I was told bec there is more Xenon gas inside - they will be brighter & las longer. Important point maybe they disipated heat better..

what is the FAT H4 colour beam? how much huh!!

3 Arai Helmet Meets Up :angel:

• Replies 716

from the attached pics, I see tat the fat h4 bulb is 100/90w. our s4 bike is specfically to use 60/55w bulbs. will these bulbs cause our OEM h4 connector to melt due to higher current flow?:confused:

Another important point where most bikers dun seem to understand yet ! melting are cause mainly by electrical sparking at the connectors between the Holder & Bulb. These connectors are loose due to wear & tear - to solve this problem especially among old bikes is to grease the connecting points but if the holder connectors are too loose - have the holder changed.

HP: 93891138 :angel:

what is the FAT H4 colour beam? how much huh!!

i am not too sure myself wat are the colors available but will check.

what brand issit by the way? Onlite ????

Onlite is a Korean Maker of Halogen Bulbs - the boss is my friend Mr. Halo Kim :D :D :D

Another important point where most bikers dun seem to understand yet ! melting are cause mainly by electrical sparking at the connectors between the Holder & Bulb. These connectors are loose due to wear & tear - to solve this problem especially among old bikes is to grease the connecting points but if the holder connectors are too loose - have the holder changed.

i agree to ur above statement.

but if the FAT H4 is drawing more current than the normal H4,

wont the drawing of the extra current by the FAT H4

heat up the cables and the H4 connector since the specs is said to use 60/55w?

can our OEM H4 connector and its cable withstand the higher current flow and the heat?

its jus like we boil water with a kettle and when the water boils, the cable will be warm...

no punk intended, bro. :)

Well not if they are spec at the OEM H4 rating of 12v 60/55watt. But from experience - itis the older bikes tt always hv this melting problem bec nobody maintain their headlight system - typical " if got light then itis not spoilt ". Every part have a life-span, do change them when necessary & inproper modification & poor workmanship is another source of Headlight system melting not jus heat alone.....

my ultimate questions is... "based on a brand new bike point of view, will installing of the FAT H4 bulb cause any adverse effect to the OEM H4 connector and cables? eg, melting of cables and connector?" :confused:

sorry for my noob questions. i'm a newbie. :)

my ultimate questions is... "based on a brand new bike point of view, will installing of the FAT H4 bulb cause any adverse effect to the OEM H4 connector and cables? eg, melting of cables and connector?" :confused:

sorry for my noob questions. i'm a newbie. :)

Unlikely mate if they are of the correct specification. :D

Super 4 uses 60/55w but the FAT H4 is 100/90w. any issue for this?

seems tat the FAT H4 is only available for 100/90w whereas the normal H4 is 60/55w...

i think they spec for cars at 12v 100/90watt at the monment - got to check if they make them at 60/55watt - i am sure it can be done...

if a FAT H4 is being fabricated to be 60/55w,

will the brightness be the same as the 100/90w? :confused:

Careful guys..more xenon gas means brighter..higher wattage means current drawn (basic electrical theory) and it's not compatible with stock wiring; relays and heavy...gauge wiring are necessary. Also note that your headlamp glass and reflector may not take the heat for continous prolong use like long night trips. If there is one with technology light "energy saver"...then you can consider...for the mean time..there is risk taken if you takes up to it.

Blue colour to the glass project a brilliant daylight white light...much like using a camera shooting in incadenscent lighting with a blue filter lens filter on the lens. They are rated at 3900K.

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

Yes, mate that is correct - spot on man.

Rencently I was helping a 5 year old Honda 650 scooter checking his headlamp wiring harness - he is using Normal clear glass H4 60/55watt but his H4 holder is already showing sign of melting. This was cause by the low idling, he has set to the bike casuing a lot of virbration resulting in electrical sparking at the holder.

So pls dun miss the point - itis not a higher rating Halogen causes melting dun focus on the Rating & not do maintainence on your lighting system. :D

Careful guys..more xenon gas means brighter..higher wattage means current drawn (basic electrical theory) and it's not compatible with stock wiring; relays and heavy...gauge wiring are necessary. Also note that your headlamp glass and reflector may not take the heat for continous prolong use like long night trips. If there is one with technology light "energy saver"...then you can consider...for the mean time..there is risk taken if you takes up to it.

Hmmmmmmmmmm i think Mr. AH PEK point is pls use the correct bike for the correct purpose if u use a 2B bike to go Thailand then the headlamp & many other functions cannot support the long trip. Use a cruiser, their lighting systems & other functions are design to go long long distance.

BTW, did u know all 2B bike dun even hv a Halogen system, most are still using incandescent bulbs, which is already ban in the USA.

All filament bulbs burn at 2500-4300 kelvin & they are coated to produce other colors - White, Blue, Purple, Green & Golden color my favourite color which penetrates FOG unlike the rest. :D

Blue colour to the glass project a brilliant daylight white light...much like using a camera shooting in incadenscent lighting with a blue filter lens filter on the lens. They are rated at 3900K.

yes, this is wat i wana say about. upz for Ah Pek!!! Huat ah!!! :lol: :thumb:

Hmmmmmmmmmm i think Mr. AH PEK point is pls use the correct bike for the correct purpose...

so am i right to say our beloved Super 4s cannot use the FAT H4 rated 100/90w bulbs...??? :confused:

For once..size is not a matter..heeeee...x2. As long as its H4 and as fat as it can be..you can always use it unless the wattage specs that comes with it in your headlamp is the same. I believe that the fat one was meant to contain as much gas possible..not for reliablity but rather to achieve brightness..and hopefully the filament is reliable enough to tolerate the heat for prolong continous usage without burning out. OSRAM and Phillip did well with their extra brightness in stock specs and without noticeable increase in circumference or length of the glass tube.

If you still intent to use 100/90W..go ahead..but do change your wiring to a higher current rating one than the stock and oso the H4 socket and relay( if any). Loose connection can be one of the causes but seldom and unlikely. There has been too many cases that had happened and it had been realised that its the heat from the headlamp chamber that has transited back to the conductor...the blue and white cable being most common. Mine melted once because I used H4 100/90W before..worse if you do "beaming" a lot or stay at hi-beam for a little too long after a period of time and occassion used. I'm certain of this because my bike never vibrates and so are the others that encountered similar problems (not all S4)

OSRAM and Phillips ones are okay as their specs are rated at stock spec usage and has a 30% to 40% brightness. Believe there is some increase in gas contend and more thicker reliable filament used to tolerate the heat for that extra demand.

My only best recommendation is either to get a car headlamp (some mod required), have your wiring upgrade or check out the Harley boys headlamp. Oso..do consider your reflector and headlamp heat torlence range. If you have extra Hella spot lightings etc...make sure they have their own fuse and uses relay.

Plse understand that I'm not talking down anyone recommendation or product..all above said are IMHO and base on my experience, internet search and plenty of read up..and oso advise from others, I'm just here to share. Just take it with a pinch of Wasabeh..still at all time you guys are entitle to your opinion :)

i trust ah pek again! hahahaha :cheer:

:lol: ...yah..very trust worthy..thanks :D ..seriously, its about all the truth I know lah :cheeky:

Hmmmmmmmmm how unusal, every 10 bikes i help to DIY the light bulb 8 of them have stock bulb specification & the holders are showing sign of melting. So pls check/maintain yr wire harness - lightly grease them at the contact point. There is no perfect lighting solution tt is why we are discussing here ..... cheers ..........

i agree that loose connection is always the discrepancy for connectors to melt due to poor terminal contact and heat.

my spec 1 is 8 years old le, had never encountered any such problem.

yes, mate that is nice - as with wear & tear all products do have a life cycle pls grease the connectors when u hv a chance to. For all you know it may last U another 8 years with a problem.... Cheers