• Replies 3.9k

You dont diy on your bike? the walls missing tools! heheheh

Tip #01

Adding on to the shadow 400 thread.

Taken from the manual.

Engine oil recommended viscosity 10w40. Rated API SF or SG or higher.

8k km max. 3-5k km is the popular range.

Oil filter 8k km max

Spark plug 8k km max

Oil change only 2.2L

with filter 2.4L

With bike off the side stand, oil level should be within the dashes after 3 min warm up

too little oil, bye bye to engine

too much oil, sluggish performance and high oil pressure. Will lead to gasket leaks.

Edited by Hydher

#Tip 02

Tripmeter is a common point of failure.

Easily fixed with a momentary switch.

just diy fix my trip meter. total cost.. $0.50 cents for the switch!

Edited by Hydher

hello riders.

Japanese metric cruiser meet up at yishun damn 7pm first then jalan kayu 7.30pm 28june today.

Look for the rest of the cohort and park neatly together ok :)

hydher 83368968

Edited by Hydher

#Tip 03

There is a tool box compartment below the cover of left side of the bike below your thighs when seated.

Just yank that cover outwards.

#Tip 04

Speedometer too dim? Get a T10 led bulb which is less than 2.6cm in height.

Confused with led codes?

Led type 1206 is closer thus lights more evenly(good for illuminating areas).

Led 5050 is brighter but you will get dead spots(good for illuminating particular spots).

White will illuminate best.

Edited by Hydher

Correction Hydher,

7pm at Yishun Dam. Convoy ride off at ~7.15pm. Will probably reach Jalan Kayu at 7.30pm.

hello riders.

Japanese metric cruiser meet up at jalan kayu 7pm 28june today.

Look for the rest of the cohort and park neatly together ok :)

hydher 83368968

Of course I trust my skills. I ride alone cos I don't trust the competency of the driver next to me.

When a piaggio vespa meets a Honda shadow :)

2013-06-28 14.32.15.jpg

Took off a load of crap at the front end too

2013-06-28 15.34.42.jpg

Shadow thread forever so active! Dragstar thread is so quiet. Haha

Pardon me for typo error as this is sent by mobile.

-= Ride to Freedom, Freedom to Ride =-

Hey Mike, its time to change your avatar pic.

Oh yah! I'm finding time to take photo of my dragstar!

maybe you can't as they don't do the same bike for men :angel:

That's before .... wait to see After

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=254945&d=1345600787

maybe you can't as they don't do the same bike for men :angel:

Nah, just that recently are busy so no time to bring the bike out for proper photo shoot. Will definitely upload the pic to fb once available 😄

My personal account of changing to a smaller rear sprocket

I have been reading overseas shadow ace 750cc forum and they have been giving good feedbacks on a smaller rear sprocket modification 38tooth from the original 41tooth.

Since the modification allowed me to use a 120 525 links chain(commonly used for a super four ; giving me a wider, cheaper range of chains) instead of a 122 link and I was due to a chain change, for shits and giggles, since it was never spoken here in our forum, i went ahead to order it online. Despite mine being a 400cc.

Mechanic said it will give me less power and its not a good mod for a 400cc. Climbing up carparks will be hard.

I am stubborn and ordered it anyway. As by ratio, the change was minimal.

I bought a chain and it was on the way on freight but its taking too long! But waiting for it means my mods are reversible!

I was impatient and since i was at the mechanic, i had him to it.

I watched as he grinded off two links and when he took off the sprocket, it was 43 TOOTH!

Siao liao :sian:

Riding off, bike keeps stalling when clutching in so i had to increase the idling.

As I hit the first gear, it seems 10-15% slower than normal but the taller gearing meant that i could drag it longer. So its not something too much of a difference.

Second gear was the same as the first.

But once it hit 40km/hour, OMG! You need less rpm to increase your speed!Its really obvious!

I shifted too early and at 60 at the last gear, it gave that draggy wrong gear feeling. However, at 70, it felt right.

I found myself moderating well at the highway from 90-120km/hr.

It no longer gives that finding the last gear feeling.

Its a really nice smooth cruising experience now.

This is a great mod and i strongly reccomend it.

I will never change back to the stock 43t gearing.

This really feels right and is the best mod i have ever done to my shadow.

I will update this again with the fc and the multi storey carpark climbing abilities.

2013-07-04 16.49.36.jpg

Hydher

Edited by Hydher