Newbie Sharing Session - For New Faces & First Timers Only

bro_isk

I found this thread quite entertaining...:)

BTW, singaporeans are lucky enough that there was bro_isk that patiently giving his own time to assist newbies to pursue their dreams to be part/involved in dirt bikes community.

In my case, when I was a newbie, I'm also looking for someone that can teach me some technics but no luck coz everyone got busy for their personal life and rides, so all i can do is to join in their trail rides - 7 days Trail riding across the Philippines Mountains. At first day I feel nervous and got lot of fall but they always there to give you hands, encouragement and advices. when the days goes by... 3rd days, 4th day... I found myself getting better till the last day, I can do what they can do - jump, donut turn, table top climb, river crossing etc.. all of it are based on watching them. They were all expert. But the best advice I've got from them is " Don't excess above your limit "

which is very serious... Don't insist of what your physical body can't do for everyone are born will special skills and talents... know your limits otherwise do something to improve your limits. like go to gym and add muscles to lift your bike everytime you fell.

I met bro_isk thrice and I convinced that he is truly trusted man. He is so sensetive for the need of newbies. He knows what they feel... what they want. And maybe that is the reason why he here...

Edited by Batam2009

• Replies 174

It really baffles me that this issue of sharing/tutorial/lessons (call it what you want) still irks people out there. True learning takes place when there are communties of people out there willing to share what they know with each other. Learning does not take place only at a school/formal club nor does it depend on how much money one pays for the knowledge. Rather true learning takes place when there are sincere people willing to share, and similarly interested people wanting to learn.

Why the hang up whether one is 'qualified' or not or whether one possesses a 'certificate' to teach. Furthermore, Bro_Isk, as far as I know reading the threads (i have yet to have the opportunity to meet up with him as yet!), has not 'marketed' himself or his newbies sessions and charged any money for these sessions. Rather, it appears that he is doing this out of his passion for the sport and his desire to share this passion with like minded persons...

So why can't these so called 'experts' just stop the persecution and not snuff out the good intentions of Bro_Isk and others who want nothing more than to share something they really enjoy with others???

Sigh...

bro isk..

no worries.. your sincere contribution will pay off one fine day.. i just wanna say that , yes .. bro isk may not be a quallified tutor or certified trainer, but together him and his companion that he brings along is far vast enough for them to impart their knowledge to us newbies.

To newbies , if u think bro isk and companion is not providing enough, u can always find others sources. 1+1 will always be 2 not lesser. so every individual is on the winning side.

Regerds,

retrorider.

hi pplz

im newbie but to me...itz true that cert or so called as statues paper(to me i guess) is important in this country as to assure pplz of ur capability....

but end of the day is...the papers that u have cant help others if u cant spend ur time n commitment to teach or even share pointers...

Not every1 is fortunate enought to afford to get a real recognise teacher or school..

atleast isk had the inititative to share n thats is enought to keep the sports on...

to all newbies who wanna learn or already learn den by all means, if u think wat been teach by isk is wrong den dont follow it n take only the correct tips only as u r the 1 to decide wat is good or bad...

jus my opinion only,not wanting to hurt any1 tks

ps:human do make mistake n theres no course to get a cert that quote as UR THE PERFECT HUMAN...

hi,2 those of u dat r looking 4 free riding advice.

here is the link...

http://dirtbikesaction.com/index/ :goodluck:

WWHhoooo hhhoooo.. now we all have to get ram mounts to mount ur lappie on ur bike to get free advice WHILE RIDING.. or maybe.. we can print it out.. then go to ulu ulu place then read and try to manouvere as what the FREE ADVICE says...

oh...wait a minute... let me guess.. is that where THEY get the free advice and then THEY CHARGE the newbie and render the knowledge they got from the webby itself.. wonder TOYs'R'us got sell or not???:shades:

it just reminds me.. before i got to SSDC..and some of my dudes.. went to BBDC or CDC to take our bike license... we sure did try out our friends bike!!! And of-course... they are there to give u the so call "Newbie Tutorial"or now known as "Newbie Sharing Session" advice on how to do this.. do that.. thats the only way to improve rather than spent $$$$ and keep failing and not getting any better at riding. So thats states the comparison. BUT bottom line.. one day we all knew how to ride. JUST measure how much u LOST in $$ and time u spent on!! Is it worth it?

LAST BUT NOT LEAST.. my POV is... its clearly THEY ARE NOT MAKING ENOUGH $ for themselves, their time and effort and methods involves to motivate the newbies... IN SHORT.. THEY FAILED!!!THEY FAILED.. OH YEEEAAAHHH THEY FAIL and succumb to do whatever they can to get things done their way. still not realising.. nothing will change and they will soon eventually FAIL... THEY WILL FAIL!!!! AGAIN AND AGAIN...

but again.. what if there is a sudden 81 or lets say.. 120 member sign up and decided to take the class on that particular SINGLE DAY? CAN THEY ACCOMODATE THEM? DO THEY HAVE AMPLE and spare sufficient time to point out the newbie mistakes? SHARE (TEACH) them the proper technic where only practice time and over and over again to get perfect?

duh.. i dun think so.. and not fogeting.. GOT NATIONAL DAY RIDE or not? GOT CNY ride or not? Got B'day ride or not? GOT MAKAN AFTER EVERY CLASS OR NOT? GOT DRINKS SPONSORED OR NOT? eehh.. so many lah. THEY SIMPLY CAN't DO any bettr then BRO ISK.

I think i say enouf.. YYYYWwwaaarrrnnnn. after all. agree wif BRO ISK new title.. "Newbie Sharing Session. After all.. they will still fail IN GETTING PEOPLE TO PAY FOR THE LESSONS...:slapforehead: i think EVO oso not interested! He rather join BRO ISK sessions more better than his part time job at CHANGI CARPARK!!!:angel::angel:

(P/S: those complaining agains this.. please get a life.. say.. sell newspaper at nite by the road side k..)

http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l306/joemac_kint/misc%20pic/untitled123456.jpg

Where got LONG WAY DOWN? Its just around the corner what?!?!?! eeerrmm. JUST a very long corner i mean...

relax guys... DBA is set up for all dirt riders... helping each other to get to know more info, learn new things. as one of a DBA founder i do not wish any politic to get into DBA.. at the end of the day we just want to enjoy our passion.

As for bro isk, I would say he did a great contribution to the dirt biking scene. thumb up for him.

happy riding.

http://profile.ak.fbcdn.net/hprofile-ak-snc4/hs846.snc4/70761_544356827_629794_n.jpg

http://209.85.62.24/358/50/0/f371375/dbaURL_logo2.png

Kleivard Project Pte Ltd

bro isk did help us mark out lot of local trail... he is a great buddy, with his great effort and passion bring more friend get into our dirtbike scene. something i respect about him is tat he spend his time looking for more trail for us to ride... thanks buddy(bro isk)

miss the KSR days...

http://profile.ak.fbcdn.net/hprofile-ak-snc4/hs846.snc4/70761_544356827_629794_n.jpg

Kleivard Project Pte Ltd

Thanks guys for your ultimate support al this while.

Firstly I would like to inform all riders that I may not be a good rider as am still learning from the more experience riders.

*Friendship, cohesiveness, joy, smile & laughter on every rider after any rides is my only objective.

I may earn as little as selling kacang puteh. Recalling the past, I started organising rides ever since i worked part time as a KFC delivery rider. Not sure if any of u guys remember myself tapaoing a plastic bag of chicken & a bottle of pepsi after my shift to Yishun Dam..?

Alan, I do remember those rides in the middle of the night on the KSR to the routes that I'hd bashed through. Super tight trail. Trail until 4am. Remember the Kent Ridge Trail with my Wave-Off road tyre w my box & the ride in Bukit Panjang to Mandai? Sibeh jialat...

Really miss those days bro.

Thanks for ur support bro.

Ride Safe, Always.

Edited by bro_isk

http://i235.photobucket.com/albums/ee218/deryiu/newbie1.jpg

Past Rides: WR200(2004-2005), WaveS125(2005-2006), WR200(2006-2007), XR400(2006-2007),GN125(2007-2007),KTM200(2007-2007), XR400(2007-2008), Gilera200(2008-2008), Vespa(2008-2008).

Current Ride: XR400 & WR200

To all the new riders who wish to learn something about basic safety and riding technics, dont bother about what people say about bro isk and his sessions.

bro isk and i more or less started riding off road together but his passion for it has made his knowledge leap frog me by leaps and bounds. and as such i learn from him as much as i can too. he cares about us riders and as you can see he does not ask for credit, glory or payment for his sharing sessions. and events he organizes incur costs and these costs are usually paid from his own pocket. (thats why his hp always no credit).

and although the decision to join his sessions is ultimately up to you, i can guarantee that if you do, you will find someone who genuinely wants to share with you tips and tricks to be a safer rider and get you started on enjoying yourself more off road.

sorry for the wall of text. hope i can join you all on the next ride.:thumb:

Thank you xsbaggage. Indeed, we more or less started riding off road together. I learn from you too bro. Abt my hp no credit, now you understand...? haha.. Anyway, thanks for the last year's birthday present($** Starhub Top-Up Card). Hope to see you soon bro. My Saturday Night Fever Reunion Night Trail Coming Up.

Have received numerous calls & sms from Dirtbikes Enthusiast who is still attending the practical lessons or had just passed + looking for a dirtbike. For those future dirtriders, you may pmed/contact me if you have any enquiries. Will arrange to meet you personally or in a bunch. I will be organising a Dirtbike Workshop Excursion II Very Soon..., for those who does not have transport? I will arrange for you.

Up Next: (Rides Before Ramadhan & Hari Raya)

24th July - Newbie Dirtbike Sharing Session 0.5 : For Pre-Dirtriders still in BBDC/SSDC/CDC , just passed 2B or Future Dirtriders.

25th July - Bro_Isk vs EVO - Championship Title @ North South Highway Off-Road.

25th July - Recce Team Satuday Night Fever Night Trail

1st August - Recce/Rescue Team Specialist Course - 2nd Intake

2nd August - Couple Trail Ride

8th August - NDP Trail 2009

15th August - Newbie Trial Bike Tutorial by Trial Bike Champion

Edited by bro_isk

Past Rides: WR200(2004-2005), WaveS125(2005-2006), WR200(2006-2007), XR400(2006-2007),GN125(2007-2007),KTM200(2007-2007), XR400(2007-2008), Gilera200(2008-2008), Vespa(2008-2008).

WWHhoooo hhhoooo.. now we all have to get ram mounts to mount ur lappie on ur bike to get free advice WHILE RIDING.. or maybe.. we can print it out.. then go to ulu ulu place then read and try to manouvere as what the FREE ADVICE says...

oh...wait a minute... let me guess.. is that where THEY get the free advice and then THEY CHARGE the newbie and render the knowledge they got from the webby itself.. wonder TOYs'R'us got sell or not???:shades:

it just reminds me.. before i got to SSDC..and some of my dudes.. went to BBDC or CDC to take our bike license... we sure did try out our friends bike!!! And of-course... they are there to give u the so call "Newbie Tutorial"or now known as "Newbie Sharing Session" advice on how to do this.. do that.. thats the only way to improve rather than spent $$$$ and keep failing and not getting any better at riding. So thats states the comparison. BUT bottom line.. one day we all knew how to ride. JUST measure how much u LOST in $$ and time u spent on!! Is it worth it?

LAST BUT NOT LEAST.. my POV is... its clearly THEY ARE NOT MAKING ENOUGH $ for themselves, their time and effort and methods involves to motivate the newbies... IN SHORT.. THEY FAILED!!!THEY FAILED.. OH YEEEAAAHHH THEY FAIL and succumb to do whatever they can to get things done their way. still not realising.. nothing will change and they will soon eventually FAIL... THEY WILL FAIL!!!! AGAIN AND AGAIN...

but again.. what if there is a sudden 81 or lets say.. 120 member sign up and decided to take the class on that particular SINGLE DAY? CAN THEY ACCOMODATE THEM? DO THEY HAVE AMPLE and spare sufficient time to point out the newbie mistakes? SHARE (TEACH) them the proper technic where only practice time and over and over again to get perfect?

duh.. i dun think so.. and not fogeting.. GOT NATIONAL DAY RIDE or not? GOT CNY ride or not? Got B'day ride or not? GOT MAKAN AFTER EVERY CLASS OR NOT? GOT DRINKS SPONSORED OR NOT? eehh.. so many lah. THEY SIMPLY CAN't DO any bettr then BRO ISK.

I think i say enouf.. YYYYWwwaaarrrnnnn. after all. agree wif BRO ISK new title.. "Newbie Sharing Session. After all.. they will still fail IN GETTING PEOPLE TO PAY FOR THE LESSONS...:slapforehead: i think EVO oso not interested! He rather join BRO ISK sessions more better than his part time job at CHANGI CARPARK!!!:angel::angel:

(P/S: those complaining agains this.. please get a life.. say.. sell newspaper at nite by the road side k..)

Bro best lah u.. got it all right

the worst part of it all is that, when FARTIME and his forum or whatever fail.. they target it at Bro_isk sia... machiam bro_isk make them fail.

Losser sia...

Bro_Isk

With great power comes great responsibility..

and also must tahan great farting from Fartime.

the worst part of it all is that, when FARTIME and his forum or whatever fail.. they target it at Bro_isk sia... machiam bro_isk make them fail.

Losser sia...

Bro_Isk

i believe even outsider will have this picture over the air and know whats going on and who is attacking who? sounds mean right.. so let alone be what it wants to be....

Well.. a thieve won't admit their doing what:deal:.. or should i say a rat has its own way of stealing..

Isn't that a cunning way of doing it.

But isn't it sad to say... we are all human. some are :bow:slim some are :pity:buncit while some are:faint: FAT like PIG and some are :bow:good looking while some are :weep:ugly ones.. IT ALL depends on the mentality bro and they have their own right and jurisdiction and individual INTUITION, coz they themselve should noe.. "AM i suppose to do this?" or "WILL I BE GETTING OTHER PARTY IN TROUBLE JUST CAUSE ITS FOR MY OWN SAKE AND MY CLUB BENIFIT (which of course not making $)?". BUT some people jus dun have the valuable lesson like ur MOM.. my mom.. My dad.. Ur dad.. grandad/grandma taught us:clapping:.. i call them "UNFORTUNATE CHILDHOOD" maybe during their younger times.. they kana a:eek:buse/ :eek:sodomy maybe:cry:.. so now they are scare and been wanting all the attention yet stil respected by others!! ptui LAH....:puke:

lucky its all about the DIRT BIKE. Not SOCCER, even if it is soccer industry.. he will die die also get the FIFA:dot: involve:dot:

BTW, was wondering.. HOW DOES a good COACH/TEACHER/INSTUCTOR be a good leading example to one when he himself got :slapforehead:BLOATED STOMACH:slapforehead:? FITNESS is also base on FIRT IMPRESSION mah! just put aside the broken english:faint:.. that sure a :gun:POINT PENALTY.. khehkehkehkeehk:angel:

http://i99.photobucket.com/albums/l306/joemac_kint/misc%20pic/untitled123456.jpg

Where got LONG WAY DOWN? Its just around the corner what?!?!?! eeerrmm. JUST a very long corner i mean...

Losser sia...

Bro_Isk

there is one thing i need to make it clear... The forum do not belong to Airtime! it belong to all who enjoy dirt riding. I belive bro_isk & I are looking forward to help and guide more newbie. Bro_isk when is the next nite trail? I can't wait to test out my super bright H.I.D Light on my KTM

Happy riding.

Kleivard Project Pte Ltd

there is one thing i need to make it clear... The forum do not belong to Airtime! it belong to all who enjoy dirt riding. I belive bro_isk & I are looking forward to help and guide more newbie. Bro_isk when is the next nite trail? I can't wait to test out my super bright H.I.D Light on my KTM

Happy riding.

Hi Allan, i will organise a better location for that to test ur H.I.D. head light but with selective riders only, there are some parts in our local trail that we cannot ride at night due to some genuine eerie experience from AceKTM, Joemackint & other few riders. Eg. At Point 20, everytime regardless day or night, there must be hiccups on one of the bikes. AceKTM & Joemact experience difficulty on their friend's bike everytime they passby that place. When I recently went there, that's the only signboard that i've pinned up is the most creepy... a platic sign board chipped off on it's side like chipped wood???? almost like ghost town signboard... will take a picture of it one day. Or for those who spot that sign board, plz capture it & post in here.

Edited by bro_isk

Happy riding.

ok, so Fartime don't enjoy dirt bike riding. His just here to make and create trouble?

Guys. Please refrain from names calling. I ride dirt too and appreciates what bro isk does for the community. airtime is just stating his views. and things just got carried away. This post is almost a year old!:cheeky: Give it a rest.:faint:

Life is a journey, just pick the right bike.

ok, so Fartime don't enjoy dirt bike riding. His just here to make and create trouble?

he enjoy or not I'm not interested... he is just a member in DirtbikeAction(DBA) forum and that's all.. he do not represent DBA

Kleivard Project Pte Ltd

wah ... i didnt know my nick got mentioned here ...

so many forums to read and so many porns to surf ... sorry ah ...

well guys ... got time we go riding ...

and yes ... I am one of those new riders with no teacher, no coach, no mentor, no groups, no clans, no design, no chop, no stamp, no sheet ...

so lucky newbies now got bro_isk ...

anyway these newbies are licenced to ride ... so they shud be ok ... they have the basics theory and pratical knowledge ...

the art of riding can take a lifetime to master ...

http://www.boysstuff.co.uk/Images/prod_center/kawasaki_cen_200_81110.jpg

Courtesy of Boys Stuff UK

Gentlemen,

Myself & Edward(Airtime) met for the first time in-person last weekend & discuss to dissolve all issues. Its was the most fruitful meetup. It was a clear missunderstanding on both sides & together we are looking forward to support/promote the sport(MX,Enduro,Trail,etc). Witness by Khim(Darkangle), Kit(Kied) & Amin(Armeantroy), we shared & discussed for our upcoming events over cups of kopi. Together, we unite for the sport!

F#@K The Politics!

Best Regards,

bro_isk

ps: I, hereby request all forumers/supporters to cool down & refrain from further flammings. Many Thanks.

Ride Safe, Always...

Edited by bro_isk

yes it was a fruitful meeting. things were all sorted out. grass roots level up to advanced level.

as every1 involved know dat the changes made were for the better of future riders.

but at least now that we r in direct contact with each other. ppl who need 2 clarify any points or "rumours" "juicy stuff" pls approach the person directly.

2 clear any doubts.

2 many internet racers and not enough real racers in s g!