nice paint work! u got any books on how to use air brush? or u learned it urself? and wat paint to u use n how do u mix them?? do i have to mix the paint with water or anything liek that? shucks...always wanted to learn.....but no money for courses sia which i believe is a waste of money?

could u enlighten me? give me ur words of wisdom! lol :D

i got this book but it's in chinese. it's a translation of the jap model manual 'how to build gunpra'. teaches basic stuff like how to cut the parts from their trees and basic paint/thinner mixing techniques. unfortunately it's all in chinese and very much out of print already.

i only use arcrylic paints because they are so much easier to clean off. and the vapors they give off are lesser as compared to that of enamel paints too.

only thin arcrylic paint with thinner. NOT water.

if the paint is enamel based, you need special enamel thinner.

i'm not a very good modeller myself. just a beginner who has trashed alot of kits already. LOL! :p

• Replies 83

How u paint the black outlines?

Gundam markers. ONLY the 0.04 fine tip ones that can do outlines on SD kits pretty nicely. Alternatively, you can try art stores in Bras Basah. They might have smaller tipped pens which can fit the job too. Smaller IS better. For normal gundam kits, pens or Gundam Markers no longer do the job well coz the tip is just too big for the panel lines on.. say a 1/100 MG Gundam GP02.

I have been taught this extremely useful technique by this guy at Action City in Bugis.. Am just gonna post it here to help others out..

To obtain a SUPER NEAT panel line on a normal (non SD) Gundam kit.. finish painting the part. Then CLEAR COAT it. Wait for clear coat to dry...

Now get some BLACK ENAMEL paint and a bottle of ENAMEL thinner (both from tamiya). Mix the paint and thinner in approximately 1:10 ratio respectively.

Using a FINE TIP brush (also from tamiya. smaller the better) dip the end of the brush into the VERY THINNED paint mixture and steadily apply the brush tip to the TOP of the panel line, letting the mixture FLOW DOWN with the help of gravity.

If any mixture spill over panel lines, use a tissue/cloth dipped in ENAMEL thinner ONLY to remove the stain. ENAMEL thinner will not react with arcrylic paints, only enamel ones.

The result is a SUPER NEAT panel line.

i got this book but it's in chinese. it's a translation of the jap model manual 'how to build gunpra'. teaches basic stuff like how to cut the parts from their trees and basic paint/thinner mixing techniques. unfortunately it's all in chinese and very much out of print already.

i only use arcrylic paints because they are so much easier to clean off. and the vapors they give off are lesser as compared to that of enamel paints too.

only thin arcrylic paint with thinner. NOT water.

if the paint is enamel based, you need special enamel thinner.

i'm not a very good modeller myself. just a beginner who has trashed alot of kits already. LOL! :p

u mean for all the gundam models i can use acrylic paint?? by the way wat does the acrylic paint container look like? issit in bottle kind or like those milo or horlick tin minature look? and the thinner which u use..issit those normal thinner that i can buy from normal hardware store?? :confused:

by the way...the acrylic paint and thinner can use the air brush to apply onto the model? and wat do u use to clean the air brush when u finished using it? :confused: ..hehe sorrie..seems to ask a lot of silly questions :sweat: ..but need some good advice from u guys..cos i'm so interested into making models. :bounce: ..but yet to have the skill.......pls give some words of wisdom holly one... ;)

hey CountDokoo then can ask u something?

there will be a line when two piece joint together. How to remove that line? I tried sand it off with 400, 800 then 1000, grade sandpaper seems to have remove but after I paint over it the line came back :pity: .

one more thing how to you spray the corner of every parts see u understand meor not cos i dun know how to explain here :D

You are blur, when I say I am blurr.

hey guys...anyone know how to create the old effect on the gundam...to further explain: when u see those gundam models on display..u notice that the edges or rather corners of the gundam parts regardless of arm or legs or body...they always have this black shade at practically every corner of the body...anyone knows how to go it??

u mean for all the gundam models i can use acrylic paint?? by the way wat does the acrylic paint container look like? issit in bottle kind or like those milo or horlick tin minature look? and the thinner which u use..issit those normal thinner that i can buy from normal hardware store?? :confused:

by the way...the acrylic paint and thinner can use the air brush to apply onto the model? and wat do u use to clean the air brush when u finished using it? :confused: ..hehe sorrie..seems to ask a lot of silly questions :sweat: ..but need some good advice from u guys..cos i'm so interested into making models. :bounce: ..but yet to have the skill.......pls give some words of wisdom holly one... ;)

Arcylic paints come in the same size of bottles as Enamel paint. Arcylic usually go by the name of "Aqueous Paint" or "Water soluable paint". The safest bet is to ask the shop.

Use only hobby thinner bought from hobby stores. Using those from hardware stores will MELT your model and cause you to inhale the VERY poisonous vapors that are given off.

You use the same thinner you thin the acrylic paints with to clean the air brush after you finish. Just spray pure thinner through the brush when you're done.

hey CountDokoo then can ask u something?

there will be a line when two piece joint together. How to remove that line? I tried sand it off with 400, 800 then 1000, grade sandpaper seems to have remove but after I paint over it the line came back :pity: .

one more thing how to you spray the corner of every parts see u understand meor not cos i dun know how to explain here :D

After you glue the 2 pieces together, you need to putty the seams first before sanding the part. Putty is a semi solid kind of weak cement that easily fills in gaps and seams on plastic models.

Look for Gunze Sanyo's Liquid Putty which is very much more liquid and hence fills gaps better. Available at Action City.

hi there.. i knw its abit out to ask this qns.. but anyone hav Wing gundam Last impression that song ma... =p

i wan in MP3 de wor... > :cry:

Hi! I'm new here and I build Gundam too... here are some of my old work... :sweat: :sweat:

aile strike

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid86/p255b245eb9cfcf2093004f494aa7d021/fab05d82.jpg

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid86/pb09a7b6da0f95ddfe922e8c521bf4399/fab05d85.jpg

SD Zaku2 and zaku1:

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid86/peb6e423c303e7a237768c64f7ed41cc1/fab05d8c.jpg

Ziek Zeong diorama:

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid86/pf96665f3fa82cbe136d6f0151d2870c3/fab05d7a.jpg

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid86/pbbe1304740019c1b5a6faebd4fe5fddd/fab05d66.jpg

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid86/p73d811c7c84b90ba9798df0160660376/fab05d6d.jpg

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid86/p716de73bafa21d0ba089ea7800ab7b05/fab05d73.jpg

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid86/p9b703b87446e32a17d869495b3293552/fab05d81.jpg

Enjoy it.... :sweat:

Hi! I'm new here and I build Gundam too... here are some of my old work... :sweat: :sweat:

aile strike

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid86/p255b245eb9cfcf2093004f494aa7d021/fab05d82.jpg

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid86/pb09a7b6da0f95ddfe922e8c521bf4399/fab05d85.jpg

SD Zaku2 and zaku1:

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid86/peb6e423c303e7a237768c64f7ed41cc1/fab05d8c.jpg

how do u do those black shadings on the edges of the body parts?? to make it look old and rugged

Ziek Zeong diorama:

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid86/pf96665f3fa82cbe136d6f0151d2870c3/fab05d7a.jpg

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid86/pbbe1304740019c1b5a6faebd4fe5fddd/fab05d66.jpg

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid86/p73d811c7c84b90ba9798df0160660376/fab05d6d.jpg

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid86/p716de73bafa21d0ba089ea7800ab7b05/fab05d73.jpg

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid86/p9b703b87446e32a17d869495b3293552/fab05d81.jpg

Enjoy it.... :sweat:

Originally posted by mutant_sheep_X9@Mar 15 2005, 04:29 PM

looking for some gundam model...

gotta start from zero...where to get some with great price? :cheer:

sunshine plaza, hobby arts gallery. look for joyce. :smile:

Used to do paint jobs on gundam kits for people but not doing anymore.

I'm a 100% gundam fan. Besides watching and catching the series from 0079 to the latest GS destiny, i do kits for my own collection too. But most already sold off liao.

Click on the link to see my freedom 1/60 in original colours and slight modification. :smile:

Freedom Gundam from Seed

SHould see this for all Gundam Fansss.... :lovestruck:

http://homepage3.nifty.com/G-CUSTOM/freedom-k.html

Should tell the creator to stop giving ideas to bandai!!! :sian:

When can I reach this stage? :cry:

Can anyone recommend the best putty (Cheap and user friendly) around?

I go to shop, the guy recommend me $29.95 for a small tube of putty!! I guess it must be good!!! But I like to know what grade of putty do you guy normally using? :confused:

Maybe ELTON can enlighten me? I have everything in place liao.

1) Airbrush, Olympus single action

2) Sparmax compressor

3) Thinner1 (Tamiya, normal for matt finish)

4) Thinner2 (Hardware store type)

5) Sharp cutter ($2)

6) Art knife with replacable blade

7) Paint (Brown, Dark brown, black for serpent)

8) Sand paper (400grite to 2000grite)

9) Tweezer (Sim Lim tower)

10) Tamiya Primer Light Grey ($12)

11) Gundam panel line pen Black ($3.90)

12) Paint Markers (Uni paint)

13) Tamiya Cement (Yellow cap)

14) Soldering iron for weathering

15) Wooden disposable chopstick for spraying parts

16) Blue tack

17) Resevse grabbing tong (???)

18) Normal Masking Tape

19) Putty!!*

20) Brushes

21) Tamiya drill (Bathing, sanding and drilling)

*left only this putty item! :sian:

Car:

Leisure driving and family outing

Kia Cerato/Auto/Sedan:

Present FC: 11.03km/L

Originally posted by gentoro@Mar 18 2005, 10:46 AM

SHould see this for all Gundam Fansss.... :lovestruck:

http://homepage3.nifty.com/G-CUSTOM/freedom-k.html

Should tell the creator to stop giving ideas to bandai!!! :sian:

When can I reach this stage? :cry:

Can anyone recommend the best putty (Cheap and user friendly) around?

I go to shop, the guy recommend me $29.95 for a small tube of putty!! I guess it must be good!!! But I like to know what grade of putty do you guy normally using? :confused:

Maybe ELTON can enlighten me? I have everything in place liao.

1) Airbrush, Olympus single action

2) Sparmax compressor

3) Thinner1 (Tamiya, normal for matt finish)

4) Thinner2 (Hardware store type)

5) Sharp cutter ($2)

6) Art knife with replacable blade

7) Paint (Brown, Dark brown, black for serpent)

8) Sand paper (400grite to 2000grite)

9) Tweezer (Sim Lim tower)

10) Tamiya Primer Light Grey ($12)

11) Gundam panel line pen Black ($3.90)

12) Paint Markers (Uni paint)

13) Tamiya Cement (Yellow cap)

14) Soldering iron for weathering

15) Wooden disposable chopstick for spraying parts

16) Blue tack

17) Resevse grabbing tong (???)

18) Normal Masking Tape

19) Putty!!*

20) Brushes

21) Tamiya drill (Bathing, sanding and drilling)

*left only this putty item! :sian:

putty for fixing mistakes or covering seamlines?

If for covering big holes, putty is good.

But for covering seamlines, cover the parts with baking powder once you have applied glue to it. use mr hobby acrylic glue only. there should be 2 types. yellow cap and red cap. :smile:

Originally posted by Elton@Mar 31 2005, 12:13 AM

any gundam seed destiny fans here?

im juz a small fan.. hehe. i only collect the models from candy toys. hehe.

Running away from problems is a sure way of running into problems. - saw this quote on someone's t shirt

"Love is always patient and kind , It is never jealous,

Love is never boastful not conceded, It is never selfish, It does not take offence and it is not resentful,

Love takes no pleasure in other people sins but delights in the truth, It is always ready to excuse, to trust, to hope and to endure whatever comes...." - A Walk To Remember

I do!! :cheer: Not only destiny, destiny MSV and original seed!

Diluted putty ($4.90) with thinner is great to cover seamline. I did that on my serpent and freedom. Not at bad. But the seamline must be firmly secure with Mr hobby Yellow cap cement first. Mr hobby too have red cap and Tamiya's Green cap is ultra thin. Just a drop in-between seamline and it run thru all the way.

BTW, MC21, you might wanna give more detail on what you have there?

I starting to make Astray Red Frame.

Car:

Leisure driving and family outing

Kia Cerato/Auto/Sedan:

Present FC: 11.03km/L

Originally posted by gentoro@Apr 4 2005, 10:29 AM

I do!! :cheer: Not only destiny, destiny MSV and original seed!

Diluted putty ($4.90) with thinner is great to cover seamline. I did that on my serpent and freedom. Not at bad. But the seamline must be firmly secure with Mr hobby Yellow cap cement first. Mr hobby too have red cap and Tamiya's Green cap is ultra thin. Just a drop in-between seamline and it run thru all the way.

BTW, MC21, you might wanna give more detail on what you have there?

I starting to make Astray Red Frame.

bro here is the link.. there are more in my other auctions

http://page.auctions.shopping.yahoo.com/sg...38?aucview=0x30

no siggy at the moment