[Technical] Possible Solutions to your Phantom's Problem

Every 50km top up 2T oil is too exaggerating la ... when i rode TA150 also no need 50km top up once...

Just buy one bottle, top up to maybe 3/4 or so, then keep the rest in your box. Visually check if there is a need to top up. Daily.

• Replies 1.8k

Hey thanks zyrofillica. Yes, i think it's 2 stroke oil, cos my bike is phantom 150 version. But to have to go back to the bike shop every 50 km is very taxing. Hmm. Can i just check the level of the 2-stroke oil myself, and when it is about to run out, then i go back to the shop?

Anyway, touch wood, but have you gotten any parking summons before? If i didn't put any parking coupons, say if i park at my friend's HDB void deck, and if i suay suay kena fined a few times, then is the fine capped at fixed rate of $25?

Parking under void deck is town council.. very hefty. carpark is ura. Pavement is tp. :thumb:

2t buy and learn to top up urself or watch them do and learn

yup..

i bought a book of coupons. but did not even use once.. normally i will put a ticket if i see 80% of bikes beside me put.. * meaning auntie comes offen.*

best is not to park in void deck. not worth the fine. get a season parking be good. not worth it..

oh yea. remember to always put a 2t oil in your box... best is to buy 2 bottles at lab. may be cheaper.. must bargain k ..

damned "strawberry flavour" la.. "vanilla flavour"... omg... :dozed: please spare the 4T bikers!

hahaa.... funny man.. doing marketing yea

noooooo... I'm telling him to avoid those... argh my poor nose... :dozed:

hi everyone, i have a few more queries:

1) I have passed by a few ERP gantries recently, one at Toa Payoh Lor 6 from Braddell Road, and another at Bendemeer Road. I realised that the gantries have been switched off. Do you guys noe why? Or are my eyes playing tricks on me?

2) I might oso have passed by a few more gantries, without me being aware of it. TOuch wood. But if that really happened, and I did not put in my cash card, how long would it take for LTA to send me the fine? Oh man. I really hope not. Haizz.

3) Anybody knows if there is a speed camera at Upper Serangoon Road? At the junction just before turning into Hougang St 21. I did something real stupid. Mine was the first vehicle before the traffic lights. After a while, i thought the lights will turn green. SO i inched the bike forward, until i eventually move off! But in fact, it's still at red light. **** man. Haha.

4) What is the estimated cost of installing two side boxes?

1) I have passed by a few ERP gantries recently, one at Toa Payoh Lor 6 from Braddell Road, and another at Bendemeer Road. I realised that the gantries have been switched off. Do you guys noe why? Or are my eyes playing tricks on me?

2) I might oso have passed by a few more gantries, without me being aware of it. TOuch wood. But if that really happened, and I did not put in my cash card, how long would it take for LTA to send me the fine? Oh man. I really hope not. Haizz.

3) Anybody knows if there is a speed camera at Upper Serangoon Road? At the junction just before turning into Hougang St 21. I did something real stupid. Mine was the first vehicle before the traffic lights. After a while, i thought the lights will turn green. SO i inched the bike forward, until i eventually move off! But in fact, it's still at red light. **** man. Haha.

1) its normal for ERP gantries to be switched off at times, even if it is supposed to be switched on (e.g. North Bridge Road gantry off @ 1pm). If the traffic is light the ERP rates would drop or even be switched off.

2) I think they will send you a letter for IU inspection...

3) aha... a false start... please do not move off until its clear that its green ok... or else you will be slapped with a 12 sec penalty... possibly byebye to a podium finish... and, a speed camera won't detect such minute movements...

4) I got my pair of E21 at $180 from LAB...

i live in bishan so i can ans your Qus 1 for sure : it's because those 2 erp will only be on in the morning. Due to many complains from the hawkers , gov decided to only on those in the morning when it's crowed..

normally to play safe , just put in your cash card everytime u travel. or just slot it in your jeans or something. it take around a week for the letter to come. $10 fine + erp price = total u pay. * hope i'm right cause my family member kanna the letter before.

total : 2 Qus ans

yeah one time forgot to put in erp card and zoom past it....got a letter from LTA to send the erp gadget to a lta approved inspection centre for testing....

heng just test no fine or pay erp erp charges......

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level and beat you with experience every time:dot:

Every 50km top up 2T oil is too exaggerating la ... when i rode TA150 also no need 50km top up once...

Just buy one bottle, top up to maybe 3/4 or so, then keep the rest in your box. Visually check if there is a need to top up. Daily.

wow daily...my one bottle last me more than 2000km of ride..

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level and beat you with experience every time:dot:

Thx once again for all the comments, dudes.

Anyway, any of u guys know what are the bike parking charges in town areas? Say Raffles Pl and Orchard? I know it's really expensive for cars, like $1.30 per 30 mins in some areas. But does the rate apply for bikes too?

It really depends on where you're going to exactly. Different building different charges.

This is from memory:

In Orchard, park at Cainhill carpark, $1/entry. Plaza Sing is free entry.

(Tangs and Wisma are $3 and $2.50 respectively when i was last there)

Marina area mostly free except Esplanade and Millenia Walk.

Raffles Place there's a number of coupon parkings. Most buildings there do not allow bikes in.

Thx once again for all the comments, dudes.

Anyway, any of u guys know what are the bike parking charges in town areas? Say Raffles Pl and Orchard? I know it's really expensive for cars, like $1.30 per 30 mins in some areas. But does the rate apply for bikes too?

try following the where to park guide... and slowly explore "free" places for parking...

for raffles place... you can try park at lau pa sat...

i always park at pavement de ;-) esplane is free also if i'm not wrong..

Plaza sin no more free already.. updated.

hey guys, i've travelled 1000km since my last engine oil top-up 1 mth ago, and today i found it to be @ it's low limit already.... any advice?

also, while washing my bike today, i notice that the front left of the carb is rather oily, and the shiny big cover for the air filter; beside the ignition has like oil stains on it. think some oil got out of the carb and due to the wind, it got blown back.

any idea for this too?

Do what's right, not what you think is right. =)

hey guys, i've travelled 1000km since my last engine oil top-up 1 mth ago, and today i found it to be @ it's low limit already.... any advice?

also, while washing my bike today, i notice that the front left of the carb is rather oily, and the shiny big cover for the air filter; beside the ignition has like oil stains on it. think some oil got out of the carb and due to the wind, it got blown back.

any idea for this too?

are you riding a TA200? if yes, that probably means that your piston seal is damaged, and engine is leaking into the combustion chamber and getting burnt... :sian:

yeah, TA200, so

wad do i have to tell ah chong?

wad will i need to change?

roughly how much will that cost?

what will happen if i do not rectify the problem asap?

thanks for ur prompt reply bro.. =) really appreciate it.

yeah, TA200, so

wad do i have to tell ah chong?

wad will i need to change?

roughly how much will that cost?

what will happen if i do not rectify the problem asap?

thanks for ur prompt reply bro.. =) really appreciate it.

hmmm... tell ah chong that your EO is disappearing... he will probably understand... if he really thinks that your piston ring is damaged... you are looking at an overhaul... a few hundred dollars... but of course... see what he say first...

if you do not solve the problem, its either that you have to keep topping up EO or risk getting dry clutch dry gears dry engine...

Thanks for ur advice Vidak...

went to ah chong today.. he says the leak is harmless, but in order to stop it, i gotta spend quite abit...

as for EO disappearing... well.. he told me to suck it up(chi da bian)... bought a chessa fully syn 10w50 from him today @ $16

he said if i were to check it regularly, every 500km check eo to make sure it's within range, don't give it any chance to give way, it should be fine =)

Thanks for ur advice Vidak...

went to ah chong today.. he says the leak is harmless, but in order to stop it, i gotta spend quite abit...

as for EO disappearing... well.. he told me to suck it up(chi da bian)... bought a chessa fully syn 10w50 from him today @ $16

he said if i were to check it regularly, every 500km check eo to make sure it's within range, don't give it any chance to give way, it should be fine =)

ha ok... glad that he didn't have to recommend you to overhaul... although now you have to keep topping up EO like a 2t bike... :dozed:

anyway, do you know how to check the oil level? :confused:

ha ok... glad that he didn't have to recommend you to overhaul... although now you have to keep topping up EO like a 2t bike... :dozed:

anyway, do you know how to check the oil level? :confused:

i travelled 1000km liao... checked like empty...

ah chong poured oni 400ml of eo inside, de marking shows full... =)

speaking of how to check oil level.... they say must upright the bike... den wipe de dipstick... dip it in(w/o screwing in) den check the marking @ the crossed area of the end of the dip stick... but i dunno why i always check nothing(scare de **** out of me)... but when i check in front of ah chong... like still have... malu.... :cheeky:

issit must when the engine is warm? cos when i do my check... it's usually like morning when i wash my bike... so it haven warm up...

or like they always say, 90% of the problems encountered is user related :dozed:

i travelled 1000km liao... checked like empty...

ah chong poured oni 400ml of eo inside, de marking shows full... =)

speaking of how to check oil level.... they say must upright the bike... den wipe de dipstick... dip it in(w/o screwing in) den check the marking @ the crossed area of the end of the dip stick... but i dunno why i always check nothing(scare de **** out of me)... but when i check in front of ah chong... like still have... malu.... :cheeky:

issit must when the engine is warm? cos when i do my check... it's usually like morning when i wash my bike... so it haven warm up...

or like they always say, 90% of the problems encountered is user related :dozed:

never check oil levels when the engine is hot! taking out the dipstick might result in hot boiling oil flying out... :dozed:

yea.. chex9000 Rox.. i'm using it also... might wanna try others the next 2.5k ;-)