some of it will dry out.

Use Autoglym Leather Care cream.... Its good for maintaining the softness of your gloves and keeping it supple. I use it for my racing suit and gloves too. And keep your gloves in your cool and dry place. :smile:

http://p1.bikepics.com/pics/2009/07/09/bikepics-1722149-full.jpg

If It Ain't Scary, It Ain't Fast Enough
Originally posted by Lion@Feb 10 2006, 11:48 AM

Use Autoglym Leather Care cream.... Its good for maintaining the softness of your gloves and keeping it supple. I use it for my racing suit and gloves too. And keep your gloves in your cool and dry place. :smile:

leather care cream, and conditioner, buy at Ikea.:bounce:

ok guys.. i wil go try out some of ur methods.. anyway i oso need to buy some leather care products for my sofa.. 2 birds 1 stone :cheeky:

Bah-weep-Graaaaagnah wheep ni ni bong.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v643/wayangxjr/contrast_siggy.jpg

Dry your gloves inside the fridge!

Laughing? Well, inside fridge the climate is like 8 degC, and 25 % rel.humidity.

Other than outside with 85%.

So, gloves will get-demoistured within 1 day when humid, and within 2-3 days when wet.

But explain to the wife before...

regards -GH- the great hunter

http://www.hmb-guzzi.de/html/2_k.jpg

sorry to dig out old thread....

but how do u guys get rid of smell from leather gloves.

i have sweaty palm and wearing gloves everyday, makes my glove stink every 2-3 days after wash.. :sian:

maybe can try febreeze..

dun noe is the rite spelling..

the smell is cause by the bacteria present in the gloves and cannot get rid of by normal/mild detergent..